Top Ten Tuesday #405

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve had a good week since I last did one of these. As I mentioned in my last TTT, I went to Leigh Bardugo’s London Hell Bent tour stop last Thursday and it was so much fun, Leigh is just as lovely and funny in person as she seems on the Internet and it was so nice to finally meet her. I also have something fun lined up this week, I’m going to see Wicked (for the third time) on Wednesday and thanks to the Official London Theatre Sale, I was able to get stalls tickets for £20, I hardly ever get to see anything from the stalls, I’m usually way up the back, so I’m really excited to get to see one of my favourite shows in a better seat that I ever have before! I do have to navigate the train strikes, so my usual 5 minute journey from where I live to Victoria is going to turn into a half hour bus ride, but at least I can still get there!

Anyway, as always today’s TTT is courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is a Freebie, so I’ve chosen to talk about Series I Want To Finish as one of my goals for 2023 is to try and knock off some of my unfinished series, especially those that only have one or two books left in them. I did do this topic a few years ago, back in 2020, but as my unfinished series list is constantly growing, I do have 10 new ones for you today. I can confirm that like the terrible bookworm I am, I’ve only finished two series on that list since I made it and added approximately 20,000 more series books to finish since then. Let’s hope I have better luck with these ones:

  1. King Of Scars Duology-Leigh Bardugo: Book To Finish: Rule of Wolves (Book #2)

I really meant to read Rule of Wolves back in 2021 because after watching the first season of Shadow and Bone, I was feeling really into consuming more Grishaverse content. Alas, I was also in a terrible reading slump and the idea of tackling a 500+ page book was absolutely horrifying to me. Maybe the second season of Shadow and Bone this March will put me back into a Grishaverse mood and I’ll finally be able to knock this one off my list? We’ll see.

2. Noughts and Crosses Series-Malorie Blackman: Book To Finish: Endgame (Book #6)

I will admit, I wasn’t totally enamoured with Crossfire when I read it back at the beginning of 2020. However, it did leave off on a pretty big cliffhanger that I want to see resolved as well as of course just wanting to complete this series because it is one that meant a lot to me as a pre-teen/young teenager.

3. The Gilded Wolves Trilogy-Roshani Chokshi: Book To Finish: The Bronzed Beasts (Book #3)

The Silvered Serpents left off on a frankly UNFAIR cliffhanger, and I really should have dived into The Bronzed Beasts as soon as it arrived. However, due to the aforementioned great reading slump of 2021, I didn’t. I would really like to get to this one this year as it’s one I’ve been wanting to read for a while, and I’m dying to know how the story will end for Severin and the gang. AND WHETHER LAILA LIVES? SHE MUST LIVE, I WILL NOT HAVE ANYTHING ELSE (no spoilers in the comments please if you have read it).

4. Into The Crooked Place Duology-Alexandra Christo: Book To Finish: City of Spells (Book #2)

Okay, in all fairness, this one is not entirely my fault. I lent this book to my friend Hannah a while ago as I knew I probably wasn’t going to get to it for ages due to the previously mentioned 2021 reading slump. However, we just haven’t seen each other in a while and I’ve not got it back from her yet. I can’t say that once I do it will go to the top of my TBR pile, but at least I have a valid excuse for leaving this one languishing for so long!

5. The Girl From Everywhere Duology-Heidi Heilig: Book To Finish: The Ship Beyond Time (Book #2)

I have to admit, it’s been so long since I read The Girl From Everywhere now, that I have completely forgotten what happened in it. That was like 5/6 years and however many books ago. In my defence, I could not find the second book in the UK for the longest time, but I do have it now and hopefully I will get around to finishing Nix’s story in the not so distant future (once I’ve found an online recap of The Girl From Everywhere and reminded myself what actually happened in that!).

6. Skulduggery Pleasant Series-Derek Landy: Books To Finish: Dead or Alive (Book #14) and Until The End (Book #15)

I’ve been putting off the end of this series, partly because the final two books are absolute behemoths (both are over 600 pages) and I’ve barely been picking up 300+ page physical books over the past two years, let alone great big bricks like these ones. Also I didn’t love Seasons of War and so that made me slightly less excited for the next couple of books in the series, I think I just kind of lost my momentum with it. I would like to finish the series though and find out how it all ends….if it actually does. After Dying of The Light, I really don’t trust Derek to actually end this series. This may also be why I haven’t finished the latest books yet because I’m convinced that it’s not actually the end this time.

