Top Ten Tuesday #304

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week this week, as usual mine was very quiet, though I have a lot of job applications to get through this week and a few video chats organised for the end of the week, so this week is looking a little busier.

Anyway, since it’s Tuesday, I have another Top Ten Tuesday for you all, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we were meant to do Books That Made Us Laugh Out Loud, but I decided to go a slightly different route: as it’s still Black History Month in the US (the UK does Black History Month in October), I wanted to share some Books By Black Authors on My TBR as there are so many great Black authored books coming out this year, and many more that have come out previously that I’m excited to read too:

  1. This Poison Heart-Kalynn Bayron

Cinderella Is Dead was one of my favourite books of last year, so naturally I’m super excited for Kalynn’s newest book, which comes out in July. The cover is gorgeous, and the story sounds great, sapphic love story with plant magic and lots of family secrets? Sign me up!

2. A Psalm of Storms and Silence (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #2)-Roseanne A. Brown

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin was another of my favourite books of last year, so I’m super excited for the sequel to release at the end of August (it was June, but has been pushed back), especially as the first book ended on a cliffhanger!

3. The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)-Namina Forna

I’ve already heard such great things about this one, it’s about a deeply patriarchal society where women are shunned or killed if they have gold blood instead of red blood. The gorgeous cover was definitely what attracted to me to this one, but it does sound like a really interesting story, so I’m excited to read it.

4. Off The Record-Camryn Garrett

As a journalist myself, I’m always interested when I see books about young journalists, and this one sounds really interesting, a teenage #metoo journalist story. I know that I’ll probably be quite picky around the journalistic details in this one since I have experience in the area but I’m still really looking forward to reading it.

5. Ace of Spades-Faridah Γ€bΓ­kΓ©-ÍyΓ­mΓ­dΓ©

I was immediately drawn to this one when I saw the Gossip Girl comparison because I was obsessed with Gossip Girl as a teenager, and it sounds so good, I’ve read very little dark academia before, Ninth House and Vicious are the only ones that really come to mind, so I’m super excited to try this one, especially because it centres Black students, and all the dark academia I’ve read before has very much centred white people.

6. Endgame (Noughts and Crosses #6)-Malorie Blackman

Agh, I can’t believe this is the last Noughts and Crosses book we’re ever going to get. I read the first Noughts and Crosses book when I was 11 and by the time one releases I’ll be almost 25! Anyway, I can’t deny I was a little disappointed by Crossfire but I’m still excited to see how this series ends.

7. Why I’m No Longer Talking To White People About Race-Reni Eddo-Lodge

Yes, I know, I know, I’m super behind the curve on this one! My sister keeps telling me to read it and that it’s super good, but I just haven’t got round to it yet. I’m definitely hoping to try and get to it this year though, as I want to educate myself more on structural racism, especially in the UK.

8. A River of Royal Blood-Amanda Joy

I added this one to my TBR a while back, but I’ve still not got around to it, since my TBR is huge and ever expanding. It does sound really good though, it’s about a sisterly rivalry which is definitely up my street.

9. A Blade So Black-LL McKinney

This one sounds really great, it’s an Alice in Wonderland retelling with a Black Alice. I’ve not been able to find this one in the UK so far and I’m trying not to buy my books from Amazon, so I’ll just have to see where I can get this from.

10. A Promised Land-Barack Obama

I got Barack Obama’s latest memoir for Christmas and wow is it a hefty tome! I will probably be dipping in and out of this one throughout the year rather than reading it in one chunk as it’s easier to do that with a non-fiction book.

So there we go, those are some of the books by Black Authors that are currently on my TBR. Do we share any? Have you read any of these (of the ones that are already published)? Are you excited for any? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Characters Whose Job I Wish I Had, and honestly I was going to try and do books where the main characters are journalists, but it turns out those are fairly few and I haven’t read most of them. This will be a tricky one to do, since I read mostly YA, but I will I give it a go!

46 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #304

  1. Alison Glass 23/02/2021 / 5:03 pm

    Love this list! I’ve actually read quite a few of these this month-The Gilded Ones was amazing!

    msginthelibrary.com

  2. Carla 23/02/2021 / 5:35 pm

    I have tried to read books dealing with racism as well as books by authors of color this month, being Black History month. I have not read any of these, but will be checking them out. Thanks.

