Top Ten Tuesday #55

image

Hey guys! I have another Top Ten Tuesday for all of you this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s prompt was Top Ten Childhood Characters You’d Like To Revisit As Adults, but we were allowed to interpret the prompt in whatever way we’d like, so instead, I’m going to do Top Ten YA Characters I’d Like To Revisit In Ten Years, since I thought that would be easier for me to think of lots of characters for and I’ve always thought I’d love to see how my favourite YA characters turned out as adults. So here we are, the Top Ten YA Characters I’d Like To Revisit In Ten Years:

  1. Harry, Ron & Hermione-Harry Potter Series-I know we get to have a brief glimpse of the trio as adults in the epilogue of Deathly Hallows, but I’d love to get to see more of them as adults and what all of their lives were like after Voldemort was defeated.
  2. Connor and Risa-The Unwind Dystology-I’d really love to see how they ended up after unwinding was stopped. We get a hint of it Unbound, where Grace suggests that they might be sailing around on a yacht in the Mediterranean, but I’d love to actually see that, them spending their days sailing around on a yacht, kids running around on the deck, it would be a beautiful end to their story.
  3. Percy and Annabeth-Percy Jackson Series-I would love to see where they ended up ten years later! In my head, ten years later Percy and Annabeth are married and live in The Big House at Camp Half-Blood (I know they said they were going to go to New Rome for college, but in my head, they always end up at Camp Half-Blood), with two troublemaking kids and they spend their days training young demigods. I would definitely love to see grown up Percy and Annabeth!
  4. Peeta and Katniss-The Hunger Games-Sure we get a glimpse of them and their kids in the epilogue of Mockingjay, but I’d like to see what happened between the end of the war and the epilogue, I’d like to see their wedding and them having their kids and what a peaceful Panem looks like.
  5. The Raven Boys Gang-The Raven Cycle-Okay, I guess this is kind of cheating since I haven’t yet finished The Raven King, but I love these characters (if Gansey dies, I may just die a little inside but no spoilers please! Seriously I’ve only read the first ten chapters, so no spoilers in the comments) and would love to see them all in ten years time. Hopefully they’d all still be friends.
  6. Partridge, Lyda, Pressia and El Capitan-Pure Trilogy-The ending of Burn was very open, so it would be great to come back to these characters and see what their lives were like ten years from the end of the story. (*spoilers for the trilogy* I’d like to see if Lyda and Partridge end up together, I’d like to see their child, if they had a boy or a girl, if Pressia ever meets her dad, if Arvin ever creates a cure for the fusings, if the Pures and the wretches ever lived in harmony together). Basically I want all the answers I didn’t get at the end of the trilogy.
  7. Liesel Meminger-The Book Thief-She’s a character after my own heart, I think all of us can relate to how much she loves books and just words in general. I would love to see how she turned out ten years later. She would definitely be a writer ten years later, that much I can say I’m pretty certain of, but I’d definitely like to see what else goes on in her life.
  8. Valerie Leftman-Hate List-The ending to Hate List was very open, so I would love to catch up with Val ten years later and see what happened to her after she graduated, whether she went to college or if she didn’t do that, then what she did and whether she found love again after Nick, whether her family forgave her etc. It would be really great to catch up with her ten years later.
  9. Aelin Ashryver Galathynius (Celaena)-Throne of Glass Series-Okay so this series isn’t actually over yet, there’s still two more books to come, but already I know that I’d love to revisit Aelin in ten years and see her queening it up in Terrasen. Most people would probably say they’d want to see who she’d end up with, but really I just want to see her ruling over her kingdom and being all badass.
  10. Skulduggery Pleasant-Skulduggery Pleasant Series-Skulduggery is a skeleton, he’s dead, he can’t die again, therefore you have infinite potential for adventures. I would love to see where my favourite skeleton detective was in another ten years, whether he was still having adventures with Valkyrie or if he’d found someone else to have adventures with. I’d like to think he and Val were still out there saving the world ten years later, even if I wasn’t that keen on Val, they always made a great team.
  11. Sephy Hadley-Noughts and Crosses Series-I’d like to see if she finally got her happy ending, she went through so much during the series and I’d love to see her finally settled down and happy (though obviously no one would ever compete with Callum), which we do get a hint of in Double Cross, but I’d like to actually see it happen.
  12. Hayden Upchurch-Unwind Dystology-We get to see a little of what his life is like after the Unwind Dystology in Unbound, but I’d love to see him ten years later. He would definitely be a multi-millionaire and a huge celebrity (as he is in Unbound) still, with his own television show as well as a radio show I reckon. No idea where he’d be romantically, but he’d still be as hilarious as ever(I hope!).
  13. Leo Valdez-Heroes of Olympus series-My second favourite Rick Riordan character after Percy. I’m not really sure where he’d be ten years down the line, would he still be with Calypso? Maybe. I’d love to see where he was ten years later though, and what wacky inventions he’d come up with next.
  14. Reyna Avila Ramirez-Arellano-Heroes of Olympus series-Would she have found love ten years later? I’m not sure but I what I do hope is that ten years later she would still be just as awesome.
  15. Artemis Fowl-Artemis Fowl series-Ten years after the end of the series, I reckon he would still be a criminal mastermind, perhaps leader of a mob gang? I’m not sure but I reckon he would have found his way back to Holly and would have continued using his evil genius to help the fairy folk. Seeing him ten years later would definitely be awesome though, whatever he was doing.
  16. Kat’s Gang-Heist Society-I would love to see what these guys were up to ten years later, I reckon Kat and Hale would be married and Kat would have finally found out what Hale’s first name is, and she, Gabrielle, Hale, Simon and the Bagshaw brothers are a pretty cool group. I reckon they’d still be doing heists together even ten years later and if any of them had kids, they’d take their kids along and start training the next generation.
  17. Four-Divergent Trilogy-After the end of Allegiant (yes that one), I’d be really interested to see where Four was ten years after, though I’m not sure I can predict anything from his future without spoiling the end of Allegiant for those out there who haven’t read it.
  18. Ketty, Nico, Ed and Dylan-The Medusa Project-After the ending of this series which was very open, I would be interested to see where the four teens ended up ten years down the line, especially if they had kids, it would be interesting to see if their kids inherited their psychic abilities.

