Top Ten Tuesday #26

image

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday was meant to be Top Ten Author Duos that you’d like to see write a book together, but I was finding that topic really hard and could only come up with four pairings, so instead of struggling through and trying to find more author duos, I decided I would pick a topic from the archives to do this week and the topic I have chosen is Top Ten Favourite Debuts, my favourite debut novels.

  1. Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone-JK Rowling-Of course I had to put this book on here! It’s not actually my favourite one of the series (that honour goes to The Goblet of Fire), but it’s the book that introduced us all to Harry and the amazing Wizarding World that JK Rowling created which means it will always be very special to me.
  2. Skulduggery Pleasant-Derek Landy-Again not my favourite book in the series, but it is a brilliant book that got me hooked on this amazing series. If you have not read the Skulduggery Pleasant books yet then what the hell are you waiting for? They have a magic, walking, talking, skeleton detective, what more could you want?
  3. Black Beauty-Anna Sewell-This may be kind of cheating as this was the only book she wrote, but I don’t care, it’s one of the few classic books that I’ve ever truly loved and it’s a beautiful story.
  4. HIVE-Mark Walden-I raced through this book, it was so action packed and so much fun to read and as soon as I was finished I couldn’t wait to read the next one. I think I read the rest of the books that were published at the time within the next few weeks! He really needs to publish the newest one soon, because I am impatient and I need to know what happens next!
  5. Dangerous Girls-Abigail Haas-I’m cheating a little here, as this was not her debut novel, but it was the first novel she wrote under this pen name so I think it still counts. This book is incredible and has an absolutely mind-blowing ending, if you have not read it yet, then do!
  6. Girl, Missing-Sophie McKenzie-This wasn’t actually the first book of hers that I read, I started with The Medusa Project, but it was her first novel. I really enjoyed this, it’s not my favourite of her books, but it was enjoyable enough that I wanted to read the rest of the series.
  7. Flambards-KM Peyton-Again, not my favourite of the books she has written, but this was the book that introduced me to her as an author and I liked it enough to try some of her other books.
  8. The Truth About Celia Frost-Paula Rawsthorne-I loved this book! The mystery was great, it kept me hooked until the end, it was one of those books where you just get so into it that it’s really hard to put it down!
  9. Between Shades of Grey-Ruta Sepetys-A more recent read, this book is amazing and heartbreaking and yet somehow full of hope as well. It’s a beautiful book which shows the amazing strength and considerable suffering of the Baltic people during World War II and is definitely worth a read, if you’d like to learn about part of history that isn’t really taught in schools.
  10. A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning-Lemony Snicket-This also wasn’t my favourite one of this series, but it did introduce me to the series and made me want to read on, so that makes it a good debut.

What are your favourite debut novels? Would we share any? Let me know!

I will be back next week with a new Top Ten Tuesday, 10 wishes I’d Ask The Book Genie to grant me, it sounds like a fun one, so I’m looking forward to it, but in the meantime, I will have a new Wishlist Wednesday post for you all tomorrow, so make sure to check that out.

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #26

  1. Broc's Bookcase (@BrocsBookcase) 13/10/2015 / 11:37 am

    I really struggled with this weeks list as well, in fact I only got 5 on my list, and they are rubbish choices! Great choice of topic though. Harry Potter & TPS would have definitely made my list too. J.K.Rowling sure know the right way to start off a book series! šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 13/10/2015 / 11:42 am

      Yeah, it was really hard! Thanks! Yeah she does, doesn’t she?

  2. LHauser27 13/10/2015 / 12:34 pm

    Hi! I could only come up with 5 duos. I thought I wouldn’t be able to think of any, so at least I did that! haha. This is a good list of debuts šŸ™‚
    My TTT
    Leslie

  3. Dreams 13/10/2015 / 1:08 pm

    I only came up with one duo myself. (Thank heavens for cobloggers.) You had a great idea though. Sometimes it is hard to remember that Harry Potter was her debut book with the massive fandom it expired.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/10/2015 / 1:26 pm

      Yeah, it must be easier to have cobloggers sometimes, more heads to come up with ideas. Thank you! I know right, she did so well considering it was her first book!

  4. Sam Whitehouse 13/10/2015 / 1:25 pm

    This is a cool idea for a Top Ten Tuesday.

  5. Sam Whitehouse 13/10/2015 / 1:26 pm

    Which of the Skulduggery books is your favourite?

  6. Adventures with a Book Nerd 13/10/2015 / 2:36 pm

    I found the topic this week to be hard too! I ended up coming up with ten though (most of them are a little wacky!). Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 13/10/2015 / 3:22 pm

      Thanks! Yeah I wanted to see if I could come up with ten that I could actually see writing a book together…..it wasn’t possible!

  7. Monique Snyman 13/10/2015 / 2:53 pm

    Wow! You’ve got some great pair-ups going on here. ^_^

  8. alextheshadowgirl 13/10/2015 / 3:50 pm

    Unfortunately I have read none of those books except Harry Potter. But some of them definitely made my TBR. šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 13/10/2015 / 4:00 pm

      That’s okay, I hope you enjoy the ones you’ve added to your TBR, if you ever get to them!

  9. Zhana 13/10/2015 / 5:30 pm

    Skulduggery Pleasant has been on my TBR pile for ages…I really don’t know why I haven’t read it yet, it seems like something I would love.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/10/2015 / 8:17 pm

      You definitely should read it, it’s a great book and part of an amazing series!

  10. Veronika 13/10/2015 / 5:35 pm

    Yay for Harry Potter and Bad Beginning. šŸ™‚ I love both these series. Also, debut or not, Dangerous Girls was an awesome choice! šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 13/10/2015 / 8:19 pm

      Yeah me too! Dangerous Girls is amazing and I figured since it was the first book she wrote under her pseudonym, it counted!

  11. TheQuirkyBookNerd 13/10/2015 / 7:04 pm

    These are some great choices! šŸ™‚ I’ve been wanting to read The Truth About Celia Frost for years, but I can’t seem to find a copy anywhere. It sounds so good!

    • iloveheartlandx 13/10/2015 / 8:28 pm

      It is great! You can probably get a copy off Amazon šŸ™‚

  12. Tracy (@Cornerfolds) 14/10/2015 / 3:08 am

    This was such a hard topic!! I can totally understand why you picked something different. And who wouldn’t agree with Harry Potter??

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/10/2015 / 10:49 am

      Yeah, I figured it was better to pick a different topic than spend the whole day trying to figure out what to do for the original one! I don’t know, weirdos who don’t like Harry Potter?

  13. rachelburden 14/10/2015 / 8:00 am

    Hi! It really was a difficult week, I felt like I forced some of my choices just to fill in the numbers, I wish I’d thought to do another one instead! I’ve actually only read Harry Potter and I’m glad it made your list. My favourite Potter book is The Goblet of Fire too!

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune.co.uk

    • iloveheartlandx 14/10/2015 / 10:50 am

      I figured if I didn’t choose a different topic, I probably wouldn’t get a post up! Ooh that’s cool, that we have the same favourite Potter book!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.