Top Ten Tuesday #303

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week this past week, as always, mine has been very quiet as is usual for life under lockdown. So today is apparently Mardi Gras, which we don’t really do in the UK, the day before Lent in the UK is Shrove Tuesday, or Pancake Day depending on whether you observe the religious aspects or not, we don’t in our family, but we do still eat pancakes because let’s face it, any excuse to eat pancakes!

Anyway, with that in mind, today’s Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl, is Mardi Gras themed, so we’re sharing Books With Purple, Yellow and Green Covers, the colours of Mardi Gras. I actually thought this one would be more tricky than it was, but it turns out there are a lot of books with these colour covers. As with my Valentine’s Cover topic last week, these covers won’t necessarily have all three colours on them, but they will have at least one:

  1. The Kingdom of Copper (Daevabad Trilogy #2)-SA Chakraborty
39988431. sy475

I love the covers for this series so much, honestly I could have used The Empire of Gold as well because it has a purple cover, but I decided to stick to just one from this series. This series has the most gorgeous covers and I highly recommend the series as well, it was one of my favourites from last year.

2. The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves #1)-Roshani Chokshi

39863498

This series also has some of the most gorgeous covers, I cannot wait till The Bronzed Beasts comes out and I can see all three of the covers together. Anyway, I love everything about this cover, the green, the purple and the gold work so well together and the leaves and flowers are really fitting as one of the characters is a botanist and gardens play quite a big role in the story.

3. Into The Crooked Place (Into The Crooked Place #1)-Alexandra Christo

43550637. sy475

I love the dark purple colour of this one, purple is one of my favourite colours anyway, and this is a really pretty shade. The black and the silver also look really good on this background, and I love the silvery spirals. This book is also really great, I loved the group dynamics, and it had lots of great twists and turns, I can’t wait to read the sequel when it comes out next month as it left off on a serious cliffhanger!

4. The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (The Hunger Games #0)-Suzanne Collins

51901147. sy475

Honestly everything about this book was a let down. The cover itself is pretty ugly, and the story itself was slow and kind of boring. However it does have a yellow and green cover, so it fits the topic!

5. Hamilton and Peggy!: A Revolutionary Friendship-LM Elliott

35068727

So it’s kind of a turquoise-y cover rather than pure green, but I figured it still counted, plus it also has yellow on it! I really enjoyed this book, I learned a lot about Peggy that I didn’t really know, since Hamilton kind of reduces her down to “And Peggy!” but in real life she was so much more than that. I love the little cameo of Hamilton at the top, the nod to the 18th century setting, and the colours match really well.

6. Daughter of The Burning City-Amanda Foody

35214860. sy475

I think this is my favourite of Amanda Foody’s covers, I love the colours, that shade of purple is so nice and I love the way the stripes in the background kind of look like a circus tent. It’s a really cool story as well, it’s basically a circus murder mystery but the murder victims are illusions, who aren’t supposed to be able to die!

7. Rebel of The Sands (Rebel of The Sands #1)-Alwyn Hamilton

24934065. sy475

I love this cover so much! The colours are gorgeous (and I’m not usually a fan of either green or yellow but these are really nice shades), the way that it resembles a night sky is so nice and I love the little black silhouettes. I highly recommend this book, it’s a fun, fast paced story and the main character Amani is great. I could have used the second book in the series for this one too as it has a purple cover, but since I used it for my purple covers topic, I decided not to.

8. Kingdom of Ash (Throne of Glass #7)-Sarah J Maas

33590260

I generally like the UK Throne of Glass covers, but I was definitely a bit jealous of this US cover for the final book, it’s so vivid, it really looks like the background is flames, and you don’t get the same effect with the UK cover as the background is white. I did generally enjoy the final Throne of Glass book, but there’s no denying that it did NOT NEED TO BE OVER 900 PAGES.

9. This Poison Heart-Kalynn Bayron

43911432. sy475

This one comes out in July, and I’m super excited for it, because I loved Cinderella Is Dead last year and this one sounds just as good. It also has all three colours of this week’s theme, the background is green, there’s yellow writing, and Bri has purple flowers in her hair. Whoever designed this cover did a really great job, I love the nature theme, and it’s such a bright and colourful cover!

10. Forest of A Thousand Lanterns (Rise of The Empress #1)-Julie C.Dao

33958230

Look it’s the YA Book Snake! I have to admit, this isn’t my favourite cover, I like the green background, but the flower and the snake definitely seem like stock photos which is not my favourite cover trend. I actually prefer the US paperback, which is a more illustrated cover. Still, it does fit the theme, with the green and the yellow on the cover.

