Top Ten Tuesday #40

image

Hi everyone! I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday post for you all and the topic this week is Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR. I didn’t know whether to pick ten books which I’ve bought recently and added to my TBR pile or ten books which I’ve added recently to my Goodreads TBR, so this is just going to be a mix of the two. I most likely won’t get to any of these this year, given how many books I have on my shelves still to read, but hopefully I will get to read them all at some point in the not so distant future! Anyway, so here are the Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR:

  1. Mindwalker-A.J. Steiger-This one wasn’t actually on my Goodreads TBR, it was one of those books that I just came across in Waterstones and thought it sounded really good so I bought it on a whim. Hopefully it’s as good as it sounds!
  2. The Catalyst-Helena Coggan-The author of this book is 15, so I’m a little nervous about reading it because I’ve never read a book by someone that young before but it sounded like a good book, so I bought it anyway.
  3. Paper Like Fire-Rachel Caine-I’m almost done with the first book in Rachel Caine’s new Great Library series and I’ve really enjoyed it, so it was a no brainer that I would be adding the newest book in the series (which comes out in July) to my TBR.
  4. Bookishly Ever After-Isabel Bandeira-As a book lover, obviously I love reading books which have protagonists who love books and as I also often find myself wishing real life guys could be as great as the guys I read about in books, I reckon this book will be perfect for me.
  5. And I Darken-Kiersten White-This story sounds so cool! It’s about the Draculas and Vlad The Impaler in this book is a female, Lada The Impaler! It sounds like she’s going to be a kick ass princess and there’s nothing I love more than kick ass women!
  6. Living Color-Jodi Picoult-Why I added this one is pretty simple, it’s the newest Jodi Picoult and I love her books! They are always auto-buys for me!
  7. Truthwitch-Susan Dennard-Everyone’s been going on about this one since it’s release and it does sound pretty cool, this book had me at “magic” and “witches”, though I’ll be honest, when I see anything to do with magic on the blurb of a book, it pretty much makes it an instant buy for me.
  8. Prisoner of Night & Fog-Anne Blankman-This is a historical fiction set during Hitler’s rise to power, about a girl Gretchen Muller who is in Hitler’s inner circle and a Jewish reporter Daniel Cohen. Historical fiction? Hitler and the Nazis? Star crossed lovers’ romance? Count me in!
  9. The Star Touched Queen-Roshani Choski-A book based on Indian mythology and a Hades & Persephone style romance? There is nothing about this book that makes me not want to read it!
  10. Henge-Realm Lovejoy-A modern day version of Camelot? Magic? Morgan Le Fay? I definitely have to read this book at some point! It sounds so good!
  11. The Girl In The Red Coat-Kate Hamer-A mystery thriller about a girl who goes missing? Sounds good to me, definitely want to try this one!
  12. Burning Midnight-Will McIntosh-I’m not entirely sure what this book is about except that it involves spheres and it’s a fantasy but that’s intriguing enough to make me want to read it.
  13. The Marked Girl-Lindsey Klingele-It’s sort of based on Enchanted and I love that movie, so I’m really excited to read it!
  14. The Darkest Corners-Kara Thomas-This is a mystery thriller about two best friends and I think it’s some kind of a murder mystery which is really cool plus it has comparisons to Pretty Little Liars and I love that show, so I’m really excited for this book.
  15. The Girl Who Fell-Shannon M Parker-This isn’t the sort of book I usually read, but I was really interested in the abusive relationship aspect so I thought I’d add it to my TBR.
  16. I Let You Go-Clare Mackintosh-I love psychological thrillers and from what I’ve heard about this one, it’s a pretty great one, so it was an obvious addition to my TBR.
  17. Of Fire and Stars-Audrey Coulthurst-Forbidden magical gift, princess meant to marry a prince but falls in love with his sister instead? There’s nothing about this that I don’t love! So refreshing to see a different love triangle in YA for once, not just a f/m/m love triangle.
  18. Timekeeper-Tara Sim-This book has everything, magic, time travel, LGBT romance, it was definitely a no brainer for my TBR!
  19. Sword and Verse-Kathy McMillan-This fantasy world sounds like so much fun, so of course I added this book to my TBR.
  20. A Study In Charlotte-Brittany Cavallaro-A female Sherlock Holmes, who is his great-great granddaughter? Count me in!

Okay, so I know I went over ten this week but I’ve been so good for the past two weeks at keeping to ten, so I decided to go a little crazy this week! What books have you guys recently added to your TBR? Do we share any? Any on your lists that you think I should add to mine? Next week’s topic is a freebie, so I guess you guys will just have to wait until next week to see what I choose to write about! In the meantime, I should hopefully have a post for you guys tomorrow.

