Top Ten Tuesday #133

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all been having a good week, mine has been not so great, I am currently in essay hell and I swear after this week I will likely never want to see my University library ever again (okay that’s a little over-dramatic, but seriously, I’ve spent more time in the library in the last five days than I have in the entire 2 1/2 years I’ve been at University!). My NaNoWriMo project is still just about on track, despite the aforementioned essay hell, though I’ve hit a slight snag with the middle, so I’m going to attempt writing the end (which I know) and working backwards. This is the first time I’ve ever written out of chronological order, so wish me luck (and anyone who does this regularly, if you have any tips, then help a girl out!).

Anyway, since it’s Tuesday, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books I Want My Future Children/Nieces/Nephews/Godchildren/Young People in my life to read. Since I’m pretty adamant that I don’t want kids in the future (not a kid person at all!), I’m going to go with Top Ten Books I’d Pass On To My Nieces/Nephews If I Had Any In The Future (I’m adding the if, since I don’t know if my sister will have kids in future or not). These will all be books that I, or my sister, currently own, that I would want to keep to pass down to nieces or nephews were I to have any.

  1. The Harry Potter Series-JK Rowling

There is no way these books wouldn’t be the top of my list. The copies we have actually belong to my sister, but I reckon she would agree with me in wanting to pass these books on to my hypothetical nieces/nephews. Our dad read them to us when we were little and I would love to keep up that tradition with my nieces/nephews were I to have any.

2. Heartland Series-Lauren Brooke

Horses have been such a big part of my life (and part of my sister’s too, though she hasn’t ridden in a while), so I would definitely want that love to be passed onto my nieces/nephews and this series was one of my favourites when I was a kid, so I would love to get to share that with my nieces/nephews.

3. Percy Jackson/HOO/TOA-Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan’s books have been a staple in my life since I was 14, and I would love for my nieces/nephews to have that too. I definitely aim to instill my love of fantasy in any nieces or nephews I may have, and I think Rick Riordan’s books will be a great place to start with that.

4. Skulduggery Pleasant-Derek Landy

Skulduggery Pleasant is quite similar to Percy Jackson in terms of humour, so I reckon if my future nieces/nephews liked Percy Jackson they would love Skulduggery Pleasant too. Plus, there’s no way I would allow them not to have my favourite skeleton detective in their lives.

5. The Book Thief-Markus Zusak

The Book Thief is one of my absolute favourite books, so when my nieces/nephews were a little older, I would definitely give them this one, not only because it’s an amazing story, but because I would like to one day have a family member who I could talk history with without their eyes glazing over.

6. Matilda-Roald Dahl

Matilda was a childhood favourite of mine and Roald Dahl was another staple of my childhood, so I would love my nieces/nephews to be able to grow up with that as well.

7. Blind Beauty-KM Peyton

Another one of my childhood favourites that I would love to pass on my nieces/nephews and another step on their hopeful future horse obsession. I would hope that this lovely story might lead onto Black Beauty when they were a little older, and KM Peyton’s other horse related books.

8. The Faraway Tree Books-Enid Blyton

Yet another set of childhood favourites that I would love my nieces/nephews to read. This series introduced me to the wonders of fantasy and I would love my nieces/nephews to become as obsessed with fantasy books as I am.

9. Noughts and Crosses-Malorie Blackman

I’d like to hope that one day this story won’t be as politically relevant as it is today, but that’s just wishful thinking, racism has always been a thing and probably always will be. When my nieces and nephews are older and looking for their first introduction to YA, this will be one of the first books I give them, it’s a beautiful, poignant, important story that I would love for them to read.

10. Ballet Shoes-Noel Streatfeild

Another one of my favourites as a kid, I would definitely love my nieces or nephews (because boys can read books about girls too darn it), to read this one, it’s such a lovely story about family and growing up and finding your way in the world.

11. Shades of Magic Trilogy-VE Schwab

When my nieces/nephews are a little older, I will be shoving VE Schwab’s books into their hands, because they need to be exposed to the wonderful things that come from the brain of VE Schwab and become as addicted to her books as I am.

12. The Hunger Games Trilogy-Suzanne Collins

This is a series that both my sister and I really loved, so it would be great to be able to share that love with my future nieces and nephews if I were to have any. This would be a great introduction to YA for them, I think.

