Top Ten Tuesday #41

image

Hey guys! I’m back with another new Top Ten Tuesday post for you all, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a freebie week, so we all have to come up with our own theme. Usually for these weeks, I just look back over the TTT archives and choose a topic from there to do, but this week I actually came up with my own theme all by myself! The topic I’ve chosen to do this week is my Top Ten Jodi Picoult books, since she is one of my favourite authors. So here we go, these are them:

  1. My Sister’s Keeper-This is not only my favourite Jodi Picoult book, but it’s one of my favourite books ever. It’s not the type of book that I would have expected to love, but I loved the writing, the story, the characters, everything about the book. It was the first book of hers that I read and the one that made me fall in love with her writing. Plus it’s one of the books that I had signed by her, so I will treasure it forever!
  2. The Pact-Yes it’s a book that’s depressing at times, but it’s also beautiful, with complicated characters and I loved how the story came together, you start with Em’s death and then go back and forward in time to show how the events that lead to her death came together and what happened afterwards, it was a great way of telling the story. I also love the complex family relationships explored in the book. It’s a really beautiful story and definitely one of my favourites of hers (also one that I had signed!).
  3. Plain Truth-The reason I loved this book was it was quite different to the others that Jodi Picoult had written and I really felt like I learned a lot about Amish culture which was something I never knew anything about before, so that was really cool. This one is also signed!
  4. Nineteen Minutes-This is a beautiful book! Not many people would be able to make me feel sympathetic to a school shooter, but Jodi Picoult does that brilliantly here, you feel both for Peter and for the victims and you’re not really sure who is right. All of the characters are well fleshed out and you get to see all of the sides to the story which is great. I never expected to love a book about a school shooting as much as I did this once, but it had a real impact on me (probably because we’ve all known people like Peter’s bullies in our lives and whilst you can’t condone what he did, it’s hard not to feel for him).
  5. The Storyteller-This book almost made me cry, but that’s to be expected since it’s about the Holocaust. It’s a heartbreaking story but an incredibly beautiful one as well. I can guarantee you that you will find it difficult not to cry at Minka’s part of the story.
  6. Salem Falls-I loved this story, the witches aspect was really interesting and the twist at the end was just incredible and one that I never saw coming!
  7. Second Glance-This book is probably the most unique of Jodi Picoult’s and whilst I don’t believe in ghosts I found that aspect really interesting, I also loved the eugenics parts and how the storyline from the 1930’s tied into the present day story, I thought that was really clever, in fact, just generally, the way everything tied together in the end was great.
  8. Between The Lines-I loved the story within a story format and this book is just generally a very fun and cute read and a lot lighter than Picoult’s adult works (which is to be expected since she wrote it with her daughter, but I still appreciated that, it was nice to read something a little lighter from her for a change).
  9. Picture Perfect-Whilst it’s not my favourite of hers and you can definitely tell her older writing from her newer stuff, I still really enjoyed this book, it was a great story and still had her signature beautiful writing.
  10. Handle With Care-This one is kind of similar to My Sister’s Keeper, so if you liked that one, you’d probably like this one too. I definitely liked My Sister’s Keeper more, but I still really enjoyed this story and learned a lot about OI, something I never knew about before.

So that’s all I have for this week (I know, I managed to keep it at ten!). What did you guys choose for your freebie topics? Have you read any of Jodi Picoult’s books? What were your favourites? Any that I haven’t included here? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is all about the past or the future and basically you can spin the topic whatever way you like, so again, you’ll have to wait and see what I come up with. In the meantime though, I have just finished reading Ink and Bone, so I should have a review of that up for you guys within the next few days!

 

74 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #41

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 1:37 pm

      They’re all great books, you should definitely try them! Thanks for the link, I’ll make sure I check yours out!

  1. zainabshykh January 26, 2016 / 2:02 pm

    I’m really guilty to mention that I’ve never read any of her books. 😦

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 2:04 pm

      Don’t worry, I’m sure you’re not the only one!