So there we go, those are my Purple, Yellow and Green covers for Mardi Gras! Have you read any of these? Are any on your TBR? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic was meant to be Books That Make Us Laugh Out Loud, but I’ve decided to go a little off course and instead talk about Books By Black Authors On My TBR, Leah from Leah’s Books topic last week reminded me that we haven’t ever really done a topic for Black History Month before, so I wanted to take the chance to talk about all of the great Black authored books that I’m excited to read.

67 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #303

  1. Anne Bennett 16/02/2021 / 5:01 pm

    You found some stunning example this week. I found The Gilded Wolves to be a very surprising book. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:50 pm

      Thank you! Yes, it definitely had a lot of twists and turns πŸ™‚

  2. evelynreads1 16/02/2021 / 5:13 pm

    Great list! I lvoe The Kingdom of Copper and The Gilded Wolves!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

  3. Lee 16/02/2021 / 5:44 pm

    In love with your list!! I was thinking about checking out Cinderella Is Dead. May need to before book 2 comes out.

    Here’s My Top 10 List

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:50 pm

      Thank you! Cinderella is Dead is a standalone and her new release is unrelated, so you don’t have to read Cinderella is Dead to read the new one (though I do recommend it, it’s super good!).

  4. lindseyhabets 16/02/2021 / 6:51 pm

    Any excuse for pancakes is indeed a good excuse to me too πŸ™‚
    I love the cover for The Gilded Wolves and also The Kingdom of Copper!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:48 pm

      Pancakes are the best! Yes, they are both so gorgeous πŸ™‚

  5. brookelorren 16/02/2021 / 8:16 pm

    I didn’t know if I’d have an easy time this week either, but I was surprised at how many I found! I really need to read Daughter of the Burning City.

  6. Leah's Books 16/02/2021 / 8:23 pm

    This is such a great list! I loved The Gilded Wolves and Kingdom of Ash, and I can’t wait to read The Kingdom of Copper!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:47 pm

      Thank you! The Gilded Wolves was so great, I did enjoy Kingdom of Ash but it’s not my favourite Throne of Glass book. I hope you enjoy The Kingdom of Copper πŸ™‚

  7. girlplusbooks 16/02/2021 / 8:33 pm

    Such gorgeous picks! I love the cover of Into the Crooked Place.

  8. Susan 16/02/2021 / 8:51 pm

    I don’t celebrate Mardi Gras (it’s not a thing in Arizona) or Lent (I’m not Catholic). Pancake Day, though? That sounds like my kind of holiday! Enjoy your pancakes today πŸ™‚

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:44 pm

      Yeah, I don’t either, Mardi Gras isn’t a thing in the UK either nor am I a Catholic. Pancake Day is technically meant to have religious links (something about eating up all your bad food before Lent) but a lot of Brits just do it for the pancakes like me! Thank you, the pancakes were delicious πŸ™‚

  9. Leslie 16/02/2021 / 9:01 pm

    Great list! I’m currently 40% of the way in Empire of Gold and it’s so good. Such a great series but I’m so nervous for the end!

  10. Sarah - SWB 16/02/2021 / 9:20 pm

    There are some gorgeous covers in there! I’ve got This Poison Heart on order!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:41 pm

      Thank you! I’ve not decided whether I’m going to get This Poison Heart on audio or in paperback yet, but that cover is definitely tempting me.

  11. Ellie Warren 16/02/2021 / 9:49 pm

    These are a pretty bunch of covers. I can’t wait for the next Gilded Wolves book!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:36 pm

      Thank you! Me either, I’m only halfway through The Silvered Serpents, but already excited for Book 3.

  12. Felicia Sue Lynn Reviews 16/02/2021 / 10:02 pm

    I’m also super excited for the new Kalynn Bayron book! I still have to read Cinderella is Dead but it’s on my tbr this month 😁

  13. FangirlFlax 16/02/2021 / 10:28 pm

    I’ve never heard of Daughter of the Burning City, but the cover is stunning! And always welcome to see an appearance from the infamous YA snake, haha! Happy TTT, and happy pancake day πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:30 pm

      I definitely recommend it, it was a really fun read. Ha ha love it when the YA snake pops up. Thank you πŸ™‚

  14. 1girl2manybooks 16/02/2021 / 10:44 pm

    All the Daevabad Trilogy has such great covers! So does the Rebel of the Sands trilogy, that is the style of cover I have and I love them all. I also really like the cover of Gilded Wolves.

