Top Ten Tuesday #318

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve had a great week since I last did one of these, sorry for the late post, I’ve spent most of the day editing something else and only just got around to it now. My week has been fairly quiet, I’ve got a lot of training stuff to do for my new job so I’m going to be spending the rest of the week doing that.

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week is a freebie topic, so I’m finishing off my seasonal covers set of topics with Summery Book Covers. These are my Winter, Spring and Autumn cover posts if you’d like to see the rest of the set. So here we go, some Summery Book Covers:

  1. King of Scars-Leigh Bardugo
36307634. sy475

Whilst I tend to think the content of Leigh Bardugo’s books falls into a more Autumn/Winter aesthetic, the bright gold of this cover definitely exudes more of a summery feel.

2. Girls In Pants-Ann Brashares

Girls in Pants (Summers Of The Sisterhood): Amazon.co.uk: Brashares, Ann:  Books
I couldn’t do a list of summery covers without including this one since for me, it’s a quintessential summer book and summer is so important to the story. I know the blue on the cover is meant to be like the jeans (I’m sorry American friends, I can’t call trousers pants even in the context of the book, it just feels wrong) but to me it kind of reminds me of the ocean. There’s also a lot of nature on the book, which I think fits summer just as well as Spring.

3. The Girl From Everywhere-Heidi Heilig

25950053. sy475

Again, it’s the ocean connection for me. I know the ocean is there all year round but I’ve always thought of it in connection to summer since that’s generally when you go on beach holidays. I think all the bright colours on this also make it feel quite summery.

4. Sixsational-Meg Cabot

10346931
I feel like this one is fairly obvious, the bright yellow being like the sun. Also though I’m not really a seasonal reader, I think The Princess Diaries fit quite neatly into the sorts of books that people usually choose for beach reads.

5. Finale-Stephanie Garber

39071288. sy475
I usually think of red as a more autumnal colour than a summery one, but I chose Finale for this topic rather than that one because I just felt like it fitted better with my summer covers than my Autumn ones. Also honestly because I didn’t think of it when I did that topic last year!

6. Fire Storm-Andrew Lane

12516499
Much like Sixsational and King of Scars, Fire Storm is on this list because of the bright yellow. I also think it’s quite cool how this cover combines summery colours with the darker imagery of the skull.

7. The Priory of The Orange Tree-Samantha Shannon

40275288. sy475
Any excuse to share this beautiful cover! In a theme here, I chose this cover largely because of the yellow-orange background which I feel are very summery colours and also because it’s very bright.

8. Sky Breaker-Addie Thorley

54860493

The burnished gold of this cover definitely feels very summery and the fact that it’s supposed to reflect the sun makes it fit this topic very well. I love the contrast between the covers of the two books in this duology, the first book is definitely the night sky and this one is the morning. It works very well!

9. Six Crimson Cranes-Elizabeth Lim

57028076. sy475

I mean I could see the argument for this fitting into either Winter or Spring book covers too, but I think that the pale pastel colours fit the summery theme too. The whole palette of the book kind of reminds me of a sunset which I really love.

10. The Exact Opposite of Okay-Laura Steven

35817737

The big burst of colour in the background is what makes this feel very summery for me.

So there we go, those are some summery covers for you! What do you think? Do you agree with my choices? Do you think any fit into other seasons as well (don’t worry if you disagree with me, I don’t mind!)? Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Books I Loved That Made Me Want More Books Like Them, and since when I find a fave book, I love finding similar ones, this should be a fun one for me.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #318

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2021 / 10:23 pm

      I’ve not actually started yet, I have to do the training before my first shift, but thank you! I agree 🙂

  1. Louise 01/06/2021 / 10:39 pm

    I’d never have thought of as summery but now that you said it, I totally see it.

  2. Greg 01/06/2021 / 10:41 pm

    Some great covers here- love Priory and Sisterhood as well.

    Happy Tues!!!

  3. Carol 01/06/2021 / 11:19 pm

    I love summer covers!

  4. Sammie @ The Bookwyrm's Den 02/06/2021 / 12:23 am

    The Girl From Everywhere has such a gorgeous cover! It’s breathtaking. I really like Skybreaker, too!

    Here’s my TTT post.

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2021 / 11:41 am

      It really is lovely, I love how bright it is. Yes, Sky Breaker has a lovely cover.

  5. Kristi 02/06/2021 / 4:38 am

    There are some truly beautiful covers in this post! I feel like I could stare at the one for Sky Breaker for hours.

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2021 / 10:57 am

      Thank you! It is lovely, and the two books look so pretty together.

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2021 / 10:54 am

      I read it on audiobook and that really helped, it felt more manageable listening to it than picking up the giant tome.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.