Top Ten Tuesday #132

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi all! I hope you’ve all had a good week, I’ve been doing NaNoWriMo, it’s going pretty well so far, seven days in and I’ve got over 12k, so I’m pretty happy with that. Any one else out there doing NaNo this year? Let me know about your projects in the comments, I want to know all! Anyway, as it’s Tuesday, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday for you all, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Characters Who Would Make Great Leaders, we’re allowed to choose what they would make great leaders of, and one of the suggestions they gave was a book club, which I thought would be a pretty cool topic for today, so I’m running with it. These are my Top Ten Characters Who Would Make Great Leaders of A Book Club:

  1. Hermione Granger-Harry Potter-JK Rowling

I mean duh? Hermione would be the perfect choice to lead a book club, or a library group or basically anything related to books. Sure she might be a bit bossy, but a book group lead by Hermione is bound to be well run and hopefully a lot of fun!

2. Annabeth Chase-Percy Jackson-Rick Riordan

Annabeth is dyslexic but she still loves to read even though she struggles with it, so I think she’d be perfect to lead a book group full of more reluctant readers/other readers with dyslexia as she’d be able to understand their struggles and help make reading fun for them.

3. Aelin Galathynius (Celaena Sardothien)-Throne of Glass-Sarah J Maas

Sure, Aelin might be busy assassining and/or queening most of the time, but she loves to read and would be able to put the fear of death into members of the group who didn’t read the book, so I figure she’d be a perfect, if slightly dangerous, choice to lead a book group.

4. Matilda Wormwood-Matilda-Roald Dahl

Sure, Matilda’s only five, but given that she can read Hemingway and Dickens, and would probably be able to read circles around most adult readers, I reckon she could quite easily lead a book group!

5. Liesel Meminger-The Book Thief-Markus Zusak

She might have less than legal ways of acquiring her books, but given how good Liesel was at calming the people in the bomb shelters with her stories, I think Liesel would be great at leading a group of readers.

6. Jess Brightwell-The Great Library Series-Rachel Caine

Okay, so more than likely Jess would lead the bookworms in a rebellion to steal all the books back from The Great Library, but I think he would be a great leader of a book group, his love for books is one of his most endearing traits and it might be nice for him to have a group where he can talk about his smuggled books (let’s face it, Jess’ book group would probably eventually turn into a gang of book smugglers).

7. Klaus Baudelaire-A Series of Unfortunate Events-Lemony Snicket

Because seriously. the kid’s life is so miserable, he deserves some joy and happiness and since he loves reading and takes much of a leadership role (alongside his sister) throughout the books, I reckon he would be perfect to lead a book club and it might give him a little happiness in his otherwise not particularly enjoyable life (if he can fit it in between running away from Count Olaf and all that).

8. Delilah-Between The Lines and Off The Page-Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

Okay, I can’t remember exactly what her last name was because it has been so long since I read this book, but from what I do remember, Delilah loves books more than she loves people and I think that makes her perfect to lead a group of fellow bookworms!

9. Belle-Beauty and The Beast-Gabrielle Suzanne Barbot de Villenueve

Okay, so I’ve never read the original fairytale, I’m more going off the Disney film here, but Belle would be perfect to run a book club, she loves to read and given that her village are all a bit scornful of her favourite hobby (A WOMAN? READING? SHOCKER!), I reckon that she would love to run a book club and be surrounded by people who actually appreciate and share her love of reading.

10. Artemis Fowl-Artemis Fowl-Eoin Colfer

Okay, so a book club with Artemis at the helm would be kind of a nightmare because he loves to prove that he’s smarter than everyone else but I think that’s the exact reason why he’d want to run a book club, I mean what better outlet for an arrogant genius who constantly wants to prove he’s the smartest person in the room?

So there you go, characters who I think would make great leaders of a book club! Do you agree with my choices? Is there anyone else you would add? Who are your favourite bookworm characters? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Top Ten Books I Want My Future Children to read, but since I am pretty adamant that I don’t want to have kids in the future, I’m going to to change it to Top Ten Books I Want My Future Nieces/Nephews (if I have any) to read. I recently finished one of my Netgalley reads, House of Ash, so I’m going to try to get that up as soon as possible, if I have time between NaNoWriMo’ing and of course actual university work!

