Top Ten Tuesday #98

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hey everyone! It feels so strange that I haven’t done one of these for two weeks, but I’ve come back refreshed, and I hope the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish enjoyed their break too, they’ve been working hard for 6.5 years, they deserve their break. The break actually came just in time as I was snowed under with Uni assignments the last two weeks, so it was nice to be able to focus on that rather than blogging, if you’re wondering why I was MIA for the last week and a half, that’s why! Anyway, I’m back, refreshed and ready to dive in to this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, which is: Top Ten Books on My Spring TBR List. Agh! I should have known this one was coming. I suck at sticking to TBR lists, and I don’t usually finish ten books in any given season, although I did pretty well with my autumn TBR, I’ve only not read two of those books now, so that’s a lot better than I usually manage! Here’s what I’m hoping to read this Spring (although please don’t hold me to it!):

  1. This Savage Song-VE Schwab

After finishing (and being utterly heartbroken by) A Conjuring of Light today, I’m in a VE Schwab kind of mood. I had this on my #RockMyTBR list, so I figured why not use it as my March book? My friend loves this book and VE Schwab has yet to disappoint me, so I can’t wait to dive into this one!

2. Salt To The Sea-Ruta Sepetys

I’ve been hitting the fantasy pretty hard recently, so I thought it would be nice for my April #RockMyTBR to have a brief break from my favourite genre and go with this historical fiction. I loved Sepetys’ first book, Between Shades of Grey, and I have heard such great things about this one, so I have high hopes that I’ll enjoy it.

3. The Pearl Thief-Elizabeth Wein

I’m currently reading this one, but I’ve been sort of dipping in and out because I’ve been so busy and haven’t had all that much time to read. I haven’t really got into it yet, but I’m hoping when I have a more concentrated period of time to read it, I’ll enjoy it. I mean it’s the prequel to Code Name Verity, so it can’t possibly be bad right?

4. The Invisible Library-Genevieve Cogman

I meant to read this in February but then A Conjuring of Light came out and I wasn’t all that into it anyway, so I kind of abandoned it…..and then forgot to go back! I want to finish it because I’m only like 4 chapters from the end and I’ll be damned if I’ll DNF when I’ve already invested so much time in it. Hopefully I’ll finish it this month.

5. A Court of Mist and Fury-Sarah J Maas

I think I’ll probably read this as my May TBR book, as it will be just after exams finish, I’ll have plenty of time to dedicate to it and it will be a nice reward for finishing the year. My friend is going to be so happy I’m finally reading this! In all seriousness though, I’ve had a Maas free year thus far, so it will be nice to dive back into one of her gorgeous worlds.

6. Countless-Karen Gregory

This was featured on #ukyachat a while ago and despite it being a contemporary, the premise of a pregnant teenager struggling with an eating disorder sounded really unusual, so I requested it, got approved and I’m actually quite looking forward to reading it.

7. The Perks of Being A Wallflower-Stephen Chbosky

Like I said, I have exams coming up in the Spring, so I figure this small book from my #otspsecretsister will be perfect for when I’m in the middle of revision hell and have little time to read. I love the movie of this and I’m so excited to finally have the chance to read the book (yes I know, bad bookworm, seeing the movie first) and see what I think of it.

8. Daughter of The Pirate King-Tricia Levenseller

I won this one in a giveaway and it sounds like so much fun! I love feisty female pirates, and I don’t read anywhere near enough books about them, so I’m excited for this one.

9. One of Us Is Lying-Karen McManus

This is billed as a PLL meets The Breakfast Club style mystery and I cannot wait to read it. I’ve read some really amazing YA thrillers in recent years, so I hope that this one lives up!

10. Under Rose Tainted Skies-Louise Gornall

I got this one from YALC last year, and I’ve heard such good things about it since, plus the author seemed so lovely, so I’m really excited to read this one as my June #RockMyTBR book. I don’t read all that many YA mental health books, so it will be interesting to see if I enjoy this one.

We are back to our regular Top Ten Tuesday routine now, so I will be back next week with a new post, the topic is Read In One Sitting, but we can interpret it however we want, so you’ll have to wait until next week to see exactly how I interpret the topic. In the meantime, I just finished A Conjuring of Light so I will hopefully have a review of that up for you guys very soon. Stay tuned!

115 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #98

  1. Jasmine 20/03/2017 / 7:34 pm

    Great list! You have many books I want to read too! One of Us is Lying, I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 21/03/2017 / 4:10 pm

      Thanks! I hope you enjoy the ones you want to read too πŸ™‚

  2. Rhoda (@rhodak09) 23/03/2017 / 10:09 am

    This is a fab list! Salt To The Sea is an incredible book, I read it about this time last year and I still think about it. Yay for This Savage Song! A great time to read it too as you won’t have too long to wait for Our Dark Duet. Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 23/03/2017 / 3:15 pm

      Thanks! Well that’s great to hear. Yes I did think about that, always love not having to wait too long between books!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.