7. Cassidy Blake Trilogy-VE Schwab: Books To Finish: Bridge of Souls (Book #3)

This is one I think I definitely can finish this year as these books are so short. I really enjoyed both City of Ghosts and Tunnel of Bones when I read them back in 2020 and I’m looking forward to seeing how Cassidy Blake’s adventures end….at least for the time being, as Schwab has hinted she may come back to Cassidy’s adventures in the future, just not for a while.

8. The Dreamer Trilogy-Maggie Stiefvater: Books To Finish: Mister Impossible (Book #2) and Greywaren (Book #3)

I read Call Down The Hawk in 2020 and I did like it, but when Mister Impossible came round in 2021…..well we all know what happened to my reading in 2021. I would like to catch up on this series and finish out Ronan’s adventures at some point, hopefully soon, as it does seem like Maggie Stiefvater is done in the Raven Cycle world and this is the last we’ll ever get from these characters, so I’d like to wrap up their story properly.

9. Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy-Laini Taylor: Books To Finish: Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Book #3)

This was on my list last time as well and I have to admit I’m having a hard time with this one. On the one hand, I don’t want to leave this series with just one book to go, especially as I got it signed and personalised at YALC in 2017, so the books will be hard to get rid of. But at the same time, I really, really disliked Days of Blood and Starlight and it kind of put me off the series. Dreams of Gods and Monsters is even longer and it’s a lot to commit to if I don’t like it. Basically I’m torn on this one, I need your help: is this series worth finishing, or should I just let it go?

10. A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder Trilogy-Holly Jackson: Books To Finish: Good Girl, Bad Blood (Book #2) and As Good As Dead (Book #3)

I did start Book #2 last year, but again, I just wasn’t really getting into physical books last year so I never finished it. I do think part of my lack of impetus comes from the fact that A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder worked perfectly fine as a standalone and I don’t really feel that it needed to be a series. However, I do enjoy Holly Jackson’s writing and I love the characters, so I will continue on with this, it’s just a case of when.

So there we go, those are the series I want to finish, hopefully I will get to some of them this year! Have you read any of these? Did you enjoy them? What topic did you choose for today’s freebie? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, it’s meant to be 2023 Debut Books I’m Excited About, but I honestly don’t have a lot of 2023 debuts on my TBR, it just doesn’t seem to be a big year of debuts for me. So instead, I thought I’d do my Favourite Debut Novels which is a topic I’ve done before, but I last did it in 2015, and I’ve read a lot of debuts since then, so I definitely think I’ll be able to come up with a brand new list for you guys. And hopefully I’ll be able to find more 2023 debuts to be excited by from your lists!

84 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #405

  1. vee_bookish 31/01/2023 / 1:04 pm

    I need to continue the Shadow & Bone series, I am so behind! I still need to finish AGGGTM as well, I’m onto the final book.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:54 pm

      Yes it was so much fun! Thank you, there’s nothing worse than a disappointing series finale, so I hope these are all good ones!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:54 pm

      They were great for me during lockdown when I wanted a break from some of the lengthier books I was reading at the time! Thank you 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:55 pm

      Thank you! All may be a stretch, but I definitely want to try and finish at least some.

  2. Steph-paigesofnovels 31/01/2023 / 5:03 pm

    That’s so cool that you met Leigh Bardugo!!! I love Wicked as well, and I’m excited for you to see it! Here is my post-https://paigesofnovels.com/2023/01/31/top-ten-tuesday-1-31-23-comfort-reads/.

    • iloveheartlandx 31/01/2023 / 5:05 pm

      Yeah, she was so lovely and the event was so much fun! I’m so excited for Wicked, it’s one of my absolute favourite shows. I go to see very few shows multiple times (I think Wicked and Hairspray are the only ones I’ve seen more than once) and Wicked is the only show that I will have seen more than twice, so that just shows how much I love it!

  3. themoonphoenix 31/01/2023 / 5:11 pm

    I had to finish The Dreamer Trilogy too, but I think I will need to reread the first book :p it was long time ago

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:55 pm

      I will definitely have to look for a recap online, it’s been almost three years since I read the first book!

  4. lindseyhabets 31/01/2023 / 6:59 pm

    I hope you’ll get to finish all of these in 2023! I’ve only finished the King of Scars duology and the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, all the others are series I still need to start. So cool that you got to meet Leigh Bardugo, too!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:56 pm

      I hope so too! I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve read so far of all these series, so I hope you enjoy the ones you want to read. Yes I loved getting to meet Leigh, it was so much fun!

  5. Louise 31/01/2023 / 7:57 pm

    I feel you! I am so, so bad at leaving series hanging!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:52 pm

      I used to be better, but I have so many to keep track of these days!

