Monday Recommendations #3

For this week’s Monday Recommendations, I decided I would post recommendations of my favourite books of one of my favourite authors, she was on my top ten list a couple of weeks ago Jodi Picoult. I discovered her books when I was about 13, and I’ve been hooked ever since, I’ve now read most of them, but there are a few I haven’t got around to yet. Anyway, here are my five favourites:

1. Nineteen Minutes-This book is about a school shooting, so the topic’s kind of heavy, but I really enjoyed it, it has well rounded characters and an interesting plot, and she never takes sides with either the victims or the perpetrator of the crime, she allows you to make up your own mind, and it really makes you think about bullying and what bullying can do to people. It gives a very well rounded account of a school shooting, from both the side of the victims and of the perpertrator.

2. My Sister’s Keeper-I think after the movie, this is the Jodi Picoult book that everyone has heard of. This was the first one I read and it really got me gripped on her books. It’s a beautiful, touching story about family, and sisters and what a family goes through when one of their children has cancer. The characters are great, the story is lovely, and even though the ending is upsetting, I think it ends the way it needed to. I highly recommend this book, it is one of my favourite books ever and if you’re going to read any Jodi Picoult book, you should read this one.

3. The Pact-This book about teen suicide is not an easy read, in fact it’s downright depressing, but if you’re like me and enjoy depressing stories then this is definitely the book for you. It’s a great look into a teenage relationship, one where the boy and the girl have been friends since they were little, and their families are inextricably linked, everyone expects they will marry someday and then one day the girl (Emily) commits suicide and the boy (Chris) is arrested for her murder. The book touches on a lot of heavy topics, but you really feel for all the characters, especially Chris, and I love how the book flashes forward and back, between now and then, so that you can put together what happened on the night that Emily died and understand why she did what she did. It’s a very emotional book, but well worth the read.

4. Plain Truth-I liked this book because it was a little different, I didn’t know much about the Amish before I read it, and I felt like I really learned a lot from reading it. The mystery is intriguing, you keep switching ideas about what you think happened to Katie’s baby (she got pregnant and the baby was found dead soon after birth) and I never actually worked it out before it was revealed at the end. I loved the lawyer Ellie but I also loved the main character Katie, she was very developed and intriguing. Although this book follows the same sort of formula as a lot of her books do, I found that there was just something different about this one.

5. The Storyteller-I love WWII based books, and the concept of this book was immediately intriguing to me, the granddaughter of a Jewish survivor of Auschwitz has to decide whether or not to forgive one of the guards of the camp, and whether or not to help him die. The best part of the book for me though, weird as it may seem, was Minka’s story. It was so touching, and devastating yet somehow beautiful at the same time. This is definitely a book that if you read it, you will not forget about it in a hurry.

So that’s today’s Monday Recommendations, I will be back with another one of these next week, but tomorrow I will be posting another Top Ten Tuesday and hopefully the reaction to this week’s will be just as wonderful as last week’s (glad to see so many people out there love strong women in books as much as I do), so look out for that.

Leave a Reply