      • zainabshykh January 26, 2016 / 2:07 pm

        I know. But I would love to read it. Tell me which one is your favourite? I would read it first!

      • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 2:09 pm

        My Sister’s Keeper is definitely my favourite, you should start with that one.

      • zainabshykh January 26, 2016 / 2:11 pm

        Thank you! I would definitely read it first. Maybe after I’m finished with the book I’m currently reading.

  2. Sara January 26, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    I keep hearing about this author, but I haven’t read any of her books yet. Maybe this year πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 2:14 pm

      You definitely should, her books are great πŸ™‚

  3. Kelly January 26, 2016 / 3:30 pm

    I remember shelving a lot of Jodi Picoult books when I worked at a library in high school! (Wow, she has a lot of books out. They took up about half a shelf!)

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 3:34 pm

      Yeah she does have a lot of books! Makes it hard to choose favourites!

  4. Angelspearl January 26, 2016 / 3:43 pm

    Wow didnt know Jodi Picoult had all these books. Might give it a try.

  5. rattlethestarssite January 26, 2016 / 3:50 pm

    Great list. I haven’t read any of her books but this makes me want to pick one up soon!

  6. Let's Take A Shelfie January 26, 2016 / 3:50 pm

    I have a copy of Between The Lines on my bookshelf that I haven’t read yet. This list is making me want to move it up on my TBR list. Thanks for sharing!

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 5:23 pm

      You definitely should, it’s a great book! No problem!

  7. Emily Alfano January 26, 2016 / 4:01 pm

    I LOVED My Sister’s Keeper but I couldn’t believe the big thing they changed doing the film adaptation! it was such a shocker to me when I went to see the movie!
    great topic idea for this week’s freebie! love it!
    Emily @ http://www.rabbitholereviews.com

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 5:25 pm

      Oh me either! I was so mad with what they changed, especially the ending! You don’t change major things like that! Thanks!

  8. fiddlerblue January 26, 2016 / 4:10 pm

    My Sister’s Keeper was so touching. Great idea for a list, by the way, I don’t read a lot of Picoult but I’m curious about Nineteen Minutes so I’m definitely adding that to my TBR list.

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 5:18 pm

      Yeah it really was! Thanks! Oh you definitely should, Nineteen Minutes is amazing!

  9. foxyblogs1 January 26, 2016 / 5:00 pm

    Great topic! I’ve only watched the movie of – My Sister’s Keeper. I’ve heard the book is much better but there’s no way I could read it. I bawled during the movie…I’d spend all my time bawling if I read it.

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 5:19 pm

      Thanks! The book is much better, they changed the ending of the movie which is a complete cardinal sin! Yeah it is really sad, but also really beautiful. It’s worth the pain πŸ™‚

  10. TheLiteraryCounsellor January 26, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    I’ve never actually read a Jodi Picoult book, although The Storyteller seems like a book that I would really enjoy. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 5:20 pm

      Thanks! The Storyteller is amazing, you should definitely try it!

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 5:46 pm

      That’s fair enough, people have different taste in books. It’s always better to read books you’re drawn to than what people say you should read!

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 6:30 pm

      Thanks! Yeah that definitely helped! I haven’t actually read that one, I’ll have to check it out at some point.

  11. Bookenstein January 26, 2016 / 7:23 pm

    Nice topic! I remember reading My Sister’s Keeper in high school and loving it. I might have to give another go at Jodi Picoult.

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 10:51 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, My Sister’s Keeper is an amazing book, definitely one of my favourites! You should, she has some great books!

  12. Lauren @ Always Me January 26, 2016 / 7:29 pm

    You know, I’ve never read a book by this author…I have been told repeatedly to pick up My Sister’s Keeper, though. I should probably get to it! πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 11:01 pm

      You really should, it’s a great book (and I think a good one to start with of hers, though I may be biased as that was the first one that I read)! No problem!

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 11:02 pm

      Yeah me too, it’s one of my favourites! You should, she has some great ones!

