Top Ten Tuesday #91

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all been having a good New Year so far, mine has been good, aside from the fact that I’ve had this horrible cold/cough, but I’m hoping it will go soon as it’s really been rather unpleasant! I’ve been at home the last few days, just relaxing until I have to go back to Uni at the end of the week. The holidays seem to have gone so fast! Anyway, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at the Broke and The Bookish, and this week we have “the list of shame”, otherwise known as the 2016 Releases We Meant To Read But Didn’t Get Around To (But Totally Plan To). This list is always far too easy for me, because there are usually a million and one new releases in any given year and I always barely scratch the surface of them! Still one of my New Year’s Resolutions is to catch up on 2016 releases I missed last year, so hopefully I will read some of these this year:

  1. A Court of Mist and Fury-Sarah J Maas

I know, I know, I know, please put down those things you were intending on throwing at me! I preordered this and got it as soon as it came out, but it’s just so big, and I didn’t have the time to read it. It’s on my #RockMyTBR list for this year though, so I will definitely read it. I promise. (*scarpers in case things are still being thrown at me*)

2. The Crown’s Game-Evelyn Skye

I won this in a giveaway and was insanely excited to read it, but as with all books that I get insanely excited to read, I completely forgot about it. I lent it to my friend though and she seriously loved it and said I had to read it but I of course had a mountain of other books to read and it got put aside. Still it’s on my #RockMyTBR list for this year as well, so I will definitely read it.

3. This Savage Song-VE Schwab

For some reason, I didn’t get around to reading this last year, even though I dived into VE Schwab’s Shades of Magic books and completely loved them, but I am definitely going to read it this year, my friend (yes same friend as mentioned above) loved it, so I think I probably will too, plus I need more Victoria Schwab in my life. This is another #RockMyTBR book.

4. And I Darken-Kiersten White

Because I need more stabby books in my life. I love the stabby books. I was so excited when I heard about this Vlad The Impaler story with a female Vlad but like most of the books I get really excited for, I completely forgot about it after a few weeks and got distracted by other, shiny, pretty books. This is another book on my #RockMyTBR list (yes there’s a theme here!).

5. Salt To The Sea-Ruta Sepetys

I loved Ruta Sepetys debut novel, Between Shades of Grey, but for whatever reason, despite buying Salt To The Sea, I didn’t get around to reading it last year. I’ve heard such good things about this one and it won a Goodreads choice Award, so I’m really excited to read this for my #RockMyTBR challenge this year.

6. The Girl From Everywhere-Heidi Heilig

This is the last #RockMyTBR book, I promise! I heard such amazing praise for this book, all of last year and I wanted to read it, but as with every other book on this list, it just kind of slipped through the cracks! Hopefully, I enjoy it as much as everyone else seems to have.

7. Paper and Fire-Rachel Caine

Okay confession time. I read Ink and Bone right at the beginning of 2016 and loved it. I was dying to get my hands on the sequel. I got it as soon as it came out. But I got swept up in a whole bunch of other books and Paper and Fire got put on the back burner. I definitely want to try and read it this year though, I’m still dying to find out what happens to Jess and the others yet.

8. Scythe-Neal Shusterman

I love Neal Shusterman’s Unwind Dystology, so of course when I saw he had a new book out, I got it immediately. Sadly, it was right at the end of the year, so of course, I never got around to reading it. This is definitely high priority for this year though, it sounds so good!

9. The Fever Code-James Dashner

I was so excited for this Maze Runner prequel. Finally, answers about the maze and how it was built and the origins of WICKED. I even got a signed copy of it from my local Waterstones. But of course, it ended up in a huge pile of books on my bookshelf and in typical Jo style, I completely forgot about it. I definitely want to try and get to this one soon.

10. Three Dark Crowns-Kendare Blake

I love sister stories,Β so naturally when I saw this book about three sister queens, I got very excited. Not to mention that they have magic powers, and I get excited at the mere mention of magic, plus the covers are so pretty (I have the snake one), but once again, despite the best of intentions, this book got pushed completely to the wayside by other books! Hopefully I manage to read it this year.

