Top Ten Tuesday #319

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve had a great week since I last did one of these, mine has been fairly quiet, I was mostly doing more training for my job and completing my latest assessment for my intensive Spanish course. I’m going to see my friends this weekend though, our first indoor meeting since lockdown so I’m super excited for that.

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, so that means another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is Books I Loved That Made Me Want More Like Them, which is slightly confusing phrasing but basically it means books that you read that made you want to find similar ones after reading them. I love this topic since I think like all readers, when I love a book I want to go out and find similar ones! So here we go:

  1. A Darker Shade of Magic-VE Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic became one of my favourite books after reading it and thus started my love of VE Schwab. Since I read ADSOM in 2016, I’ve now read almost all of both Schwab’s back catalogue and the books she’s released since then. I actually now only have two more of her books left to read (discounting the Everyday Angel books because I feel like they’re a bit young for me!), her debut, The Near Witch and the latest Cassidy Blake book Bridge of Souls. I also have the rest of The Steel Prince comics (I haven’t read The Night of Knives or The Rebel Army arcs yet) and her new ExtraOrdinary comics to read.

2. My Sister’s Keeper-Jodi Picoult

My Sister’s Keeper is definitely not my usual kind of read, but I loved it so much that I then went out and bought most of Jodi Picoult’s back catalogue and her new books usually make it straight onto my pre-order list (barring her upcoming release because it’s about the pandemic and I’m really just not ready to read any pandemic books yet. I’ve watched some shows that have featured it, but by and large, I’m generally staying away from any pandemic related media). She has a huge back catalogue and I haven’t been interested in reading all of her books because some of the subject matter hasn’t interested me, but I’ve read 18 out of her 24 published books so it’s safe to say I’m a fan!

3. The Lightning Thief-Rick Riordan

I may have reached a point where I feel like I’ve outgrown Rick Riordan’s books (though I do want to finish the Trials of Apollo series eventually) but when I first read The Lightning Thief at 14, I devoured the entire PJO series and over the next (almost) decade read as much of his work as I could get my hands on (barring The Kane Chronicles as for some reason they never interested me much). I’d always been fascinated by Greek mythology but Percy Jackson definitely took it to a whole new level!

4. The Hunger Games-Suzanne Collins

This is more of a genre thing rather than an author thing, The Hunger Games was the start of my dystopian obsession: though it was fairly short lived, I think it lasted about 3 or 4 years! But because of reading The Hunger Games, I searched out other dystopian books and read (and enjoyed to varying degrees of success): Neal Shusterman’s Unwind series, James Dashner’s Maze Runner trilogy, Julianna Baggott’s Pure Trilogy, Sarah Crossan’s Breathe duology and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series. The Hunger Games wasn’t actually the first dystopian book I read, that was Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses, but it was the first one that made me want to go and search out other books like it.

5. Six of Crows-Leigh Bardugo

My first introduction to the Grishaverse and I loved Kaz Brekker’s misfit gang of criminals so much that I immediately searched out all of the other Grisha books that I could get my hands on. Six of Crows is still my favourite Bardugo book, but I’ve happily bought everything that she’s brought out since. I’ve yet to read Rule of Wolves but I’m super excited to do so.

6. Skulduggery Pleasant-Derek Landy

I fell in love with Landy’s magical skeleton detective pretty instantly when I was 12 and over the next six years read every Skulduggery book that came out, plus the Demon Road trilogy. I’ve felt fairly mixed about the more recent additions to the Skulduggery series, I don’t think they’ve been as good as the original series, but I’m still going to be quite sad when the final book of the series is released next year as it will definitely be the end of an era of my reading life-these books have been with me for over half my life now!

7. Matilda-Roald Dahl

I am aware now that Roald Dahl’s views were pretty heinous (antisemitic, racist, misogynist), so I wouldn’t necessarily recommend his books now, but when I was a kid, I really did love them and Matilda was one of the first books that made me feel seen as a young reader, so naturally I searched out his other books after reading it.

8. Code Name Verity-Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity remains one of my favourite WWII stories I’ve ever read: it’s all about female friendship, it’s so cleverly woven together (one of the best unreliable narrator books I’ve read), it highlights women’s work in WWII and has a number of heartbreaking plot twists. I’ve read all of Wein’s Verity related books since then (Rose Under Fire, The Pearl Thief and The Enigma Game) and I can’t wait to see what she does next.

9. Dangerous Girls-Abigail Haas

Reading Abigail Haas’ messed up, brilliantly twisty YA thriller definitely made me want more messed up, brilliantly twisted thrillers. I’ve had mixed results, nothing has quite reached the heights of the shocking plot twist of this book, I’ve found some that I’ve really enjoyed and some that have been quite underwhelming but it was this book that made me want to read more mystery/thriller-esque stories.