  6. Laurie 31/01/2023 / 8:12 pm

    LOL I DNF’ed Dreams of Gods and Monsters twice, so there’s your answer 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:52 pm

      Yeah honestly the longer it sits on my shelf, the less likely it feels that I’m going to finish it….

  7. Cindy Davis 31/01/2023 / 8:36 pm

    I also have series I am trying to finish this year! I just finalized my list this morning. I finished writing down all the series I had started yesterday…it’s been a work in progress.

  8. smellincoffee 31/01/2023 / 9:08 pm

    The Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is definitely an interesting-sounding series!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:49 pm

      The first book was definitely fun, I’m hoping the rest will be too!

  9. Kasey @ The Story Sanctuary 31/01/2023 / 9:15 pm

    Great list! I want to finish the Cassidy Blake series, too. And I didn’t realize The Girl From Everywhere was a duology. I’ll have to check those out. Here is my TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:48 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I would definitely like to knock that one off this year as I only have the last book and they are very short. Yeah it is-the second book is called The Ship Beyond Time.

  10. Leslie 31/01/2023 / 9:36 pm

    Good luck finishing! The Gilded Wolves and Dreamer trilogies were ones that I loved.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:46 pm

      Thank you! I enjoyed the previous books in both series, so I’m looking forward to reading the rest 🙂

  11. Kappa 31/01/2023 / 9:43 pm

    I’m also terrible at finishing series! I need to catch up with the Cassidy Blake series as well.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:45 pm

      I used to be so much better but alas the ever increasing series pile is starting to swallow me up! I hope we both enjoy the books we have left in that one 🙂

  12. agreatreviewer 31/01/2023 / 10:37 pm

    Oh fun! Getting to meet Leigh sounds like a blast! I last saw her for Ninth House release! I was hoping she’d come close to me again but it wasn’t in the cards this time!

    I still need to start her King of Scars duology myself! I held off starting it until I had both books! Good luck with your challenge! I’m hoping to finish some series too this year…some need to be started and finished, but we’ll see what I can manage! LOL!

    Thanks for visiting my TTT post!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:45 pm

      Yes it was so much fun, one of the most funny and chaotic book events I’ve ever been to. Definitely been there, it’s always a big disappointment when an author you like isn’t coming near you on their tour, though I’m just grateful book events are back now, I missed them so much during the lockdowns!
      I hope you enjoy it whenever you read it. Thank you, I’m under no illusions that I’ll come close to finishing all these books by the end of the year but it would be nice to be able to tick off some. No problem 🙂

  13. BonnieReadsAndWrites 31/01/2023 / 11:09 pm

    I haven’t read any of these but I know what it’s like to not have enough time to finish a series.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:42 pm

      Annoyingly I used to be so good at keeping up with series but alas no longer….

  14. tracybham 31/01/2023 / 11:38 pm

    I have so many series I have started and not finished, or read 2 books in and then stopped. I need to come up with a list and decide which ones I am serious about. Of course, some of them are so long I will never finish all the books in the series.

    Thanks for visiting my post.

    TracyK at Bitter Tea and Mystery

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:41 pm

      I definitely have a few series I’ve started and not finished deliberately, but those are usually ones where I read the first book and decided I wasn’t interested in any more. If I get two or more books into a series, I’m usually committed at that point! That sounds like a good idea, great way to cull some of the series that you’ve lost interest in.

  15. stargazer 01/02/2023 / 12:06 am

    Great that you’ve got good tickets to Wicked – hope you’ll have a fun time! And good luck with finishing all the series!

  16. 1girl2manybooks 01/02/2023 / 12:13 am

    I also still have to read Rule of Wolves and 2 of the books in the Gilded Wolves series (I’ve only read the first and honestly it’s been so long I’d have to read it again, so I guess I should say I need to read all 3 now haha).

  17. WendyW 01/02/2023 / 2:09 am

    I just downloaded King of Scars and I’m hoping to read that series this year.

  18. Rissi 01/02/2023 / 2:25 am

    I hope you enjoy seeing Wicked and enjoy all of these series you plan to read! I still want to give Holly’s books a chance. They sure sound like fun reads. Thanks for visiting my website this week.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:39 pm

      I loved Wicked-seeing it again reminded me just why it’s one of my favourite shows, I’ve seen it with three different casts now and they’ve all been absolutely incredible. I’ve only read A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder so far but it definitely was a fun read. You’re welcome, thanks for visiting mine 🙂

  19. Rachel @Waves of Fiction 01/02/2023 / 2:27 am

    Good luck in finishing and thanks for visiting my TTT!

