Top Ten Tuesday #273

TTT-Big2

 

 

 

 

 

Hi all! I hope you’ve all had a good week, mine was very quiet once again. This weekend was meant to be YALC but of course it was yet another casualty of the pandemic. This is the first year that it’s not been on since I started going in 2015 and I’m not going to lie, whilst I of course understand why it’s not on this year, I’m still really disappointed. My friend Hannah and I go every year, it’s my favourite weekend of the year and it feels really strange not to be excitedly planning all the authors I want to see right now!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, and so that means another Top Ten Tuesday courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic actually works really well for the week that YALC should have been as we were meant to be talking Book Festivals I’d Like To Go To Someday. I’ve decided to twist it slightly and talk about Authors I’d Like To See At Next Year’s YALC:

  1. VE Schwab

VE Schwab is one of my favourite authors so I love getting to see her at YALC, even if her queues are always massive! She’s so lovely and it’s always a joy to get to see her and have my books signed.

2. Samantha Shannon

Another one of my favourite authors, she seems to be a pretty consistent YALC guest, so I’m hoping she’ll be back again next year where we can all tell her how much The Mask Falling broke us (because let’s face it, it will).

3. Derek Landy

Yet another of my perennial favourites, Derek is always so funny and I swear one of these days Hannah and I are going to meet him without being embarrassing. One day.

4. Alwyn Hamilton

Hannah and I have seen Alwyn at YALC every single year since we first started going, and in 2015, she hadn’t even published her debut yet so that’s a pretty cool thing to be able to say! She’s so lovely and she always remembers us as well, so I’m really looking forward to (hopefully) seeing her again next year.

5. Leigh Bardugo

Honestly having any US based authors at YALC next year is probably a pipe dream considering *gestures at current state of the US* but hey, it’s my list and no one said it had to be realistic! I’ve come really close to almost meeting Leigh Bardugo on a few occasions (still really regret not taking my friend up on her offer to go to an event with her a few years ago, but I hadn’t read her books then and didn’t know how much I’d love them). Anyway, I’d really love to finally be able to meet her, so it would be great if she was invited to YALC.

6. Alexandra Christo

I really enjoyed both of Alexandra Christo’s books last year, and I know that the second Into The Crooked Place book is scheduled to release next year (at least the last I checked) so it would be really great if she was at YALC next year as well!

7. Laura Bates

This is less from an author perspective as I’ve actually not yet read any of her books (I will get around to Everyday Sexism, I just haven’t yet) and more from a journalism perspective as I really love her columns in The Guardian!

8. Stephanie Garber

I’ve seen Stephanie express interest in coming to YALC on her Instagram before so it would be really cool if she did, even if it’s not next year! I have a signed Legendary and Finale, but it would be great to have the signed Caraval to complete the set.

9. Amanda Foody

I love Amanda’s books so much and she’s not done any events in the UK before, so it would be really great if she was invited to YALC and I was able to meet her!

10. Tomi Adeyemi

I missed getting to meet Tomi when she was at YALC in 2018, because her queue was too long and she had to leave, so it would be awesome if she came back to YALC again and I could finally tell her how much I loved Children of Blood and Bone.

So there we go, those are the authors that I’d love to see at YALC next year! Who would you like to see, if you’re based in the UK and go to YALC? Are there any authors that you would really love to meet? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, this time we have a Freebie, so that’s free rein to do any topic that we like. The more topics we do, the more I find it tricky to come up with these freebies! Anyway, since one of my goals for this year is to read more of the long books on my TBR, I’m going to talk about Longest Books On My TBR That I Need To Read!

 

64 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #273

  1. lydiaschoch 21/07/2020 / 1:07 pm

    I’d sure like to meet Tomi, too!

    My TTT .

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:42 pm

      Yes, was so sad to miss out on meeting her at YALC when she was there, though I guess it’s a good thing that she was so popular that her line was too long!

  2. mybookworld24 21/07/2020 / 1:50 pm

    Cool post!

  3. vee_bookish 21/07/2020 / 2:16 pm

    I keep forgetting that YALC is UK Based, I keep assuming it’s American. I had no idea it was supposed to be this week, I guess that explains the theme!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:40 pm

      Nope it’s British! I think it was just a happy coincidence that this particular theme was the same week that it would have been πŸ™‚

  4. Witch's Reading Blog 21/07/2020 / 2:36 pm

    Take me with you to this festival, I would love to meet all of them. Fangirling just imagining it

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:38 pm

      It would be an amazing line up if they were all there at the same time!

  5. bookbosomedlondoner 21/07/2020 / 2:39 pm

    I got to go to a VE Schwab signing in Waterstones last year. She’s so lovely!