I could probably think of more, but I’ve already gone over, so I think I’ll end it there! What characters would you like to see as adults? Where do you reckon your favourite characters would be? Would you like to see any of these characters ten years later? Let me know in the comments! Next week’s topic is meant to be Ten Websites I Love That Aren’t About Books, but I’m not really feeling that particular topic, so instead of that, I’m going to do Top Ten Sequels I’m Dying To Read as there’s always plenty of sequels that I’m wanting to read! That’s next week, but in the meantime, I will have my latest #RockMyTBR update for you guys really soon, so stay tuned for that.

94 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #55

  1. Brown Books and Green Tea 03/05/2016 / 6:38 pm

    I’m so curious about what happens to Four years down the line. I was devastated at the end of the book, and I don’t have any idea how he would move on!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 6:43 pm

      Yeah I don’t know either, it would be interesting to see.

  2. Book Club Babe 03/05/2016 / 7:26 pm

    I’d argue that Panem never really learned its lesson and wouldn’t be peaceful in the long term. The whole ending to that series depressed the hell out of me!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 7:32 pm

      I don’t know, everything leading up to the very end depressed me, but I liked where things ended up. This is why we need to see what happened ten years on, to see if they kept the peace!

  3. bookmuffin 03/05/2016 / 8:14 pm

    The HP gang have been on a lot
    of lists I’ve seen today, as has Liesel! I completely forgot about Four!! It would be nice to know how he’s getting on!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 9:28 pm

      Not surprising, there’s lots of love for those books out there! I actually didn’t think of him until I was almost done putting the list together and then I thought, yeah, it would be nice to know how he was getting on.

  4. Catherine 03/05/2016 / 8:40 pm

    Aw, I really hope Sephy got some proper happiness. Those books were so good, but SO depressing… I couldn’t get into Double Cross because I wasn’t that interested in Tobey, but it seemed like things were going in the right direction for Sephy anyway 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 9:30 pm

      Yeah me too! They were pretty depressing but I’ve found that the best books usually are at least a little bit! I’ll admit, I preferred Noughts and Crosses and Checkmate to Knife Edge and Double Cross, but I thought it was a nice way to round off the series. Yes they did, I’d just like to make sure!

  5. Bri 03/05/2016 / 9:09 pm

    Completely agree with your Hunger Games comment. I loved the epilogue but I want the in between action between the end of the war and them as a family.

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 9:30 pm

      Thanks! Yeah the epilogue was great, but I definitely did miss the stuff in between.