10. Timekeeper-Tara Sim

Tara Sim’s brilliantly creative Victorian steampunk-esque alternative historical fantasy starring a gay clock mechanic and his pansexual clock spirit boyfriend definitely got me more interested in reading historical fantasy. I’m not sure if this was the first historical fantasy I’ve ever read, but I definitely remember searching out for them a lot more after reading this book. I really recommend this trilogy to everyone, it’s woefully underrated and SO SO GOOD.

So there we go, those are some books I loved that made me want more like them, whether it was books by the same author or in the same genre. Have you read any of these books? Did you like them? What books have you read that made you seek out books like them? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is my annual Summer TBR list, my Spring TBR did not go very well, thanks to my ongoing reading slump, so I’m hoping that I can do better with my reading over the summer than I did over the spring!

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #319

  1. Jess @ Jessticulates 08/06/2021 / 3:24 pm

    Great list! Six of Crows made my list this week, too, and I really need to cross Code Name Verity off my TBR. I’ve heard so many good things about Timekeeper!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/06/2021 / 10:47 am

      Thanks! Ah Code Name Verity and Timekeeper are both so good, I highly recommend both šŸ™‚

  2. lindseyhabets 08/06/2021 / 5:43 pm

    The Hunger Games also started a huge dystopian binge for me! And I’d love to find more books like Six of Crows and ADSOM as well.

    • iloveheartlandx 15/06/2021 / 10:45 am

      It seems it did for a lot of people! Yes, they are two of my favourite books, so I’m always looking for more like them.

  3. Susan 08/06/2021 / 7:40 pm

    I used to read TONS of Picoult back in the day. I haven’t been as impressed with her more recent books, so it’s been some time since I’ve read her. I am interested in her newest, though. Also, I think THE HUNGER GAMES started my dystopian obsession as well. It was a groundbreaking book in a lot of ways!

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 15/06/2021 / 10:30 am

      I liked A Spark of Light, but I wasn’t so keen on her most recent, The Book of Two Ways. I personally don’t feel ready to read any pandemic related books yet, maybe a few years down the line, but it’s all too close right now. It really was!

  4. Alex 08/06/2021 / 8:33 pm

    Oh, some really excellent choices in here, and I really, really must read some Schwab!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/06/2021 / 10:27 am

      Ah her books are so good, I hope you enjoy them if/when you read them šŸ™‚

  5. Greg 08/06/2021 / 9:53 pm

    I love a good dystopian. And I’ve heard good things about both Schwab and Riordan but haven’t read either!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/06/2021 / 10:26 am

      Me too! Oh you definitely should, they’re both so great šŸ™‚

  6. Holliehocks 09/06/2021 / 6:57 am

    I definitely need to read Schwab’s books! I also wished to consume all things Grishaverse after reading Six of Crows! I haven’t gotten around to the King of Scars duology yet, but I love Bardugo’s writing and characters so much.

    • iloveheartlandx 15/06/2021 / 10:21 am

      Definitely, they’re so good! I hope you get around to the rest of the Grishaverse soon šŸ™‚

  7. pagesandtea 09/06/2021 / 7:46 am

    Great list. I remember reading The hunger Games trilogy for the first time, I couldn’t put them down and went straight from one book to the next.

  8. Marianne Maurer 09/06/2021 / 11:24 am

    I read “The Hunger Games” way after my first dystopian novel, so it didn’t make it onto my list. But “The Children’s War” and “The Handmaid’s Tale” made it for my beginnings with that genre.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 15/06/2021 / 10:17 am

      It wasn’t my first one either, I read Noughts and Crosses several years before but it was the one that really had me seeking out other dystopian books. I’ve actually never read either of those, but I have watched The Handmaid’s Tale TV series.

      • Marianne Maurer 15/06/2021 / 12:44 pm

        I’m still not sure whether I want to watch the series. I love that book so much, I can’t imagine it on a screen.

      • iloveheartlandx 22/06/2021 / 7:51 pm

        I felt the same way, it’s definitely different but in a way that still feels faithful to the book so I think they did a good job of it (though I wish it had been longer than six episodes and there are certain things that they left out that I think should have been in).

      • Marianne Maurer 23/06/2021 / 9:09 am

        That is always the problem with any films they make from a book. I can get especially annoyed when they leave something out that I think would have been important and then add something that’s not in the book at all.

      • iloveheartlandx 28/06/2021 / 12:01 pm

        Yeah I definitely get that. It’s tricky though, they only have a certain number of episodes or amount of time to fit the story into so there’s always bound to be something that gets cut.

      • Marianne Maurer 28/06/2021 / 12:18 pm

        I know and I understand that.. But if they put something in that is not in the book, they could have left other stuff in that they cut.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.