Top Ten Tuesday #86

Hi everyone! I know I haven’t been around all that much this week, but my last assignment is due today so hopefully I should be able to post a lot more after this! Anyway, onto the topic at hand, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday post this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this week we’re talking all about authors that we’ve read for the first time this year. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m very loyal to the authors that I love and I tend to read mostly from the authors that I already know and like, but I have read a few amazing new authors this year, whom I’d like to share with you today. I may not make it to ten, but here are my favourite New To Me Authors that I’ve read this year:

  1. Alwyn Hamilton-Alwyn Hamilton’s debut novel, Rebel of The Sands came out this year and it’s one of my favourite books that I’ve read in 2016. It’s a stunning mix of Arabian culture and the Wild West (they don’t sound like they go but they do), her writing is lovely as is the world she’s created and her main character Amani, is one of my favourite female characters I’ve ever read. I cannot wait for the second instalment in this series to come out next year!  Plus I’ve met her and she’s one of the nicest authors I’ve ever met.
  2. VE Schwab-I read the Shades of Magic books this year and they’re honestly some of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read, I can’t wait to read more of Victoria Schwab’s writing over the next few years. Definitely a new favourite!
  3. Rachel Caine-I read Ink and Bone all the way back in January (I honestly can’t believe how long ago that was!) and loved it! I haven’t got to the sequel of that book yet, but hopefully I will in the new year, as Rachel Caine has been a great new discovery this year.
  4. Elizabeth Wein-CODE NAME VERITY! I can’t believe I didn’t read this book years ago, it has pilots and WWII and feminism and unreliable narrators and incredible female friendship, it’s everything I love in a novel and it’s just such a great story. I can’t wait to read more of Elizabeth Wein’s books (I’m especially excited for the prequel to Code Name Verity coming out next year), I hope I love them just as much as this one.
  5. Sarah Pinborough-13 Minutes was a real surprise this year, it was just something that I requested on a whim from Netgalley, I never expected to love it as much as I did. It was an engaging mystery-thriller, kind of a cross between Mean Girls and Dangerous Girls and I hope to read another mystery from this author soon.
  6. Louise O’Neill-Asking For It is one of the most thought provoking novels that I’ve read in a long time, so I’m really glad that I discovered it and Louise O’Neill this year. I have her other book Only Ever Yours, and it sounds incredible, so I’m really excited to read it.
  7. Tara Sim-Tara Sim is another 2016 debut author and her debut Timekeeper is one of the best books I’ve read this year. It has everything, cute gay romance, adorable clock spirits, steam punk Victorian era setting, awesome ladies, I can’t wait for the sequel to be released next year.
  8. Victoria Aveyard-Victoria’s debut, Red Queen was not my favourite book that I’ve read this year, but I enjoyed her writing and the premise was great, so despite not always loving the characters and the romance, I’m excited to read the sequel, Glass Sword, which was released this year, as I think Victoria Aveyard is definitely an author with potential.
  9. Sara Raasch-I wasn’t always keen on the characters in Sara Raasch’s debut Snow Like Ashes, but I loved, loved, loved the world that she created and the history behind it, I thought it was really clever, and the plot did pick up in the last third of the book, so I’m interested in seeing where the sequels Ice Like Fire and Frost Like Night went.
  10. Marissa Meyer-I didn’t love Cinder when I read it earlier in the year but I’m currently reading Marissa Meyer’s newest book Heartless and I’ve been really enjoying it, so perhaps I judged her writing too quickly!

That’s all from me this week (I guess I was wrong, I could find ten new authors I’d read this year!). Who have been your favourite new to you authors you’ve read this year? Do we share any? Do you want to read any of the authors on my list? Any one read any new to them male authors this year, since obviously my list is all female? Let me know in the comments! Next week’s topic is Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half of 2017, so I guess I’ll have to spend the next week seeing what’s actually coming out as I only know of a few! I’m not sure if I’ll make it to ten, but then I said that this week and I did, so we’ll see! That’s next week, but I’m hoping to have a lot up for you in the meantime, I should have a new discussion post, an event recap of a Jodi Picoult event I went to a couple of weeks ago & a new review of the book I just finished reading (Snow Like Ashes), so stay tuned for all that!

