#RockMyTBR April Update

As always, at the start of every new month, I bring you an update of how I’ve got along with the #RockMyTBR challenge for the previous month. This update always seems to come around far too soon, I can’t believe it’s May already (and I know I say this every time, but it’s so true!). I’m doing well on my whole reading one book a month from my list and things are looking good for me to finish all the books on the list by the end of the year. As ever, this month, I read one book from the list and another book from my shelves that wasn’t on the list. This is what I’ve read this month:

code name verityCode Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein:

I started this on 30th March and finished on 18th April. I really loved this book, it was completely heartbreaking but completely amazing at the same time and I can’t believe I had it on my shelves for over a year before reading it. You can check out my review of it here:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/22/code-name-verity-review/

The GloryThe Glory by Lauren St John:

This wasn’t on my list, but I’ve had it for a while, I hadn’t read a horse book for a long time and I needed something short that I could finish in just over a week so it was done by the end of April and this totally fit the bill. I really enjoyed it too, it was a fast, engaging read and I’ll definitely be looking out for more of this author’s work, since I’ve enjoyed both this and her One Dollar Horse trilogy. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/03/the-glory-review/

That’s what I read in April, here’s what I have coming up this month:

The Raven King-I’ve mixed things up a little by starting with my non #RockMyTBR book first as I was really excited to read this one. I only started it last week but I’m enjoying what I’ve read so far!

I’m not sure what I’m going to choose as my next #RockMyTBR book, it all depends how long it takes me to finish The Raven King as I have to choose something that I can finish within the time I have left after I’m done with that, so you’ll have to be surprised by what I choose in next month’s post!

I’m so much happier with where I am at this point in the year compared to last year, I haven’t been bogged down by books I really should have DNF’ed this year, and I’m so much happier both with the quality of what I’ve read and how much I’ve read. Long may it continue! How did everyone else’s April reading go? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR April Update

  1. SERIESous Book Reviews May 4, 2016 / 11:52 pm

    My April Rock My TBR readings were pretty much none existent thanks to exams 😦 BUT, I hope to make that up this month and seem to be on the right track so far.

    I totally get where you are coming from with DNFing books. It’s something I have struggled with this year as well–I guess I’m an optimist when it comes to books and hope things will get better if I keep going.

    • iloveheartlandx May 5, 2016 / 8:40 am

      Totally get that, I had the same thing when I was doing my exams last year, another reason why my reading dropped off a little in that part of last year. I’m the same way! I don’t want to put down a book even if I’m really not enjoying it, on the off chance that it gets better.

Leave a Reply

