Quarterly Rewind (December-March 16/17 edition)

Hey everyone! I can’t believe it’s time for my first Quarterly Rewind of 2017 already, the first few months of this year have just flown by! I am so ready for Spring to finally spring and hopefully get a little warm weather? I don’t think a little is too much to ask, even if I do live in Scotland! This post will cover from 22nd December-19th March:

Image from this Winter:

me and katy 3Surprisingly, I really did not have many photos to choose from, I guess I haven’t been taking many pictures in the past three months! Still I love this one of my sister and I from when we went to Edinburgh back at the end of December. The castle in the background is just perfect no?

Favourite quote from a book you read this Winter:

“Delilah Bard had never read many books. The few she did had pirates and thieves and always ended with the promise of more stories. Characters sailed away. They lived on. Lila always imagined people that way, a series of intersections and adventures. It was easy when you moved through life-through worlds-the way she did. Easy when you didn’t care, when people came onto the page and walked away again, back to their own stories, and you could imagine whatever you wanted for them, if you cared enough to write it in your head.” -A Conjuring of Light, VE Schwab

A Conjuring of Light is my favourite book I’ve read this Spring, heck so far this year, and I loved this quote. It just felt very meta and as a reader, it’s easy to relate to!

This Winter In One Word:

Exhausting!

Most Popular Review This Winter:

I’ve read six books this Winter, not counting the couple of books I was finishing at the end of December as I read most of those in the period of my last rewind, the most popular of which was The Crown’s Game:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/17/the-crowns-game-the-crowns-game-1/

Top Two Books This Winter:

I’ve had a very mixed bag of books this Winter, most ranging around the 3-4 star range and only one getting a 5 star. These are the two books I read that I think stand out above the rest:

  1. A Conjuring of Light-VE Schwab-This has to be my top book of the Spring, this series conclusion was everything that I wanted it to be and more. Victoria Schwab is such a skilled fantasy writer, this world and characters that she created are honestly among my favourite fantasy world and characters and I can’t wait to read her backlog of books because if they’re anywhere near as good as the Shades of Magic books, I’m in for a treat!
  2. Caraval-Stephanie Garber-One of the most hyped books of 2017 so far and for good reason, the world is lush, the writing is magical, the characters were enjoyable and I’m so excited to see where this story goes in the second book of the duology.

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Spring:

  1. Greece-I’m planning a trip to Greece with my friends for my 21st birthday, in June (my birthday’s not actually till September, but it clashes with Uni start dates so I couldn’t go then) and I’m so excited because I’ve always wanted to go!
  2. Sports Ball-I’m going to my University’s Sports Ball again this year, it’s a few weeks from now, and I’m really excited, it was so much fun last year!

Three New Obsessions This Winter:

  1. Reign-I started watching this show about the young Mary Queen of Scots at the end of February and flew through it in a matter of weeks. A lot of liberties are taken with the history, but I don’t care, it’s just so damn addictive.
  2. Hamilton-Yup, I’m late to the party! My friend got me listening to the soundtrack and now I’m utterly obsessed. This is my go to soundtrack when doing my University work now. I have You’ll Be Back stuck on a constant loop in my head.
  3. Salted caramel Galaxy-Yes a weird obsession, but I got some salted Caramel Galaxy a couple of weeks ago, and it’s honestly one of the best things to have ever happened to chocolate!

Five Most Popular Blog Posts This Winter:

Once again most of my most popular blog posts this Winter were Top Ten Tuesdays, but in a first for this feature, my post popular post was actually a discussion post!:

  1. Jo Talks Books: Where All The Single Characters In YA-My post popular post in recent months was this one, where I lamented the lack of single characters in YA. I was amazed by the response to this post, so many people sharing their stories and issues with the lack of single characters in young adult books and I’m so happy with how popular and how much love this post has got!

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/12/jo-talks-books-where-are-all-the-single-characters-in-ya/

2. Top Ten Tuesday #91-This was one of my first TTT’s of the year, where I talked about the 2016 releases I missed out on in 2016 and plan to read this year. I’ve only actually read one so far, but I’m working through a second and hopefully will have read all of them by the end of the year!

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/10/top-ten-tuesday-91/

3. Top Ten Tuesday #98-This was my TTT post from last week, where I talked about all the books I plan to read this Spring. I’m not sure I’ll get through all of them, but I’m pretty excited for the reading I have ahead of me!

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/15/top-ten-tuesday-98/

4. Top Ten Tuesday #93-This is another one from back in January, which was a freebie and I talked about Girl Power Books, inspired by the Women’s March movement. I’m so happy that this one is on here and I get to share it again, because in times like these, I think sharing books to empower girls is really important.

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/24/top-ten-tuesday-93/

5. Top Ten Tuesday #97-This is from the end of Februrary, right before TTT went on hiatus for a few weeks. It was all about the books that I loved less than I expected and I rather enjoyed doing it as it’s not often that I do a negative ranty post (at least not for TTT, I’ve done a few ranty discussion posts!).

