Top Ten Tuesday #350

Hi all! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I have to admit the first week back to work was a bit of a shock to the system, especially the first Saturday back as I’ve not worked one of those in a while, and forgot how busy they were!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, so I have another Top Ten Tuesday (my 350th, how can it have been that many?!) for you all, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic was meant to be the Ten Most Recent Additions To My Bookshelf, but I did that fairly recently, and I’ve not added much since then, so instead I’m going to share my Top Ten Reading/Writing/Blogging Goals For 2022. I didn’t do as well on my 2021 goals as I was hoping to, so I’m hoping I will do better on this year’s goals:

  1. Complete my Goodreads Challenge

As with every year, I’ll be spending the year working towards completing my Goodreads Challenge. I’ve started again at 24, as that’s what I always do and what I managed last year, though I’m really hoping I’ll get much more reading done this year. I’d ideally like to read 50 books this year, though as I always do, I’ll be adjusting my goal depending on how much I’m reading.

2. Complete my #RockMyTBR Challenge

This one was kind of a washout last year, so I’d really like to do better on it this year than I did last year. I’ve got another 12 books on my challenge list this year, and I’m really excited for all of them, so I’m hoping I might find some new favourites among the list.

3. Read more adult historical fiction

This one is actually one that came out of my reading last year, I read quite a bit of adult historical fiction and found that I really enjoyed it, so I’d like to keep that train going this year if I can and discover some more new authors, and hopefully new favourite books.

4. Catch up on 2021 releases

I didn’t get as many 2021 releases read last year as I’d have liked because I was in a reading slump for most of the year, so I’d really like to catch up with some of the ones I missed this year as I hopefully emerge from said slump! I’ve got so many really anticipated ones still left to read: Once Upon A Broken Heart, The Bronzed Beasts, Rule of Wolves, All of Us Villains, the list goes on!

5. Continue to diversify my reading

I wanted to make this one a little more broad this year, in previous years, I’ve specifically aimed to read more by authors of colour, but this year I’d like to include more LGBTQ+ and disabled authors as well, and ideally try and make my reading as intersectional as possible!

6. Keep up with discussion posts at least once a month

I really dropped the ball on my Jo Talks posts last year, only doing three discussion posts for the whole year which is a real shame because I’ve enjoyed doing them so much since I started them five years ago. My ideal when I started was that I’d do them twice monthly but that’s got trickier since I’ve had full time work, so I’d just like to get at least one up a month this year and get back to a more regular posting schedule for that feature.

7. Have a more regular review posting schedule

Last year I got ridiculously behind on posting my reviews, so this year, I’d really like to get back to a more regular schedule so I’m not 5 reviews behind what I’m actually reading! Obviously when I’m able to write reviews will depend on how busy my work schedule is, so I’d say as a goal, I’d like to have all my reviews up within two weeks of finishing the book, hopefully that will be an achievable goal!

8. Do a book unhaul before moving in the Spring

We’re moving back to London this year, and since I’ve not done an unhaul since I moved back home from Uni in 2019, I feel like it’s about time to do another clear-out of my shelves and make sure that what I currently have are still things I want to read/want to have in my collection. After all, the only way to make room for new books is to get rid of some of the old ones!

9. Get back to working on my novel

I was in such a groove with This Is Not A Love Story last year until the lockdown was lifted and I started work at the vaccine centre and had no time to write, so I’d really like to try and get back to it this year and actually have a fully polished manuscript by the end of the year. Maybe it’s a stretch goal, but I would like to see if I can get it there!

10. Finish the books I “paused” last year (or DNF them if I decide they are not for me)

Last year I created a “on-pause” shelf on Goodreads for books I started but wasn’t in the mood for at the time. This year I’d really like to finish some of those “on pause” books as I don’t want them sitting around half-finished forever, so I either need to finish them, or decide that they’re not for me and move on. Either way, I’d really like that shelf to be empty by the end of the year. I’ve already finished This Poison Heart which was one book on the shelf, so I’m hoping I can get through the rest before December.

So there we go, those are my Reading/Writing/Blogging goals for this year! Do you set goals for the year? If not, why not? What are your goals for 2022? Do we share any? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, it’s another annual one next week, 2021 Releases I Was Excited To Read But Didn’t Get To (aka the list of shame!) and there’s going to be a lot for me this year, since due to my reading slump, I didn’t read anywhere near the number of 2021 releases I was meaning to last year.

57 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #350

  1. dinipandareads 11/01/2022 / 1:48 pm

    Great list! There are a few on here that I definitely want to do as well, like continuing to read more diversely and finishing the books I put on pause from last year 😂 I really need to get better at DNFing! Good luck with all of these goals—you totally got this! 😊

    • iloveheartlandx 14/01/2022 / 7:32 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I kind of always want that to be one of my resolutions tbh, because I always think I can do better in diversifying my reading. Ha ha same, I’m still far too in the habit of just pushing through even if I’m not enjoying something.

  2. Louise 11/01/2022 / 2:44 pm

    Great goals! I really need to have a bit of an unhaul too, and DNFing/ unpausing will probably play a part in that.

