Top Ten Tuesday #274

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone, hope you all had a good week since I last did one of these, mine was as it always seems to be these days, very quiet!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, and so that means another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we have free rein to do whatever topic we’d like, so I’m talking the Top Ten Longest Books On My TBR. I do have a tendency to feel quite intimidated by long books and avoid them because they take me such a long time to read, but these are all ones I want to get around to at some point!

  1. House of Earth and Blood-Sarah J Maas-803 pages

As always, Sarah J Maas’ newest book is a CHUNKY ONE. I’ve heard really good things about this one but obviously it’s a massive time comminment! I think I might check out the audiobook before the end of the year as I tend to find larger books slightly more palatable in that format.

2. A Court of Wings and Ruin-Sarah J Maas-699 pages

I’m not going to lie, I’m a little ashamed of how long this one has been on my shelf, I bought it at YALC in 2017 and for whatever reason have been putting off reading it ever since! Still, we now know that A Court of Silver Flames is coming out next year, so I plan on catching up before it comes out.

3. Dreams of Gods and Monsters-Laini Taylor-613 pages

I was so disappointed by Days of Blood and Starlight when I read it in 2018 that I haven’t got around to reading the final book in the trilogy. I will at some point but it’s not top of my list at the moment.

4. Seasons of War-Derek Landy-592 pages

The latest Skulduggery Pleasant book only came out in April, so I haven’t left it that long yet, but I’m hoping to fit it in before the end of the year, because Bedlam ended in such an exciting place and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

5. It’s Not Ok To Feel Blue-Scarlett Curtis and contributors-576 pages

This mental health anthology is a thick one! It’s made up of different essays though, so I think it will be one that I dip in and out of between reading other books.

6. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue-VE Schwab-560 pages

VE Schwab’s latest release isn’t out till October but it’s definitely a chunky one! I can’t wait to finally get my hands on this one, it’s my most anticipated release of this year.

7. House Rules-Jodi Picoult-554 pages

One of the few books in Jodi Picoult’s back catalogue that I have yet to read, I wasn’t expecting this one to be as thick as it was when I got it! Murder mystery is not a type of story I’ve ever read from Jodi Picoult before so I’m interested to see what she did with it.

8. Inkheart-Cornelia Funke-544 pages

I feel like kind of a bad bookworm for not having read this one yet, since it seems to be one of those classic “books about books” and it definitely sounds like the sort of book that I would love.

9. The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle-Stuart Turton-528 pages

I’ll admit, crime is not my usual genre but I heard so much good stuff about this one that I just had to get it. I still haven’t got round to it yet but I’m hoping to soon, I really want to see what all the fuss was about.

10. Thunderhead-Neal Shusterman-515 pages

I meant to read the sequel to Scythe much earlier, but when it comes to narrowing down my reading choices when I have little time, the 500+ page books are the first to go. Now that the trilogy is complete, I definitely need to get around to reading this one soon.

So there we go, these are the longest books on my TBR at the moment! Have you read any of these? Did you enjoy them? Are you slightly intimidated by longer books? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week for another Top Ten Tuesday, this time we’ll be talking about Books With Colours In Their Titles, and honestly I don’t think I know many, at least not that are on my TBR, but I’ll give it a go!

65 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #274

  1. lydiaschoch 28/07/2020 / 11:08 am

    I’m intimidated by long books, too. Hope you enjoy these ones.

    My TTT .

  2. Jess @ Jessticulates 28/07/2020 / 11:40 am

    Great list! I love Inkheart, so I definitely recommend checking it out, and I loved the latter two books in the trilogy even more. I’m still quite intimidated by really big books, but I must admit I’ve been tackling some of the chunkier books on my TBR this year and I’ve really enjoyed spending so much time with one story!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:27 pm

      Thank you! I definitely feel like I missed out on something by not reading it when I was a kid, so I want to rectify that soon. It depends for me, if I really love the book then it’s great but obviously if I’m not that keen then spending so much time with one story is not so fun!

  3. nbiblioholic 28/07/2020 / 12:59 pm

    I can’t speak to all of these (great list btw), but House of Earth and Blood was an amazing read for me so I hope you LOVE it!

    Here’s my TTT post.

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:20 pm

      Thank you! I’ve heard lots of good things so I’m sure I will enjoy it, just have to find the time to read it.

  4. Michelle (@PinkPlkaDotBlog) 28/07/2020 / 1:10 pm

    I didn’t realize Evelyn Hardcastle was so long!! It’s definitely on my TBR and I get intimidated by long books!! Also, I just decided to go back and read some old Jody Picoult, and the book I downloaded on audio is 18 hours long on 1.25 speed. YIKES!!!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:17 pm

      Yeah, I think because it’s a paperback, it looks deceptively short! Sheesh, her books aren’t all that long I swear!

