Top Ten Tuesday #121

Hi all! I hope you’ve had a good weekend, mine was relatively quiet, but when you’re reading this I’ll be with my friend Nicola celebrating her birthday, so that should be pretty fun! Anyway, another Tuesday means another Top Ten, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s prompt is a Back To School based freebie and since I’m going to be returning to Uni in a few weeks, I figured the perfect prompt to do for this week is Top Ten Best Books I’ve Read In My First Two Years of Uni. For this, I’m only counting books I’ve read in the Uni year, so only books from Sept 2015-May 2016 and Sept 2016-May 2017, basically nothing that I’ve read over the summer as that’s not part of the Uni year. So here we go, the best books I’ve read at Uni in the past two years:

  1. A Conjuring of Light-VE Schwab

My absolute favourite book of this year, this was such a perfect finale to the Shades of Magic series and definitely one of the best books I’ve read at Uni! Any book that can get me through a five hour train journey and make it seem like nothing at all is definitely something special.

2. The Raven King-Maggie Stiefvater

I have such fond memories of sitting out in the sun reading this book at the end of first year! I was utterly captivated by the magical conclusion to The Raven Cycle, I sat reading for hours and hours and lost all sense of time and place, only the very best books allow you to do that.

3. Rebel of The Sands-Alwyn Hamilton

Okay so I actually read most of this during the mid semester break from Uni, but it’s still part of the semester so it counts! It’s such an action packed, thrilling story, again it was perfect to read on the long journey back from Peterborough to Stirling.

4. A Court of Mist and Fury-Sarah J Maas

Diving into one of Sarah J Maas’ epic tomes was a great relief from the stress of exam week! I wasn’t expecting to love this one as much as I did as I was kind of ambivalent about the first book of the series, but this was a big step up.

5. Timekeeper-Tara Sim

I spent my mid semester break of second year in Tara Sim’s steampunk world, with my adorable boys Danny and Colton and I can’t wait to go back there in November when Chainbreaker releases!

6. The Assassin’s Blade-Sarah J Maas

I read this book in the autumn semester of my first year and it broke me but in all the best possible ways. If you haven’t read this collection of novellas yet, then do, it will give you a whole new insight into Celaena as a character.

7. Code Name Verity-Elizabeth Wein

This book is honestly one of the most beautiful and heartwrenching tales of friendship I’ve ever read. Yes it’s a book about WWII but at the heart of it is this friendship of these two amazing powerful women in a time when women were still considered to be very much secondary to men and it honestly gives me life reading about amazing women doing amazing things!

8. Daughter of The Pirate King-Tricia Levenseller

This was honestly just such a fun piratey romp, it was a great end of semester read for me this year.

9. Caraval-Stephanie Garber

It took me a while to get into, but once I was, I loved everything about this vivid, magical world, the writing was gorgeous, the game was mysterious, it was just so much fun to read.

10. The Crown’s Game

The Russian setting, the food, the characters, the world building, the writing, aside from the romance and the slow pace at the start, this book was awesome! Plus I can basically forgive anything if there’s a masquerade.

11. Empire of Storms-Sarah J Maas

Yet another Sarah J Maas book that completely crushed my feels! I can’t believe we won’t know if Aelin’s going to be okay until next year!

12. The Dark Prophecy-Rick Riordan

I loved The Hammer of Thor too and actually gave it a slightly higher rating, but I’m going with this one Β as Apollo is completely hilarious and I love him so much, plus I flew through it in like a week.

13. Ink and Bone-Rachel Caine

The whole concept of this book is so awesome, and the world building was so fantastic, plus yay for older LGBTQ+ characters being together and happy!

14. Challenger Deep-Neal Shusterman

This heartbreaking, unflinching look at schizophrenia is such a beautiful story, it’s by no means an easy read but it’s definitely a necessary one.

15. Small Great Things-Jodi Picoult

In the current political climate, this book is definitely a must read. It’s not an easy one, but I definitely came out of it feeling like I’d learned something.

That’s all I have for this week! I have read so many amazing books since starting University, if I’d included books I’d read over my summer breaks, this list would have been twice as long. Any one out there also at Uni? What are the best books you’ve read since starting Uni? Or what were your favourite books when you were a late teen-young twenty something? Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

I will have another new TTT for you next week, the topic is another freebie of sorts, Ten Hidden Gem Books In X Genre, so I will of course be doing Hidden Gems In The Fantasy Genre. In the meantime, I have some discussion posts up my sleeve for the next week, so stay tuned for that!

59 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #121

  1. Elise @ Roaming Reader August 22, 2017 / 12:34 am

    Ooo! Challenger Deep! I haven’t heard much about that one but since I love all Neal Shusterman books I’ve read, I should probably pick it up!

  2. anovelglimpse August 22, 2017 / 2:41 am

    Wow! You’ve read some great books at Uni!

