Top Ten Tuesday #97

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all having a good week so far, I’m back at home for my Uni’s mid semester break this week, although it’s not much of a break really as I have a ton of assignments to do. Anyway, I’m back this week with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is talking about Books We Loved More/Less Than Expected. Me being me and enjoying a good rant as I do, I’m going to be focusing on the Top Ten Books I Loved Less Than Expected. It sucks when you fall victim to the hype monster, and get a book only to find that you don’t love it as much as everyone else does. So these are the books I thought I’d love but ended up feeling lukewarm about:

  1. A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J Maas

I wanted to love this one, I really did. Sarah J Maas is one of my favourite authors, and Beauty and The Beast is my absolute favourite fairytale, so it should have been a match made in heaven. However, I found it incredibly slow, was irritated by the main character, the romance was extremely problematic and the sex scenes kind of bothered me. So sadly, much as I wanted to love it, I really didn’t.

2. Panic-Lauren Oliver

This one was really a case of misleading description. I figured from the blurb that this would be a cool dystopian, kind of like The Hunger Games, but it turned out to be a contemporary, which would have been fine, had the characters not been so flat and irritating.

3. A Study In Charlotte-Brittany Cavallaro

I was so excited to read this one because I absolutely love Sherlock, so I loved the idea of a genderbent retelling, sadly the concept was far better than the execution in the case of this book. The mystery was pretty good, but the characters were flat and the chapters were overly long.

4. Traitor To The Throne-Alwyn Hamilton

Don’t get me wrong, I liked this book, I really did, but I didn’t love it as much as I loved the first one, which kind of disappointed me. The middle just seemed to lag a bit and it was a lot slower than the first one, which was good for allowing a more complex plot to develop but not so good for my excitement for the book.

5. Pretties-Scott Westerfeld

I enjoyed the first Uglies book, but this second one seemed to have barely any plot, Tally got incredibly irritating due to her “Pretty” operation and all of the other Pretties were unbearable! It only really got interesting towards the very end, the rest of the time was just Tally gallivanting around with her “Pretty” friends.

6. Graceling-Kristin Cashore

I had such high hopes for this book, the concept sounded so good, but I was bitterly disappointed. It had such a slow, plodding plot, I found the author’s depiction of feminism to be very problematic (it’s the kind of extreme feminism that prompts trolls on the internet to call all other feminists, “feminazis”) and the execution of the book in general just felt poor to me.

7. The Accident Season-Moira Fowley-Doyle

The concept of this was so good, but again, the execution was off. The writing style was overly descriptive, the chapters were too long, the characters fell kind of flat & the plot was incredibly random.

8. The Night Circus-Erin Morgenstern

I wanted to love this one more, I really did, especially as my friend Nicola loves this book so much. It just had very little plot, the writing felt overdone, the romance was just bad and there was no “epic contest” as I was promised in the blurb. I think much like Panic, this was a case of thinking that it would be something different to what it actually was.

9. Dangerous Boys-Abigail Haas

I absolutely loved Abigail Haas’ first book, Dangerous Girls, so I was expecting to have my mind blown just as much in Dangerous Boys….and it just didn’t. The pacing was lacking, the characters were awful and my mind just wasn’t as blown by the end as it was by Dangerous Girls.

10. Look Who’s Back-Timur Vermes

I thought this Hitler satire would be well…..funnier! It was way too bogged down in German politics, which weren’t even well woven in to the story and there wasn’t a clear plot or anything….it was an interesting concept but could have been done so much better!

I’m going to stop there, even though I’m sure I have hundreds of books that have disappointed me over the years that I could talk about! Have you read any of these books? Did you like them or did they disappoint you like they did me? Let me know in the comments!

Top Ten Tuesday is taking a hiatus for the next two weeks, so obviously there won’t be any new ones for the next two weeks (unless I decide to make up some freebie topics of my own), so I won’t have another new one for you until 7th March! Sorry guys, but the lovely ladies at The Broke and The Bookish work hard for us, they deserve a break 🙂

So no new TTT post next week, or the week after, but I do have a discussion post that I’m really excited about planned for the end of month, so stay tuned for that!

