Quarterly Rewind (March-June Edition)

So today marks the start of a new feature here at bookloversblog, the quarterly rewind. I saw this over at Musings From Neville’s Navel blog, although the original idea comes from Jamie @ Perpetual Page Turner (love her blog, you should check it out!) and basically it’s kind of a recap of the last few months, marking the end of spring, and the official beginning of summer (I will be doing this at the official beginning of every new season from now on). Hopefully now that summer has “officially” begun, the English weather will decide to become nicer, and stop pouring buckets of rain down on us! Anyway, this post covers from March twentieth, to June twentieth, I hope you enjoy this new feature!

Image from this spring

DSCF1282Okay, this may not exactly channel spring, but it’s a nice picture of me and a friend of mine, out for dinner to celebrate my last day of school (this was back in May, I’m now officially finished as all my exams are over! Yay!)

Favourite Quote from a book I read this spring

“She was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius-and she would not be afraid.”

Of course I was going to choose a quote from Heir of Fire for this, because it’s my favourite book that I’ve read this spring, and I chose this one because it’s such a powerful end to the book, showing Celeana accepting her new identity and being prepared for the battle ahead. Have I mentioned how much I can’t wait for Queen of Shadows lately?????

This Spring in One Word

Tiring!

Most Popular Review This Spring

I’m just going to do this out of the reviews I actually posted this spring, and not reviews that I posted earlier in  the year that have had a lot of views this spring, and the most popular review I posted this spring was this one of Heir of Fire:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/03/31/heir-of-fire-throne-of-glass-3-review/

I’m pretty pleased with that, as it was my favourite book to read this spring and my favourite review to write, so I’m glad lots of people read my review.

Top Two Books I’ve read this spring:

This was pretty easy actually, as most of the books I’ve read this spring have been 3 star reads (I’ve been in a kind of slump), so I’ll just put the two books I’ve read that I’ve rated higher than 3 stars.

1. Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas-My only five star read between March and June which makes me feel a little sad, as I wish I’d read more really great books, but also happy because this was such a brilliant book, definitely my favourite book that I’ve read during the period from March-June.

2. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys-Okay so technically I haven’t finished this yet, but I only have two chapters left, and I’ve pretty much decided that this is a four star book. I’ve really enjoyed it, and it was just what I needed to get me out of my 3 star slump!

Two Things I’m Looking Forward to this summer

Ooh, I have many, but if I have to pick just two, they would be these two:

1. I’m going to YALC (Young Adult Lit Con) in July! I’m so excited, this is my first big book event, and it sounds like it’s going to be so much fun. I’ll be doing an entire post in July recapping the event for you guys, and revealing the book haul from the event (there is a Waterstones on site, I plan on coming home with lots of books!). Plus, Derek Landy is going to be there on the Friday (the day I’m going), which is really exciting because if you remember, he was one of the authors on my top ten post of authors I really want to meet. Looks like that dream will become a reality in July!

2. I applied for the News Academy Summer School which is a training programme for young journalists in London, it’s basically a week long course where you work with other young aspiring journalists to create your own newspaper. I don’t know if I got in yet (I only applied yesterday!) and they only take fifteen people so chances are slim, but fingers crossed that I will get in!

Three New Obsessions this spring

Man this is hard! Umm okay, here goes:

1. Jane The Virgin, it’s one of my new favourite TV shows, and I can’t wait for the next season.

2. Running! I started running a few weeks ago (although I haven’t done so much in the last week, I really need to get back to it) and I really love it.

3. Gourmet Burger King Milkshakes-My friends introduced me to these a while ago, I think it was back in April, and they are the most amazing milkshakes ever, they are huge and so tasty!

Most Popular Five Blog Posts overall this spring

All of my most popular blog posts overall this spring have been Top Ten Tuesday posts! Clearly it was a great idea to start doing this meme, it’s fun to do and has brought a lot more traffic to my blog!

1. Top Ten Tuesday #3-My most popular top ten tuesday was my top ten books I will never read, kind of surprising that a mainly negative post was so popular, but not a total shock considering this top ten post has the most comments. I guess everyone loves to find out what books us  bloggers won’t read, considering that there are so few of them!

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-3/

2. Top Ten Tuesday #4-My second most popular top ten tuesday was my top ten authors I would like to meet. I’m glad this one was so popular as it was a fun one to write, and it was fun to read other’s posts and see how our top ten authors differed.