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2017 / 3:07 pm

      Really? That’s interesting, cause I definitely read more at home than I do at Uni! These are all great books, so hopefully you manage to get to some of them soon. Thank you!

      • bookmuffin August 23, 2017 / 3:14 pm

        I get too distracted at home πŸ˜… I didn’t go out much at uni so when I’d finished my work I’d just read πŸ˜‚

  3. rekhaatmillionbookmill August 23, 2017 / 6:37 pm

    Seems like you’ve read a lot of great books! I really want to read Ink and Bone, and I must continue with A Darker Shade of Magic. I unfortunately didn’t enjoy the Sarah J Maas books or Caraval, but I’m glad you did. Great post!

    Rekha @ Million Book Mill

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 12:31 am

      Thank you! Ink and Bone is great, as is the entirety of the Shades of Magic series. Aww shame, but the fact that we all have different opinions on books is what makes reading fun. Thank you πŸ™‚

  4. JoBeth @ Blue Binding August 23, 2017 / 7:24 pm

    You’ve read a lot of really great books! I tried to read Code Name Verity, but I DNF’d it about halfway through. Maybe there’s something redeeming in the end?

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 12:30 am

      Thank you! It does take a while to get into, but once you make it to the second half, it gets really good.

  5. Cody (@CodyLeighDuffy) August 23, 2017 / 7:40 pm

    I could not agree more with A Conjuring of Light, ahhh that ending!!! Everything about that book was mind-blowing. I’m still in awe of everything Schwab created. I love all of Sarah J. Maas books and The Crown’s Game was such a fun book with lots of magic, I love anything Russian history-esque.

    Amazing choices!
    Cody @ Literary-ly Obsessed

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 12:30 am

      Yes, it was incredible! Schwab is just such a brilliant writer. Me too, Russian history is so awesome. Are you excited for the new Sarah J Maas book? Thanks!

  6. Rachel @ Chocolate and Chapters August 23, 2017 / 10:47 pm

    So many great books on this list! I have a lot of them on my TBR and am even more motivated to get to them now. I really liked “Code Name: Verity,” too. I was bored by in it the beginning, but kept reading and got totally swept up in the story.

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2017 / 11:56 pm

      Thank you! I hope you managed to get to the ones you haven’t read soon. It does take a while to get into Code Name Verity, but it’s breathtaking when you do.

  7. Just Another Girl and her Books August 24, 2017 / 12:00 am

    Great list, and I’m impressed. When I was in college I didn’t have time to do any just for fun reading that I remember, so Yay for you! – Katie

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 12:36 am

      Thank you! It’s something I have to consciously make time for but I’m glad I do, because it’s a great way to relax πŸ™‚

  8. Essie August 24, 2017 / 12:29 am

    I love so many of these! The Raven King and acomaf are amazing. I also read Rebel of the sands, Daughter of the Pirate King and Caraval this year and really liked all of them. I haven’t read A Conjuring of Light yet. I’m waiting for it to arrive in the mail and it’s taking forever. Oh and I liked Empire of Storms too but it wasn’t my favourite book in the series that would have to be QoS. I should also probably read the Assassin’s Blade but I’m not a big fan of novellas so I’ve been putting it off.

    Great post! I really enjoyed it 😊

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 12:35 am

      Thank you! They are yes. Oh I’m glad you enjoyed all of those! That’s a shame, stupid mail! I hope you do enjoy it when you finally get it though πŸ™‚ Really? That’s interesting as I really didn’t like QOS. I’m not really either but it reads more like a novel than a set of novellas as all the stories are linked in some way. Thank you πŸ™‚

  9. Anna Pittman August 24, 2017 / 2:28 am

    Code Name Verity sounds really interesting (and heart-breaking)!

  10. Literary Feline August 24, 2017 / 2:40 am

    I read so little for fun while attending the university. My studies involved so much reading and research. So unless it was assigned, I wasn’t reading much for fun. I envy those who were able to manage to do both! Luckily I enjoyed most of the assigned reading. Summers and Winter break were a different matter altogether.

    You’ve listed some great books here!

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 5:39 pm

      My uni course involves a lot of reading and research too, I’m a History and Journalism student so lots of reading for both but I try to keep up with my personal reading as best I can so that I don’t start to see it as purely a chore (I don’t enjoy most of my assigned reading!). Yes, I do more of my reading in summer and winter breaks as well, I usually read twice as much over the summer as I do during either uni semester. Thanks πŸ™‚

  11. Louise August 24, 2017 / 8:24 am

    Great picks! I’m so impressed by how much your managing to read while at uni! πŸ˜„ I basically hit a four year fiction slump during mine.

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 5:34 pm

      Thank you! I have to read a bunch of stuff I don’t want to for my course, so I try to balance it out by making sure I keep up with reading for fun!

