Top Ten Tuesday #334

Hi all! A Top Ten Tuesday on a Wednesday? We haven’t had one of these in a while! I fully intended to have this post up for you yesterday, but I got back from London at around 10 last night and I wanted to catch-up on BakeOff before I went to bed, so it was just too late by the time I was finished to put this post together!

Anyway, never mind, even though it’s Wednesday, I’m still bringing you another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we’re talking Books on Our Autumn TBR. Now I’ve been doing horribly with all my TBRs this year, of my Summer TBR, I read two books. TWO. (I mean I did read other books over the summer, but I went very off piste!). Anyway, here’s hoping my Autumn TBR will mark me actually sticking to a TBR list at least a little this year:

  1. Sorcery Of Thorns-Margaret Rogerson

This was on my Summer TBR, and I had fully intended to finish it by now, but I’ve been reading it kind of intermittently because I’ve been tired from work and honestly just found I don’t have the energy for reading physical books! I am still enjoying it though, I’m just taking my time with it!

2. Little Fires Everywhere-Celeste Ng

My current audiobook read, and I’m surprised by how fast I’ve got through it! I read over four hours just yesterday. I’m liking the writing, but the plot doesn’t seem to have much focus. I think this is going to be one of the few books that actually worked better for me on screen, because I think they streamlined the plot more and the flashbacks definitely felt more naturally included.

3. The Fair Botanists-Sara Sheridan

My current Netgalley read, I’ve been kind of stalling out on, not because it’s a bad book (honestly I’m not far enough in to tell) because it’s just been difficult to squeeze in my Netgalley reads this year, on top of work and job applications and my regular non-arc reading! I’m hoping I get to dive into it more soon though because it sounds super interesting.

4. This Poison Heart-Kalynn Bayron

I loved Cinderella Is Dead, and I’ve read a few chapters of this and it seems interesting so far, but again, I’ve just been struggling with finding the time for e-books this year. I’m hoping I’ll get around to finishing it soon because it definitely sounds up my street (and I have so many other Netgalley books to get to!).

5. Ace of Spades-Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

My September Pick-It-For-Me book from the YA Addicted Book Club, that I’m 100% going to end up reading in October, but oh well! I’ve heard really good things about this book and I’m hoping that an exciting mystery might be just the thing to break my reading slump!

6. Little Thieves-Margaret Owen

Another one on my never seems to shrink Netgalley list! I’ll be honest, the awesome cover was the main draw for this one, but the story does sound cool too, a thief who steals the life and identity of the princess she works for and then gets cursed to turn into jewels due to her stealing? Sounds just weird enough to work! Apparently it’s a retelling of the Goose Girl and I love reading fairytale retellings based off less popular fairytales.

7. A Marvellous Light-Freya Marske

This was another one where the cover held 90% of the initial appeal because it is just so gorgeous and colourful. However the book also sounds right up my street, it’s about a secret magical society in Edwardian England and the main romance is between two men, so it ticks a lot of boxes, magic, history and gay representation in historical time periods (which there 100% should be more of!).

8. A Psalm of Storms and Silence-Roseanne A. Brown

I’ve been excitedly waiting for A Psalm of Storms and Silence ever since I read A Song of Wraiths and Ruin. ASOWAR was one of my favourite books last year, and I can’t wait to see how Malik and Karina’s story ends in this one.

9. The Nobleman’s Guide To Scandal and Shipwrecks-Mackenzi Lee

It feels like I’ve been waiting forever for this one because the release date has been moved back so many times, but it’s finally set to be published in November and I’m super excited! I can’t wait to see the Goblin all grown up, not to mention see how Monty and Felicity turn out as adults.

10. The Bear and The Nightingale-Katherine Ardern

I’ve heard so many people rave about this book, and this year I want to finally jump onto the bandwagon and see what all the fuss is about. It definitely feels like a more autumnal book to me though, so I wanted to wait till it got a bit darker and colder before I dived into it, which it probably will be by the time I finish Little Fires Everywhere as the seasons are definitely on the turn now!