13. Unwind Dystology-Neal Shusterman

Another one of my personal favourites that I would love to pass down to my nieces/nephews when they were teens. I mean it’s better for them to learn sooner rather than later that my nieces/nephews learn that their aunt is into weird, creepy books no? But in all seriousness, this is one of the most unique dystopian series I’ve ever read and if I’m going to get my nieces/nephews into dystopia, I may as well start them with the best!

14. The Raven Cycle-Maggie Stiefvater

Another of my favourite fantasy series that I would love to be able to share with my nieces/nephews, I want to be able to introduce them to Maggie Stiefvater’s weird, wonderful world of dead welsh kings and psychics and magic and one of my favourite friendship groups in YA.

15. Code Name Verity-Elizabeth Wein

I’d love my nieces/nephews to read this, both to get them into history but also to show examples of great female friendship as it’s so important to show girls getting along and supporting each other, and I would like both nieces or nephews to aspire to having friendships as wonderful as Maddie and Julie’s.

16. Charlotte’s Web-EB White

This was one of my favourite books when I was a kid, so I would love to get to pass it down to my nieces/nephews and see if they love it as much as I did.

17. My Sister’s Keeper-Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult is one of my favourite authors and I would love to be able to share that with my nieces/nephews when they were old enough to read her books and since this one is my favourite, it would be the one I would start with.

18. Anything by Sophie McKenzie

I’m not picking a specific books but I gobbled up Sophie McKenzie’s books when I was a teen and I would love to be able to share the love and pass them onto my future nieces/nephews.

19. Dangerous Girls-Abigail Haas

Because everyone, including my hypothetical nieces/nephews need to have their minds blown by this book. I will not stop until it has happened.

20. Cross My Heart-Carmen Reid

This is another one of my favourite historical fiction YAs and I would love to be able to share it with my future nieces/nephews, it’s such an underrated but incredibly brilliant book and I’d like them to know about lesser known parts of WWII as well as the stuff that everyone knows about.

So there we go, the books I would pass onto my hypothetical nieces/nephews! I know I got a bit overexcited, but let’s face it, I will be passing every book I can onto my future nieces/nephews if I have them, the love of reading in the Elliott family is not going to die with me! Have you read any of these books? What books would you pass onto to your children/nieces/nephews/godchildren? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Top Ten Books I’m Thankful For, for Thanksgiving week in the US. Now it’s not Thanksgiving week in the UK as we don’t do Thanksgiving, but I like the idea of the topic, so I’ll still be doing it, it will be a great chance to give my favourite books some love! I am going to be in the midst of essay hell for the foreseeable future, so I probably won’t be posting at all for the rest of this week. I still need to write my review of House of Ash at some point, but I don’t know when that will be!

88 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #133

    • iloveheartlandx November 14, 2017 / 10:49 pm

      Aww thank you! Let’s hope if I do have nieces and nephews one day, they think so too!

  1. the (book) supplier November 15, 2017 / 2:27 am

    So many great books on this list. Unwind… I read that with my cousin when he was a teenager and the conversations we had were fabulous. Great list. Happy reading!

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

  2. vendija723 November 15, 2017 / 5:43 am

    These are fantastic. Enid Bly must be a totally English thing. You hear about her all the time on English blogs, but I’ve never seen her books here.

    • iloveheartlandx November 15, 2017 / 11:54 am

      Thanks! Yeah, she’s definitely a staple of the English childhood, I’m not sure if she ever made it further than here.

  3. kozbisa November 15, 2017 / 11:05 am

    I started both the Percy Jackson and Shades of Magic series, and I wholly intend to finish them both. My co-blogger is such a fan of Uncle Rick, and I love that Percy aged along with his own son. Dahl was such a big part of my childhood, and there are so many awesome messages in his books, and Charlotte’s Web was probably my first ugly cry book.

    • iloveheartlandx November 15, 2017 / 11:53 am

      Ah well I hope you enjoy the rest of those series then! Mine too, I don’t know if I read all of his books, but I definitely read quite a few. I’m not sure if I’ve ever actually cried at Charlotte’s Web but if I didn’t then I was pretty close!

  4. bookmuffin November 15, 2017 / 12:06 pm

    Some really good books/series on this list! I remember read My Sisters Keeper and sobbing so hard!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:35 am

      Thank you! I was so close, I never cry at books, but that one did nearly tip me over the edge!