  3. evelynreads1 23/02/2021 / 5:38 pm

    I just received my copy of The Gilded Ones, I hope we will both enjoy it!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

  4. Rabeeah 23/02/2021 / 6:10 pm

    Good luck with all the job applications, yikes!

    I like your list. I still havent read Cinderella Is Dead but that the author has a second book already bodes well! I also have The Gilded Ones on my TBR courtesy of its brilliant cover.

  5. lindseyhabets 23/02/2021 / 6:50 pm

    Great list! I hope to read The Gilded Ones soon and I also heard so many great things about A Song of Wraiths and Ruin and Cinderella is Dead, so I need to try them and their sequels/more by their authors.

  6. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 23/02/2021 / 9:37 pm

    Ace of Spades sounds amazing. And I cannot wait to start The Gilded Ones. Hope you get a chance to pick up all of these!

    • iloveheartlandx 02/03/2021 / 12:29 pm

      It does, I’m so excited for my pre-order to get here in June. Me either. Thank you πŸ™‚

  7. FangirlFlax 23/02/2021 / 9:55 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read Noughts and Crosses for ages–thank you for reminding me! Great list πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 02/03/2021 / 12:27 pm

      Thank you! Ah no problem, it was one of my favourite series when I was a kid πŸ™‚

      • FangirlFlax 02/03/2021 / 4:37 pm

        I’ve heard so many good things about, especially after the TV series!

      • iloveheartlandx 09/03/2021 / 1:13 pm

        The TV series was pretty good, but there’s a lot they missed out from the book, so definitely recommend reading the book first.

      • FangirlFlax 09/03/2021 / 6:52 pm

        Isn’t that always the way! πŸ˜…

  8. Leslie 24/02/2021 / 12:01 am

    I cannot wait to read The Gilded Ones!! Such an awesome list of books! Good luck with A Promised Land!! πŸ™‚

  9. Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies 24/02/2021 / 1:01 am

    Great list and great topic! The Gilded Ones looks like it will be amazing. My daughter loved A Blade So Black, and I finally borrowed a copy from the library!

  10. Greg 24/02/2021 / 6:26 am

    I would imagine Obama’s book is a treasure trove of info. I want to get it.

  11. Marianne Maurer 24/02/2021 / 11:26 am

    Brilliant idea. Honestly, I haven’t read any of them though Barack Obama’s is on my wishlist (I have read his others, though) and I’ll read it as soon as I’ll get my hands on them.

    I do read a lot of books by black authors and/or about racism, though, and did a post with all the Anti-Racism books I read – and some more. My last books were:
    Harris, Kamala “The Truths We Hold. An American Journey” – 2019
    and
    Morrison, Toni “A Mercy” – 2008

    Currently I’m reading:
    Jacobs, Harriet Ann (Linda Brent) “Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl” – 1861

    Thanks for visiting my TTT earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 02/03/2021 / 12:25 pm

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy Barack Obama’s books. I’ll have to check out your list, I’m definitely trying to educate myself more in this area.

      • Marianne Maurer 02/03/2021 / 12:58 pm

        It is so much easier for us who love reading to educate ourselves. Even if a book is a little weary (not that any of those books we mentioned is), we can always read a few pages every day.

        If you are looking for more books, I created an anti-racism list (including Barack Obama’s reading lists) a while ago where I add new books all the time.

      • iloveheartlandx 09/03/2021 / 1:15 pm

        It definitely is! Oh thank you, I will definitely check that out πŸ™‚

      • Marianne Maurer 09/03/2021 / 4:26 pm

        You’re welcome. Every little helps. I hope.

  12. dinipandareads 28/02/2021 / 2:21 pm

    Love your topic choice and I agree–there are so many amazing books coming out and I want them all! 😍 Almost all of these (well, the first books for the sequels) are on my TBR and I can’t wait to give them a try! I’ve heard so many great things about all of them. Fab list!

    • iloveheartlandx 02/03/2021 / 12:14 pm

      Thank you! Ha ha same, my poor bank account doesn’t stand a chance. I hope you enjoy all of them πŸ™‚

  13. Rissi 01/03/2021 / 8:18 pm

    Hope you enjoy all of these, Jo!! Happy reading and as always, thanks for visiting Finding Wonderland on this week.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.