58 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #132

  1. Louise November 7, 2017 / 5:18 pm

    I’d love to be part of Matilda or Belle’s reading groups! I think Hermione and Artemis might be a little too strict for me though — I can just imagine getting a telling off if I hadn’t read enough chapters that week lol
    My TTT this week.

    • iloveheartlandx November 7, 2017 / 10:33 pm

      Yes they would be fun! Ha ha you’re probably right about that πŸ™‚

  2. Greg Hill November 7, 2017 / 6:09 pm

    Good luck with NaNo! Sounds like you’re off to a good start, I love the bookclub choice, and The Great Library series has been calling to me.

    • iloveheartlandx November 7, 2017 / 10:33 pm

      Thank you! Oh you should definitely give it a chance, it’s so good!

  3. lindseyhabets November 7, 2017 / 6:54 pm

    Agree so much with your choices! Wish these book clubs were real so I could join them πŸ˜‰

  4. AJ Sterkel November 7, 2017 / 9:40 pm

    Hermione made my list, too. She’d be a great leader of anything. That’s probably why I’ve seen her on so many lists today.

    Good luck with NaNo!

  5. readingwithjessica November 8, 2017 / 1:20 am

    I would love to be in a book club led by Celaena. Can you imagine?!!? It would be exciting for sure. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx November 8, 2017 / 9:57 pm

      It definitely would be, perhaps a little dangerous too! Thank you πŸ™‚

  6. Just Another Girl and her Books November 8, 2017 / 4:26 am

    I would definitely join Matilda, Belle, or Hermione’s book clubs (or all three because you can never be in too many bookclubs).

    Have a great week. – Katie

  7. Michelle (@PinkPlkaDotBlog) November 8, 2017 / 4:29 am

    I would definitely go to a book club led by Matilda!!! Hopefully Miss Honey would be there too πŸ™‚ I’ve been wanting to read The Lines Off the Page bc I’ve loved pretty much every Jodi Piccoult book that I’ve read.

    • iloveheartlandx November 8, 2017 / 9:47 pm

      I think she’d have to be, to supervise! Well I hope you get to read both of them one day, I’ve only read the first one, still need to read the second!

  8. fitkittymama November 8, 2017 / 5:17 am

    I love this take on the prompt this week! I would definitely join most of these book clubs!

  9. Nicole November 8, 2017 / 5:44 am

    I’m doing NaNo too, and am around 14k as of today. Sounds like you’re off to a great start!

    I love your list, too. Book club leaders! Great way to customize it.

  10. Nuria November 8, 2017 / 7:17 am

    Yaaay! A fellow NaNoWriMo writer! I feel like I’ve won the lottery whenever I find another one xD I’m currently at around 12k words, but think I should write faster, as I was planning on writing around 70k rather than 50k this month. Not sure that’s going to happen tough πŸ™‚ What are you writing? I’m dabbling in a contemporary women’s fiction novel that I’ve been wanting to write for 5 years. xD

    Oh and by the way. I love that you put Belle on that list. She sure would make a great book club leader. I would join immediately.

    • iloveheartlandx November 8, 2017 / 9:36 pm

      There’s quite a few of us floating around on Twitter! 12K is awesome and whether you get 50 or 70k this month, you’ll have done really well. I’m writing a YA fantasy set in underground tunnels in Paris. Thank you! Yes I think her book club would be very popular πŸ™‚

  11. Chizurue November 8, 2017 / 11:19 am

    Same first three! Though different lists. But still.. girl power shines through!

  12. hamlettethedame November 8, 2017 / 2:47 pm

    I love your twist on this! Great choices for leaders of book clubs.

  13. glaslynnie1 November 8, 2017 / 6:34 pm

    Love your choices – I can definitely see Klaus at the head of a bookclub, and Hermione too, can just imagine her trying to make Harry and Ron participate more, haha.