  6. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard 03/05/2016 / 10:50 pm

    Oh, Leo and Calypso and Reyna, definitely! And the other kids from the Heroes of Olympus series. I had Percy and Annabeth, but yeah, I’d like to see the other ones grown up, too. A lot of your other books are either unfamiliar to me, or as-yet-unread, but I can see that they would be good choices… especially Liesel from The Book Thief.

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 10:53 pm

      Yeah definitely! I included my favourites from the series, though I’d like to see Hazel and Frank too (honestly, I never really liked Jason and Piper). You should definitely try some of these, they’re great books. Yes, Liesel is awesome!

  7. Joanna 03/05/2016 / 11:16 pm

    I can’t believe I forgot about the HP characters, I would so love to see the gang and how they are living in the Wizarding or Muggle world. Your list is awesome and making me wish I had added a few other characters to my list.

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 11:18 pm

      Thanks! Yeah it would be pretty cool to catch up with them.

  8. Cover2CoverMom 03/05/2016 / 11:32 pm

    Ooooo great list! I too would like to know what Liesel would be up to.

  9. Tracy @ Cornerfolds 03/05/2016 / 11:35 pm

    There are some great picks on this list!! I’d love to check in on Ron and Hermione especially! I’m also really curious to find out what happened with Four after Allegiant ended. Great list 😀

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 11:37 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, I’d like to see how they got on as a married couple. I imagine they’d be one of those that bicker all the time (but lovingly, rather than bitterly). Yeah me too!

  10. Ani 03/05/2016 / 11:42 pm

    Wow! This is quite the list! 😀 As much as I wasn’t a big fan of the Divergent trilogy, I AM interested to see how Four (and the rest of the gang) manage as adults. I’m not entirely familiar with a lot of books/series on this list, but I AM curious about Heist Society now.

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2016 / 11:44 pm

      Thanks! I’m kind of with you there, I liked it, but didn’t love it. Still I’m curious about Four’s life as an adult. Oh you should read it, it’s great!

  11. rudejasper 04/05/2016 / 12:06 am

    I’m only halfway through the Percy Jackson series but I totally agree – I’d love to see Percy and Annabeth as adults. Your vision of them sounds pretty awesome!

  12. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 04/05/2016 / 1:34 am

    Artemis Fowl would be such an interesting character to catch up. There are so many scenarios in my head right now for where he would end up. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 9:12 am

      Yeah, I really can’t decide where he’d be ten years later, I need to see it! Thanks.

  13. Jamie Wu 04/05/2016 / 4:12 am

    Four! I definitely want to see how’s he doing, considering what happened in Allegiant.

  14. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews 04/05/2016 / 7:51 am

    Yesssss at all the Percy Jackson characters 😀 I know some people aren’t a fan of Rick writing so many spin off series, but I love it! I will gladly read anything he decides which I hope is a lot more haha. In my head Percy and Annabeth are totally married too. I like to think their life is a little more peaceful now, but knowing Percy’s luck it probably isn’t 😂

    I’d also read anything I could about Harry Potter and The Raven Cycle too! There’s so many things that could happen. I really hope you enjoy The Raven King 😀 I loved it so much.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 9:08 am

      Oh yeah me too! I will happily read as much as he wants to give us about Percy! Yeah they totally are. I would hope that their life would be a little more peaceful ten years down the line, but you’re right, it probably wouldn’t be! Yeah, later stories from both of those would be so great! Thanks. Things are looking good so far 🙂

  15. E 04/05/2016 / 10:04 am

    Wow, you went well over 10! It’s like I said on my reading list – in a way I don’t want to know them grown up, because they’re so perfect in my head… might spoil things. But I’m just being silly! Thanks for stopping by.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 10:28 am

      Yeah, I got a little overexcited! No I understand what you mean, seeing what they’re up to as an adult might ruin the vision of them you have in your head. I can’t help but be curious though!

  16. novelinkchristy 04/05/2016 / 12:00 pm

    Great list! I’d love to know about the HP gang, Katniss and Peeta, and Four!

  17. Anna @MyBookishDream 04/05/2016 / 12:34 pm

    I would love to see where Peeta and Katniss ended up! It would seriously be amazing to read about their lives after the games and everything else! 🙂 Great list!

  18. Lauren @ Always Me 04/05/2016 / 2:23 pm

    I would love to see more of Liesel Meminger, as well!

    Thanks for visiting my blog earlier!