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/top-ten-tuesday-4/

3. Top Ten Tuesday #7-This one was actually my personal favourite post to write, my top ten (actually turned into sixteen!) book to movie adaptations I would like to see, so I’m glad it was reasonably popular with you guys as well. It was also great fun seeing what other bloggers had on their list that week too!

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/06/02/top-ten-tuesday-7/

4. Top Ten Tuesday #5-I’m not surprised that a Harry Potter based top ten is among my most popular posts, given how much love there is for Harry Potter in the blogosphere. This was my top ten (six actually!) Harry Potter females.

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/19/top-ten-tuesdays-5/

5. Top Ten Tuesday #6 and Top Ten Tuesday #8-It was a tie for fifth place between this two posts, Top Ten Tuesday 6 being my Summer TBR list, and Top Ten Tuesday 8 being my most anticipated releases for the rest of 2015, both posts that I really enjoyed writing. I especially  enjoyed reading everyone else’s anticipated releases lists as it gave me so many new books to add to my ever expanding goodreads TBR.

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/26/top-ten-tuesday-6/

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/06/09/top-ten-tuesday-8/

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Spring

I should really keep a list of these or something, as I read so many blog posts, it’s difficult to keep track of all the ones I’ve read. Usually if I like a blog post, I leave a comment, so I’ll go by that! These are all non-review posts that I’ve enjoyed, although there are obviously many book reviews that I have read and enjoyed also.

1. The Literary Counsellor did a post on four ways to conquer your reading slump, and I liked that, as I feel I’ve been going through a bit of a slump lately, not so much so that I’ve stopped reading, but the last few books I’ve read since Heir of Fire, were three star reads and reading a lot of as I refer to them “meh books” kind of dampens your enthusiasm for reading, so this post came just at the right time. Thankfully, my sort of reading slump is now over, as I really enjoyed Between Shades of Grey and I am excited to start Before I Fall, which I will hopefully be starting to read tomorrow. Anyway, I feel like this post has some really helpful tips for if you have stopped reading due to a slump.

http://theliterarycounsellor.com/2015/06/15/4-ways-to-conquer-your-reading-slump/?c=258#

2. SERIESous Book Reviews explored the topic of summer reads, and what makes a summer read suitable for reading in summer and I found this post really interesting because I’m not much of a seasonal reader, and just read whatever I feel like, I never tailor my reading to a particular season. It was a very thoughtful and interesting post to read.

http://seriesousbookreviews.com/2015/06/15/the-perfect-summer-read/

3. alwaysopinionatedgirl discussed the topic of what is appropriate to write about in school (in this case based on a creative writing assignment she was asked to do by her teacher) and I found this a really interesting and thought provoking post. I’d never really thought about what was/wasn’t appropriate to write in school before (I wrote a creative writing piece about a man on death row for my English GCSE creative writing piece, and I didn’t get told off for doing that), especially when it comes to creative writing, so it was interesting to read her thoughts on the topic.

https://alwaysopinionatedgirl.wordpress.com/2015/06/13/what-is-appropriate/

4. Over at Chapterbreak.net, they discussed the problems with reviewing books in a series, whether you review the series as a whole when you have finished it, or review each book subsequently, as you may find yourself being rather repetitive. I have to say I haven’t found series reviews much of a problem, the only thing that I find hard is trying to avoid spoilers, but it was interesting to read Julie and Lynn’s points about the difficulties of reviewing books in a series.

http://chapterbreak.net/2015/06/14/chat-between-chapters-reviewing-books-in-a-series/

5. Alicia at a Kernel of Nonsense discussed buying books in her bi-monthly feature Kernels of Nonsense (this feature is great by the way!) and I found her post really interesting, especially as I am a big book buyer myself, I don’t go to the library often and I never borrow from friends, most of my books are bought. It was nice to see her reasons as to why she buys books and I thought it was a great choice of topic.

https://akernelofnonsense.wordpress.com/2015/06/14/kernels-of-nonsense-26-why-do-you-buy-books/

(I realize these are all posts from the last couple of weeks, but it’s hard to remember all the posts that I enjoyed from March-June!).

Five Things That Happened This Spring

1. I took my A-Levels! Eeek! Hopefully they all went okay, and come August, I will have some great results to apply to University with (I am taking a gap year, so I will be applying to University this autumn, working for a bit and then going travelling, so I may do some non-bookish related posts during my time away to let you all know what I’m getting up to).

