Top Ten Tuesday #258

TTT-Big2

Hi all! I hope you’ve had a good week since I last did one of these and you’re not getting too bored, if like me, you are currently on lockdown!

It’s week 3 of lockdown here and honestly, it’s starting to feel like first semester of Uni again, where I was bored and kind of lonely, except at least then I could go to trampolining and horse riding, and run whenever I felt the need to be out of my flat. Still, silver linings, we had lovely weather over the weekend and I was able to sit outside and read on our balcony at home which was nice and really made me feel better, so I’m looking forward to some more good weather like that this week.

Anyway, as it’s Tuesday, I have another Top Ten Tuesday for you guys, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. I actually have no idea what this week’s topic was meant to be as I wrote this post in January, the week that I left for Cape Town and the topics for April weren’t up yet (and obviously I didn’t know I would be returning home early) so I’ve kind of just made things up as I went along for the next few weeks of posts!.

Thanks to Jana for having the topics scheduled so far in advance, it really helped me out in prepping everything before I left!

This week, I’ve decided to talk about my Top Ten Least Favourite Books, as we did a Favourite Books post way back when I first started doing Top Ten Tuesdays and I thought it would be fun to do a ranty equivalent. This is no shame on you if you did like the books on my list, they just did not work for me! (Also, I’m only including books I finished on this list, since obviously I didn’t like ones that I didn’t finish).

  1. Lord of The Flies-William Golding

Ugh, this is possibly my least favourite book that I was ever assigned at school. It’s so boring, it’s not even written that well, and who really needs another book about how awful men can be? Like we get it.

2. The Fault In Our Stars-John Green

Yes, I know millions of people loved this book and it’s a famous bestseller or whatever, but it just wasn’t for me. I found it really boring, I thought the characters were really pretentious and did not read like believable teenagers (and I was the same age as Hazel and Gus when I read it, that’s not me at 23 saying that) and I just thought the plot was super predictable.

3. One Day-David Nicholls

Again, I just found this one really dull. Dexter was a massive ass, I didn’t really like the repetitive nature of the book, and honestly, it didn’t feel like either of them really changed all that much until right at the end. I also really hate the movie for this one, Anne Hathaway’s Yorkshire accent is atrocious!

4. We Are Blood and Thunder-Kesia Lupo

This is one I read more recently, last year in fact and there was a ridiculous amount of hype over it, but I genuinely just couldn’t see it. I found it really, really dull, barely anything happens till the end, both narrators are super flat and I wasn’t a massive fan of the writing either.

5. The Invisible Library-Genevieve Cogman

This one had a promising concept but poor delivery. It really kills me because I should have LOVED THIS, librarian spies anyone? But the author just threw too much into it, it was like it was trying to be all kinds of fantasy at once, with the dragons and the spies and the time travel and werewolves and vampire and Fae…..you get it, it was all just too much. I was too confused to really get into it, and then on top of that, the characters were really flat as well!

6. The Curious Incident of The Dog In The Nighttime-Mark Haddon

This one has received quite a bit of pushback from members of the autistic community as not great representation and honestly, I can see why, Haddon’s characterisation of Christopher is incredibly stereotypical and not massively nuanced, the author has admitted that he did basically no research into autism before writing the book and honestly I’d rather support autistic authors telling their own stories than allistic ones who can’t even be bothered to do research.

7. Glass Sword-Victoria Aveyard

I mean I probably should have known this book wouldn’t work well for me, given that I didn’t exactly love Red Queen, but I REALLY HATED this book. It was so slow, it wasn’t all that well written, the plot was dull, the characters were underdeveloped….I could go on, but basically me and this book did not get on, and I did not finish the rest of the series.

8. Sea Witch-Sarah Henning

Again, this should have been so good! An origin story for Ursula/The Sea Witch, it should have been amazing. But instead of being all dark and twisted and fun, it was a boring trudge through a 17th century Danish inspired world, where basically nothing happened, the characters were flat and the focus was all over the place.

9. Not If I Save You First-Ally Carter

I loved Ally Carter’s Heist Society books, but this book was just bad. It was so boring, the plot was basically just the two main characters trudging through Alaska and though Maddie did grow on me, Logan was completely flat as a character. The writing wasn’t great, the villains’ motivations were flat, honestly, there was very little I liked about this book.