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/21/top-ten-tuesday-97/

Five Posts I Enjoyed On Other Blogs This Winter:

I once again kind of lapsed on my bookmarking this Winter, but I’ll see what I can find:

  1. Aimee Davis did this incredible, heartbreaking post on Consent in YA Fiction and I honestly think it is one that everyone should read. It’s such an important topic and Aimee speaks so honestly and openly.

Consent in Young Adult Fiction

2. Lucy Powrie @ Queen of Contemporary did this great post responding to an ignorant tweet by producer Judd Apatow and the general ignorance of the media about the worth of teenage girls.

http://queenofcontemporary.com/2017/02/call-teenager-response-judd-apatow.html

3. Sarah K @ The Book Traveller did this amazing post about Angie Thomas’ new book, The Hate U Give and why she has been scared to read it. It’s such an open, honest, raw post about her family and it’s definitely worth a read.

http://theyabooktraveler.com/index.php/2017/02/28/discussionthug/

4. Rachel @ A Perfection Called Books wrote a great post on the recent controversies about diversity on Twitter and it was really eye opening to see how many teenagers are scared of sharing their opinions on Twitter because they’re terrified of being torn to pieces by some members of the community. We need to make sure that teenagers feel safe in this community, that they feel they are able to speak out on issues that affect them. Yes we need to have discussions about important issues but we should do it in a way that is respectful and inclusive, not divisive and destructive. This post also inspired me to do my own post about teen bloggers in the YA online community.

http://aperfectioncalledbooks.blogspot.co.uk/2017/01/the-post-i-was-scared-to-write.html#comment-form

5. Anushka @ Pushing Through Books did this great post on enjoying problematic books which I really enjoyed as it’s something I’ve struggled with, some of my favourite books are considered problematic. Does this mean I enjoy them less? No. I think as long as we are aware of the problems and make other people aware of the problems in books we love then there is no problem enjoying them. She mentions people reading books solely to pick out the problems and that completely shocked me. Like why would you do that? Surely that takes all the fun out of reading. Anyway it was a really insightful post that I enjoyed and I hope you guys do too!

https://goingthroughbooks.wordpress.com/2017/02/18/are-you-allowed-to-enjoy-problematic-books-are-we-making-a-big-deal-out-of-this/

Five Things That Happened This Winter:

  1. I went to see Jack Whitehall on tour in Glasgow with my friends. It was completely hilarious and such a fun day/night out for all of us.
  2. I competed in my first competition with my Trampolining club at Uni. I didn’t win or anything but I was just so happy to complete both my routines successfully. Plus we won the league, so that was pretty awesome.
  3. On Saturday, my friends and I went to Edinburgh to explore some of the literary sights for an article I had to write for my Journalism class, have to say, even though I was exhausted afterwards, it’s one of the most fun things I’ve ever got to do for an assignment.
  4. Went to Maison De Moggy, Scotland’s first cat cafe with my friends, it was so much fun & the cats were so adorable!
  5. I finally finished my NaNoWriMo novel, This Is Not A Love Story, and it’s now in the editing stage. Not that much editing has actually happened yet, but I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo in April, so you never know!

Six Songs I Listened To Way Too Often This Winter:

  1. You’ll Be Back-Hamilton-Okay I could really put the entire soundtrack on here, but this is the song that has basically been on constant repeat in our flat for the last month or so!
  2. Galway Girl-Ed Sheeran-One of my favourites off his new album, this song is just too damn catchy!
  3. Sanctuary-Nashville-I’ve had this song on repeat ever since I watched the episode with it in. It’s so damn sad, but also beautiful.
  4. Dancing Through Life-Wicked-This is one of my favourite songs from the soundtrack so naturally I’ve been listening to it a lot.
  5. Come So Far (Got So Far To Go)-Hairspray-This one comes up on my IPod a lot and it’s just so catchy, I love it!
  6. What’d I Miss?-Hamilton-Another Hamilton song that has got stuck in my head.

So that’s my Quarterly Rewind for Winter, what do you guys think? What have you enjoyed most on my blog this Winter? What have you guys been up to this Winter? Any exciting plans for Spring? Let me know in the comments!

 

4 thoughts on “Quarterly Rewind (December-March 16/17 edition)

  1. nevillegirl March 20, 2017 / 9:23 pm

    Love the quote you chose! I’ve been meaning to read V.E. Schwab’s books and this just motivated me to look for some of them the next time I’m at the library! So thank you for that. 😀

    I agree, my winter was definitely exhausting too!

    • iloveheartlandx March 21, 2017 / 4:10 pm

      Thanks! Oh you definitely should, her books are so good (and there is some LGBTQ+ rep). Ugh I know right, something about winter as a season is just so tiring.

  2. everythingalyce March 24, 2017 / 9:08 am

    I can’t believe how quickly this year is going either – it’s almost my birthday, which used to feel so far away from Christmas!
    I tagged you in a book tag – I hope you’ll accept my challenge.

    • iloveheartlandx March 25, 2017 / 12:20 am

      I know right! Ah when’s your birthday? Oh cool, I’ll check it out!

Leave a Reply