 

64 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #40

  1. masonlou 19/01/2016 / 10:05 pm

    I have the girl in the red coat and I let you go on my tbr but not in my most recent 10. I have too many books to read x

    • iloveheartlandx 19/01/2016 / 10:06 pm

      Oh I know the feeling! I’ve been commenting that on loads of people’s lists, that I have a certain book on my TBR, it just wasn’t in my most recent 10, because I add so many freaking books all the time!

  2. Amber, the Blonde Writer 19/01/2016 / 10:12 pm

    I’ve been hearing about Truthwitch everywhere! I don’t normally read magical books (mainly because everything goes over my head), but with as much attention as this has been getting, I may have to check it out.

    Thanks for stopping by my Top Ten post!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/01/2016 / 10:13 pm

      Yeah it has been everywhere over the past few weeks hasn’t it? Let’s hope we both love it! No problem!

  3. Kelly 19/01/2016 / 11:26 pm

    I kept on hearing about Truthwitch, and I finally put it on my TBR list a little while ago. I’ve heard a lot of really good things! And The Star-Touched Queen sounds fantastic, doesn’t it?

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:29 am

      Yeah everyone seems to be saying that it’s really great, so let’s just hope they’re right. Yes it really does! I’m so excited for that one!

  4. mki52 20/01/2016 / 12:46 am

    I totally agree with you re: #4! Adding that on my reading list now :/ !!
    I Let You Go also sounds really interesting! I’ll have to check that one out too!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:27 am

      Sounds like fun doesn’t it? Yeah that one did sound really cool, I don’t read all that many psychological thrillers but that one really caught my eye.

  5. Zed Amadeo 20/01/2016 / 1:15 am

    And I Darken definitely caught my eye! I’m also preemptively excited about Paper and Fire even though I still need to read Ink and Bone.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:27 am

      Yeah that title and that cover are definitely eye catching! Yeah I added Paper and Fire to my TBR before I had even read Ink and Bone! I had a good feeling about the series and I’m glad that I’ve been proved right!

  6. AngelErin 20/01/2016 / 2:13 am

    Wow I want to read a lot of these too! Fabulous list! I hope you get to read them all and you love them. 😀

  7. Jen 20/01/2016 / 3:15 am

    I have a Rachel Caine book on my list too! It’s Prince of Shadows which is a retelling of Romeo & Juliet. 🙂 The Great Library Series by her sounds amazing also! And Truthwitch does sound SO good!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:25 am

      Ooh that sounds cool! I may have to check that one out. It is, I’m almost done with Ink and Bone and it’s been really good. I know right!

  8. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 20/01/2016 / 3:53 am

    I need to get my hands on Sword and Verse, I’ve heard great things. Truthwitch is my next read, so hopefully it lives up to the hype. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:24 am

      Yeah it sounds good doesn’t it? I know, I’m actually slightly scared of Truthwitch because it’s been so hyped up, so I’ll be interested to see what you think. Thanks!

  9. Sunny @ A Sunny Spot 20/01/2016 / 4:19 am

    I haven’t hard of any of these but the Rachel Caine book sounds good, I adore her Morganville Vampire series. Happy Reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:23 am

      Oh yeah, Ink and Bone is really good, Paper and Fire won’t be released until July, so if you want to read it, then you still have time to catch up! Thanks, happy reading to you too!

  10. Shon @ Tangled 'N' Books 20/01/2016 / 6:42 am

    Like your list, I might have to add about 5 of your pick to my tbr. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by our blog.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:22 am

      Thanks! Glad to have helped you find some new books! No problem!

  11. Danni Mae 20/01/2016 / 8:17 am

    When I was young there was a book in my library that was written by a 13-year-old called “In the Forests of the Night,” and at the time I adored it. I ended up rereading it a couple of years later and enjoying it. I wonder what I’d think of it now that I’m out of middle school. But anywho, 15-year-old prospective may be something you won’t be able to get in touch with, but still an interesting thing to read! Who knows, it might remind you of what it’s like to be that age. Interested to see what you think of it!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:21 am

      It wasn’t all that long ago that I was 15, I’m only 19 now, so hopefully I’ll still be able to get in touch with the 15 year old perspective, plus I read books about protagonists who are younger than me all the time, I’m just worried that the writing won’t be as good because the author is so young and she hasn’t had as much time to hone her skills. Thanks! I’m kind of interested to see what I think of it too!