  20. Terrie Purkey 01/02/2023 / 3:26 am

    I also often have trouble finishing a series – if too much time goes by and I can’t remember enough, I usually just leave it. One exception for me this year is the 3rd book in the Jade series by Fonda Lee. I liked the first 2 so much, I’m not sure why I didn’t keep going. But – I will finish it this year (she says confidently). Thanks for the visit & hope you have a terrific week.
    Terrie @ Bookshelf Journeys

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:37 pm

      Quite a few of these it’s been a while since I’ve read the previous book, but I’ll usually just read a recap online to refresh my memory before I go in. I’ve heard really good things about that one, it’s one I want to start at some point-though I really should focus on just finishing what I have and not starting anymore! I hope you enjoy it. Thank you 🙂

  21. Katie Harder-Schauer 01/02/2023 / 3:44 am

    I need to finish the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series too. Have a great week.

  22. Kathryn 01/02/2023 / 3:59 am

    Yes great goal to want to finish all these series that you obviously enjoy.

  23. Sammie @ The Bookwyrm's Den 01/02/2023 / 4:03 am

    I feel a little called out right now if we’re going to be talking about unfinished series. xD I have too many of those. I really need to read The Bronzed Beasts, too, but I loved the first two so much and the second book put me through such stress worrying over these darling characters that I’m not sure I’m ready for the third book. Plus, once I read it then it’s over, and then what do I do?! I do agree that A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder worked wonderfully as a standalone, but I will say that I loved the second book just as much as the first, if not maybe even slightly more? The third book I could take it or leave it. Definitely didn’t feel necessary.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:35 pm

      Ha ha I mean last week was basically me completely calling myself out, this is just a fraction of my unfinished series! I definitely get that, I am slightly worried about what’s going to happen to everyone, particularly Laila and there is a part of me that isn’t ready for it to end. I’m glad you enjoyed the second AGGGTM book. Yes the third one does seem to have had some mixed reviews….

  24. Anne Bennett 01/02/2023 / 4:36 am

    I have to finish the Dreamer Trilogy, too, both #2 and #3. I love Maggie Stiefvater so much I do not know what is holding me back.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:34 pm

      I don’t either, I guess just lots of other books to get to for both of us!

  25. Davida Chazan 01/02/2023 / 6:28 am

    There are a few series I’ve never finished, but truth be told… I’ve tried to stay away from series lately. Mind you, I wouldn’t mind reading all the Agatha Christie books!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:33 pm

      To be honest, I haven’t read a huge number of series books recently either-which is why my series to finish list has been getting so long! I’ve never actually read any Agatha Christie, but that is something I’d like to change!

  26. Susan 01/02/2023 / 2:04 pm

    I could make a Top 100 list on this topic! LOL. I have finished the Good Girl’s series, though, and I enjoyed it although I didn’t love all the series’ twists. I also just finished Jackson’s new one, FIVE SURVIVE. It’s a little predictable, but still really good. I raced through it in a day because I had to know what happened next. It’s very gripping. Good luck with these!

    Happy TTT (on a Wednesday)!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:29 pm

      I mean I will admit that this nowhere close to being my full series to finish list! Yes I have heard that the final book of that series in particular is a bit controversial. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Five Survive, I’ve got that one on my shelf as well. Thank you!

  27. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 01/02/2023 / 6:42 pm

    This is such a popular topic choice this week! I have so many series to finish, as well, including Dreamer Trilogy. I have read Mister Impossible, and Greywaren is waiting on my shelf. It’ll probably be appearing on my February TBR. 😃 And I haven’t even started King of Scars. Hopefully soon. Good luck with finishing some of these!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:20 pm

      It definitely seemed to be, I guess we’re all perennially behind! Ah so you’re further ahead than me then, I still need to read both, and I will definitely need to find some sort of recap of Call Down The Hawk because I read that almost three years ago now and remember nothing! I hope you enjoy King of Scars whenever you read it. Thank you 🙂

  28. FangirlFlax 01/02/2023 / 7:33 pm

    Ha, we were of the same mind on Demon and Bardugo reading for this week’s TTT! Have an amazing time seeing Wicked.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:15 pm

      Ha ha yes we were! I did have an amazing time, thank you 🙂

  29. foreverlostinlit 01/02/2023 / 11:52 pm

    I think a lot of chose this topic, we’re all behind, haha! I don’t think I ever finished The Girl From Everywhere duology, either, and it’s been ages since I read the first book, too. It had such a neat concept! I hope you get to all of these!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:15 pm

      Ha ha it did seem to be a popular one which made me feel less alone! Yes, it was a really cool book and I remember really wanting to read the second book after finishing but of course I couldn’t find it for ages! I may need to read a recap before diving into Book 2 because I remember nothing……

  30. notinjersey 02/02/2023 / 1:10 pm

    Good luck on all of these! I was going to say I haven’t read any of them but I did read and finish the AGGGTM series!