  5. Lisa November 15, 2017 / 3:20 pm

    Great choices! The Book Thief is such a beautiful and important book — I was so impressed to learn that our local high schools have it on their reading lists. Code Name Verity is simply amazing too. Your future nieces/nephews/others are lucky!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:33 am

      Thank you! Yes it is, that’s so cool that schools are teaching it, I would have loved to get that as my required reading at school as opposed to some of the other things I had to read. It really is. Well let’s hope that if I do have nieces/nephews one day, they agree!

  6. ChrissiReads November 15, 2017 / 3:28 pm

    Woah, what a list! Some great choices!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:32 am

      Thank you! My family’s not huge readers, so if I do have nieces/nephews, I really want to make sure that they have books as a part of their lives πŸ™‚

  7. bookishgirl61 November 15, 2017 / 3:31 pm

    You have some fantastic books on your list! I totally forgot about the Heartland series but I read them growing up, which probably contributed to my love for horses. The Book Thief is such a great book to share with others. I still haven’t finished the Percy Jackson series but that would be awesome to share with your future nieces/nephews. I read Unwind when I was in middle school and it was such a freaky book, I loved it so much. I definitely agree on sharing it with children of the future. Great picks this week! Happy reading!

    http://www.thebucketlistbookblog.com

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:31 am

      Thank you! Oh that’s cool, it probably contributed to my love of horses too, though honestly I don’t even remember where that came from, I’m pretty sure I was playing with horse toys before I could even walk. Yes it is. Oh I hope you manage to finish it at some point. It would be so much fun to get to share that with my future nieces/nephews. Wow really, in middle school? The last one gave me nightmares and I read it two years ago at 19! I would love to share it with my nieces/nephews though. They have to learn sooner or later that their Auntie Jo is a bit odd! Thank you πŸ™‚

  8. Nuria November 15, 2017 / 3:33 pm

    You have all my sympathy for your essay hell. I’ve been there and it sucks! But you still managed to stay on track with your NaNoWriMo project which I think is amazing. I was well ahead with mine up until this weekend. Now I need to play catch up again and somehow I’m finding it hard to motivate me. But hey, it wouldn’t be worth it if it were easy, right? xD

    As for your very extensive list: yay! I definitely want to read Ballet Shoes myself one of these days. Isn’t it part of a series?

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:29 am

      Thank you! Yes it really does suck, but I have finished my first one, so I’m at least halfway to being out now! Aww thanks, it wasn’t easy but it turns out that even if you can only devote an hour a night to it, you can still get a lot done. Plus it helps that I’m a fast typer πŸ™‚ No it wouldn’t be worth it if it was easy!
      Yes, I went a little overboard this week! My hypothetical nieces/nephews will be totally spoiled. You should, it’s so good. Not a series as such, it’s a standalone story, but the author has written a lot of other books under the Shoes title and the characters from that do make cameos in some of her other books.

  9. Michael November 15, 2017 / 3:40 pm

    I am looking forward to sharing the Book Thief with my daughter someday too. I love the lists this week and have added at least half a dozen titles to share with her when the time is right.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:26 am

      Ah that’s lovely! I hope when she does get to read them, she enjoys them πŸ™‚

  10. karenjo46 November 15, 2017 / 4:09 pm

    So many awesome books on your list that I need to read still. =)

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:25 am

      Thank you! Hope you enjoy them when you do πŸ™‚

  11. Just Another Girl and her Books November 15, 2017 / 4:19 pm

    This is a great list. You’ve got some books on it that I hope my kids will read as well even though I didn’t include them on my list. But as my kids are actual people right now (with already apparent personalities) and not just possibilities, I took a slightly more realistic approach to the topic (in other words I’m already a bit more aware of how my hopes for my kids reading styles were over-ambitious). But hey, when you’re dreaming, dream big!

    Have a wonderful week. – Katie

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:25 am

      Thank you! Ha ha yes, since my hypothetical nieces/nephews are purely hypothetical I can put all of my over ambitious dreams out there!

  12. Louise November 15, 2017 / 5:15 pm

    Great list! I’d definitely have my kids read Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and Unwind too.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:24 am

      Thank you! Glad I’m not the only one, I seriously hope if my sister has kids that they’re readers because I need someone in my family who I can talk books with!

  13. Adriana C November 15, 2017 / 5:28 pm

    Great list! Matilda, CharlotteΒ΄s Web, Percy and Harry Potter made my list too.