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:28 pm

      They really do! Ah yes, the Rebel of The Sands trilogy covers look so gorgeous together, I especially love the orange of the third one, it’s so vibrant. Yes, The Gilded Wolves has such a lovely cover πŸ™‚

  15. Nicole @ BookWyrmKnits 16/02/2021 / 11:31 pm

    You found some great covers! I’ll agree, this prompt was easier than I had expected it to be. (And yay pancakes!)

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:27 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I think when I saw green and yellow I was a bit stumped because those aren’t colours I usually go for, but it turns out I’ve read more books with those colour covers than I thought. Pancakes are the best!

      • Nicole @ BookWyrmKnits 18/02/2021 / 5:15 pm

        I’ve found that the colors I like in book covers don’t always match up with the colors I like for other things. I’m a lot pickier with colors for my clothing, for example, than colors for book covers.

      • iloveheartlandx 23/02/2021 / 3:36 pm

        That’s an interesting point, I didn’t think of that!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:26 pm

      Thank you! Yes, that whole series has the most gorgeous covers, The Silvered Serpents one is my favourite, it’s so wintery πŸ™‚

  16. Ashley S. 17/02/2021 / 12:50 am

    So many pretty covers! I’m especially drawn to those purple ones. πŸ™‚

  17. thebookishlibra 17/02/2021 / 2:44 am

    Gorgeous covers and a big yes to any excuse to eat pancakes! πŸ™‚

  18. Greg 17/02/2021 / 6:38 am

    Beautiful, especially the Dao one. I love covers with green and purple.

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:23 pm

      Thanks! I didn’t think I was a massive fan of green covers, but I managed to find some really pretty ones πŸ™‚

  19. pagesandtea 17/02/2021 / 8:41 am

    What a lovely set of covers. The City of Brass is on my TBR and am looking forward to starting that series so will hopefully get around to Kingdom of Copper sometime soon.

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:21 pm

      Thanks! It really does, all the colours are so pretty πŸ™‚

  20. owlsreads 17/02/2021 / 12:09 pm

    I also love all the cover for the Daevabad Trilogy! And I’d never seen that cover for Into the Crooked Place before! It’s gorgeous πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:18 pm

      They’re so pretty! Yeah, it’s the UK cover for it. The sequel’s cover is really lovely too, it’s a gorgeous red!

  21. Marianne Maurer 17/02/2021 / 1:12 pm

    Ooooh, I love the colour from “The Kingdom of Copper”, such a beautiful green. And with the golden letters. Beautiful.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:17 pm

      I know, it’s such a lovely shade, I don’t usually like green but that dark green with the gold looks so nice. All the covers for that series are lovely, though I only have the first book, I read the other two on audio.

      • Marianne Maurer 19/02/2021 / 10:51 am

        The covers for those historical novels are usually very nice. I’m reading a series by Alison Weir about the Tudor Queens, all such pretty colours.
        But for me, green is my absolutely favourite colour.

      • iloveheartlandx 23/02/2021 / 3:33 pm

        Yes, they do have some lovely covers, historical novels. Ooh yeah, I had to read some Alison Weir for my History coursework in school (her non-fiction obviously), it was pretty good. It depends on the shade, I quite like a dark green, not so keen on the brighter shades.

      • Marianne Maurer 26/02/2021 / 11:38 am

        Her fictional history novels are also great. Green is my favourite colour but the darker the better.

      • iloveheartlandx 02/03/2021 / 12:16 pm

        I will have to check them out sometime πŸ™‚

      • Marianne Maurer 02/03/2021 / 12:19 pm

        Happy Reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/02/2021 / 2:16 pm

      Thanks! I do like the UK covers, but the American covers are just so colourful!

  22. Shaz 18/02/2021 / 10:11 pm

    Ah all of these covers are so vibrant 😍 Rebel of The Sands is stunning and on my TBR.

    • iloveheartlandx 23/02/2021 / 3:35 pm

      Yes, I was so pleased to find such a bright array of colours. Highly recommend Rebel of The Sands, it’s a brilliant book πŸ™‚

  23. Rose @ Wanders Between Pages 22/02/2021 / 2:48 am

    Those are really good-looking books! I have heard a lot of good things about those books. I wanna get my hands on some of them.

    • iloveheartlandx 23/02/2021 / 3:31 pm

      Thank you! I’ve read all but two of them and most I would highly recommend. I hope you enjoy the ones you want to read πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.