  5. ich lese 28/07/2020 / 1:27 pm

    Evelyn Hardcastle felt like a quick read despite it’s page number!

    I can’t wait for Addie LaRue. I’m so on the hype train for that book. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:16 pm

      That’s good to hear! Me too, seems like almost everyone online is 🙂

  6. bevbaird 28/07/2020 / 2:32 pm

    Just finished Maas’ new book Crescent City and loved it. It was 799 pages – and I just wanted more. Great list of books.

  7. Louise H 28/07/2020 / 2:58 pm

    I love a long book so long as either the pace isn’t too slow or it isn’t stuffed with filler rather than plot. Hope you enjoy these!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:14 pm

      Unfortunately those are common problems with longer books! Thank you 🙂

  8. Epsita 28/07/2020 / 2:59 pm

    Great list! I am excited for Addie LaRue too!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:13 pm

      Thanks! That’s definitely one of the big advantages of audio 🙂

  9. The Book Lover's Sanctuary 28/07/2020 / 3:25 pm

    Inkheart was so much fun – despite the film of it! And I have been meaning to get round to Evelyn Hardcastle for a while, and crime IS sort of my thing!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:13 pm

      I’ve never actually seen the film, I’ve heard it’s bad though. I hope you enjoy Evelyn Hardcastle!

  10. evelynreads1 28/07/2020 / 5:00 pm

    Those SJM books are so long! I cannot wait for Schwab’s newest book!

    My post!

  11. Rachel 28/07/2020 / 6:04 pm

    The longest books on my TBR are probably Dumas books and Stephen King books, all a bit over 1,000 pages! Ugh. – Rachel x

  12. Louise 28/07/2020 / 6:25 pm

    I feel the same way about long books, I’m always a little intimidated and put off by the time they’ll take.

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:10 pm

      Yeah, the time commitment is always a big one for me, a long book could take me anywhere from two weeks to a month which is a long time to spend with one book.

  13. Poinsettia 28/07/2020 / 6:35 pm

    Long books can be intimidating. I hope you enjoy these if you decide to read them. Here is our Top Ten Tuesday.

  14. Leslie - Mama Needs A Book 28/07/2020 / 7:09 pm

    I want to read The Invisible Life of Addie La Rue sooooo baaadly! I was rejected on NetGalley and absolutely dying for it to come out. The Seven (and a half) Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle was a great book.

    The solution to being intimidated by really long books is to go out and read some Stephen King (The Stand: 823 pages, IT: 1138, 11/22/63: 849) and then no other books seem long ever again, lol. Actually if a book is good, you usually won’t remember the page numbers once you get hooked.

    My TTT: https://mamaneedsabook.blogspot.com/2020/07/next-up-classics.html

    • iloveheartlandx 14/08/2020 / 2:42 pm

      Oh no! At least you don’t have too long to wait, October is less than 2 months away now! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Evelyn Hardcastle. Ha ha that wouldn’t really work for me as I’m not a horror fan.

  15. evelynb98 28/07/2020 / 7:56 pm

    You have some abosolute monsters on your TBR! but I’m not surprised Maas is the top two lol. I’m also really intimidated by long books but I always seem to enjoy them more than short ones in the end so really I should stop being so scared of them

    My TTT: https://moonlitbooks.home.blog/2020/07/28/tttnewauthors/

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:04 pm

      Yup, I seem to gravitate to authors who write really long books despite being completely intimidated by them! I definitely get that, some of my favourite books are long ones, but they still really scare me.

  16. anovelglimpse 28/07/2020 / 8:12 pm

    I used to have Outlander on my TBR. I took that sucker off because it was so long. I admire the lengths you have here!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:03 pm

      Oh much as I enjoy the TV show, I know I will never be tackling the Outlander books, they are just too long! Ha ha thanks 🙂

  17. tracybham 28/07/2020 / 8:19 pm

    I procrastinate about reading long books too. I have The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, but keep putting it off. Thanks for visiting my blog (Bitter Tea and Mystery).

  18. Brooke Lorren (@Brookelorren) 28/07/2020 / 8:33 pm

    It seems like 500 page books are the norm. I have the Addie LaRue ARC, I didn’t realize it was that long but I’m looking forward to reading it!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:01 pm

      I mean I read a lot of fantasy, so those books tend to lean towards the long side anyway. I hope you enjoy it!