  12. Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes August 24, 2017 / 9:25 am

    I know what you mean about five hour train journeys. It used to take me six and a half to get home, but I got through so many books that way! It took me a while to get into Caraval too. I haven’t read any of the other books on your list! But most of them are on my TBR so hopefully I’ll get through them soon!

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 5:32 pm

      Yes, it’s both a gift and a curse! I think Caraval is definitely one of those slow burning books but once it gets good, it gets really good. I hope you enjoy them πŸ™‚

  13. Jessie @ Dwell in Possibility August 24, 2017 / 11:06 am

    Code Name Verity is a heartbreakingly beautiful novel. I really want to read the prequel The Pearl Thief soon.

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 5:23 pm

      Yes it is. Oh you should, it has a very different vibe, more of a cozy mystery vibe but it’s still pretty good.

      • Jessie @ Dwell in Possibility August 24, 2017 / 8:12 pm

        Glad to hear you liked it! I don’t expect it to live up to CNV, but it still sounds like a good read

      • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 9:38 pm

        They’re very different, it doesn’t really compare but that’s a good thing.

  14. owlsreads August 24, 2017 / 4:00 pm

    I’ve read most of these and let me tell you: you have amazing taste in books ❀

  15. Allyson August 24, 2017 / 7:18 pm

    I’ve always heard such good things of ‘Code Name Verity’, I need to pick that book up, it sounds amazing.
    I also didn’t know a thing about ‘Timekeeper’, so now you got me interested!

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 7:34 pm

      It’s really good! Ooh you should definitely try Timekeeper, it’s a lot of fun.

  16. Beth (Reading Every Night) August 24, 2017 / 7:21 pm

    Great picks for this week. I’m glad to see A Conjuring of Light on this list, that’s such an incredible book! It’s an all-time ultimate favourite of mine. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx August 24, 2017 / 7:32 pm

      Thanks! ACOL is an all time ultimate favourite of mine too πŸ™‚

  17. BooksyDaisy Reviews August 25, 2017 / 12:00 am

    Love that you included ACOMAF! Definitely my favorite book of the past year. And I’m relieved to hear that it took you a while to get into Caraval. It was one of the books I was most looking forward to last year, but I just could not get past the first thirty or so pages. It ended up back on my shelf, but maybe I’ll pick it again soon.

    Awesome list!

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 2:20 pm

      Yes it was a great book! Oh yeah, I didn’t get into it probably until the second half, so I wouldn’t worry about not getting into it straight away, it’s a slow starter. Thanks!

  18. ChrissiReads August 25, 2017 / 2:18 pm

    I really need to read Rebel Of The Sands. It looks incredible!

  19. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense August 26, 2017 / 2:12 am

    I can’t wait to read Daughter of the Pirate King. I’ve heard so many good things about it. Hope you enjoy your weekend!

  20. Anastasia August 26, 2017 / 6:51 am

    Sarah J. Maas books are perfect fo r uni! πŸ™‚
    I’m really worried about Aelin though.

    • iloveheartlandx August 26, 2017 / 1:11 pm

      I actually find them a bit long, but they release in the autumn rather than the summer so I kind of have to read them in the uni semester. Me too!

  21. Charlie @ Girl of 1000 Wonders August 26, 2017 / 7:33 pm

    Code Name Verity was such a good book! I listened to it on audiobook. It was painful to read yet painful not to finish.

  22. Kayla (@kiki85) August 28, 2017 / 1:50 am

    A lot of great picks on here! ~ Kayla at Something to Crow About

  23. Alison's Wonderland Recipes August 28, 2017 / 4:19 am

    Almost all of these are on my TBR! They sound amazing. πŸ™‚

  24. bookishandawesome August 28, 2017 / 2:07 pm

    Quite a list you got there, Jo! I really must get around to The Raven Cycle series and, UGH, you just reminded me how we still don’t have The Dark Prophecy here in the PH!

    • iloveheartlandx August 28, 2017 / 8:58 pm

      Thank you! You definitely should, it’s great. Aww that’s a shame, I hope you get it over there soon πŸ™‚

  25. Annemieke August 29, 2017 / 6:19 pm

    Some great books on your list. I loved Timekeeper as well. For me The Raven King was the lesser one of the whole series though.

    • iloveheartlandx August 29, 2017 / 7:00 pm

      Thanks! It’s a great one, right? Fair enough, for me, Blue Lily, Lily Blue was the lesser one of the series.

  26. Holly (@The_Arts_Shelf) September 4, 2017 / 8:29 pm

    I love Caraval and am looking forward to reading Daughter of the Pirate King! I’m also starting Rebel of the Sands now!

    • iloveheartlandx September 5, 2017 / 10:18 am

      Yes Caraval is amazing. Daughter of The Pirate King is so much fun, I hope you enjoy it. Ooh Rebel of The Sands is so good, hope you enjoy that one too!

Leave a Reply