    Thanks for stopping by My Top 10 Tuesday

  14. Anna Pittman November 15, 2017 / 5:55 pm

    This is also my first NaNo where I’m writing out of chronological order! I’m impressed you’re still on track even with all the essay work– I took a break from NaNo when I was in undergrad because I knew I did not have the time.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:23 am

      Oh cool! Ha ha yes, I’m totally mad for doing it, but I had this idea and I really wanted to get it down. I did it last year as well. I quite like it because it forces me to actually dedicate time to my writing where I’d usually brush it off for other things.

  15. Carrie November 15, 2017 / 6:39 pm

    what a great list!

  16. readinginthewings November 15, 2017 / 6:59 pm

    I love Ballet Shoes!! I remember borrowing it from my friend who didn’t like to read and had gotten it as a present. I was like WHY ARENT YOU READING THIS!? So good.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:21 am

      Me too! Oh that’s so cool, I think my Nana bought me my copy when I was younger. Did your friend ever read it in the end?

  17. lindseyhabets November 15, 2017 / 7:00 pm

    Such a great list! Harry Potter and Percy Jackson for sure, and I think The Book Thief, The Raven Cycle and the Shades of Magic series are a must too πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:20 am

      Thank you! Oh definitely, all must reads πŸ™‚

  18. allymemes November 15, 2017 / 8:28 pm

    Omg yes Heartland! It was one of my favourite series! And I’ve been meaning to read Unwind for forever, so hopefully I get to it soon!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:17 am

      Mine too! I hope you do too, it’s one of my favourite books πŸ™‚

  19. exploringallgenres November 15, 2017 / 8:41 pm

    Great list. There are a few listed here that I’ve been meaning to read for a while. I need to get around to it. One of those being the Heartland series, I love the TV show, but really want to read the original story in the book series.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:17 am

      Thank you! Oh cool, glad to have reminded you of them. You definitely should, but be warned the books are very different to the show and definitely geared towards a younger audience.

  20. Beth (Reading Every Night) November 15, 2017 / 8:43 pm

    I love your picks for this week. πŸ™‚ I’m especially glad to see Harry Potter on this list because, if I ever have children myself, that will be the first series I recommend to them, in fact it will be a series I read to them throughout their childhood. πŸ˜€ Also yes to the Shades of Magic books and double yes to The Book Thief (I can’t believe I forgot to add that one to my list this week!) I’m not a massive fan of historical fiction but The Book Thief is just one of those books that anyone can read and fall in love with, at least that’s my thoughts on it.
    Again great picks for this week. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:15 am

      Thank you! I would never not include Harry Potter on a list like this, it means so much to me and I would one day love to share that with my nieces/nephews, if I was to have any. I think you’re right about The Book Thief, though sadly I gave it to my sister and she couldn’t get through it!

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) November 16, 2017 / 6:03 pm

        A lot of people who read Harry Potter would feel that way. I know I do for sure. πŸ™‚
        Oh that’s a shame about The Book Thief, but I always say we can’t all like the same books can we?

  21. Denise @ Life With No Plot November 15, 2017 / 8:48 pm

    The Book Thief is another really good one! And Roald Dahl should be on everyone’s list for kids. Classic literature right there. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:14 am

      Thank you! Yes I agree, Roald Dahl is a staple for kids, would not have a children’s reading list without him.

  22. Greg Hill November 15, 2017 / 8:54 pm

    Dangerous Girls was pretty awesome, and I agree with Charlotte’s Web and The Hunger games. Lots of good picks!

  23. readingwithjessica November 16, 2017 / 1:00 am

    Such an amazing list!! I love it!! The Book Thief was just out of this world. Really enjoyed that one

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:12 am

      Aww thank you! Yes it’s one of my favourites too, such a gorgeous story πŸ™‚

  24. buffywnabe November 16, 2017 / 2:21 am

    The Book Thief and Percy Jackson for sure! Great picks! Thanks for stopping by my top 10 on Lisa Loves Literature!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:36 am

      Yes they are both awesome! Thank you πŸ™‚ Aww no problem!

  25. Elena K November 16, 2017 / 3:01 am

    I loved the Heartland series as a horse-obsessed girl! It’s an excellent series, and I almost added it to my own TTT. So happy to see it here! I loved Blind Beauty too. Great list!