10. Graceling-Kristin Cashore

Ugh I know this was like a big book in YA Fantasy, but I could not stand it. I hated Katsa, I didn’t like the way that she looked down on other women, that she completely shut down her emotions because she thought the only way to be strong was to be strong physically and despised all feminine things. Thankfully, we’re past seeing that kind of character as the ideal, and this book was published ten years ago, when that was more of a thing, but still, I didn’t enjoy reading it. I also didn’t like Katsa and Po’s relationship, and generally, I just thought it was a really slow, boring book, that lacked in world and character development.

So there we go, those are my Top Ten Least Favourite Books. Do we share any? What did you think of these books? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, which again will be a different topic to the scheduled one. I’m going to be talking about Top Ten Sequels I Want To Read, otherwise known as my Sequel List of Shame, those second/third/fourth books in a series that I have left languishing on my shelves, even though I read the first books ages ago!

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #258

  1. evelynreads1 07/04/2020 / 10:48 am

    I’m also not a fan of The fault in our stars haha!

    My post!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 8:05 pm

      I’m finding that there’s actually more of us than I thought, which is nice to know 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 8:05 pm

      Thanks! I think part of it was definitely the fact that I had to study it for school, but even then, I just didn’t like the plot that much.

      • The Book Lover's Sanctuary 07/04/2020 / 9:24 pm

        Yeah… as a school teacher it can be horrible and soul destroying, teaching books you love “to the syllabus” and to pass dry exams….

      • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2020 / 4:37 pm

        I can imagine! I don’t know if I would have enjoyed Lord of The Flies more if I had read it of my own accord, but to be honest, I probably would never have picked it up if it hadn’t been required reading.

  2. Kathy @ Books & Munches 07/04/2020 / 11:26 am

    The only book on here I read is The Fault in Our Stars and.. I didn’t like the book much, but that’s mainly because I was VERY influenced by the movie. I didn’t like the actress for Hazel and kept seeing her whenever I was reading. It was awful. I didn’t mind the actual story though.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 8:03 pm

      Ah okay, that’s interesting. I read the book before I saw the film, but my issue was definitely with the story not the actors, because I didn’t really like either. I don’t know why I watched the film, I think I just couldn’t find anything on Netflix that night!

  3. Jess @ Jessticulates 07/04/2020 / 11:30 am

    Great list! I didn’t love Sea Witch as much as I expected to either, and I’ve also really struggled with The Invisible Library.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 8:02 pm

      Thank you! Glad to hear I wasn’t the only one who struggled with those 🙂

  4. Holly 07/04/2020 / 11:32 am

    I felt a similar twinge of discomfort while reading The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime. Something just felt… off? Not the best book for representation, definitely. Great list! I hope you’re well! ❤

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 8:01 pm

      Thank you! I am, honestly just bored which definitely isn’t the worse thing you could be in this pandemic. Yeah, I felt the same way reading it, you could definitely tell that the author wasn’t autistic and hadn’t done his research either.

  5. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz 07/04/2020 / 12:01 pm

    What a great idea for a blog post prompt. I wonder what I’d list as my least favorite books. I certainly know the names of the ones I felt like were a waste of time. What about the ones that were a waste of time and are overly hyped?

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 8:00 pm

      Thank you! I mean all those things definitely contribute into reasons why you may not like a book, so I think both are valid 🙂

  6. lydiaschoch 07/04/2020 / 12:28 pm

    I had the same reaction to The Fault in Our Stars. You’re not alone there.

    My TTT .

  7. evelynb98 07/04/2020 / 2:20 pm

    I like this topic, it’s really interesting to see why you disliked the books! I read ‘The Curious Incident….’ years ago and a friend at the time who was autistic recommended it me as she saw a lot of herself in it, looking back on it and reading what you said I think she was incredibly lucky she saw some of herself in it, I didn’t know he didn’t do any research and it’s awful actually!
    I also didn’t like ‘One Day’ it was incredibly dull and it did drag a lot.

    My TTT: https://moonlitbooks.home.blog/2020/04/07/tttbooksiboughtbecause/

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 7:58 pm

      Thank you! I love hearing why books did/didn’t work for different readers, it’s amazing how the same book can illicit so many different reactions. I mean I’m not autistic and everyone’s experiences are different, it’s great that your friend did relate, I just felt like it wasn’t great for him to have done no research into it! Yes, One Day really sucked.

