Top Ten Tuesday #3

imageOkay so this week’s top ten Tuesday list is top ten books I will probably never read. This one is a hard one for me, because I don’t really like closing myself off to possibilities of new books, I like to apply a never say never policy to books, but like most people, there are books that I won’t touch with a ten foot pole. Ā I will try to get this to ten, but it might come out as less!

1. Fifty Shades of Grey-EL James-I am sorry but erotica is just not my thing, it makes me feel uncomfortable and to be honest, from what I’ve heard about this book, it sounds like the writing is rubbish and that it portrays an abusive relationship, so I have no inclination to read that.

2. Twilight-Stephanie Meyer-I’m so over the whole vampire thing, I’m not interested in it, & it sounds like Bella is just a whimp, and there seems to be far too much romance in it for my liking, so I honestly don’t think I will ever read it.

3. The Mortal Instruments Series-Cassandra Clare-Again, lots of vampires and werewolves, and that really isn’t my thing, plus from what I’ve read about it, it sounds like romance is a primary focus in this book, and that is a big no-no for me, if romance is more than just a side plot, then I don’t want to read about it.

4. Anything else by John Green-this is more the author than any particular book, sorry to TFIOS fans, but I hated that book and after reading that I just don’t feel the inclination to read any more of his books.

5. The Kane Chronicles and Gods of Asgaard series by Rick Riordan-I love the Percy Jackson series, but I’m not interested in Norse or Egyptian mythology, and I love Percy Jackson so much that I don’t want to ruin it by reading these books and potentially not liking them. Besides I will always be missing Percy!

6. The Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver-I usually love dystopian novels but the entire concept of these books are based around love, so romance is clearly central to the plot, and as I’ve said, I don’t mind romance as a side to the plot, but I hate it when romance is central.

7. The Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie-This is much the same thing as The Delirium Trilogy, the whole plot is based around romance, and I just don’t like that, so I am unlikely to read it.

8. The Selection series by Kiera Cass-I just don’t like the sound of the plot for this one, lots of girls fawning over one hot guy? Sounds like my version of a nightmare. It sounds very fluffy with no real grit to the story, and okay, I might like a fluffy teen read once in a while, but this one just doesn’t sound like it’s for me.

9. The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling-My problem here is much the same as with Rick Riordan, I love Harry Potter so much that I don’t think I could read anything else by her, in case it ruins Harry Potter for me. I might be willing to consider reading her detective novels, but this just doesn’t sound like my sort of book.

10. Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult-I love Jodi Picoult as an author, but this book is based a lot around religion, and that just doesn’t appeal to me. I’m not really religious myself, and so I wouldn’t like reading a book based around it (just based on my own personal beliefs) as I would find the miracle stuff really unbelievable.

I did it! I actually got ten! Are any of mine on your list? Do you think I’m wrong about any of these? Tell me what you’re thinking, I love your comments! Next week’s Top Ten Tuesday is ten authors I really want to meet, and I’m really excited for that, but tomorrow I will post another Wishlist Wednesday, so look out for that.

135 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #3

  1. Bethany Corrine 06/05/2015 / 10:36 pm

    Oh! Oh but the Kane Chronicles! You’re killing my little soul over here! Lol I’m kidding, but seriously. I wasn’t sure at first but I adored them! To each his own I guess šŸ™‚ Most of these, I totally agree with you on though. Fifty Shades. *shudder*

    • iloveheartlandx 06/05/2015 / 10:39 pm

      To be honest of all the books on here the Rick Riordan ones are where I am most likely to be persuaded, I’m more uncertain there than I am definitely not going to like them. Agreed!

  2. samoak 06/05/2015 / 10:59 pm

    Agree with the 50 Shades of Grey. I actually read the Twilight series and was not a fan.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/05/2015 / 6:10 am

      That seems to be the general consensus on 50 Shades of Grey, and Twilight too, from those who have read it.

  3. digitaltempest 06/05/2015 / 11:28 pm

    You put almost all the books that didn’t make it to my list except the Riordan books. I’m reading PJ with my kids on audiobook, so I know we’ll get to the others eventually. I was deep in fandom when all that crap with Cass Clare went down, so I can’t stomach even seeing her books on timeline sometime. It was such a gross moment in fandom history. The Selection turned me ALL the way off because it sounded like The Bachelor with teenagers. LOL.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/05/2015 / 6:12 am

      Yeah, well the Riordan ones are really more not likely that definitely won’t, they’re the ones on there that I’m most likely to read if I read any of them. I hope your kids enjoy PJ! I was never a fan, the content of her books just didn’t appeal to me, but all that stuff surrounding her plagiarism mean I definitely will never be reading any of her books. Yeah that was pretty much my reasoning too!

      • digitaltempest 07/05/2015 / 1:16 pm

        Oh, we love the PJ series. One of my kids’ running gags now is: “Why, Luke, why? Why did you hurt our mommy?” or “Don’t mention Luke. Mom might cry.” because I love Luke so much. LOL.

  4. Melissa 06/05/2015 / 11:45 pm

    I’ve read both the “Matched” and “The Selection” series…while not awesome, they weren’t completely terrible. Definitely better than John Green…

    • iloveheartlandx 07/05/2015 / 6:24 am

      I’m usually willing to try any and all dystopias but when romance is the primary focus it just turns me off!

