Top Ten Tuesday #406

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these. As I mentioned in my last TTT, I went to see Wicked last week and it was just as incredible as ever, and I loved getting to see some details that I’ve never been able to before from further back seats-Elphaba’s Wicked Witch of The West costume is so much more intricate that I realised. Lucie Jones and Helen Woolf were both absolutely fabulous as well, as was the whole cast, it was just a thoroughly enjoyable night and reminded me why this is my favourite West End show. I seem to have a tradition of going to see it once every four years (the time before this was 2019) so if that continues, the next time I’d see it would be 2027, but I have a feeling I will probably get the itch to see it again way before that!

I’ve actually got theatre plans again this week, another show that my family booked to see through the Official London Theatre Sale (I’m not even kidding when I say that I’m excitedly wondering what discounted theatre I might get to go and see next January/February with this), we’re going to see Dirty Dancing. The last time I saw Dirty Dancing, it was in German as our school took us to see it as part of our German Exchange, so whilst I did understand the story last time as I’m familiar with the film, it will be nice to actually understand everything the actors are saying this time!

Anyway, as ever, today’s Top Ten Tuesday is courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic was meant to be 2023 Debuts I’m Excited About, but sadly, I don’t have a huge number of debuts on my 2023 releases list. I’m excited to discover more through all of yours, but for my topic this week I’ll simply be sharing my Favourite Debut Novels. I have done this topic before, but it was all the way back in 2015, and I’ve read so many great debut novels since, so this will be some of my favourite debut novels from the past seven years:

  1. Rebel of The Sands-Alwyn Hamilton (2016 debut)

Rebel of The Sands was one of my absolute favourite books of 2016, made even better by the fact that Hannah and I had met Alwyn at YALC the year previously where she was promoting her then-not-yet-released debut. It was so action packed and fun and I fell completely in love with Amani. Sadly the rest of the trilogy didn’t live up to the promise of the first book for me, but Rebel of The Sands will always be one of my favourites. I hope The Notorious Virtues comes out in the not too distant future, it has been ages since she first announced it!

2. Looking For Jane-Heather Marshall (2022 debut)

I’ve waxed lyrical about how much I loved Looking For Jane many times on this blog before and you’ll be getting more of it here, sorry not sorry. It was such a beautiful, moving and poignant book and so incredibly timely given everything that has happened and continues to happen with the rolling back of reproductive rights in the US. It was also just amazingly written and given that authors tend to get better the more books they write, if this was Heather Marshall’s debut, I cannot wait to see where her career goes!

3. A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder-Holly Jackson (2019 debut)

I’m quite picky about mysteries because I find that they rarely ever thrill me in the way that I’m hoping for, so A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder was a real breath of fresh air for me in that respect! It was a really fun and fast paced story and I didn’t work out the twists until right before the end which I loved, there’s nothing more boring for me than when I’ve worked out who did it by halfway through the book. I still haven’t finished the trilogy yet but I’m hoping to make some progress on that this year.

4. The City of Brass-S.A. Chakraborty (2017 debut)

This was one of my lockdown reads and I have to say sitting out on my balcony becoming engrossed in Nahri and Ali’s adventures was the perfect distraction from everything that was going on at the time! I was quickly gripped by Nahri, Ali grew on me through the book and I absolutely loved the world that Chakraborty created. I finished the first book in April, and had devoured the whole trilogy by mid-August! I’m really excited for Chakraborty’s latest book, The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi to come out, I’m looking forward to seeing what she does outside of the Daevabad world.

5. A Song of Wraiths and Ruin-Roseanne A.Brown (2020 debut)

This book was my companion in the November lockdown and I completely fell in love with both Karina and Malik and it was a really fun and exciting read. Sadly I didn’t love the second book in the duology quite as much, but I’ll definitely be looking out for Roseanne Brown’s next YA series (she’s writing an MG one at the minute and I just don’t read a whole lot of MG anymore).

6. Children of Blood and Bone-Tomi Adeyemi (2018 debut)

I’m not sure I’ll ever completely get over finishing this book on the train to YALC, being so hyped to meet Tomi and ask her some of the questions I had after finishing…..and then her signing queue being cut off before it got to me and my friend’s number due to time constraints. Please come back to the U.K. again Tomi! Anyway, point being, I really loved this book. I loved the characters, I loved the world Tomi created and despite the occasional pacing issues, I found it to generally be a really exciting and action packed read. I was sadly let down by the second book in the trilogy though which hugely suffered from middle book syndrome. I’m hoping the third book will live up to the promise that the first had, whenever it finally comes out, Goodreads has the release date set as 22nd September this year…..but I’ve not seen any announcements from the author on that front, so I’ll believe it when I see it.