 

82 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #97

  1. ChandaReads February 21, 2017 / 5:52 pm

    I felt the same about Graceling! It took me forever to trudge through it, and I didn’t care enough about any of the characters to continue the series.

    I adored ACOTAR, but it’s definitely not for everyone.

    • iloveheartlandx February 21, 2017 / 6:24 pm

      I’m glad to hear I’m not alone in that! Yeah, I’m so glad I didn’t buy the second one because I have no intention of trying anymore of the series.
      No it isn’t. I’m still going to try the second one, because I’ve heard it’s better but I’m not getting my hopes up.

      • ChandaReads February 21, 2017 / 8:03 pm

        I agree that ACOMAF is better than the first. A little more sexual tension in it, but better than ACOTAR, IMO. Also, Feyre really comes into her own in that book, with the help of an unexpected friend 😉 .

      • iloveheartlandx February 21, 2017 / 8:07 pm

        I’ll probably give it a try in May, so I can get the third book quickly if I like it.

  2. anovelglimpse February 21, 2017 / 6:07 pm

    I felt the same way with Panic. It could have been so much better.

  3. Maraia February 21, 2017 / 6:59 pm

    I’m SO HAPPY to see ACOTAR on your list. I hated that book and how it romanticized abusive relationships and rape. Definitely not okay.

    I was also disappointed by A Study in Charlotte, Panic, and The Night Circus. I mean, I did really like TNC, but I didn’t LOVE it to the extent I was expecting.

    I’ve only read Dangerous Girls, so I’m disappointed to hear that Dangerous Boys wasn’t as good.

    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx February 21, 2017 / 7:03 pm

      No it was definitely not okay. I feel like more people talk about it now than they did when it first came out. Yeah, I felt the same way about TNC, like but not love. I feel like it would have been hard for it to be as good as Dangerous Girls, it just set such a high bar that Dangerous Boys could never compete.

  4. Anastasia February 21, 2017 / 7:24 pm

    Pretties was indeed boring and Specials was even worse (I read them because I have problem with not finishing series…big problem)
    Panic was kind of boring, I agree.

    The Night Circus wasn’t bad but it didn’t deserve the amount of hype around it (I’m such a mean person for saying that 😮 )

    • iloveheartlandx February 21, 2017 / 7:36 pm

      I have the same problem! No, don’t worry, I don’t think The Night Circus really deserves the amount of hype around it either.

  5. justanothercreativewriter February 21, 2017 / 7:25 pm

    Oh my gosh, Look Who’s Back, I remember when that was a thing. I’ve never read it but one of my friends HATED that book. And I always used to get it confused with that other book with the silhouette of black hair on the cover which was actually a good book.

    • iloveheartlandx February 21, 2017 / 7:37 pm

      I only read it last year, so I guess I was late to the club! Oh yeah, I think I know the book you’re talking about and the covers are quite similar!

  6. otakutwins1 February 21, 2017 / 8:44 pm

    I’m with you on ACOTAR, I liked thw writing but I wasn’t a fan of the explicit, over the top, sex scenes, and it was predictable :/
    My sister loved A Study in Charlotte! Sorry you weren’t a fan 😦 I have a few of these books on my TBR so I’m scared to read them now… ah well, I’ll just lower my expectations. Nice list though.

    • iloveheartlandx February 21, 2017 / 8:59 pm

      Exactly! Ah well I suppose it goes to show how people’s reading tastes vary. That’s the downsides of these types of lists, I don’t mean to make anyone who wants to read these books scared of doing so! We’re all very different, so you might love these, it’s all down to personal taste after all. Thanks!

  7. elenalove97 February 21, 2017 / 10:06 pm

    A lot of these are on my TBR and I really can’t wait to finally read them and see what I thought about them. I totally agree with you on Panic and Pretties which are really hyped up. However, I did enjoy Graceling immensely. It’s one of my favorite fantasy books. Thanks for stopping by my blog and sharing your list!