    Elena @ The Novelistics

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:12 pm

      Me too! Couldn’t have left it out, it was a childhood favourite of mine. Oh I know like no one else who has read that book aside from my sister (as it was hers initially), so that’s awesome that you liked it too. Thank you πŸ™‚

  26. Allison @ Mind Joggle November 16, 2017 / 5:02 am

    Great list! I loved a few of these and it reminds me that Roald Dahl is a great author to introduce when my kids are younger. I haven’t read many of the fantasy series, but my daughter seems like she might be into them so this has given me some ideas.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2017 / 2:10 pm

      Thank you! Oh yes, Roald Dahl is definitely a must for kids. That’s great, I’m glad to have helped give you some idea for your daughter πŸ˜‰

  27. Sarah @ A Weebish Book Blog November 16, 2017 / 3:34 pm

    I forgot about The Book Thief! Gah! I haven’t read The Shades of Magic series but I’ve always heard great thing and I SO want to read it πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 17, 2017 / 5:49 pm

      There’s always at least one that slips through! You definitely should, it’s so good πŸ™‚

  28. Shaz November 16, 2017 / 6:34 pm

    Great choices! I really need to read The Book Thief!

  29. Cait @ Paper Fury November 16, 2017 / 10:36 pm

    Ahhh I love your list!! PLUS THE RAVEN CYCLE IS ON IT SO CLEARLY IT’S AN EXCELLENT LIST. *cheers wildly from the darkness* I also kind of feel like every kid needs to at leat try Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Roald Dahl books, right?! They’re classics and so so amazing and imaginative and AHH. I can’t wait until my nephew and nieces are old enough for Matilda. πŸŽ‰ They’re already incredible booknerds (they’re only like under 7yo) and they will totally love Matilda. 😍

    • iloveheartlandx November 17, 2017 / 5:46 pm

      Thank you! Ha ha I figured you might feel that way. Oh absolutely, they’re childhood classics, any kid who doesn’t read them is missing out! Aww, I hope they enjoy it when they do read it. One of my all time favourites πŸ™‚

  30. Alison's Wonderland Recipes November 17, 2017 / 3:40 pm

    The Book Thief is on my TBR for this year! I may even read it next (haven’t decided yet). I’ve heard SO many good things about it, so I’m really excited! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 17, 2017 / 5:42 pm

      Oh I hope you enjoy it! One of my absolute favourite books πŸ™‚

  31. Jowita K November 17, 2017 / 9:50 pm

    Harry Potter will always be my number 1 ! πŸ™‚

  32. asteraubrey November 18, 2017 / 2:07 am

    Matilda and Charlotte’s Web AHHH such classics. Great list!

  33. allthebookblognamesaretaken November 18, 2017 / 6:31 am

    Great list, lots of books I have not read. Love Matilda of course! Charlotte’s Web was one of my favorites as a kid but I read it out loud to my students a couple years ago and found I did not like it as I did then. It kind of bummed me out. I am wary of re-reading some other childhood faves now 😦

    • iloveheartlandx November 18, 2017 / 7:02 pm

      Thank you! Yes, Matilda is obviously amazing. Oh no! That sucks. I get what you mean, I’m always a little wary of rereading old favourites because you worry they won’t be as good the second time around, but luckily I have yet to be burned.

  34. Annemieke November 18, 2017 / 8:57 pm

    Great picks. I also agree with PJO.

  35. @lynnsbooks November 19, 2017 / 10:39 am

    Yeah, great list – I could definitely have gone up to 20 as well but restrained myself – although I wish I hadn’t.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

  36. Bookish Realm November 19, 2017 / 10:35 pm

    You have such an amazing list! There are definitely a few that I will be reading to my children!

  37. Destiny @ Howling Libraries November 20, 2017 / 3:32 am

    Great list! I’m sad to say, though I loved the movie soooo much as a kid, I’ve never read Matilda! I should fix that soon.

  38. Lois November 20, 2017 / 3:02 pm

    The Book Theif is definitely a book I think should be read by everyone.

  39. Karen Mesa November 21, 2017 / 8:07 pm

    Great list! Especially The Hunger Games trilogy and The Book Thief.

  40. Helia Reads November 23, 2017 / 11:48 am

    Yes to Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, The Book Thief, Shades of Magic, The Hunger Games, and The Raven Cycle. I adore them all and I pretty much recommend them all to everyone I meet regularly. Great list!

Leave a Reply

