Top Ten Tuesday #311

Hi all! I hope you had a good week since I last did one of these, mine has been fairly quiet. I’m hoping to see my friends this weekend though, so I’m looking forward to that.

It’s Tuesday, so I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. I wasn’t really feeling this week’s topic, so I decided to go in a different direction, and instead, I’m going to be sharing Spring Book Covers with you all, as I always enjoy doing cover topics and it’s not one of the planned topics for this year, so I thought it would be fun to do. So here we go, some Spring Book Covers for your viewing pleasure:

  1. This Poison Heart-Kalynn Bayron
54860241

This is one of my FAVOURITE 2021 book covers, it’s so gorgeous, I love how colourful it is, and of course, YES to Black girls on book covers, we love to see that. It also screams Spring, with all the flowers and vines and the green background, it’s definitely one of the most Spring-like covers I’ve ever seen.

2. The Gilded Wolves-Roshani Chokshi

39863498

Given the role that gardens and botany play in the plot (one of the main characters is a botanist), it’s very fitting that The Gilded Wolves has a Spring themed cover, with all the leaves and the little purple flowers poking out. I love this cover, I think the colours work together beautifully and I love how the intricate gold design hints at the 19th century setting.

3. Girl, Serpent, Thorn-Melissa Bashardoust

51182650. sy475

The lovely pink flowers intertwined with the snake on this cover definitely makes it feel very Spring-like, in the words of Miranda Priestly: florals for Spring? Groundbreaking.

4. Resist-Sarah Crossan

17451559
Kind of ironic that this cover made the list, given that the whole premise of this duology relies on the trees dying and the world lacking in oxygen, but it does have quite a spring feel to it, with the leaves inside the dome and the combination of the red and green on the cover. I particularly love that solitary red flower breaking through the cracked earth, it’s a powerful image.

5. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue-VE Schwab

55451171
I don’t usually consider VE Schwab’s covers to be particularly Spring-like, her books are definitely firmly in the autumnal category with her usual colour palette being red, black and white. But Addie’s cover, with the blues and lovely little forget-me-nots (perfect for this book) definitely has a more Spring feel than any of her other covers.

6. Blue Lily, Lily Blue-Maggie Stiefvater

22978079
The third Raven Cycle book’s cover screams Spring, with the pastel hues, and the little pink and purple flowers creeping in at the edge of the design. The Raven Cycle covers are among some of my favourite book covers, I love the way each book cover looks and feels like a watercolour painting, I think it’s a really gorgeous style.

7. The Foundling-Stacey Halls

51020569. sy475

This cover is packed full of floral designs, so naturally it seemed like a fitting choice for a Spring themed cover. I love the contrast between the flowers and the woman trapped inside a cage, I think combining those two things is a really interesting choice. It’s a really lovely cover and I look forward to reading the book.

8. Splintered-AG Howard

12558285
I will never be a fan of people on book covers (unless it’s an illustration), but this one is strangely striking. The green with the flowers and the vines and the insects definitely give this whole cover very spring vibes and given that it’s an Alice in Wonderland retelling, it fits that cover looks quite strange and quirky.

9. Forest of Ghosts and Bones-Lisa Lueddecke

49562002. sy475

I love the combination of the bones and the flowers on this cover, it’s such a fun juxtaposition of creepy and nature. The bones might make it seem like more of a Halloween choice but for me, with the mint green and yellows and purples, the colours feel very spring-like to me. There’s also a lot of nature with the florals and the little mushrooms, so that feels more fitting of a Spring cover.

10. Wild Beauty-Anna-Marie McLemore

33158561
This felt like an obvious choice for a Spring cover for me given that it’s flowers everywhere and given that the story is based around gardens, it definitely seems fitting to include it on a Spring themed book list.

11. The Fair Botanists-Sara Sheridan

57409373

If there was any book that was perfect for a list like this, it’s this one. It doesn’t come out till August, and it’s actually set in the summer, but given that it is a story based around botany, it seems perfect for a spring list. And the cover definitely fits too, with the green colours and all of the leaves and flowers on the cover.

12. Descendant of The Crane-Joan He

41219451. sy475
Another floral cover for Spring, the lotus flowers on this cover are really gorgeous and the crane in particularly is really striking. Nature seems very front and centre on this cover which makes it perfect for this list of Spring book covers. The colour scheme is a little darker than some of the other covers on this list, but I really like that as it makes the reds on the crane and on the woman’s clothes seem even more vibrant.

So that’s it, those are my Spring Book Covers for this week. Have you read any of these books? Did you like them? Which one of these is your favourite cover? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back with another Top Ten Tuesday next week, with another cover themed topic (though a planned one this time!), and we’ll be talking about Colourful Book Covers. Honestly pretty much all the ones I’ve used this week could work for next week’s topic, but I will try and come up with some new ones for you!