7. To Kill A Kingdom-Alexandra Christo (2018 debut)

Both of my friends and I got this book at YALC in 2018, and we all loved it, so ringing endorsement from all three of us on this one! It was such a fun read, I loved the characters (especially Lira), Alexandra Christo’s writing was fabulous and it was just such a fun story that by the time I finished it, I was wishing it was longer because I wanted to spend more time with the characters. I’ve since read the first book in Alexandra Christo’s duology, Into The Crooked Place and really enjoyed that, and I’m looking forward to reading its sequel, City of Spells.

8. Caraval-Stephanie Garber (2017 debut)

After failing to win an ARC of this at YALC in 2016, I was approved for one on Netgalley and read it in January of 2017. Though it was a slow starter, I ended up completely falling in love with the book and the world that Stephanie Garber created, it truly felt like I was immersed in the world of Caraval and experiencing the game alongside Scarlett. I ended up loving the sequel, following Scarlett’s sister Tella even more, though the final book (Finale) was a bit of a let down. I’m excited to explore a new part of the world of Caraval whenever I finally manage to read Once Upon A Broken Heart (it is currently sitting on my shelf judging me).

9. Enchantee-Gita Trelease (2019 debut)

I completely fell in love with Gita Trelease’s debut in January 2019, she so vividly portrayed 18th Century Paris and Versailles that it felt like I could be wandering alongside Camille which is always something I love in a book. I love the magic, I loved the characters, and most of all I loved Camille’s relationship with her sister Sophie, which is the driving force of the book. I sadly still haven’t got around to reading the sequel, Liberte, as I couldn’t get it on audio and I didn’t want to read the e-book. I may have to bite the bullet and get a physical copy, but I hate not having a complete series (I got Enchantee from Netgalley) and I don’t want to spend money on a book I’ve already read!

10. Timekeeper-Tara Sim (2016 debut)

I hate that this series isn’t more widely talked about in the blogging community because I loved it so much and it’s one of those rare trilogies where there isn’t a single bad book, all the books are great: no middle book slumps here (the second book of the series was actually my favourite!). It’s such a fun concept, an alternate Victorian London (and later India) which is powered by clock towers which start to be destroyed and the main character, a clock mechanic has to work out who is trying to destroy the towers and stop them before time itself stops. It also has one of my absolute favourite m/m romances of all time between the clock mechanic Danny, and a clock spirit called Colton, they are the absolute epitome of the grumpy/sunshine trope and I love them to pieces. If you like fantasy, you should definitely read this trilogy because it’s honestly unlike anything I’ve ever read before in the best possible way. I need to read more of Tara Sim’s books, I think I’m going to try her adult novel, City of Dusk next.

11. Not Even Bones-Rebecca Schaeffer (2018 debut)

Another pandemic read (in that I read it in 2020, not that it’s about a pandemic) and one that I absolutely loved. It’s brilliantly dark, and I loved both the main characters Nita and Kovit, I love it when basically every character in a book is a villain which was definitely the case here. It was a really unique concept as well, of a girl who dissects the body parts of supernatural beings for her mother but ends up becoming her mother’s next sale when she saves her mother’s latest victim due to her ability to alter her biology. I love it when I read a book and feel like I’ve read something completely different and I definitely got that here. I was so excited for the next book that I ordered it the minute I finished this one…..and it’s still sitting unread on my shelf! Classic book blogger behaviour!

12. The Crown’s Game-Evelyn Skye (2016 debut)

I read this one in the winter of 2017, and I really enjoyed it, despite the slow start! I loved the characters (well I loved Vika and Pasha, Nikolai I could take or leave) and I really loved the magic that the characters were able to do and the variety of magic shown in the book, from small spells to big enchantments. I also loved the setting, Skye created such a vivid picture of Imperial Russia that it felt like it came alive on the page for me. Sadly, I didn’t love the conclusion to the duology, The Crown’s Fate as it felt rushed and more suited to being a middle book in a trilogy than the final book in a duology, but The Crown’s Game was a strong debut. I still have the first book in her second duology, Circle of Shadows on my shelf to read, hopefully I can get around to that one soon!

So there we go, those are some of my favourite debuts from the past seven years since I last did this topic! From this list, it seems like 2016 and 2018 were a particularly strong year for debuts as I have three favourites from both of those years (though I didn’t actually read two of the 2018 books until 2019 and 2020 respectively). Have you read any of these books? Did you like them? What 2023 debuts are you looking forward to? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, as it’s Valentine’s Day, it is of course our annual Valentine’s Day freebie. I have to admit, I’m running out of ideas I’ve not done for this one, especially given I don’t much care for Valentine’s Day and I feel like I’ve run the gamut of Valentine’s topics over the past several years, but I’ve decided to do the one I swapped out for Favourite Rom-Coms last year and do Books With Hearts On The Cover since we’ve not yet done a cover topic this year and you guys always seem to really like those!