I’m going to stick to just ten this week, despite having many more 2016 releases that I missed last year that I was incredibly excited for as it’s unlikely that I’ll even read all ten of the ones on my list this year! Did you also miss reading any of these last year? If you did read any of these, did you like them? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week, with another Top Ten Tuesday, which is Top Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books, so I’ll have to scour my Goodreads, see which Underrated Books I’ve read will be good for this topic! In the meantime, I’m hoping to have a new discussion post up for you guys very soon, so stay tuned for that!

153 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #91

  1. owlsreads January 11, 2017 / 1:25 pm

    A Court of Mist and Fury and Salt to the Sea are wonderful books! I hope you find time to read them this year, because they are definitely worth it πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx January 11, 2017 / 2:09 pm

      That’s great to hear! They’re part of a reading challenge I’m doing this year, so I will definitely be reading them πŸ™‚

  2. midwesternbooknerd January 11, 2017 / 1:32 pm

    Oh man, you have some excellent books on your list. A Court of Mist and Fury was wonderful. You would think a book that is about 800ish pages would take forever but man…it flew. A Salt to the Sea is EASILY one of my favorites of 2016, and probably one of my favorite books. I adore the author though, and would read her grocery list. Otherwise there are many on here that I need to read. I just get so excited for all these books at once and I think it gets to be too much excitement and then I put on netflix. Here’s to getting to these books and more this year!

    • iloveheartlandx January 11, 2017 / 2:03 pm

      Thank you! Well that’s great to hear about both ACOMAF and Salt To The Sea. Yes, I think I have much the same system! Here, here πŸ™‚

  3. Louise January 11, 2017 / 1:33 pm

    The Crown’s Game and The Girl From Everywhere are both really high up on my TBR too. I enjoyed Three Dark Crowns but I think the real story will take place in the sequel.

    • iloveheartlandx January 11, 2017 / 2:02 pm

      I hope we both enjoy them! Ah okay, good to know πŸ™‚

  4. amshuman January 11, 2017 / 2:36 pm

    A Court of Mist and Fury was amazing. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it.

  5. Ashley January 11, 2017 / 2:39 pm

    I am currently reading The Crown’s Game and so far it’s pretty good! I wanted to read This Savage Song as well. I got Paper and Fire for my birthday last year and never got around to reading it, oops! I really loved The Fever Code.

    • iloveheartlandx January 11, 2017 / 3:00 pm

      Well that’s good to hear! I hope you manage to read both of those πŸ™‚

  6. Jenna @ Falling Letters January 11, 2017 / 4:22 pm

    I received Scythe for Christmas and I devoured it right away. One of the few 2016 releases I actually got to, haha.

  7. Hannah Brown // SPW January 11, 2017 / 8:04 pm

    Salt to the Sea is amazing! I really want to read Three Dark Crowns and And I Darken too, they look so good but I can’t afford to get them right now. 😦 (And I don’t just mean money-wise. I think my TBR is beginning to size me up and I’m scared I’ll be consumed by Tuesday!)

    • iloveheartlandx January 12, 2017 / 12:38 pm

      That’s great to hear! Ugh I get that feeling πŸ™‚

  8. Wendy @ Falconer's Library January 11, 2017 / 10:19 pm

    I really liked both Scythe and Salt to the Sea. I have not gotten to any of the other books on your list, but most of them are ones I hope to read eventually too!