60 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #311

  1. Aviaja 13/04/2021 / 2:15 pm

    These are all such lovely colours! Might have added a bit to my TBR πŸ™ƒ

  2. Felicia Sue Lynn Reviews 13/04/2021 / 3:49 pm

    These covers are absolutely gorgeous and definitely remind me of spring. I might have to add a few to my TBR. Great list! πŸ˜€

  3. brookelorren 13/04/2021 / 3:59 pm

    Beautiful choices! I wanted to read Descendant of the Crane since pre-order, partly because of that beautiful cover. I did finally get to read it after I found it on sale.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2021 / 9:20 am

      Thank you! Yeah, it was great to be able to find so many floral covers that took such different approaches.

  4. Leah's Books 13/04/2021 / 4:43 pm

    Wow this is a great twist on the topic for the week, and you’ve made fabulous choices. Each of these book covers just screams spring!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2021 / 9:19 am

      Thank you! I’m glad they got across what I was going for.

  5. lindseyhabets 13/04/2021 / 5:23 pm

    I love all of these and they look so great together. And wow, This Poison Heart is definitely my favorite out of all of these too.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2021 / 9:17 am

      Thanks! They definitely make a very attractive set. I love it so much, it really is lovely πŸ™‚

  6. Catherine 13/04/2021 / 5:43 pm

    That ‘The descendant of the crane’ cover is beautiful!

  7. Ariel 13/04/2021 / 5:56 pm

    Great choices and A+ for creativity!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2021 / 9:16 am

      Thank you! Ooh that would be an interesting crayon name πŸ™‚

  8. One Book More 13/04/2021 / 8:26 pm

    I love these covers. So beautiful!! They definitely have Spring vibes. πŸ™‚

  9. Leslie 13/04/2021 / 8:31 pm

    There’s so many great covers on here. It’s been so long since I’ve read Splintered but I’m always excited to see it on lists!

  10. FangirlFlax 13/04/2021 / 9:01 pm

    Girl Serpent Thorn has SUCH a beautiful cover. And I always think of that Miranda Priestly quote at this time of year, haha!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2021 / 9:14 am

      It does! Ha ha I could not resist using it, I love The Devil Wears Prada.

      • FangirlFlax 20/04/2021 / 9:16 am

        It’s full of so many quotes that apply every single day, too!

  11. Greg 14/04/2021 / 1:37 am

    I really like Girl, Serpent, Thorn a lot. Lily Blue is nice too.

    I always like those Howard titles. And Wild Beauty is great too.

    Nice picks!

  12. cahughes_bookreviews 14/04/2021 / 3:49 am

    Such a fun approach to this week’s prompt!! All of these covers are gorgeous!

  13. dinipandareads 14/04/2021 / 7:55 am

    So many gorgeous covers but I think my favourite might have to be The Poison Heart! I’m a sucker for brightly coloured and illustrated covers and this one is just *chefs kiss*! I’ve only read Descendant of the Crane and I did like it but it sadly didn’t end up being a favourite. The rest are on my TBR though! Great list πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2021 / 9:13 am

      It is so beautiful, the designer did a really great job with it. I actually felt the same way about Descendant of The Crane, it was fine, but not a favourite for me either. I hope you enjoy the others! Thank you πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2021 / 9:12 am

      It may not be groundbreaking but it is perfect πŸ™‚

  14. Jen at Introverted Reader 14/04/2021 / 5:00 pm

    These are all such beautiful covers! My favorite is a tie between The Poison Heart and Blue Lily, Lily Blue.

  15. Rissi 20/04/2021 / 12:21 am

    I’m always and forever a cover topic kind of girl. Also, that Girl, Serpent, Thorn is one of those covers that I’m grossed out by, but also love the pretty coral colors against the bright white. πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for the visit to Finding Wonderland last week. Hope you had a great week!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2021 / 9:07 am

      Yes me too! I definitely get that snakes aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, but yes the colours are lovely. No problem, and yes I did thank you πŸ™‚

  16. Annemieke 20/04/2021 / 5:45 am

    I agree that Splintered is very striking for a people on the book cover, cover.

  17. Sammie @ The Bookwyrm's Den 21/04/2021 / 6:17 pm

    Oooh, I’d never heard of This Poison Heart, but it not only looks delightfully springy but also dark and twisty and like something I definitely need to read! Wild Beauty is another beautiful one that always grabs my attention when I see it.

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2021 / 2:17 pm

      I’m glad to have helped you find it! It comes out in June πŸ™‚ Wild Beauty definitely has an eye catching cover.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.