 

51 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #86

  1. anovelglimpse 06/12/2016 / 6:46 pm

    I read Rachel Caine’s Morganville series years ago and I agree that she’s a great author! I haven’t read her latest series. I’ll have to check it out now!
    My TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/12/2016 / 1:07 am

      I haven’t read that one. I’m not keen on vampires though so I doubt I will. Ink and Bone is so good though, it’s all about the Library of Alexandria, there’s so many books, it’s awesome!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/12/2016 / 1:03 am

      Well now you have 🙂 It is a great theme! I’ll check your TTT out.

  2. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas 06/12/2016 / 11:30 pm

    I really want to read Cinder! I’m hoping to get it for Christmas (she says, eyeing the pile of essays threatening to collapse on top of her.)

    • iloveheartlandx 07/12/2016 / 1:02 am

      I hope you do get it for Christmas! Ugh, I know the feeling, I’ve just been released from the pile of essays. I hope you get them done soon 🙂

  3. Billbrarian 07/12/2016 / 4:18 am

    I picked up Heartless the other day at the bookstore and I’m eagerly awaiting the sequel to Rebel of the Sands. I received the ARC of it and I’m going to try to read it soon.

  4. Shoto 07/12/2016 / 12:53 pm

    I’ve heard so much about Rebel of the Sands! It even won a Goodreads choice. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/12/2016 / 6:27 pm

      It’s amazing, you should definitely give it a try. Thanks 🙂

  5. Loreen 07/12/2016 / 6:54 pm

    Code Name Verity is one of my favorite novels of all time! I love it so much I’m afraid to read the sequels or the prequels in case they don’t match up to the original.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/12/2016 / 11:08 pm

      Yeah I have to admit, I have the same worries, but I just really want to read more from this author!

  6. Amy @ Pages of Starlight 07/12/2016 / 7:08 pm

    I want to read Timekeeper by Tara Sim so I’m glad to hear you liked it so much. Honestly, the setting just sounds really cool and I haven’t read as many steampunk books this year as I wanted to. If you only read Cinder by Marissa Meyer, I would definitely recommend you give Scarlet a go. I liked it much more than Cinder – and was encouraged to read it by a lot of other people that did as well. I haven’t read Heartless though, so I’m not sure if her writing changes or not, but it’s something you could consider after you finish Heartless.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/12/2016 / 11:08 pm

      Yes it was so good! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂 I have bought Scarlet so I will definitely try it at some point. I don’t know, but Heartless definitely has a different vibe to Cinder.

  7. Sam @ a thousand times over 08/12/2016 / 3:11 am

    I enjoyed Snow Like Ashes last year, and Frost like Night is sitting on my TBR calling my name. I still need to check out a few on these authors, next year!

  8. Uma @ Books.Bags.Burgers. 08/12/2016 / 3:19 am

    I’m not yet read Marissa Meyer too! Have to get to The Lunar Chronicles soon 🙂 Nice list!

  9. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads 08/12/2016 / 3:40 am

    I love Red Queen! That’s one of my favorite books, actually. I can’t wait for the third book to come out in February. I’m hoping to read Tara Sim and Rachel Caine very soon. I just won Timekeeper in a giveaway about a week ago and I bought Ink and Bone a few months ago. 🙂 Great choices!

    • iloveheartlandx 09/12/2016 / 8:42 pm

      I haven’t read the second book yet, so I’ll have a bit of catching up to do before the third one! I hope you enjoy both of their books. Thanks 🙂

  10. Flavia 08/12/2016 / 7:40 am

    Oh wow. Lot’s of names I don’t recognize, and some which I do recognize but simply haven’t had the chance to read yet.

    Great post! 🙂

  11. lry93 08/12/2016 / 7:52 am

    I love Aveyard and Meyer! I also really enjoyed the first in the Ice Like Fire serie, and I have the second on my kindle, I just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet!

    • iloveheartlandx 09/12/2016 / 8:38 pm

      Yes, they are both very good 🙂 I just finished the first one, so I probably won’t get to the second for a while 🙂

  12. Green Tea & Paperbacks 08/12/2016 / 9:06 am

    I’m glad you loved Rachel Caine and Tara Sim too! The sequel to Ink and Bone is incredibly good too, so I hope you’ll enjoy it!

  13. kirstysbookshelf100 08/12/2016 / 12:17 pm

    I love Marissa Meyer and I thought that Heartless was amazing. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Louise O’Neill and I have her books on my TBR. Hopefully I will get round to them next year.

