Top Ten Tuesday #4

image

After last week’s rather negative list, it’s nice to be back to a positive topic, and I particularly love this week’s Top Ten Authors I would love to meet, as there are so many authors that I would like to meet, my current total of authors I’ve met stands at one, Jodi Picoult last year, so I would love to be able to add more authors to that tally. I’m going to stick to living authors on this one, because if I did Top Ten Authors I’d Like To Meet, living and dead, then I would probably come out with way more than ten! This is in no particular order.

1. JK Rowling-A pretty obvious one, this one, I think if I actually met her, I would probably faint! This woman is my inspiration to write, ever since I was younger I always said that I wanted to be an author like JK Rowling, so meeting her would just be a dream come true!

2. Rick Riordan-Again, another pretty obvious one given how much I go on about Percy Jackson on this blog! I’ve wanted to meet him ever since I started reading the PJO books, but since he only ever tours the U.S. and Canada, it is unlikely to happen, since I live in the UK. Still, a girl can dream right?

3. Derek Landy-How could I not want to meet the guy who created Skulduggery Pleasant? I almost went last year, but my friend wanted to go as well, and we couldn’t find a date that he was in the UK that worked for both of us, so neither of us went. I really want to see if he’s as funny in real life as he seems in the authors notes in his books and on Twitter, and ask him how he came up with the weird and wonderful world of Skulduggery Pleasant. You never know, maybe I’ll be able to meet him when he tours to promote Demon Road, his new book. I hope so!

4. Sarah J Maas-She is one of my new favourite authors, and if her tour dates weren’t during my exam time, then I might have been able to meet her when she comes to the UK for the ACOTAR tour, but sadly it is during in my exam time, so I can’t go to any of the dates. Hopefully, when she tours for QOS I will be able to meet her. She’s a real inspiration to me, having written Throne of Glass from such a young age and I’d love to see if she has any tips for young aspiring authors like me.

5. Maggie Stiefvater-From her Twitter, the woman seems hilarious, and I’d love to see if this is the case in real life, she seems like a really cool, fun person, and I reckon meeting her would be a blast, plus I love the Raven Boys books. I don’t know if she ever tours the UK though, as I’ve never seen any UK tour dates on her website, but if she ever does, then I would love to meet her.

6. Neal Shusterman-I have become obsessed with this guy after reading The Unwind Dystology, and I can’t wait to read more of his books, so I’d really love to meet him, and find out more about the background behind the writing process of Unwind (particularly That Scene in the first book) and how the idea came about. Again, he doesn’t seem to tour in the UK (I’ve never seen any UK tour dates), but if he ever does, then I would love to meet him.

7. Sophie McKenzie-I’ve devoured so many of her books in the past year, she has such an addictive writing style, and I would just really love to meet her, as her books are pretty much auto-buys for me at this point, and I would like to meet the woman behind them. If she comes to the UK then I will definitely try to get tickets to one of her events.

8. Malorie Blackman-The Noughts and Crosses series are among my favourite books, and I’ve wanted to meet her ever since I read them, so if I ever got the chance to meet her, I would jump at it!

9. Suzanne Collins-She wrote the Hunger Games and I have those books to thank for my current obsession with dystopian fiction, so I would really love to meet her, and just tell her how much I enjoyed her books, and how they opened up a whole genre for me that I never thought of reading before.

10. Markus Zusak-I love The Book Thief so much, it’s one of my favourite books. It’s such a unique and beautiful book, and again, I would just really love to meet the man who wrote it, and ask him how came up with this amazing story, particularly the genius idea of having Death as the narrator.

I realise that most of these were on my top ten list a couple of weeks ago, but they are my favourite authors, so it’s pretty much a given that they would be on here, and I did add two new ones, but there could have been so many more authors than just these ones. Do we share any of these? Is there anyone who isn’t on my list that you think should be? Let me know, I love your comments! I will be back next week with another top ten, next week’s is a freebie, so I’ve chosen to do a list of my top ten favourite female Harry Potter characters, and look out for Wishlist Wednesday tomorrow.

119 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #4

  1. Jenny 13/05/2015 / 4:48 pm

    I had the opportunity to meet Maggie. She’s awesome. I hope you get ti meet her some day.

  2. jacklinu22 13/05/2015 / 5:57 pm

    Great list! I have actually met J.K. and Maggie! Which are both awesome!

    • iloveheartlandx 13/05/2015 / 6:00 pm

      You’ve met JK Rowling? Okay I’m officially hugely envious right now! That must have been so amazing! I would probably make a massive fool of myself if I ever did meet her because she’s one of my idols but it would be so worth it!

      • jacklinu22 13/05/2015 / 7:05 pm

        I did! It was when I was like around 9 or 10, the second book had been released. It was a really cool experience. I would like to see her again now that I’m older and can appreciate it more and when I met her the fame was new to her so she didn’t really talk with people and we could only get one book signed. But I have heard stories that she’s so nice and friendly! So it would definitely be amazing to see her again!

      • iloveheartlandx 13/05/2015 / 7:13 pm

        I’ve never actually known anyone who’s met her so that’s really cool. Yeah, but now there’d probably be even longer lines because she’s so famous, so she probably still wouldn’t be able to talk to people for very long! She does seem that way from interviews, it would be like a childhood dream come true if I met her!

