Top Ten Tuesday #376

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I was at YALC on Friday and Sunday and had an amazing time. I was a little worried about how things were going to go as my friend had to pull out last minute and I’ve never been by myself before but it actually worked out fine and I met some lovely people who took my very nervous and awkward self under their wing which I very much appreciated! I will be very happy to have Hannah back next year though, it was definitely strange being there without her.

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, and so that means another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week our topic is Book Covers That Look Like Summer suggested by Ellie @ Curiosity Killed The Bookworm (thanks Ellie!), and I thought I might have to change this one, as I did a Summery Book Covers post last year but it turns out that I do have enough that I’ve read, or on my TBR with Summery Covers that I can do a Summery Covers 2.0 post. So here we go:

  1. Mad Honey-Jodi Picoult and Jennifer Finney Boylan

The yellowy/orange colour of this just screams summer for me, and bees always feel very summery as well, so those two things in combination makes this a perfect summery cover (even if it’s releasing in the autumn!).

2. The Rose Code-Kate Quinn

The bright yellow colour of the cover just screams summer to me, even if the content of the book wouldn’t necessarily fit with the traditional “light” summer reads.

3. It Only Happens In The Movies-Holly Bourne

Again, its the colour here, the buttery yellow is just perfect for evoking bright summer days. I think the book itself would probably fit quite well into the kinds of books people usually put on their summer reads list as it’s a rom-com of sorts (though I think it challenges a lot of the tropes of the genre? I don’t know it’s still on my TBR!).

4. The Bronzed Beasts-Roshani Chokshi

This would probably work quite well for autumn as well, as the leaves look kind of autumnal, but I do think the vibrant reds and oranges also work well for summer!

5. Summer At Hope Meadows-Lucy Daniels

It says it there in the title, so it’s not surprising that this book would have a lovely summery cover (thought the greens and blues and the florals would probably work well for spring too)! I loved the Animal Ark books as a kid, I feel like reading them was a right of passage for every animal obsessed British kid!

6. A Restless Truth-Freya Marske

This cover could probably also work well for spring with the vibrant yellows and greens, but I think it does just as well for summer too. The yellow in particularly is just that perfect shade of buttery yellow that always reminds me of summer.

7. The Mask Falling-Samantha Shannon

Again that vibrant yellowy/orange of the cover just feels very summery! Ironically though, the actual events of this book take place in the dead of winter! I still need to finish this one, I think I made it through about 300 odd pages last year but stalled out because of reading slump, so I’m dying to get back to it and find out how Paige’s latest adventure ends.

8. We Were Liars-E. Lockhart

This one felt like a no-brainer as summer is so important to the plot of the book. The cover also evokes that with the three people in the ocean, as the ocean is always closely linked to the summer for me (obviously it’s there all year round, but not many people like swimming in the ocean in winter!).

9. Beauty Queens-Libba Bray

This is not my favourite cover ever, book covers with people on them are always more miss than hit for me, but it does work for the theme with the girl dressed in a bikini and what looks like an ocean vista background behind her.

10. Forever In Blue-Ann Brashares

I did go with a different one this time, but a summer cover list wouldn’t be complete without a Sisterhood book! Summer is so important in the context of the story, and the covers always reflect it, this one with its pretty pastel colours, and the hints of the ocean and seashells on the cover.

So there we have it, 10 more summery covers for you! What do you think? Do you agree with my choices? Do you think they fit into any other seasons as well? Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, and it’s a freebie! Since we just had YALC, I thought I’d share my Top Ten Favourite Books I’ve Bought At YALC (though the list will probably end up being slightly shorter than ten as there are many books from YALC I ended up giving away because I lost interest, and a few that I got there that I didn’t end up liking!).

74 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #376

  1. Louise 12/07/2022 / 6:24 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed YALC! I was super jealous of missing it this year lol

  2. Michael 12/07/2022 / 6:49 pm

    I read Beauty Queens a couple of years ago. I didn’t love it as much as others did, though the cover really caught my eye. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:44 pm

      I’ve actually never read it! It’s on my TBR though, so hopefully someday soon.