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 11:37 pm

      Thanks! Yeah those are definitely among my favourites as well! Oh me too, I hated the fact that they changed the ending so much! Thanks for the link, I’ll make sure to check out your TTT!

  13. Charnell @ Reviews from a Bookworm January 26, 2016 / 8:25 pm

    YAY! Great choice of topic this week. I always love freebie week as people always do such amazing topics! I love, love, LOVE Jodi Picoult. She is one of my favourite authors too!!! My favourite is My Sister’s Keeper, that was my first book I read by her and I proceeded to go and buy every book she had out at the time, now I pre-order every new release. Most of these would make my top ten JP books too, but I’d also have Perfect Match and Change of Heart, I LOVE THOSE!

    Here’s my TTT post if you want to check it out. I picked non-book romances I would love to see get book adaptations.

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 11:23 pm

      Thanks! Yeah me too, I love getting to see all the different topics people have come up with! Yay, so glad to find another fan! Awesome that My Sister’s Keeper was your first Jodi Picoult book too! Yeah, I started out by checking the library for other books of hers and then went out and proceeded to buy a lot of her books! I actually haven’t read all of them yet though! I liked Perfect Match, it probably could have made this list, I was just really trying to stick to ten this week! I haven’t read Change of Heart yet, I’ve been meaning to for a while, just never got around to it. Thanks for the link, I’ll make sure to check out your post!

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 11:03 pm

      They are, you should definitely try some of them!

  14. Beth (Reading Every Night) January 26, 2016 / 10:12 pm

    Great post, and a great pick for the freebie week!
    I haven’t read many Jodi Picoult books; I read The Pact in high school and also My Sister’s Keeper and both of them were amazing. They’re not the kind of books I normally read but I thought they were brilliant. She’s such a talented author.

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 11:05 pm

      Thanks! Yeah those two are definitely two of my favourites! Oh me either, I’m usually such a YA fantasy lover and don’t tend to venture into adult fiction much, but I just fell in love with My Sister’s Keeper and once I’d read that, I kind of just kept going! She is a brilliant author (and so lovely, I met her a couple of years ago!).

  15. Alyce @ Everything Alyce January 26, 2016 / 11:30 pm

    I absolutely adore Jodi Picoult too! My favourite is definitely ‘Sing You Home’, but I have so many more that I’ve bought and haven’t had time to read yet – I’m planning to start working through those during 2016.

    • iloveheartlandx January 26, 2016 / 11:39 pm

      Glad to find another fan! I like Sing You Home, it just didn’t make the list (aside from the top 5 which were pretty easy to do, the rest were quite hard to decide on)! Hope you enjoy the ones you’ve bought!

    • iloveheartlandx January 27, 2016 / 10:29 am

      They’re both definitely favourites of mine too! Thanks! I’ll make sure to check out yours!

  16. Angela @ Angela's Library January 27, 2016 / 12:24 am

    Have you seen the movie adaptation of My Sister’s Keeper? If so, did you like it? I heard it was pretty different from the book but haven’t seen it myself.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx January 27, 2016 / 10:31 am

      I have seen the movie adaptation of My Sister’s Keeper and I didn’t mind it (though they changed a lot!) but then they changed the end and I really hated that because the end was such a major thing in the book. No problem!

  17. Sarah January 27, 2016 / 12:28 am

    The only Jodi Picoult book I’ve read is Between the Lines, which was super cute. Will definitely have to check out some of her other stuff though.

    • iloveheartlandx January 27, 2016 / 10:32 am

      I did enjoy Between The Lines, it was a great fun read. Her other stuff is amazing, though a lot heavier subject matter wise than Between The Lines is!

  18. Kelsey January 27, 2016 / 1:05 am

    I haven’t read Jodi Picoult in AGES, but I went through a phase one summer when I read every single book of hers they had in the library. Love The Pact and Nineteen Minutes, ugh, my heart. I was celebrating freebie Top Ten Tuesday today with some favorite fictional books because…why not? πŸ˜‰

    • iloveheartlandx January 27, 2016 / 10:35 am

      I actually haven’t read anything of hers since Leaving Time but that is simply because I never got around to reading Off The Page and her latest release doesn’t come out until the end of this year. I also went through a phase where I binged all of the books of hers they had in my local library (until I had read them all, then I had to start buying!). Yeah I love The Pact and Nineteen Minutes too! Yeah favourite fictional books is a great idea for a freebie post!