48 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #406

  1. deanne01 07/02/2023 / 11:11 pm

    Enchantee-Gita Trelease , this selection sounds really good. I hope you enjoy them all.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:40 pm

      I did, these are all debuts I’ve read before, I changed the topic!

  2. Anne Bennett 08/02/2023 / 3:11 am

    Children of Blood and Bone was such an exciting novel. I should have read on in the series but never did. This is a fun list. Thanks.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:39 pm

      It really was great! I sadly found the second book kind of underwhelming, but I’m hoping the third will end things on a high. Thank you!

  3. Terrie Purkey 08/02/2023 / 3:13 am

    I read Children of Blood & Bone and have several others of these on my TBR. But, I didn’t have Caraval – now I do. 🙂 Have a terrific week & hope you find time to read a good book. Thanks for the visit.
    Terrie @ Bookshelf Journeys

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:39 pm

      Ah glad to have helped you find something new, Caraval is a great book! Thank you 🙂

  4. Susan 08/02/2023 / 4:33 am

    A GOOD GIRL’S GUIDE TO MURDER is one I really enjoyed as well. It managed to feel fresh and unique when so many mystery/thrillers just seem to be all the same.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  5. Louise 08/02/2023 / 1:01 pm

    I remember really enjoying Rebel of The Sands too.

  6. Leslie 08/02/2023 / 2:41 pm

    This is a great idea for a freebie too! I love when books have blown up and I love them so much… I sometimes forget they were debuts! The City of Brass for one!! Such an amazing series. Wicked is amazing to watch on broadway!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:26 pm

      Thank you! Yes there were definitely quite a few of these where I was surprised it was the author’s first book because they were so great (not that debuts can’t be great, but they’re usually not an author’s best book). I loved the Daevabad trilogy so much, I’m so excited for her next book. I’ve never seen Wicked on Broadway, I would love to one day. My family went to New York about ten years or so ago now, and we did see a show on Broadway but it was Chicago, I think Wicked was too expensive!

      • Leslie 14/02/2023 / 10:03 pm

        Yeah, I know what you mean! Debuts can be amazing but sometimes their best book? Not so much! I will read anything she writes!! Ohh, yes.. I can imagine that Wicked would be majorly expensive in New York! My husband works next to the theatre downtown and we get discounted tickets for certain shows. We used to go to a few a year and then we had a kid. HAHA

      • iloveheartlandx 21/02/2023 / 4:37 pm

        Exactly! Me too. Ah wow, that’s so cool and very lucky, I would LOVE to be able to get discounted theatre tickets on a regular basis (as it is, I take advantage of offers as and when they come up but usually will get the cheapest tickets in the house which normally means being right at the back for most shows!). Ha ha yeah I can imagine!

      • Leslie 21/02/2023 / 11:10 pm

        It’s definitely helped get my husband to go to the theatre with me. haha! He now enjoys it though. We are usually in the balcony but try to get the first few rows. I am not about the floor seat money. HAHA! Maybe one day!!

      • iloveheartlandx 28/02/2023 / 11:07 am

        Ah that’s great! Ha ha honestly same, the only times I tend to get stalls seating is when either a) they are on a deal and I can get them cheap or more likely b) my parents are paying!

      • Leslie 28/02/2023 / 7:00 pm

        You just can’t pass up on a deal!! It’s always nice when they are gifted too. 🙂

  7. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz 08/02/2023 / 6:54 pm

    I like how you tweaked the prompt this week. I think it would make a great prompt for all of us.

  8. Cindy Davis 08/02/2023 / 9:23 pm

    Nice tweak on this week’s prompt! Enjoy the theatre!!

  9. WendyW 09/02/2023 / 12:05 am

    I’ve always wanted to see Wicked in the theater. I’m glad you had a great time. Dirty Dancing sounds like a lot of fun too.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:22 pm

      Yes, I love Wicked, never had a bad time when I’ve been to see it. Dirty Dancing was a lot of fun!