  19. Sarah - SWB 28/07/2020 / 9:03 pm

    I’ve not read any of these! I don’t mind a long book but I think I have to have it in the right format, as lovely as a fancy hardback is I can’t carry that around on my commute!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 2:01 pm

      I can definitely understand that, large books are quite unwieldy! I had to get the audiobook to actually read Priory of The Orange Tree because as beautiful as that hardback is, it was not practical to take on the bus to work!

  20. 1girl2manybooks 28/07/2020 / 11:32 pm

    I used to only read really chunky, long books when I was a poor university student – if I was going to buy a book, I wanted bang for my buck! Now I have to really be in the mood to settle in with a book of that size

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 1:58 pm

      I can definitely understand that! I actually largely avoided bigger books whilst I was at Uni, but that was mostly just due to time, I found I could fit more reading in if I read shorter books!

  21. Leah 29/07/2020 / 1:36 am

    I really enjoyed your list. I haven’t had the wherewithal to read a big book in a while. COVID has made me a little scatter brained. I hope to get to a big book again.

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 1:56 pm

      Thanks! I totally get that, COVID’s more affected my writing than my reading but I definitely understand not being in the headspace to tackle stuff right now. I hope you start to feel more able to manage them soon 🙂

  22. foreverlostinlit 29/07/2020 / 5:27 am

    I really need to check out Maas’ latest also, 800+ is definitely chunky! I forgot how big Inkheart was, it’s so good! Those pages fly by. 🙂 I really need to catch up on the Scythe books, I’ve still only read the first one!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 1:55 pm

      So big! Honestly I think in future I’m probably going to go audiobook for all of hers, I just find larger books so much easier to manage that way. That’s great to hear about Inkheart. Ha ha same!

  23. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 29/07/2020 / 4:44 pm

    Great choice this week! Big books are such a commitment! I haven’t read any of these either, but I do want to read Evelyn Hardcastle someday. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 1:53 pm

      Thanks! They really are, especially if you end up not enjoying them. I hope you enjoy that one when you do read it 🙂

  24. bookbosomedlondoner 29/07/2020 / 5:03 pm

    Great list and completely get what you mean, I have some hefty tomes on my TBR as well… I’ve started saving them for later in the year when the weather isn’t as great and I’ve gotten on top of my reading goal for the year! I’ve got ‘A Little Life’ and ‘Black Leopard, Red Wolf’ just waiting for me right now!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 1:51 pm

      Thanks! I always find people saying that and it’s quite funny to me because I’ve always done the exact opposite, my longer reads in the past have always been reserved for the summer because that’s when I’ve not been in school/Uni, though that’s not as much of a consideration since I graduated last year. I hope you enjoy both of those 🙂

  25. Laurie C 29/07/2020 / 10:39 pm

    I did Top Ten Big Books for my list, too! I listened to Inkheart on audio many years ago but that’s the only one on your list that I’ve read. My books are all over 400 pages, and some are over 800, so I’m probably crazy to think I’m actually going to read them! I haven’t had the attention span for a long print book for months, but I decided to tackle at least one for the Big Book Summer challenge. Good luck!

  26. Aj @ Read All The Things! 30/07/2020 / 12:24 am

    I really want to reread the Scythe books, but I’ve been putting it off because they’re so big! I’m excited for Addie LaRue too. I’ll try not to let the size scare me.

    • iloveheartlandx 30/07/2020 / 1:12 pm

      Definitely get that! I mean weirdly I actually find that VE Schwab’s longer books are better paced than her shorter ones if that helps any!

  27. Louise @ Monstrumology 30/07/2020 / 11:56 pm

    I wasn’t aware that VE Schwab’s next book is so long, but for once that’s not putting me off 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 05/08/2020 / 8:17 pm

      I always find big books less offputting when they come from one of my favourite authors!

  28. Catherine 01/08/2020 / 6:31 pm

    For some reason I get more intimidated by long books as I get older – the hardest part is starting them though!

    • iloveheartlandx 05/08/2020 / 8:05 pm

      I definitely get that, I think it’s just (right now not withstanding) I usually only have a limited time to read. Oh 100%, once I’m actually into the book, I don’t usually find it hard to finish.

  29. booksandbark 01/08/2020 / 9:08 pm

    The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is so twisty! I love traditional mysteries and this definitely wasn’t one of them, so I think it’ll be perfect for you as a non-mystery fan!

    • iloveheartlandx 05/08/2020 / 8:03 pm

      That’s good to hear! I do actually like crime TV shows quite a bit, it’s just not a genre I end up reading very often!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.