    Elena @ Book Lady’s Reviews

    • iloveheartlandx February 21, 2017 / 10:12 pm

      I hope you enjoy them more than I did! They are definitely that. Fair enough, people have different tastes. No problem 🙂

  8. hopewellslibraryoflife February 21, 2017 / 10:07 pm

    Based on today’s lists I’m probably not going to bother with Night Circus…. Good list, though I liked Study in Charlotte. Book Two just came out so I’ll at least skim it.

    • iloveheartlandx February 21, 2017 / 10:13 pm

      Fair enough. I didn’t hate A Study In Charlotte, I was just expecting to like it more. I want to try Book 2, it had potential, and I’m wondering if it was just a shaky start.

      • hopewellslibraryoflife February 21, 2017 / 10:22 pm

        I know what you mean about not hating/expecting more. It’s hard when a book is so overhyped or really caught your imagination and then was just “average.”

      • hopewellslibraryoflife February 21, 2017 / 10:24 pm

        Ha! Just realized Study in Charlotte is in my Top 5 Wednesday post tomorrow. (I wrote it last week.)

  9. Louise February 22, 2017 / 12:10 am

    Completely agree about the romance in ACOTAR, it made me so uncomfortable to read. I read really enjoy Traitor To The Throne though.

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:59 pm

      It made me uncomfortable too! I think it depends what you like, I prefer faster moving plots to lots of political manoeuvrings, so that’s why it wasn’t really for me.

  10. Eve L (Evilous) February 22, 2017 / 12:32 am

    Sorry you didn’t like these titles! I did love ACOTAR though (and ACOMAF even more so) though. I didn’t think about it but yeah I can see your point on Pretties. I need to finish that series though.

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:58 pm

      Yeah it was a shame! Fair enough, different people have different tastes. I’d love to tell you the series gets better but….

  11. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense February 22, 2017 / 1:06 am

    I’ve been hearing Traitor to the Throne isn’t as good as the first. I will go into it with lowered expectations.

  12. Tracy February 22, 2017 / 1:47 am

    The only one of these I’ve read is ACOTAR and I really loved it! I didn’t enjoy Uglies at all and now I’m even more glad I skipped the rest of the series!

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:55 pm

      Well different people, different tastes I guess! Yeah it’s actually not worth reading the rest of the books 🙂

  13. Elana February 22, 2017 / 2:42 am

    I felt the same about Pretties! Uglies was great but Pretties really dragged along. I’ve also been a bit uncertain about A Court of Thorns and Roses because it’s so popular but I keep hearing how problematic the relationships are and I don’t know if I want to read it! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:53 pm

      Yeah it really did! Some people do love it, at least you know all the problems now, so if you do decide you want to read it, you’ll be prepared and your expectations won’t be quite so high.

  14. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books February 22, 2017 / 3:05 am

    Bummer about Dangerous Boys. I haven’t read it yet, but I have it. I LOVED Dangerous Girls, and YES I am fully expecting it to by mind-blowing or else why call it Dangerous Boys??? I’m a huge Lauren Oliver fan, but haven’t read Panic yet. I feel like all her books are either love it or hate it books.

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:45 pm

      Yeah it was a shame! I feel like you’re probably right about Lauren Oliver’s books, I’ve read one and hated it and DNFed another so I reckon her books probably aren’t for me!

  15. Shon @ Tangled 'N' Books February 22, 2017 / 4:30 am

    I hear that a lot about Panic, Graceling and The Night Circus. So when I do get to them I will go in with low expectations.

  16. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight February 22, 2017 / 4:57 am

    GAH, I have been hearing this about Traitor to the Throne and it makes me SAD. Same with Dangerous boys. Such a shame when that happens. I did love The Accident Season 😉 BUT I had the same misconception that you did about Panic at first too. I didn’t hate it but I wasn’t as in love with it. And YES to Pretties. That series just got worse and worse- Extras was just me rolling my eyes and skimming 😉

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:42 pm

      It’s a classic case of second book syndrome I think! Yes it is a shame. I think it’s another case of people preferring different writing styles, the kind of style in The Accident Season is usually very miss for me, but some people do like it. I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who was misled by Panic. It really did! Such a shame because the first book was good.

  17. ChrissiReads February 22, 2017 / 6:50 am

    I feel the same about The Night Circus and The Accident Season.