      • Danni Mae 26/01/2016 / 11:09 am

        I get what you mean. I’m 22 now, and loads of a better writer than I was at 15. I’m interested to see what you think of it, though!

      • iloveheartlandx 26/01/2016 / 1:36 pm

        I have a lot of books to read, it might be a while before I get to it, but I’m really excited to read it!

  12. fiddlerblue 20/01/2016 / 9:27 am

    I’ve seen And I Darken around but I haven’t read the blurb properly yet. And I’m also looking forward to Sword and Verse! Great additions here to your list. Hope you get to read them soon!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 10:18 am

      Thanks! I hope so too, but it will probably be a while, I have a ton of books on my bookshelf to get through first!

  13. Lynn 20/01/2016 / 1:23 pm

    Prisoner of Night & Fog and Truthwitch sound amazing! I’m hoping to read Truthwitch soon and I hope you will enjoy all of these books when you get to them!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 1:46 pm

      Yeah they do, don’t they? Thanks, it might be a while until I get around to reading any of them, but I hope I enjoy them too!

  14. bookedsolid1989 20/01/2016 / 2:05 pm

    Great list! I really hope we can both read Truthwitch soon! 😀

  15. Lois 20/01/2016 / 5:50 pm

    I am so excited to read The Star-touched Queen. The book just sounds so magical.

  16. alicerosesimmons 20/01/2016 / 7:43 pm

    I’m also so excited to read Bookish Ever After and A Study in Charlotte – both sound amazing! Great list!

  17. Jen @ BookLoversAlliance 20/01/2016 / 8:04 pm

    I’m glad to hear you’re liking Ink and Bone. I’ve wanted to read that one for a while and now I’m tempted to move it up my TBR! Also, The Darkest Corners sounds so good. I can’t wait for it to come out!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 8:21 pm

      Yeah, it’s been really good, I definitely would move it up your TBR! It does, doesn’t it? I’m really looking forward to it coming out too!

  18. therebelliousreader 20/01/2016 / 8:24 pm

    Great list! Bookishly Ever After sounds so adorable! I love books like that.

  19. Beth (Reading Every Night) 20/01/2016 / 10:41 pm

    Great picks! I need to add Paper Like Fire to my to-read list, I loved the first book so I am very excited to actually read the second, and I have already read some great reviews of Truthwitch so I need to check that book out 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2016 / 11:23 pm

      Thanks! I haven’t finished Ink and Bone yet, still have a couple more chapters left, but I’ve enjoyed it, so will definitely be getting the second. Yeah Truthwitch has been getting some good reviews, so I’m excited to read it.

  20. Jane @ Greenish Bookshelf 20/01/2016 / 11:48 pm

    A study in Charlotte sounds super cool and clever! And I am super excited to check out Bookishly Ever After too.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier this week 🙂

  21. Tasha 21/01/2016 / 5:22 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    You can join our book club on Goodreads if you’d like to read Truthwitch with a group of people. We’ll be reading it next month as our New Release read. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 21/01/2016 / 10:24 am

      No problem! Ah I would, but I have so many other books to read at the moment, so it will probably be a while before I get to Truthwitch!

  22. aya968 21/01/2016 / 2:13 pm

    Great list!! I have Of Fire and Stars on my wishlist! I really can’t wait for that book 🙂

  23. betwixt-these-pages 21/01/2016 / 10:55 pm

    Definite YES to The Girl Who Fell–I can’t wait for that book to be released! Thanks so much for linking me, and visiting my TTT! ❤

  24. Eve 22/01/2016 / 12:00 am

    OMG I can not wait to dive into Truthwitch! I have it now and it looks like it’s winning the poll so far for the group read-along pick for next moth so whoohoo! So many great books!

  25. Alexandra 22/01/2016 / 12:10 am

    A ton of these are on my TBR too! Great list 🙂

  26. Jess @ Little Book Heaven 22/01/2016 / 3:22 am

    I am also eagerly awaiting The Girl Who Fell as well. Great list and thank you for stopping by. 🙂

  27. onenightbookstandblog 22/01/2016 / 6:25 pm

    So many books on your list sound AWESOME! Looks like my TBR is going to get bigger today…

  28. Erika 22/01/2016 / 7:56 pm

    Truthwitch is so good!

  29. Nicole @ Nicole's Novel Reads 23/01/2016 / 2:38 am

    The Star-Touched Queen is FANTASTIC! I just finished reading it this week and I fell in LOVE! I hope you enjoy it too!

  30. katherinereads 30/01/2016 / 7:12 pm

    PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG!!! It’s so good, one of my favorites!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.