So there we go, those are my planned Autumn TBR books! I will probably not get to all of them, given how my reading has been going this year, but I think I’d be happy if I finished half! How about you? What’s on your Autumn TBR this year? Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next Tuesday (actually on Tuesday this time I promise!), and this time the topic is a freebie. Inspired by one of the topics I did last year, Songs Titles That Would Make Great Books, I’ve decided to do a similar but more specific topic for the freebie, and do Taylor Swift Songs That Would Make Great Books. I loved coming up with little story ideas for each one in the previous topic I did, so I thought this would be a really fun extension to the last one (and because I limited myself to only two TS songs for that list and there are so many more I want to use!).

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #334

  1. curlygeek04 22/09/2021 / 12:49 pm

    I love Katherine Arden’s series, so I hope you do too. Her books definitely have a different feel than most fantasy, and I agree this would be a good autumn/winter read.

  2. Nish 22/09/2021 / 5:29 pm

    I zipped through Little Fires everywhere, but I found the plot a little ridiculous. I hoped the series would work for me, but somehow couldn’t get past the first episode.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/09/2021 / 6:17 pm

      Yeah it is definitely a little far fetched! That’s fair enough, it’s not for everyone.

  3. evelynreads1 22/09/2021 / 5:33 pm

    I hope you will enjoy all of these!

    My post!

  4. lindseyhabets 22/09/2021 / 6:03 pm

    The Bear and the Nightingale series has been on my TBR for a while too and you’re right, it sounds like an autumnal read! Glad to hear you’re enjoying Sorcery of Thorns!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/09/2021 / 6:16 pm

      There’s definitely something about the cover that screams, late nights drawing in, cup of hot chocolate and a blanket. Thank you!

  5. Seriesbooklover 22/09/2021 / 7:06 pm

    Hope you enjoy the books on your list, some interesting titles there.

  6. Carol 22/09/2021 / 7:07 pm

    I loved Little Fires! I haven’t seen the series yet.

  7. An @ Traversing Chapters 22/09/2021 / 9:33 pm

    I loved The Bear and the Nightingale, and Sorcery of Thorns! And I hope you enjoy them just as much 🙂

  8. Louise 22/09/2021 / 11:20 pm

    I adored A Marvellous Light and Little Thieves, so I hope both work out for you! 😊

  9. Greg 23/09/2021 / 9:03 am

    I’ve been really curious about Little Fires Everywhere since hearing so much about it. Good to know!

  10. Ellie Warren 23/09/2021 / 10:51 am

    I loved most of This Poison Heart but it seemed to veer off in a different direction. I’m still deciding whether I’ll go with the sequel. Ace of Spades is great!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/09/2021 / 6:04 pm

      Oh no, that doesn’t sound great! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Ace of Spades though 🙂

  11. Marianne Maurer 23/09/2021 / 11:28 am

    Looks like you’re ready for autumn. Enjoy your books.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/09/2021 / 6:03 pm

      I definitely am, I love autumn, it’s my favourite season. Thank you!

      • Marianne Maurer 25/09/2021 / 9:58 am

        Mine, as well. ♥

  12. Tanya Atkinson 23/09/2021 / 2:58 pm

    I’ve fallen behind on the Mackenzi Lee series and really need to get caught up.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/09/2021 / 6:02 pm

      The third book doesn’t come out till November, you have time!

  13. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz 23/09/2021 / 11:14 pm

    I am interested in knowing more about The Bear and the Nightingale. I’ve also thought about reading Little Fires Everywhere.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/09/2021 / 6:02 pm

      Everyone seems to really love it, so I’m looking forward to seeing what the fuss is about. I just finished it, it was good, but the plot was a little messy and unfocused.

  14. thebookishlibra 23/09/2021 / 11:27 pm

    Good luck with this TBR. I hope you love The Bear and the Nightingale. That’s one of my favorite books. 🙂

  15. pagesandtea 24/09/2021 / 7:34 am

    I loved The Bear and The Nightingale, and the rest of that series, it was so good. Hope you enjoy it too.
    I’ve not read Little Fires Everywhere but have seen the trailer for the tv adaptation and wonder whether it would be worth a watch.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/09/2021 / 5:59 pm

      I’m glad to hear it! Thanks 🙂 I definitely enjoyed it, Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington are great!

  16. kay 28/09/2021 / 1:45 am

    I enjoyed Sorcery Of Thorns and loved The Bear and The Nightingale (I need to finish the series though!) Hope you enjoyed them too and the other books on your list, happy reading!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.