  18. lry93 February 22, 2017 / 7:04 am

    It’s a shame you didn’t like ACOTAR, but I definitely think that it was used to set up the book and scene etc. ACOMAF is much better 😍😍I actually really like Dangerous Boys 🙂 I definitely agree about the Accident Season! So slow!!

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:39 pm

      So I’ve heard! Hopefully I do like it better. Different tastes, I guess. Yes, it was sooo slow! Which is weird for such a short book 🙂

  19. Puput @ Sparkling Letters February 22, 2017 / 9:11 am

    I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this book as much as you expected! I loved ACOTAR when I read it but now the more I think about it the more I realize its flaws hahaha the sex scene appears more often and more explicitly in the second book though 😂😂

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:36 pm

      Yup, it sucks but what can you do? We can’t love all the same books. I have heard that, but at least this time, I am prepared and I can skim through the sex scenes if I want to!

  20. Reads and Dreams February 22, 2017 / 9:23 am

    I completely agree about the writing in the night circus!

  21. bookbabblesandblues February 22, 2017 / 9:49 am

    I didn’t like A Study in Charlotte as much as I thought I would either, unfortunately.
    Too bad you didn’t like The Night Circus though, that one is one of my favorites.

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:34 pm

      Oh shame! Yeah it is, but we can’t all love the same books!

  22. Olivia February 22, 2017 / 10:07 am

    I felt the same about “Pretties” that was such a weird second book, especially because I really liked Uglies. I hope you’re having a great week 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:32 pm

      It was so strange! I am thanks, I hope you are too 🙂

  23. happilyeverchapter February 22, 2017 / 12:24 pm

    I have been seeing ACOTAR on so many “disappointed” lists. I just bought it ( and the 2nd book!) recently, so that bums me out. Maybe if I go in not expecting much I will end up loving it?? lol! We’ll see, I guess. I haven’t gotten a chance to read The Night Circus yet. It’s been on my TBR list for a while, but I’ve never gotten around to it. I feel like that is one that people either love or hate. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx February 22, 2017 / 1:19 pm

      There are just as many people who love it as don’t, so don’t worry! You might like it a lot more than I did. Yes, The Night Circus is very much hit or miss, I suppose it depends whether you like really descriptive writing or not. I prefer sharper to the point writing, so it wasn’t really for me. Thanks!

  24. Lori February 22, 2017 / 1:24 pm

    I felt the exact same way about ACOTAR. I really wanted to love it but I was so bored and annoyed. I ended up DNFing Panic. I was sad because it sounded so good!

  25. chucklesthescot February 22, 2017 / 2:52 pm

    I HATE Pretties! No plot and everyone talking like morons…it did my head in!

  26. Charnell @ Reviews from a Bookworm February 22, 2017 / 4:35 pm

    Hey, I first must start by saying:GREAT LIST! Some brilliant choices on here. I definitely agree with ACOTAR. I enjoyed it so much when I first read it, but reread it before the 2nd book and was shocked to find I had so many issues with it, the pacing, the romance and some other things. But I decided to read the sequel and OH MY GOD, Maas delivered and also made up for the first book – and actually addresses the problematic romance. So maybe try that one, it is a lot better than the first. Of the other 3 I have read, I felt the exact same. Traitor to the Throne wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t as good as the first and definitely slowed the pace a bit too much in the middle. I also felt Dangerous Boys didn’t live up to the amazingness that was Dangerous Girls. And, yes, Pretties was so bad and hard for me to get through.

    • iloveheartlandx February 23, 2017 / 11:04 pm

      Thanks! Oh really? That’s interesting. That’s one of the reasons I love rereading, you can have a different experience reading the exact same book. I’m glad to hear that. I’m glad to hear I’m not alone on those 3!

  27. beckmank February 23, 2017 / 4:15 am

    I too was disappointed in A Study in Charlotte. I really wanted to live that one. I didn’t like how she made Watson and Holmes exact clones to their predecessors. I wanted them to be unique.

  28. meganm922 February 23, 2017 / 1:01 pm

    ACOTAR, The Night Circus, & Graceling are all some of my favorites! I even loved The Accident Season.