  3. lynnsbooks 13/05/2015 / 7:21 pm

    Great list – Neil Shusterman is a great choice – I think Unwind is excellent and it puzzles me that more people don’t rave about it!
    Lynn đŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 13/05/2015 / 7:23 pm

      Thanks! Yeah it puzzles me too, I only came across Unwind because I was browsing on Amazon, and then I read it and I was like, “why aren’t there more people for me to talk to about this amazing book?!!!”

  4. Jordan 13/05/2015 / 10:13 pm

    I wish that I would have thought to put Markus Zusak on my list. The Book Thief is one of my favorite books as well. It is such a beautiful and heartfelt book.

  5. Elle @ Erratic Project Junkie 14/05/2015 / 3:16 am

    I ALMOST put Suzanne Collins on my list as well. She’d make a top 15 for sure. I had a lot of my favorite authors make this week’s list as well. I’d say about 3/4. At least we’re consistent!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/05/2015 / 6:10 am

      I had so many that I almost put on, I kept going around people’s blogs seeing authors I liked on their lists and I’d be like, if I had more than ten, I so would have put them on! Yeah, they’re the ones that immediately come to mind when asked, who don’t you want to meet? so my list was almost exactly the same, but I don’t think it matters. Like you said, we’re consistent!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/05/2015 / 6:11 am

      I think JK Rowling’s on near enough everyone’s list, lots of Harry Potter fans out there, all dying to meet her!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/05/2015 / 3:18 pm

      I haven’t actually got around to that one yet, I keep saying I’m going to but I have so many books to read and not enough time!

  6. Brin Guivera 14/05/2015 / 8:32 pm

    Great picks! I will need to add Sarah J Maas to my list – I just finished A Court of Thorns and Roses and I really need to read the rest of her books now. Her writing is awesome. Suzanne Collins would be great to meet too. đŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 14/05/2015 / 8:43 pm

      I haven’t read A Court of Thorns and Roses yet, still got such a huge TBR pile but I’m hoping to get to it soon! Yeah she would be!

  7. Samantha @ The Writeables 14/05/2015 / 9:24 pm

    I would definitely be fainting right along with you if I were ever fortunate enough to meet J.K. Rowling in person. Great choices!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/05/2015 / 9:27 pm

      I think everyone would. There is no words to describe what this woman’s writing means to me and to meet her would be just incredible. I know I said the list is in no particular order and it isn’t really but she is number one for sure. I always used to say when I was little that when I grew up I wanted to be like JK Rowling. It would be so wonderful to meet her, if it ever happened.

  8. Lauren 15/05/2015 / 12:23 pm

    I totally forgot about Markus Zusak on my list! But yeah I would totally love to meet him!

    Thanks for visiting me.

    Lauren @ myexpandingbookshelf.blogspot.co.uk

    • iloveheartlandx 15/05/2015 / 1:56 pm

      No problem, thanks for visiting me! Yeah I did that on everyone’s blog, you have such and such author that I’d like to meet but forgot about! Ten authors you want to meet is not enough!

  9. bookishandawesome 15/05/2015 / 1:39 pm

    Totally on board with you with Rick Riordan! The Percy books are just TONS OF FUN! I’ve heard these authors on your list but I haven’t read them. I hope you get to meet them one day! I’d recommend Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda if you haven’t read it (random).

    • iloveheartlandx 15/05/2015 / 2:04 pm

      Yes they are! They’re among my favourites, I loved the PJO books and whilst I liked the newer series (Heroes of Olympus), I missed all the things that I loved about PJO (the funny chapter titles, Percy’s POV, the Annabeth, Percy, Grover dynamic, Percy and his mom), basically the original Percy Jackson series is the best! I highly recommend all of them, they’re great! Thank you, I hope so too. Actually, someone on my goodreads has recommended that to me too, so I might have to check that out!

  10. thetometravellers 17/05/2015 / 7:47 am

    J.K Rowling. So many bloggers included her on their list and I completely forgot! Feeling a bit silly right now. Suzanne Collins is another great pick, although I’m still not okay with what happened to Finnick Odair. Not cool. Your list has reminded to get on to the Throne of Glass and Percy Jackson series, I always see people raving about them. – Rachel

    • iloveheartlandx 17/05/2015 / 10:35 am

      It’s alright, we’ve all done it, I was going round people’s lists and kept seeing authors I would like to meet and thinking “darn why didn’t I put them on mine!”. Yeah what happened to Finnick was definitely not cool! They are both great series, let me know what you think of them when you get around to reading them.

  11. rudejasper 17/05/2015 / 10:19 pm

    J.K. would be great to meet when you could spend time with her. I’d love to hear her talk in person about how the story came to her and how it evolved. I’m not sure how getting to spend a lengthy amount of time with her would happen except in some Willy Wonka type golden ticket sort of contest!

    • iloveheartlandx 17/05/2015 / 10:25 pm

      Yeah I don’t see how being able to spend a lengthy amount of time with her would happen either! I would love to be able to meet her though, even if all I had time to say was thank you for her amazing stories.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.