  3. Marianne Maurer 11/01/2022 / 3:38 pm

    Some good resolutions. Hope you can keep them all. The only one I have is to NOT start another challenge. I doubt I’ll be able to stick to that but … well, we can always hope.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT this week.

  4. evelynreads1 11/01/2022 / 5:39 pm

    I hope you will enjoy all of these!

  5. lindseyhabets 11/01/2022 / 5:49 pm

    These are all great goals, wishing you good luck on all of these!

  6. Tanya Atkinson 11/01/2022 / 6:01 pm

    Great goals! I hope you make good progress this year.

  7. Anne Bennett 11/01/2022 / 7:13 pm

    I’d like to rock my curent TBR, too, but I always get distracted by new books and so many of the books on my TBR languish there forever. My TTT list

    • iloveheartlandx 14/01/2022 / 7:19 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I’m shrinking the TBR one way or another (though I will likely just grow it again very quickly).

  8. FangirlFlax 11/01/2022 / 10:04 pm

    I struggle to keep up with new releases, too! Good luck with your goals.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/01/2022 / 7:17 pm

      There’s just so many, and they all seem to come out at the same time of year! Thank you 🙂

      • FangirlFlax 14/01/2022 / 10:50 pm

        Yes! Like buses, they come all at once haha.

  9. Literary Feline 11/01/2022 / 10:43 pm

    I wish you the best with your goals this year! I hope you make great progress!

  10. Jen at Introverted Reader 11/01/2022 / 11:36 pm

    I did pretty well with diversifying my books last year but I do need to work on reading more books by/about people with disabilities. A friend of mine just brought the topic up on FB and I realized that’s an area I’m lacking in. I signed up for the Bookish Resolutions challenge at Because Reading to keep me on track with my goals. Good luck with all your goals!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/01/2022 / 7:15 pm

      Yes that’s definitely one I really need to work on too, I’ve been reading more AOC and books by LGBTQ+ authors in the last few years, but I still don’t read much by disabled authors. Thank you 🙂

  11. Greg 12/01/2022 / 1:32 am

    Good luck with your goals! I love discussion posts (reading them and writing them) but have really slacked off on them.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/01/2022 / 7:13 pm

      Thank you! Yes same, so I want to make a concerted effort to change that this year 🙂

  12. Leslie 12/01/2022 / 4:04 am

    There are so many great goals here, which I also share. I wish you the best of luck with them all! ❤

  13. Marg 12/01/2022 / 7:34 am

    Good luck with your goals! I am hosting a historical fiction reading challenge if you are interested.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting

  14. owlsreads 12/01/2022 / 2:00 pm

    These are all great goals! I also hope to catch up on some 2021 releases since I left so many of them behind due to lack of reading time.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/01/2022 / 7:11 pm

      Thank you! It’s one I’ve always liked, but I definitely want to make more of an effort to explore more 🙂

  15. flikreads 12/01/2022 / 2:37 pm

    Ooo an on pause shelf, that’s a great idea. I’m gonna nick that

  16. Yvonne 12/01/2022 / 9:59 pm

    Good luck with all your goals!

  17. Rhosymedre (@Rhosymedre) 17/01/2022 / 12:46 am

    TBR challenges are one of the few I actively pursue, mostly because it ensures I am only reading books that appealed to me on their own merit, and I’m not picking up average reads just to fit a theme. Good luck on this, and all your other goals — reading through these kinds of posts is always fun. I really should do my own for ’22 already…

    Unhauling can be painful, but also satisfying. It’s certainly easier if you find that your taste in books has changed or you have a lot of books you ended up not loving after you read them — fingers crossed that applies at least in part to you.

    But even if that’s not the case, the thought of space for new books definitely helps you (or at least me) power through. A few years back, when I needed to cull dozens just to to clear the bedroom floor, I chose a really nice book on my wishlist, and promised myself I could get it if I met my goal. And then every book I picked up became — “would I trade this book for THAT book, if I could do a free swap?” It was surprising how many answers were yes! Made it much easier to put them in the donation bag.

    –RS

    • iloveheartlandx 18/01/2022 / 10:27 am

      Yes they are a great way of making sure you’re reading the books from your shelf! Oh I definitely have a least a few books that I didn’t really like that are still sitting on my shelves, so hopefully my unhaul should be at least partly successful. Ooh that’s a really good idea, I may try that when I finally get around to culling my shelves, thanks!

  18. Rissi 17/01/2022 / 6:13 pm

    I never make a Goodreads goal. For my reader personality I think it’d be an epic fail because I always have that thought in the back of my mind of “OH MY GOAL; I HAVE TO MEET THAT GOAL,” and that’d be way too much reader pressure. 😉 ALL the best with all of your goals! Hope you meet and surpass them. Thanks a bunch for visiting Finding Wonderland on this week.

    • iloveheartlandx 18/01/2022 / 10:15 am

      That’s totally fair! I tend to be quite flexible with mine and adjust it up or down throughout the year (admittedly that is me ensuring that I will always meet my goal, but I do try to adjust in line with what I’m actually reading so I’m not pushing myself to read more than I’m feeling like). Thank you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.