  19. alicerosesimmons 04/05/2016 / 2:42 pm

    Great list! I would definitely like to see what happened to Peeta and Katniss, and I’d love to see Sephy finally be happy after everything. Liesel is also a great choice 🙂

  20. gabrieleneumann 04/05/2016 / 2:49 pm

    Katniss and Peeta alllllmost made the cut on my list…I’m so curious what their kids are like and what their world is like after time!

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 2:51 pm

      Yeah same here! I really want to know the names of their kids!

  21. siderealday 04/05/2016 / 3:45 pm

    I agree with quite a few of your choices. Especially Katniss and Peeta, since she didn’t seem to want children iirc, so I’m curious to see how that change happened.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT.

  22. Jane @ Greenish Bookshelf 04/05/2016 / 5:04 pm

    I love that you included Harry, Ron and Hermione. Also Percy Jackson and Artemis Fowl! It’s been years since I read the Artemis Fowl books but I remember loving them! I would like to hear more about Four from Divergent too. I had several issues with that series, especially the ending. But I am curious as to how/if he finds happiness and love again.

    My TTT: https://greenishbookshelf.com/2016/05/03/top-10-tuesday-characters-i-would-love-to-revisit/

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 5:54 pm

      Thanks! Yeah it’s been a while for me too, but I loved that series when I was younger. I had issues with the series, not so much the ending actually, but definitely with the series as a whole. I am definitely curious as to whether he found love again. I like to think that he did, after all he’s only 18, he has plenty of life ahead of him.

  23. jessicabookworm 04/05/2016 / 5:24 pm

    I would also love to find out what happened to Percy and Annabeth, and Four (especially as I know the ending of Allegiant!).

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 5:57 pm

      Yeah it would definitely be interesting to see all of them in the future.

  24. Hope (@HopeSLavender) 04/05/2016 / 5:52 pm

    I love that Harry Potter made it into so many Top Ten Lists! best childhood characters but I’m starting to feel guilty about not reading Olympus.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 5:58 pm

      Yup, there’s definitely still a lot of love for Harry Potter! You definitely should read it, it’s a good series. Not as good as the original series, but still good.

  25. Lois 04/05/2016 / 6:18 pm

    I can definitely see Percy and Annabeth getting their happily ever after and settling down and I can definitely see them settling down near Camp Half-Blood instead of New Rome. I would also love to see how Katniss and Peeta grow back together. 😀

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 6:24 pm

      Yup, definitely. The idea of them settling down in New Rome is sweet, but Camp Half-Blood is their home, I feel like it would make more sense for them to settle down there. Oh me too! That would be great.

  26. The Literary Lioness 04/05/2016 / 6:26 pm

    I was going to put Harry Potter and co on my list but I decided not to since The Curses Child is coming out and I’m hoping we get to see more of their story there.

    Peeta and Katniss are for sure great picks because like many people have said the epilogue was awesome but I really want to know the in between parts.

    Thanks for checking out my list!!

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 6:36 pm

      Yeah fair enough! I put them on there, because I can always have more of them! I agree, the epilogue was great, but I need more! I want to know how they got there.

      • The Literary Lioness 05/05/2016 / 8:34 pm

        Yes I would really enjoy at least a one book story to see how the couples got where they are in the epilogue. And some wedding stories would be greatly appreciated.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 6:52 pm

      They definitely would. I would like to see what happened to Gale, hopefully all the years would have made him less bitter.

  27. Rayna 04/05/2016 / 6:51 pm

    I haven’t read or finished reading a lot of the books you listed, other than The Raven Boys & Throne of Glass, but some other characters I’d like to see where they are 10 years in the future: Iseult and Safiya from Truthwitch (even though just the first book came out, I still wonder), and Cath and Levi from Fangirl (I like to think they live in a quaint countryside house with a couple of kids and Cath having written a bestseller).

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 6:56 pm

      I haven’t read Truthwitch yet, but I’m hoping to get to it at some point.

  28. mki52 04/05/2016 / 7:33 pm

    I agree with you on so many of them! Especially all the guys from the Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus series and Four would be an interesting one given that ending… Great list 🙂

  29. ChrissiReads 04/05/2016 / 7:44 pm

    Ha! I love how you’ve bent the rules and went for 18. Fabulous choices, I must say!