    I do agree about Panic, it was really tough to get through and I expected something more from Lauren Oliver.

    • iloveheartlandx February 23, 2017 / 11:06 pm

      Different people, different tastes I guess! Yes, it was really hard to get through. It was my first experience of Lauren Oliver and I haven’t really been inclined to pick up any of her other books!

      • meganm922 February 23, 2017 / 11:28 pm

        I highly recommend Before I Fall, but everything else has been kind of Meh for me.

      • iloveheartlandx February 24, 2017 / 7:27 pm

        I tried Before I Fall, but I couldn’t finish it!

  29. exploringallgenres February 23, 2017 / 3:04 pm

    Interesting list. I’ve only heard of a couple of these books and have so far read none of them. Though I do plan to read some at some point.

    • iloveheartlandx February 23, 2017 / 11:09 pm

      Thanks! Well I hope you like them more than I did 🙂

  30. Deborah @ Hills of Books February 23, 2017 / 6:32 pm

    I haven’t got around to reading Traitor To The Throne, I loved the first one but haven’t had time to read this one yet. So sad to hear that Graceling didn’t mean your expectations, it is one of my fav fantasy books I just wanted more books following the two main characters.

    • iloveheartlandx February 23, 2017 / 11:10 pm

      It’s not bad, it’s just not as good as the first one. Yeah, it was a shame really, but what can you do? Not every book is for everyone, even in the genres you like.

  31. Ree @ Ree's Book Nook February 23, 2017 / 9:12 pm

    Oh, I’m so sad, you’ve listed some of my favourites here (The Night Circus, Pretties)! Haha, I always take it a little bit personally when people don’t like the same books that I do. 😛 A Study in Charlotte is on my TBR, but maybe I won’t hurry to get my hands on a copy… 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx February 23, 2017 / 11:11 pm

      Aww don’t be! We can’t all love the same books. Yeah maybe not….

  32. Deepika @BookHearts Forever February 24, 2017 / 5:16 am

    I actually loved Rebel of the Sands so I am very excited to start Traitor to the Throne.Though I am wary since I am seeing negative reviews.I have Night Circus and ACOTAR on my TBR.Need to get to reading those soon.

    • iloveheartlandx February 24, 2017 / 7:26 pm

      I have heard some people who really loved it (and I didn’t hate it, I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I’d hoped), so you never know, you might be one of those. I hope you enjoy both of them more than I did!

  33. Broc's Bookcase (@BrocsBookcase) February 24, 2017 / 10:06 am

    Nooooooo! I’m so sad you didn’t like Traitor to the Throne! LOVED that book!
    I’m really glad to see ACOTAR on your list though. I’ve stayed clear of it because I really hate Fae stories but everyone is always raving about it. Makes me glad to actually see a slightly negative opinion on it!
    Great picks, hopefully you’ll have some less disappointing books in your future! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx February 24, 2017 / 7:25 pm

      Aww don’t worry! I didn’t hate it, I did like it, just not as much as the first one and not as much as I was expecting to. I prefer action based books to lots of complex politics I guess!
      There’s always some negative opinions out there no matter how popular the book is I guess, you just have to look a little to find it! Thanks, I hope so too 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx February 24, 2017 / 8:18 pm

      Glad to hear I’m not alone on this ones! Ah well, different people, different tastes. Thanks 🙂

  34. czai February 27, 2017 / 11:23 am

    Thank the stars I wasn’t the only one who wasn’t a fan of ACOTAR. I used to have A Study In Charlotte in my wishlist but it just got pushed down and down until I no longer care. Also, I’ve read mixed reviews on Panic so I ended up skipping that one.

    • iloveheartlandx February 28, 2017 / 9:09 pm

      No you weren’t! Life’s too short to read bad books 🙂

  35. lindseyhabets February 27, 2017 / 4:48 pm

    I felt the same way about Panic! I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy ACOTAR, but I totally understand your arguments! I did feel like the sequel improved a lot, so I hope you’ll still give this a chance perhaps 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx February 28, 2017 / 9:10 pm

      I’m glad I wasn’t the only one! I’m planning on reading ACOMAF later in the year as I have heard good things about it.

Leave a Reply