  3. Greg 12/07/2022 / 7:50 pm

    Wow some beautiful colors here. I love the We were Lairs cover. So summery-ish with all the water.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:43 pm

      Thank you! Yes, it definitely gives the feeling of hot summer days when all you want to do is swim in the ocean πŸ™‚

  4. Jen at Introverted Reader 12/07/2022 / 8:42 pm

    The yellows and reds do feel like the hottest days of summer, now that you mention. Great list!

  5. Jennifer 12/07/2022 / 8:51 pm

    The Bronzed Beasts does feel like that fiery sunset on some summer evenings. ^.^

  6. foreverlostinlit 12/07/2022 / 9:31 pm

    What beautiful covers! We Were Liars is such a great pick for a summer cover.

  7. FangirlFlax 12/07/2022 / 9:32 pm

    Beauty Queens! I can’t believe I forgot it–it was such a fun book.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:41 pm

      I’ve never I actually read it-it’s on my TBR and the cover fit, so I used it for the list! I’ve heard it’s good though, so it’s definitely one I plan to get to at some point.

      • FangirlFlax 14/07/2022 / 11:42 pm

        It definitely works for the list! I hope you enjoy it if you do get around to reading it πŸ™‚

  8. agreatreviewer 12/07/2022 / 9:55 pm

    Ooh nice! Those are definitely covers with some summer vibes!

    Thanks for visiting my TTT!

  9. Carla 12/07/2022 / 10:03 pm

    A very nice variety.

  10. Nicole @ BookWyrmKnits 12/07/2022 / 10:06 pm

    You’re right, bees do have a very summery feel to me too! Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:40 pm

      I’m sure they’re around in spring, but I just associate them more with summer for some reason! No problem πŸ™‚

      • Nicole @ BookWyrmKnits 15/07/2022 / 4:29 pm

        I think it’s because (for me, anyway) I’ve done more sitting around listening to bees buzzing in the heat of summer than in the spring. Plus, summer days have more of the feel of honey: lazy, slow, and golden-colored.

  11. thinkingbookishthoughts 12/07/2022 / 10:20 pm

    So many great picks on here! I’m obsessed with the cover for The Mask Falling!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:39 pm

      Thank you! I love it too, I think it’s my favourite one for that series πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:37 pm

      Thank you! Oh I’m so glad to hear that, I really enjoyed that one too, Kate Quinn is a new favourite author of mine.

  12. WendyW 12/07/2022 / 11:04 pm

    These are all such summery covers! I like the cover of Summers of the Sisterhood the best.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:36 pm

      I’m glad I succeeded with the theme! Yes that is a really pretty one πŸ™‚

  13. Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies 12/07/2022 / 11:25 pm

    These are great! And it was really fun to see Beauty Queens here — I read the book many years ago, and it was a great blast from the past to see it in your post!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:36 pm

      Thank you! I’ve actually never read it, the only books of Bray’s I’ve read are The Diviners series, but I’ve heard good things, so it’s definitely one I’m planning to read one day.

  14. Terrie Purkey 13/07/2022 / 12:57 am

    When I started scrolling and you had those few bright yellow ones together, I thought the focus was going to be on ‘sunny’ color covers, then you switched it to blues…..way to fool me! πŸ™‚ A great list and I have Rose Code sitting on my nightstand, to be started soon. Thanks for the visit.
    Terrie @ Bookshelf Journeys

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:35 pm

      Ha ha I probably could have done that, I’ve got quite a few sunny coloured covers on my TBR or my read list, but I decided to stick to more general. It just so happened that the first couple I thought of had yellow covers! Thank you. Oh I hope you enjoy The Rose Code, I thought it was really great πŸ™‚

  15. Rachel @Waves of Fiction 13/07/2022 / 3:16 am

    Beauty Queens cracks me up! Great list and thanks for visiting my TTT! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:34 pm

      I’ve never read it, but I’ve heard good things! Thank you, and no problem πŸ™‚

  16. Emily Jane 13/07/2022 / 6:55 am

    Beautiful covers. I also found that my summer covers could also count as spring.

    Have a great week!