  30. kirstysbookshelve100 04/05/2016 / 7:44 pm

    I’d completely forgotten about the Skulduggery Pleasant series I used to love those books when I was younger. I would love to revisit those characters.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2016 / 7:46 pm

      It’s one of my favourite series, I would definitely love to revisit the characters.

  31. bookloversalliance 04/05/2016 / 8:05 pm

    YES to seeing Blue and the Raven Boys..I haven’t finished it either so I’m waiting on pins and needles thinking about what is going to happen. If things don’t go the way I want, I’ll probably sob, haha! But even with not finishing the books, I’m pretty much positive I’ll want more because those characters are some of my favorites!!

    • iloveheartlandx 05/05/2016 / 8:43 am

      Ugh, I know, I’m so nervous! Yeah I love the characters, so I’d definitely want to catch up with their lives, years down the line.

  32. Alyce @ Everything Alyce 04/05/2016 / 8:33 pm

    Sephy! Oh my god, I can’t believe I didn’t think of her.
    You managed to pick so many! I really struggled – I think there are so many that I’m interested in that my brain just couldn’t comprehend it, and instead gave me hardly any ideas. I suck. 😛

    • iloveheartlandx 05/05/2016 / 8:42 am

      It’s an old series, people often forget about it 🙂 Thanks! I was struggling a bit when I started but once I hit 10, I realised I still had more!

  33. Mari 04/05/2016 / 8:53 pm

    I’ve only read The Raven Boys so far, and already I want to know what happens to the gang in a couple years’ time! Will have to pick up the other books and maybe read them soon.

  34. Alison's Wonderland Recipes 05/05/2016 / 3:59 am

    I want to see how Panem turned out too! I feel like more details about the adjustment period after the war would have given the series a better conclusion.

  35. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books 05/05/2016 / 6:49 am

    I haven’t finished The Raven King either, but I know I’m going to always want to know what that crew is up to. Especially Adam and Noah… they’re my faves.

  36. Miriam Michelle 05/05/2016 / 7:03 am

    Even though I’ve only read the Raven Boys from that series, I have to admit that they make an awesome choice for this list. Great list! 🙂

  37. Anna @Adventures with a Book Nerd 05/05/2016 / 7:43 am

    I don’t even remember the the epilogue from Mockingjay! I did read it a couple years ago, but still! I would think that I would remember it. I tried reading the first book in The Raven Cycle, I think a year ago, and I just couldn’t get into it. I stopped reading it about a fourth of the way through. I might pick it up again though due to the fact that everybody has been raving about it. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 05/05/2016 / 8:16 am

      We read a lot of books, it’s normal that we’d forget some things! The Raven Boys is a little hard to get into at first, but it does get better if you stick with it.

  38. proxyfish 05/05/2016 / 11:52 pm

    Wow! What a list!!! You’re putting my YA pile to shame (which is admittedly relatively easy to do). I’m really intrigued by a number of these books… will have to check them out! 😀

    • iloveheartlandx 06/05/2016 / 3:14 pm

      Thanks! Glad to have helped you find some new books to read!

  39. CollegiateCatLady 06/05/2016 / 1:33 pm

    Great list! I agree, I would absolutely love to revisit the folks from The Percy Jackson series.

  40. Marci @ The Plot Bunny 06/05/2016 / 8:24 pm

    WOW! your list is huge and so perfect. I totally meant to add the Raven Boys gang to mine too. Of course, I had the whole Harry Potter crew because I think many of us still need to know what happened as they grew up. Thanks so much for stopping over at my blog. Cheers ~Marci

    • iloveheartlandx 08/05/2016 / 8:16 pm

      Thanks! Yes, they are awesome. All of us Harry Potter fans want to know more about the intervening years between the end of Deathly Hallows and the epilogue! No problem.

  41. Rissi 06/05/2016 / 11:49 pm

    So many great characters! Somehow (despite the ending being nearly exactly the same), I REALLY liked the Movie ending of “Mockingjay” more than the book. Katniss seems happier, or more at peace in the film, which I love. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    • iloveheartlandx 08/05/2016 / 8:15 pm

      Thanks! I kind of get your point actually, in the book, she still seems kind of haunted, but in the film she definitely looks more at peace. No problem.

  42. E 14/05/2016 / 7:29 pm

    Wow, you came up with so many – struggled a bit more! I didn’t think of Liesl from The Book Thief – wish I’d picked her…

    • iloveheartlandx 15/05/2016 / 2:13 pm

      Thanks! Yeah it would definitely be interesting to know what she was up to.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.