  31. Jaime 02/02/2023 / 9:46 pm

    Finishing series is always a great goal and one I’m always trying to do each year to some success.

    I hope you enjoy Rule of Wolves! I really like what Leigh did with the duology and how everything from both of the previous series ties together. It’s also really cool that you got to see her on tour! I saw her when Crooked Kingdom came out and it was amazing. ❤

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:12 pm

      Mine have annoyingly piled up in recent years so I’m hoping to at least try and make a dent this year. I’m really looking forward to Rule of Wolves, I’ve heard good things and I’m excited that more of the Crows apparently make an appearance in this one. Yes, it was so much fun and so lovely to get to meet her-my friend invited me to go to her Crooked Kingdom tour, but I hadn’t read her books at that point so I stupidly said no! Was so glad to get a ticket this time!

  32. Vidya Tiru 03/02/2023 / 4:23 am

    I have to admit I haven’t read any of these series though I do want to pick up Chokashi and Stiefvater books after having read another book of theirs recently..
    Here is my TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:10 pm

      They’re both really great, the only thing I will say is that the Stiefvater series is a continuation/spinoff of her earlier series The Raven Cycle, so in order to be familiar with the main character of The Dreamer Trilogy, you do kind of need to have read The Raven Cycle first.

  33. masterspj 03/02/2023 / 10:57 pm

    I hope you enjoy your show again! I hope you are able to finish these series this year. Thank you for stopping by my blog earlier.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:08 pm

      I loved it, thank you! I hope so too, I’m not sure I’ll get through them all but I would like to be able to at least get through some!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:07 pm

      It’s one of very few I have left to read from her! I loved Wicked, thank you, it’s one of my favourite shows and I’ve been a couple of times before but never been that close to the stage, I’ve always been in the circle previous times and it definitely felt like an even more special experience being that close and picking up on some things I hadn’t noticed when I’d been before!

  34. Cheryl C. Malandrinos 04/02/2023 / 8:06 pm

    This is a great topic. There are more than one series I haven’t finished yet. I would love to read A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder trilogy. I just added it to my Goodreads “want to read” shelf and my Amazon wish list.

    Thanks for sharing and for visiting my blog on Tuesday.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:05 pm

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy the A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder trilogy whenever you get around to it. No problem 🙂

  35. Holliehocks 06/02/2023 / 3:06 am

    Haha, this sounds like me. It’s always a surprise if I actually manage to finish a series. Also way to many of these series have been on my TBR forever now, whoops. Although I do 100% agree about Leigh Bardugo’s books. They are so good, yet so long, so despite knowing I’ll love it, I have also not read the King of Scars books…That’s definitely a goal this year because I need more Grisha content. I’m so happy that you were able to meet her too!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2023 / 8:02 pm

      Annoyingly I used to be really good at finishing series, but I think before I started blogging I just had way less series to finish! Yeah I love the Grishaverse but I do have to be in a certain mood before starting lengthy books and I just haven’t been the past couple of years. It’s been a while since I’ve read anything in the Grisha world though so I would like to at least read something from there this year, though it might end up being something shorter like Demon In The Wood rather than Rule of Wolves, who knows! Aww thank you, I was so happy that the dates actually worked out for me to go this time!

      • Holliehocks 08/02/2023 / 4:13 am

        Same here! I would patiently wait for book releases as a kid/teenager, but now if I have to wait, chances are I will probably not finish that series. Sometimes even if I loved the first book, I just never get around to the next one(s). Oh, I read Demon in the Wood not too long ago! It was underwhelming for me story-wise, but I’d definitely still recommend for Grisha fans. Also for the artwork. But that was also what put the King of Scars duology back on my TBR radar, haha.

      • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2023 / 12:37 pm

        It definitely doesn’t help if there’s a long wait between books, which now that I read more adult fiction, there does tend to be a two or more year gap between books in series releasing, which definitely hinders my remembering what actually happened in the first book. I also just have a lot more books to keep track of these days than I did as a teenager! Ah that’s a shame the story was underwhelming but good to hear the artwork was good. Oh well, at least some good came out of it then.

  36. Svetlana Lib 07/02/2023 / 5:28 am

    Good luck finishing the series! Rooting for you! I also have tons of series I want to read and finish…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.