    • iloveheartlandx January 12, 2017 / 12:37 pm

      That’s great to hear! Well I hope we both enjoy them when we get to them πŸ™‚

  9. Beth (Reading Every Night) January 11, 2017 / 11:12 pm

    You have some amazing books on this list. The Girl From Everywhere, ACOMAF, This Savage Song and And I Darken are favourites of mine so I hope you enjoy them as well! πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx January 12, 2017 / 12:36 pm

      Thanks! Oh that’s great to hear, I hope I enjoy them too πŸ™‚

  10. Grace Xie January 11, 2017 / 11:31 pm

    A Court of Mist and Fury is probably one of my favourite books in 2016!!! I’ve heard that Three Dark Crowns is really good too. Hope you get a chance to read it this year πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx January 12, 2017 / 12:36 pm

      Well that’s great to hear! I hope so too πŸ™‚

  11. Tracy (@Cornerfolds) January 12, 2017 / 4:04 am

    A Court of Mist and Fury and And I Darken were two of my top 10 of the year! I hope you get to read them πŸ˜€

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx January 12, 2017 / 12:26 pm

      That’s great to hear! I have to read them for a reading challenge I’m doing this year, so I definitely will!

  12. Becca January 12, 2017 / 5:35 am

    THIS SAVAGE SONG ❀ ❀ ❀ YOU TOTALLY NEED TO READ IT ASAP!!! Lol. I might… be a fan of that book. Hahaha. ACOMAF is really good too. It is REALLY BIG, but the last half of the book flies by!!

    • iloveheartlandx January 12, 2017 / 12:25 pm

      I never would have been able to guess! Glad to hear you loved it so much πŸ™‚ Oh that’s good to hear!

  13. Jen January 14, 2017 / 6:31 am

    I hope you are able to get to all of these books this year! You have so many listed that are on my authors list of must read soon such as VE Schwab, Rachel Caine & James Dashner. I hope I love them as much as you! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx January 15, 2017 / 12:35 am

      Thank you, I hope so too. Oh that’s fantastic, I also hope you love them πŸ™‚

  14. Flavia January 14, 2017 / 6:05 pm

    A lot of these I’ve read (AND THEY WERE GOOD), or they’re on my TBR and I’m planning on reading them this year too hehe. I like that we have similar tastes.

    Great post!

    • iloveheartlandx January 15, 2017 / 12:35 am

      I like that we have similar tastes too! Thanks πŸ™‚

  15. Deborah @ Hills of Books January 16, 2017 / 6:09 pm

    Oh my goodness those top two!! You really need to read them ASAP!! I loved them both, hope you enjoy them just as much as I did!

    • iloveheartlandx January 16, 2017 / 9:42 pm

      I’m glad to hear that! Thanks, I hope so too πŸ™‚

  16. Morgan | Backlist Babe January 16, 2017 / 9:45 pm

    You have so many great books up here… that I’m now realizing are currently chilling out in my TBR pile, staring at me, and waiting patiently to be read (while maintaining the knowledge that I may never ever read them.) I mean, I literally forgot all about owning a copy of This Savage Song until just now. Whoops. Also, “but as with all books that I get insanely excited to read, I completely forgot about it.” This is 1000% me.

    • iloveheartlandx January 17, 2017 / 2:04 pm

      Aww thanks! Yeah that happens to me all the time too! Glad that you understand that feeling πŸ™‚

  17. Di @ Book Reviews by Di January 17, 2017 / 10:19 am

    This is a great list! And I had a chuckle about ACOMAF (go read it now!!!). I want to read or have read almost all the books on this list!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT last week and sorry it’s taken me a week to get back to you!

    • iloveheartlandx January 17, 2017 / 2:02 pm

      Ah thanks! I will definitely be reading it at some point this year. Well that’s great! No problem πŸ™‚

  18. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight January 18, 2017 / 4:26 am

    Oooh Scythe and Three Dark Crowns and The Girl From Everywhere are ALL all-time favorites of mine! And I REALLY liked The Crown’s Game too! So I would say definitely get to those if you can! And I have failed with ACOMAF too! I pre-ordered it also, and alas… it sits on my shelf. It is just so… big! Hahhaha. I also really need to read And I Darken, and Salt to the Sea. Hope you get to read these soon, and that you enjoy them!!

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 11:41 pm

      That’s great to hear! Oh I’m glad I’m not the only one. I know right, the size is intimidating. Thanks, I hope so too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

