Monday Recommendations #4

So I’m back with another Monday Recommendations for all of you. Today I’m going to be recommending books in one of my personal favourite genres, the fantasy genre. I feel like the fantasy genre is saturated with great books, and I’ve always loved to read fantasy books, ever since I was a kid, the love has not faded, the books I choose have simply grown with my reading tastes. I may have to recommend more than five today, because there are so many great fanatasy books to choose from, but let’s get started!

1. The Harry Potter series-J.K. Rowling-Come on, did you really think I would be able to do a list of fantasy novels I recommend without including Harry Potter? Really? If you are one of those rare people who have not read these books yet then why not? You are depriving yourself of the magical world of witchcraft and wizardry, some great characters, and wonderful stories. If you haven’t read any of the books on this list, and you want to, then please read these. You won’t regret it!

2. Percy Jackson and The Olympians and Heroes of Olympus Series-Rick Riordan-Again, if you are a regular on my blog did you really think these wouldn’t feature either? I prefer the PJO series to the HOO series, but they are both great reads, a fun modern take on Greek (and Roman in HOO) mythology, with an awesome protagonist, a great main cast of characters and many funny supporting characters.

3. Throne of Glass series-Sarah J. Maas-Another that features on my blog often, this is new series that I have been recently introduced to, it has a great heroine (an assassin who can also do Magic and is part Fae, who doesn’t want that?), and a good cast of supporting characters, as well as an interesting story. There’s lots of magic and adventure, and Fae, good for any fantasy fan.

4. The Raven Cycle-Maggie Stiefvater-The relationships in these books are so well developed, not just the romantic relationships, but the friendships and the family relationships. It is very difficult not to get hooked on the story of these characters and their search for an ancient Welsh King. The last book comes out February next year, so now would be a good time to binge on the other three books in preparation for that release.

5. Artemis Fowl series-Eoin Colfer-I’ll admit the latter half of the series is not as good as the first half, but this story about a teenage criminal mastermind who discovers a world of fairies and pixies and elves and gnomes and centaurs is a great one. It’s worth reading just for Artemis Fowl himself, who may be one of my favourite male protagonists of all time.

6. Skulduggery Pleasant series-Derek Landy-Again, if you read my blog regularly, this is an expected one. I mean the book is about a freakin’ talking, walking, magic skeleton! It does not get much cooler than that. The humour is awesome and very unique, the characters are great (particularly Skulduggery, he will quickly become your favourite skeleton ever) and the stories are good, plus there is lots and lots of magic and evil villains trying to destroy the world. What more reasons do you need to buy a book?

So those are my six fantasy recommendations for today, if you try any of them, then please let me know what you think and this goes for anything else I recommend on this blog too, I love to hear what you guys think, whether it be good or bad. I will be back with another Monday Recommendations next week, but tomorrow is the ever popular Top Ten Tuesday, so don’t miss that!

Leave a Reply