    • iloveheartlandx 09/12/2016 / 8:19 pm

      I’m really enjoying it so far! I haven’t read the other one yet, but Asking For It was really good. I hope you get to read it soon 🙂

  14. owlsreads 08/12/2016 / 5:04 pm

    Aveyard met her potential with Glass Sword, at least to me. It was a lot more interesting than Red Queen. 😀

  15. Anastasia 08/12/2016 / 7:09 pm

    Many great authors here! 🙂

    Sara Raasch, I have all three books on my phone but have been a bit hesitant to read them…so good to see her name on your list! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 09/12/2016 / 8:16 pm

      Thanks! Snow Like Ashes is slow to start off with, but it does get better towards the end, so keep with it 🙂

  16. Jamie @ Book Pandamonium 08/12/2016 / 7:13 pm

    Marissa Meyer is great! I’ll admit I don’t love The Lunar Chronicles as much as I want to, but she’s an amazing writer. And I just got the audiobook version of Heartless, so I’m excited! And I feel sooo guilty for not reading Victoria Schwab yet, especially since like all of her books are on my TBR, but I’m hoping to get to it in 2017!!

    • iloveheartlandx 09/12/2016 / 8:02 pm

      I’ve only read the first one and wasn’t keen, but I’ve been told they get better? I don’t know I think I’ll try the second one and see. Heartless has been great so far, hopefully you enjoy it! I hope you do get to Victoria Schwab’s books in 2017, she’s an amazing writer!

      • Jamie @ Book Pandamonium 09/12/2016 / 9:46 pm

        Yes, for me the books have definitely gotten better. Especially the last one. The ending was great 👌👌 Glad you’re liking Heartless!! And I’m definitely making it one of my goals to read Schwab next year.

      • iloveheartlandx 10/12/2016 / 8:09 pm

        Well that’s good to hear. Yes, it’s been good so far, I’ve been pleasantly surprised by how much I’ve liked it. I hope you enjoy her books!

  17. KliScruggs 09/12/2016 / 7:18 am

    ONLY EVER YOURS IS LIFE. Another good book like it The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I doubt it will ever not be my favorite. You should totally read it! I also can’t wait to read Timekeeper, it’s on my TBR, but idk when I’ll be able to read it 😭😭

    • iloveheartlandx 09/12/2016 / 7:14 pm

      Glad to hear it. I might give The Handmaid’s Tale a try, if I like Only Ever Yours. I hope you enjoy Timekeeper when you read it, it’s awesome.

  18. Hannah@novelsandtea 09/12/2016 / 11:24 am

    YES V.E Schwab, I read This Savage Song a few months ago and fell in love with her writing, I need to read the shades of magic books soon!

    • iloveheartlandx 09/12/2016 / 7:13 pm

      She’s awesome right? I still need to read This Savage Song. Oh you should, they’re incredible!

  19. Jen 13/12/2016 / 3:13 am

    I was hoping to read books by VE Schwab, Rachel Caine & Marissa Meyer this year but I didn’t get around to it. I’m so happy to hear you loved their stories so much and I truly hope I can get to them next year! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2016 / 3:06 pm

      I hope you manage to get to their books next year too 🙂

  20. AngelErin 13/12/2016 / 4:52 pm

    Excellent list! I was hoping to try Sara Raasch this year, but maybe next year. 😀

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2016 / 5:11 pm

      Thanks! Hope you manage to get to her books next year 🙂

  21. Jamie Wu 24/12/2016 / 8:17 pm

    I’m hoping to get into more VE Schwab books next year too. I’ll probably be tackling A Darker Shade of Magic next. Marissa Meyer is one of my favorite authors, I’m glad you gave her another chance. I think the Lunar Chronicles get better with each book, so it’s worth trying them again 🙂 I’m hoping to get into Rachel Caine and Elizabeth Wein next year. Hopefully I’ll succeed 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 26/12/2016 / 1:35 pm

      Ooh A Darker Shade of Magic is so good! Yes, me too, I really liked Heartless, so I think it was just Cinder and I, not specifically her writing, that didn’t get along! I have heard that, so I bought Scarlet to try next year, hopefully I’ll have more luck with that one! Oh I hope so, the books of theirs that I’ve read (admittedly only one for each author) have been great!

      • Jamie Wu 29/12/2016 / 4:41 pm

        Hopefully you’ll enjoy Scarlet 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.