  5. lostgenerationreader 07/05/2015 / 12:39 am

    Nice list! I understand about Rowling. It’s hard to read after loving something so much. I have read some of her other work, however, and it didn’t ruin anything for me. And I agree with many of those. I’ve completely tuned some of them out which is why I didn’t think to add them to my list.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/05/2015 / 6:25 am

      I just don’t want to make unfair comparisons, which, knowing me, I would!

  6. eloisej 07/05/2015 / 12:51 am

    Yep we’ve got some in common. šŸ™‚

  7. Beth 07/05/2015 / 3:35 am

    All valid reasons for not reading the books. Some even I would use. Totally feel you on both the 50 Shades of Grey trilogy and Twilight series even though I have read the entire Twilight series and the first and part of the second of 50 Shades. However, in my defense, I had to read them because as a bookseller it is unfair to not know your customers and most of my customers were YA readers and ladies who picked up 50 Shades. ~Beth@Perpetual New Girl

    • iloveheartlandx 07/05/2015 / 6:27 am

      That’s fair enough, you do have to know your customers! I would so love to be a bookseller but I’d probably being trying to read the books all the time rather than sell them!

  8. shannonmiz 07/05/2015 / 5:40 am

    I did enjoy Delirium and Matched, but I read them so long ago, I am not even sure anymore! Fifty Shades is just torture to read (ironic, no?) not just because of the subject (which is awful) but the writing is horrible too! And I agree with you on Casual Vacancy too, it sounds kind of boring! Great list!

  9. Sammi132 07/05/2015 / 2:35 pm

    I totally agree with you about Fifty Shades of Grey, but I think you should try the Kane Chronicles. I read the trilogy, and it was pretty good.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/05/2015 / 2:48 pm

      I might, out of the ones on my list, the Rick Riordan ones are more probably won’t than definitely won’t. It’s just they’re quite long and I already have a massive pile of TBR books!

  10. Chachic 07/05/2015 / 2:43 pm

    Yes, you should skip the Mortal Instruments trilogy! I read the whole trilogy before I started blogging and didn’t really become a fan of it.

  11. I agree with you about Fifty Shades. I am downright sad about how popular this book is. I don’t like erotica and I do believe there is a good possibility that what they say about it being a horrible book is true.

    Also, yes. I will never read anything else by J.K Rowling. I am so scared that it won’t live up to Harry Potter. It is close to no chance that it will, in my head. So I have no desire of reading her newer work.

    Cucie @ Cucie reads .

    • iloveheartlandx 07/05/2015 / 3:31 pm

      It makes me sad too, there are so many books out there that are really amazing, why would you choose to read one that by most people’s accounts seems to be an awful book?! Yeah, I feel that whatever else she writes will be unfairly judged by me, because it won’t live up to Harry Potter.

  12. Veronika 07/05/2015 / 3:18 pm

    I love TFiOS when I first read it but when I re-read it I thought it was nothing special. I think that’s the most overhyped book at the moment. Also, I heard that John Green writes his novels the same way, and after a while you get bored of them. Not that any of his stories really interest me. The Selection is awesome. But DO NOT read Matched, it was one of my most hated books and then I read the sequels. But hey, I never said I’m normal. haha.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/05/2015 / 3:27 pm

      I agree, it’s got one of highest ratings on goodreads and for what? Yeah I have also heard that, that he writes the same way for all his books and his characters are always just different incarnations of each other. A few people have said that, but I know what I like and I just have this gut feeling that I wouldn’t like The Selection. I won’t, it sounds awful!

  13. El @ So Bookalicious 07/05/2015 / 6:08 pm

    Interesting list. I agree with a lot of books on this list. And I think I would have the same problem as you with The Casual Vacancy.
    Thanks for stopping by my post!

  14. With you all the way. I did read Matched, which I found genteel and readable, but I didn’t love it. I also read TFiOS, which didn’t deserve the hype, but what can you do? Thanks for stopping by, and nice list šŸ™‚

  15. rudejasper 08/05/2015 / 3:23 am

    I’m with you on several of these (like 50 shades and Twilight). You make an interesting point about Riordan and J.K. Rowling – Sometimes you love a series so much its hard to think you’ll be able to set that aside to get into another world and characters. I can be persuaded away from this but it is pretty difficult!

    • iloveheartlandx 08/05/2015 / 6:24 am

      I can be persuaded to try new series by authors who’ve done series I really really love, but you’re right, it’s hard because you’ll never love any characters as much as the ones you first fell in love with.

  16. The Literary Curator 08/05/2015 / 2:41 pm

    I definitely agree with most of your list! I recently tried to read the Selection series and had to give up halfway through. Just not my thing…I also really dislike the show The Bachelor so that might have something to do with it!

  17. hollykerrauthor 11/05/2015 / 10:53 am

    Selection really sounds like The Bachelor, so I think I’ll stay away from that. Matched wasn’t all that bad – at least the first book, but what’s the point of reading a trilogy if you don’t get past the first book! And I totally understand about missing Percy Jackson!!

    • hollykerrauthor 11/05/2015 / 10:54 am

      And I love your Swoonworthy Sundays!!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2015 / 11:05 am

      Yeah, exactly! I try to not start trilogies I don’t think I’ll finish.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.