  10. thebookishlibra 09/02/2023 / 1:36 am

    Wicked is one of my favorite shows so I’m glad to hear it was such a great experience for you. I see lots of my favorite debuts on your list too, especially To Kill a Kingdom and Children of Blood and Bone.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:22 pm

      It’s one of mine too, this was my third time seeing it, I love it so much! Ah awesome, yes those were both great 🙂

  11. Holliehocks 09/02/2023 / 4:57 am

    Several of these are still on my TBR. I thought the only book I’d read on here was Rebel of the Sands (although I never read the rest of the series), but then I saw Evelyn Skye and I recently discovered her and am in love with her books and you’re the first person I’ve actually seen to bring her up, haha. I agree about the rushed ending for The Crown’s Fate, but I enjoyed her Circle of Shadow duology more! I can’t wait to see what you think when you get around to it!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:21 pm

      I hope you enjoy them whenever you read them. Yeah Evelyn Skye seems to be another of those authors that was quite hyped around her debut and now I don’t see as many people talking about her, but she’s kept bringing out books so they must be doing reasonably well! Ah that’s interesting to hear, I definitely need to get around to Circle of Shadows at some point though when that will be, I don’t know ha ha.

  12. the bookworm 09/02/2023 / 1:38 pm

    I’ve wanted to see Wicked! It sounds amazing. I also want to read the books and I know they’re filing a movie now.
    Enjoy Dirty Dancing!
    I haven’t read any on your list but I do have A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder on my TBR list. Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:18 pm

      It’s such a great show-I’ve never actually read the books! I’m looking forward to the movie, though I’m not thrilled they’ve done the whole splitting it into two parts thing as that doesn’t really seem necessary. Thank you, I did! I hope you enjoy A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder whenever you read it. Happy reading to you too 🙂

  13. anovelglimpse 09/02/2023 / 3:31 pm

    OMG! I saw Dirty Dancing at the Paramount in Seattle several years ago and it’s still one of my favorite experiences! They basically reenact the movie and it is SO FUN! My best friend and I giggled throughout it and had the time of our lives. I hope you will a well.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:16 pm

      I did have a great time! I had seen it before in Germany so I knew kind of what to expect but it was a long time ago and I’d forgotten a lot of it (particularly how sexy some bits get, though that probably should have been self-evident ha ha), plus since I didn’t actually really understand much of what they were saying, I didn’t realise how funny it was at the time! It was definitely a great night out 🙂

  14. themoonphoenix 09/02/2023 / 4:45 pm

    Enchantee is so good and underrated, love the mix between historical and magic, I have the sequel in my tbr

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:14 pm

      It’s so good! There was definitely a lot of hype about it before and around the time it came out, but not much since, which was a surprise to me since I enjoyed it so much. I also have the sequel on my TBR.

  15. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 10/02/2023 / 5:05 am

    I can’t believe I haven’t read any of these yet. 🤦‍♀️ But several are on my tbr. We saw Wicked in New York but we were up in the cheap seats. I bet you’re so right about all the details we missed. It was a phenomenal show!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:11 pm

      I hope you enjoy the ones you want to read whenever you do read them. Ah Wicked in New York, that’s so cool-I think we looked at getting tickets when we were in New York about ten years or so ago, but they were too expensive! I’ve seen Wicked from all the possible seats at this point (stalls, front of dress circle and way up right at the back) and I’ve always had an amazing time, but yes, there definitely are little costume details and things like that that you can see from the stalls that you don’t get way up at the back!

  16. Tammy 10/02/2023 / 11:15 pm

    I love your twist on the theme:-) I have been wanted to read The City of Brass for a while now.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:05 pm

      Thank you! The City of Brass is really great, I highly recommend it-I flew through it in about a week and half which is super quick for me (though granted this was in deepest April 2020 lockdown and I didn’t have much else to do, but still it’s a really great book!).

  17. Alexandra 11/02/2023 / 6:34 pm

    Love your twist on this weeks theme, and love that we share quite a few of the same books on your list as favs.

  18. Annemieke 13/02/2023 / 4:05 pm

    I still have to get to A Song of Wraiths and Ruins. I also loved Timekeeper.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:02 pm

      I hope you enjoy it when you do. Yes, Timekeeper was great, I wish that trilogy was one that was more talked about in the blogosphere, it seemed to go somewhat under the radar!

  19. Meezan 13/02/2023 / 6:01 pm

    I saw Wicked many years ago. I agree, it was phenomenal! I would love to see it again. Dirty Dancing should also be amazing on stage. Looking forward to finding out what you thought of it! Happy watching and happy reading! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:02 pm

      It’s definitely my favourite West End show, I love it so much! Dirty Dancing was great, it was a really fun night out. Thank you 🙂

  20. Svetlana Lib 14/02/2023 / 6:37 am

    Your debut reads sound awesome! I read Tara Sims City of Dusk last year and boy is she good!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:00 pm

      Thank you, they were! I’ve not read City of Dusk yet but I want to, so I’m glad you enjoyed it. I highly recommend the Timekeeper trilogy, it’s so good.

  21. Rissi 14/02/2023 / 5:53 pm

    Lists like this continue to remind me (which is a good thing) how curious I am to read Holly’s books. Someday I will. 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.