#RockMyTBR November Update

Hey everyone! 22 days and counting till Christmas, who’s excited? Can you believe it’s actually December? I didn’t actually finish my #RockMyTBR book for this November, Snow Like Ashes, I’m very nearly done, I only have about 4 chapters left to go, but November has just been so busy, my reading time has been severely diminished! Speaking of my busy November, I completed NaNoWriMo! I’ll be doing a post about it in more detail very soon. This month wasn’t as good as last month in terms of reading, I’ve only read 2 3/4 books (3/4 for Snow Like Ashes, but I’ll be including that in next month’s update when I’ve actually finished it), but as I’ve been ridiculously busy this month, I feel like 2 books is okay. I’ll have to up my game this month though as I’m now behind on my Goodreads Challenge. Anyway, this is what I’ve read this month:

31114950

This was my Netgalley read for the month. It’s novella length rather than full length novel (only 180 pages), so I read it from 27th October to 4th November. I appreciated the topic that it explored (rape) and that this was handled tastefully, but considering I read Asking For It this year as well, it was a little disappointing. There were some good moments, bt overall, I felt the plot and the writing was a little messy. Here’s my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/11/06/no-virgin-review-e-arc/

29910798I got this in my #otspsecretsister box for October and I had been looking forward to reading it ever since I read the first book in the series over the summer, so I read it from 26th October-11th November. I loved it, the plot might have been a little jumpy at times, but the characters were amazing and the humour was on point, it was exactly what I needed after quite a few heavy books over the last few months! Here is my review:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/11/12/the-hammer-of-thor-magnus-chase-and-the-gods-of-asgard-2/

So that’s what I read in November, this is what I have coming up for December:

Snow Like Ashes-Sara Raasch-My last #RockMyTBR read, I’ve nearly finished this one, so hopefully I should finish it and have a review up for you guys very soon.

Heartless-Marissa Meyer-I started this one this month, but haven’t had time to finish it (I’m only about 30% of the way through), so I’m hoping that I will finish it in December.

The Night Circus-Erin Morgenstern-This is one of my flatmate’s favourite books and also one of my secret sister’s favourite books (she sent it to me), so I figured it’s one that I definitely should read, and this feels like the right time of year for it.

Caraval-Stephanie Gerber-I’ve been dying to read this one for ages, so if I finish Heartless this month (which I’m hoping I will), this the next Netgalley ARC I’m going to read.

I’m sadly behind on my Goodreads Challenge now (only one book, but still! I was doing so well), so I think it’s going to stick on 34, unless I get more behind in which case I’ll put it down. I’ve already managed to smash my original goal of 20, so basically whatever I get by the end of the year will be an achievement! I’ve managed to keep up my at least two books a month trend for the entire year, so I’m really happy with that.

How did everyone else’s November reading go? Let me know in the comments!

8 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR November Update

  1. SERIESous Book Reviews December 3, 2016 / 4:58 pm

    You’ll love Caraval! I read it back in October and absolutely adored it!

    For a while, November looked like it was going to be a pretty crappy reading month for me. I had so many books and so little time! But somehow I managed to have a pretty decent month near the end. Hopefully I can keep that momentum going in December!

    • iloveheartlandx December 3, 2016 / 5:04 pm

      I hope so! It sounds amazing. It looked like I was going to do okay at the beginning of November, but work has just piled up the past few weeks, so I haven’t read as much as last month, or as much as might have liked to read. Luckily my Uni work is almost over for the semester, so I’m hoping December will be a much better reading month! Glad to hear your reading this month has gone well, even if it did only pick up at the end!

  2. robbiesinspiration December 4, 2016 / 8:31 am

    Thanks for your reviews. I have bought the Magnus Chase book for my son for Christmas. I also have been so busy, reading has taken a back seat (very far back, sadly).

    • iloveheartlandx December 4, 2016 / 2:59 pm

      No problem! Hope your son enjoys it 🙂 Yes, it’s a shame really, as soon as I get busy, reading is the first thing to go.

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury December 5, 2016 / 11:40 am

    Ooh, yay for Heartless and Magnus Chase (I love that book!!) and Caraval!! I’m pretty much dying for that one too hehe, but gahhhh, it doesn’t come out FOREVER IT FEELS LIKE. (Okay it’s probably like a month by now, but still.)😂 And congrats on nearly being finished your GR goal! GO YOU! GO YOU! I’ve finished my goal but now I’m just desperately trying not to drown in books before the end of the year, hehe.

    • iloveheartlandx December 5, 2016 / 11:59 pm

      Magnus Chase is awesome! I’m not done with Heartless yet (nowhere close) but I am enjoying it so far. I’m so glad I have an e-ARC of Caraval, I don’t think I could wait for it to come out! Thanks! Go you too, congrats on finishing your GR goal. Yeah I’m trying not to drown in books too 🙂

  4. cw @ readthinkponder December 8, 2016 / 9:35 am

    It sounds like you’ll have a good new few weeks of good reading! I haven’t read any of the books on your TBR, but I’ve heard a lot of great things about them, especially Caraval! 😊

    My reading in November didn’t go tooooo well, so I look forward to reading more in December! I have a great TBR too! I’ll be writing a post about it in a few days (because I’m more excited than usual!). ❤

    • iloveheartlandx December 9, 2016 / 8:37 pm

      I hope so! Yes, I can’t wait to read Caraval, I’ve heard so many good things 🙂 I’m hoping my December reading goes better too, November wasn’t a great month for me. Ooh sounds interesting 🙂

Leave a Reply