    • iloveheartlandx November 8, 2017 / 6:47 pm

      Thank you! Yes he would be perfect for that. Oh yeah she would be dragging them along kicking and screaming!

  14. ChrissiReads November 8, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    Matilda’s book club would be amazing!

  15. Shaz November 8, 2017 / 7:24 pm

    I’d love to be in a book club led by Hermione, Matilda or Belle!

  16. Beth (Reading Every Night) November 8, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    Oh I love your take on this weeks theme, and I especially love the characters you picked as well. I think it would be incredible to be in a book club with Hermione, especially if she brought magic books from Hogwarts alone with her, and Belle, especially if I could browse her library! πŸ˜€
    Great post. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 8, 2017 / 10:00 pm

      Thank you! I didn’t even think about that, but yes, that would be awesome! The main reason to be in a book club with Belle is her library.

  17. Emma November 8, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    I’m also doing nanowrimo. I’m writing an urban fantasy and it’s going pretty well. I have a few of these characters on my list too but I had never considered Klaus, he’s perfect!

    • iloveheartlandx November 8, 2017 / 9:57 pm

      Oh yay! Good luck for the rest of the month. He is right?

  18. Rain City Reads November 9, 2017 / 12:01 am

    Love this topic! Of the ones I know I agree, and there are a few on the list I haven’t read and have added to my TBR!

  19. thebookishlibra November 9, 2017 / 3:44 am

    Fun list! I had to chuckle at the idea of Artemis Fowl leading a book club. He cracks me up. That would either be a very entertaining book club or else the most annoying book club ever, haha!

    • iloveheartlandx November 9, 2017 / 6:42 pm

      Thank you! Ha ha that’s part of the reason why I put him on there, it would be interesting to see which way that would go!

  20. Holly November 9, 2017 / 8:13 am

    Ahhh I want to attend all of these book clubs! ❀ This is a really great take on the TTT topic! Also, congrats on your progress so far with NaNo! πŸ™‚

  21. Annemieke November 10, 2017 / 7:48 pm

    Liesl would be such a cool leader to a book club. I think people might get frustrated with Hermoine after a while haha.

  22. Zoe November 10, 2017 / 10:58 pm

    YES, YES, YES. I completely agree. Annabeth, Hermione, and Matilda would all be absolutely amazing book club leaders. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❀

    • iloveheartlandx November 11, 2017 / 9:43 pm

      They would, wouldn’t they? I would be happy in any of those book clubs! Aww no problem, thank you!

  23. Words With Verity November 11, 2017 / 3:31 am

    One of my favorite things to read about are characters who love to read :)) You totally reminded me that Aelin was a big reader in Throne of Glass, even though these days she’s busy saving the world. She’d definitely be an interesting book club leader, although I might be a little afraid to join. What if I can’t read a book on time and she won’t have any of my excuses? D:

    I’d love to find a book club led by Hermione or Belle though. We can discuss magic and I can demand pictures of their bookshelves. I remember that Katy from the Lux series was a book blogger; her book club with probably be filled with people I can connect with along with aliens πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 11, 2017 / 9:37 pm

      Mine too! Yes I feel like it’s easy to forget that Aelin loves to read, since she spends most of her time saving the world and stuff. Ha ha yes, I think that would be half the fun of an Aelin book club, not knowing whether you’ll leave with all your limbs!
      Hermione and Belle’s book clubs would probably be a lot safer, true! I would need pictures of their bookshelves for sure. Oh I’ve never read that series, it’s cool you found one wiht a book blogger though!

  24. Jaime November 13, 2017 / 3:03 pm

    Liesel! And Hermione and Klaus and just… all of these are perfect. I really love the prompt you went with. It’s so fun! πŸ™‚

  25. foreverlostinlit November 14, 2017 / 10:42 pm

    Love the topic idea you went with! Completely agree that Aelin, Klaus, Hermione, and Belle would be perfect book club leaders. Heck, I’d love to have all of them in one book club! Haha. Great list! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 14, 2017 / 10:48 pm

      Thank you! Ha ha I would love to see that, it would be carnage!

Leave a Reply