2. I had my Upper Sixth Ball (if you’re American then it’s basically the equivalent of Senior Prom, a last party before leaving school) and I went to the ball with my friends from my old secondary school (as my best friend goes to the sixth form and I have a couple of other friends there too), it was so much fun and I loved getting to hang out with all my friends, all in all it was an amazing evening.

3. I left school, I am no longer a sixth form student! It’s kind of weird not to be at school anymore, but also kind of great. I am ready for my gap year, hopefully it will be great fun and an incredible experience for me (I’m going to South America, Bolivia to be precise).

4. My friends were in the boarder’s concert at their school (my old school) at the end of March, it was the best boarder’s concert that they’d ever had (in my incredibly biased opinion) and I had my first GBK milkshake afterwards, so a memorable night all round!

5. I went out for dinner with one of my best friends to celebrate my last official day of school way back in May and we had a great time, as we always do when we’re together.

Six Songs I listened to way too often this spring

This is hard for me, because I don’t have anything that keeps count of the number of times I listen to certain songs on my IPod, so these are really just guesses.

1. Blank Space by Taylor Swift

I was kind of nervous about Taylor releasing an album that was purely pop songs, as I fell in love with her country music, but I shouldn’t have been because I loved the majority of the songs on 1989. This one is without a doubt my favourite though and I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve listened to it since I got 1989.

2. Don’t Put Dirt On My Grave Just Yet-Nashville

I think I downloaded this to my IPod last spring, but the appeal hasn’t worn off, I love this song, and often find myself randomly singing it. It’s perfect for running too, really motivates me to run harder!

3. Kiss Me-Lucy Hale

Another one that I find myself randomly singing along too, I love this song and have been playing it on repeat since I got her album Road Between last summer.

4. Black Roses-Nashville

This is one of my favourite songs, I always love listening to it and try to skip to it when my IPod is on shuffle as often as possible. Clare Bowen’s voice is always beautiful, but I find it particularly haunting on this song.

5. Elephant Love Medley-Moulin Rouge

This one seems to come up a lot when I’m running, so I’ve listened to it quite a few times this spring. I’m not sure if any of you know this about me, but Moulin Rouge is my favourite movie ever and I have to watch it at least once a year, but preferably more and all my friends have been introduced to it whenever they come round my house (I’m not sure if they like me or hate me for that, but I’m going to go with like). Anyway, I downloaded some of my favourite songs from the movie onto my IPod and whilst Come What May is my favourite song from the movie, I do love this one and listen to it on a very regular basis!

6. Style-Taylor Swift

This is also on my running playlist, plus it’s one of my favourite 1989 songs, so as you can imagine, I’ve listened to this one quite a lot this spring!

So that’s my Quarterly Rewind for this spring. What do you think of this new feature? What have you enjoyed most on my blog this spring? And most importantly, what have you guys been up to in these past few months? Let me know in the comments.

8 thoughts on “Quarterly Rewind (March-June Edition)

  1. alwaysopinionatedgirl June 21, 2015 / 4:55 pm

    Thanks for mentioning me on your list of 5 Posts I loved on Other Blogs This Spring. I think this is definitely an interesting topic to discuss and I’m really pleased that this post prompted some carefully thought out responses – it was really interesting to hear what others thought. X

  2. SERIESous Book Reviews June 21, 2015 / 7:30 pm

    Thanks for mentioning my post 🙂

    I really need to watch Jane the Virgin…I’ve only hear great things!

    Good luck with the school application!

    • iloveheartlandx June 21, 2015 / 8:01 pm

      No problem! Yeah Jane The Virgin’s definitely my favourite new show this year, so if you get the chance to check it out then do! Thank you! If I get it then there will probably be a very excited announcement on whatever post I do that day!

  3. Julie S. June 21, 2015 / 9:26 pm

    Fun new feature! Have fun at the book con, sounds awesome 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx June 21, 2015 / 9:44 pm

      Thanks! I’m sure I will, anything book related is bound to be fun!

  4. TheLiteraryCounsellor June 22, 2015 / 12:26 am

    Thanks for linking my post! I usually have a reading slump around this time of the year for some reason, so I wanted to share my techniques for getting back into the zone. This is a great new feature too! I may have to steal the idea. 😉

  5. iloveheartlandx June 22, 2015 / 8:32 am

    No problem, your post was great and your tips were really helpful. Thanks, I’m glad you like the feature, go right ahead and use it, like I said, I did it because I saw it on someone else’s blog!

Leave a Reply