    Emily @ Budget Tales Book Blog

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:33 pm

      Thank you! I think there’s definitely a lot of crossover between those two seasons in terms of colours.

      • Emily Jane 14/07/2022 / 6:50 pm

        Yeah. A sunny spring day and a sunny summer’s day are pretty similar – especially here in the UK.

  17. dinipandareads 13/07/2022 / 7:54 am

    I’d love to one day attend YALC, glad to hear that you ended up having a great time 😍
    Great picks for this week’s topic. These covers really do give off those summer vibes!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:33 pm

      Fingers crossed you get to! Yes it was amazing πŸ™‚
      Thank you!

  18. Marg 13/07/2022 / 9:56 am

    I do like the yellow covers! Thanks for stopping by my post earlier!

  19. Denise @ Life With No Plot 13/07/2022 / 11:17 am

    Love your covers! I picked several of mine because of the color schemes too and yellows, reds and oranges were definitely featured.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:32 pm

      Thank you! Yes, that colour scheme does just seem to really work for summer πŸ™‚

  20. Marianne Maurer 13/07/2022 / 11:19 am

    Who would have thought yellow works just as well as blue on summery covers? Great idea and I love the ones you chose, even though I didn’t read a single one of them.

    But that’s what it is all about, isn’t it? Discovering new reads. Thanks for that.

    And thanks for visiting my TTT this week.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:32 pm

      Thanks! To be honest, I’ve actually not read most of these, usually I try to feature only books I’ve read, but I used up most of the ones with summer covers that I’d read the last time I did the topic, so all but three or four of these are ones from my TBR!

  21. Jaime 13/07/2022 / 3:57 pm

    Love your choices! It’s kind of fun how many of them are yellow or have yellow somewhere on them πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:30 pm

      Thank you! Yeah I wasn’t particularly aiming for a yellow theme, but yellow just screams sun and summer for me, so I ended up with quite a few with that colour.

  22. Leslie 13/07/2022 / 4:57 pm

    Awesome list! Still need to read Rose Code!

  23. Angie F. 13/07/2022 / 5:50 pm

    I forgot about Beauty Queens! That’s such a fun summer cover!

  24. anovelglimpse 13/07/2022 / 8:12 pm

    I love your choices! We Were Liars is a good one. I didn’t think of that one.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:28 pm

      Thank you! Yeah summer is such an important part of the book, it makes sense the cover would reflect that πŸ™‚

  25. jennielyse 13/07/2022 / 11:15 pm

    Thanks for commenting on my post. Sorry it has taken me nearly half a week to get back to you. I’ve been exhausted from moving and unpacking. I’m sure you understand.

    I love your choices. I never would’ve thought of most of these a summery covers. However, I think they work. The colors are sunshiny or there’s blue skies and water. Awesome.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:27 pm

      Ah no problem! I definitely understand, we still have boxes everywhere here and probably are likely to for a few more weeks to come!

      Thank you! Yeah I strayed away from the more obvious “summer reads” for the most part, but I think it left me with a nice eclectic bunch!

  26. Ellie Warren 14/07/2022 / 9:02 am

    We have solitary bees that live in our house wall and it’s a sure sign of summer coming when they emerge out of their nests.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:25 pm

      Solitary bees huh? Interesting, I always thought bees were group animals!

  27. girlplusbooks 14/07/2022 / 3:24 pm

    Love all the summery colors/covers. Seeing Beauty Queens made me smile. I remember when it came out years and years ago and it seemed like everyone was reading it. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 14/07/2022 / 3:25 pm

      Thank you! I’ve actually still not read it, I’ve read The Diviners series by Libba Bray but that’s about it. Will have to rectify that one of these days πŸ™‚

  28. Rissi 17/07/2022 / 8:54 pm

    Glad you were able to go to YALC and had a nice time. πŸ™‚ Holly’s book looks cute with that title and the popcorn. Ooo, and the cover of Lucy’s looks whimsical and cute. Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland. Apologies for the delay in visiting here.

  29. thebookishlibra 19/07/2022 / 1:35 am

    Great selection of covers. The one for We Were Liars is perfect for this topic.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.