  6. Tina 21/07/2020 / 2:47 pm

    This is what I like about TTT – I learn about new authors. I was not familiar with most of those you listed. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:35 pm

      Yay, I’m glad to have helped you find some new authors πŸ™‚

  7. lindseyhabets 21/07/2020 / 2:57 pm

    Great list! I really want to meet V.E. Schwab and Leigh Bardugo as well. Hope you’ll get to meet all of these authors some day!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:35 pm

      Thanks! I’ve actually met some of them already (VE Schwab, Derek Landy, Alwyn Hamilton, Samantha Shannon) and would love to see them again, though the rest are all ones I haven’t met πŸ™‚

  8. nbiblioholic 21/07/2020 / 3:10 pm

    Woo hoo! I’d love to see all of these authors too πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:33 pm

      Thanks! Ah I’m so jealous, I’ve come close to being able to meet her, but the timing has never quite worked out πŸ™‚

  9. Jess @ Jessticulates 21/07/2020 / 3:35 pm

    Great list! One of these days I need to go to YALC. I was lucky enough to meet Leigh Bardugo last year – I went to her event in Oxford during her Ninth House book tour, where Samantha Shannon was her interviewer, actually! – and she was so nice and funny and gracious. I’d love to meet her again.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:32 pm

      Thanks! Ah it’s so much fun, always my favourite weekend of the year. That’s awesome! I really wanted to go to one of her Ninth House events, but unfortunately was working on the day she was in London and wouldn’t have been able to make it down in time for the start of the event. I’m hoping she will be back soon, though with coronavirus, it seems unlikely!

  10. Great list, really hope we get to see Derek again! And VE Schwab 😍 the author I most want to me is of course Rick Riordan but I know my chances are slim 😩

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:27 pm

      Thanks πŸ™‚ Me too, love them both. Of course, same here but it does seem very unlikely!

  11. Leah 21/07/2020 / 7:46 pm

    YALC is one event I forget to add to my list. I would love to see Samantha Shannon here in the States,

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:25 pm

      She’s definitely mentioned on her social media that she’d like to go, but obviously coronavirus has kind of screwed things up on that front for a while at least!

  12. Poinsettia 21/07/2020 / 7:54 pm

    I hope you get to meet all these authors some day! Here is our Top Ten Tuesday.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:23 pm

      I’ve met a few of them before, but would love to see them again!

  13. Sophie @BewareOfTheReader 21/07/2020 / 7:55 pm

    Alwyn is honestly the friendliest of all! She loves YALC so much that she stays and chats with everyone even after her time is up! I love her so much. And I would die meeting Leigh Bardugo!!!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:22 pm

      I know, she’s so nice, always a highlight of YALC getting to see her. She didn’t even have a book out last year and was still there chatting to everyone! Actual same though, I both want to meet her and am very scared I would say something embarrassing!

  14. 1girl2manybooks 22/07/2020 / 12:17 am

    Awesome choices! I love Alwyn Hamilton’s books. YALC sounds incredible, definitely one to put on my dream list for the future.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:18 pm

      Thanks! It is amazing, hope you get to come someday πŸ™‚

  15. theburstingbookshelf 22/07/2020 / 1:28 am

    YALC sounds like the place to be to meet some amazing authors! I’ll have to attend at some point. Great list!

    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:16 pm

      Some of them I have met before and would like to see again, some are new!

  16. Epsita 22/07/2020 / 5:40 am

    Great list! I would love to go to YALC one day!

  17. Evy Carleke Callmer 22/07/2020 / 9:37 am

    very interesting! I had to look YALC up and now I know. and I have to look up all your autohors, too. I like to learn about things I donΒ΄t know

  18. Marianne Maurer 22/07/2020 / 10:28 am

    Great twist of the topic, there are many authors I would love to meet.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT earlier.

  19. Verushka, an editor (@SydneyEditor1) 22/07/2020 / 12:24 pm

    This is such a brilliant idea for a TTT, and thanks to it, I now know a couple ofnew authors to check out! Tomi Adeyemi however is definitely an auhtor I would like to see. She’s amazing.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:13 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad I’ve helped you find some new authors. I know, I love COBAB and was really sad I didn’t get to meet her the last time she was at YALC.

  20. Leslie 22/07/2020 / 3:57 pm

    Okay, I’m going to look up YALC but all these authors are so good!!! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:12 pm

      It’s a UK book convention, kind of like Book Con but on a smaller scale πŸ™‚

      • Leslie 27/07/2020 / 11:21 pm

        Yes! I looked it up. πŸ™‚

  21. vikiedwards 23/07/2020 / 9:54 am

    I didn’t know YALC was UK based. I would love to meet VE Schwab – also one of my favourite authors. πŸ™‚

  22. Louise @ Monstrumology 23/07/2020 / 2:33 pm

    I’ve never been to YALC (those queues sound intimidating) but I have met VE Schwab and Leigh Bardugo at book signings and they were both so lovely to talk to 😊

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:09 pm

      They do try to mitigate it by having virtual queues (you get a ticket and go up when your number is called) for big authors, but you definitely have to have patience! I’ve not met Leigh Bardugo but every time I’ve met VE Schwab she’s been so lovely!

  23. FangirlFlax 23/07/2020 / 9:48 pm

    I’d love to go to YALC! What a dream line up – I think I’d fangirl too hard to function seeing Leigh Bardugo!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2020 / 12:06 pm

      It’s so good! Ha ha me too probably but it would be worth it.

  24. Jessica at Booked J 26/07/2020 / 4:34 am

    Ah, I’m so sorry you’re disappointed and that this years event was cancelled! Here’s to hoping that next year the event is your best one yet!

  25. Stepping Out of the Page 27/07/2020 / 1:19 pm

    Thanks for sharing – a lot of these are new to me so thanks for introducing me! I’ll be checking them out for sure.

    Steph from Stepping Out Of The Page

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.