  19. Pinky January 27, 2016 / 2:29 am

    Thank you for the list. I think I will start with My Sister’s Keeper. πŸ™‚

  20. Sabrina @ Sabrina's Stories January 27, 2016 / 6:07 am

    Eeep, I haven’t read anything by Jodi Picoult!
    I have heard of most of these though – My Sister’s Keeper is definitely the most hyped though.
    Maybe I will read that one day!

    • iloveheartlandx January 27, 2016 / 10:36 am

      Oh you should, her books are great. My Sister’s Keeper is amazing, hope you enjoy it, if you ever get around to reading it.

  21. Lauren @ My Expanding Bookshelf January 27, 2016 / 10:03 am

    Great list! I’ve only read My Sister’s Keeper and Picture Perfect off your list, but I own a couple more too.

    Thanks for visiting me!

    • iloveheartlandx January 27, 2016 / 10:37 am

      Thanks! Hope you enjoy the rest of the Jodi Picoult books that you own! No problem.

  22. Baggins @ Pinker Than Fiction January 27, 2016 / 10:10 am

    I’m sad to say I’ve only read one Jodi Picoult book – My Sister’s Keeper. I figured I’d just give it a go, see what I thought, next thing I knew, hours had gone by and I was a wreck! Seriously, a sobbing mess. 😦 I think that’s the reason why I haven’t read any others of hers though, I’m afraid of the pain they’ll cause! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my blog. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx January 27, 2016 / 10:39 am

      Not going to lie, her books do cause pain, but they’re so good, it’s so worth the pain! No problem!

  23. Petra January 27, 2016 / 6:45 pm

    I haven’t read anything by Jodi Picoult yet, but My Sister’s Keeper in on my TBR. I’ll definitely need to check some of these books out though. A lot of them sounds really good. Great list. Thanks for sharing, and for stopping by my TTT earlier. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx January 27, 2016 / 8:18 pm

      Oh yeah, you should definitely read My Sister’s Keeper, it’s great! Yeah all of these books are really good, you should definitely check them out. Thanks! No problem.

  24. Cilla January 28, 2016 / 3:49 am

    Between the Lines is probably the only Picoult book that I don’t love – that and the Song of the Humpback Whale, which I think is her debut – but it’s possibly because I feel it was a little too young for me. I haven’t thought about Second Glance in a while, but now that you’ve mentioned it, I remember how much I loved it when I read it! A book that I would include in my top ten Picoult books is The Tenth Circle. It was a really tough read for me, but I loved the inclusion of the graphic novels. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx January 28, 2016 / 10:47 am

      Yeah I was about 16 when I read Between The Lines, so probably more in the target age range! I didn’t actually like Songs of The Humpback Whale either, her books have definitely got a lot better since that one! Second Glance was amazing! I think I liked it so much because it was so different from all her other books. I haven’t actually read The Tenth Circle, but you’re the second person whose recommended that one to me, so maybe I should! Thanks!

  25. Alise (Readers in Wonderland) January 28, 2016 / 4:32 pm

    I’ve still yet to read a single Jodi Picoult book! I’m so behind. A lot of these are on my TBR though, looking forward to checking them out! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • iloveheartlandx January 28, 2016 / 4:44 pm

      I hope you enjoy them, when you get around to them! No problem!

  26. Cait @ Paper Fury January 30, 2016 / 3:49 am

    I’ve only read one Jodi Picoult book! (House Rules!) I loved it so will definitely want to read more someday. πŸ˜›
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    • iloveheartlandx January 30, 2016 / 1:04 pm

      House Rules is actually one of the few Jodi Picoult books I haven’t read! I will definitely have to one day though!

Leave a Reply