  8. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 07/04/2020 / 3:12 pm

    I’ve only read the first two, and I did actually like them both, but I can see why a lot of people wouldn’t. I do totally agree that the teens in The Fault in Our Stars do NOT read as teens. I remember thinking the same thing, but I find that’s true with a lot of Young Adult books. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 7:55 pm

      Thanks! Fair enough, I know quite a few of these books are quite popular. Yeah, it is but I find I’m less forgiving of it in contemporaries than I am in fantasies.

  9. Louise 07/04/2020 / 3:24 pm

    I felt the same about The Invisible Library. I liked the idea but it just didnt gel for me.

  10. Time for tales and tea 07/04/2020 / 4:05 pm

    I agree about One Day! I never finished that book, because I didn’t like the characters.
    The Curious Incident of The Dog In The Nighttime is on my TBR-list, but I am not sure if I still want to read it. It’s indeed far more interesting to read a book by a writer who actually has autism.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 7:51 pm

      I think I did finish it, but in hindsight I probably shouldn’t have. I wouldn’t recommend, aside from the questionable rep, it’s just not that great of a story. If you follow PaperFury, she gives out a lot of recommendations for books about autistic characters by autistic authors.

  11. Leslie 07/04/2020 / 5:32 pm

    Great topic! I really disliked Graceling and Glass Sword!! I just didn’t get into those. I’m glad to see someone else felt the same!

    My Top Ten

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 7:50 pm

      Thanks! Me too, it’s nice not to feel alone in disliking books, especially when they’re pretty popular ones.

  12. Brooke Lorren (@Brookelorren) 07/04/2020 / 6:16 pm

    I can’t say I hated any of these, although I’ve read a few of them. I’m not a huge fan of Illuminae (at least on the Kindle, it doesn’t work in that format) and Circe. I know people love Circe but it just seemed like a series of semi-connected events and the story arc didn’t wow me.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 7:49 pm

      Fair enough, different people like different books. I actually liked Circe but I do get what you mean about it, it doesn’t have the most cohesive narrative.

  13. Rhosymedre (@Rhosymedre) 07/04/2020 / 6:23 pm

    Some of my favorite book talk is smack talk, no judgment here! Especially not if you’re gonna bring the balm to my soul that is Not Feelin’ It with a John Green book, even though that’s actually the only one of his I can stand. I always find it illuminating to see what made people NOT like a book…and just plain entertaining. I would hug this post if I could. (insert social distancing joke)

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 7:48 pm

      Ha ha thanks! I’m glad I’ve found a lot of people since I read The Fault In Our Stars that also didn’t “feel it”, it’s made it a lot easier to feel like everyone won’t be mad at me when I say I hated that book! Yes, I do enjoy seeing what made people dislike a book too, it’s always very interesting. Aww thank you *returns the socially distant hug*.

  14. Greg Hill 07/04/2020 / 7:43 pm

    I’ve wondered about Lord of the Flies but I’ve never read it. And The Invisible Library I can relate to- I liked it okay I guess but not enough to continue on.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/04/2020 / 7:46 pm

      I wouldn’t bother, it’s not great! Yeah I struggled way too much with the first one to read any of the others.

  15. Tiffany @ String of Pages 08/04/2020 / 5:20 am

    I don’t like The Fault in Our Stars and Glass Sword too! Both books are so boring, I even end up DNFed Glass Sword. I enjoyed Not If I Save You First, though I agree that Heist Society is way better.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2020 / 4:36 pm

      I’m glad I’m not alone on that! Honestly, I should have DNFed Glass Sword, I don’t know why I finished it. Fair, I think maybe my expectations were too high after Heist Society.

  16. foreverlostinlit 08/04/2020 / 5:29 am

    I completely agree with you on The Fault In Our Stars and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime! I also really wanted to love The Invisible Library, and while I did enjoy it mostly, I found a lot of issues and the execution really was lacking! It’s a nice concept, though, haha.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2020 / 4:35 pm

      I’m glad I’m not alone! Yes, it’s such a good concept, honestly, I was so disappointed that I didn’t really enjoy it because on paper it should have been a great book for me.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2020 / 4:31 pm

      Exactly! I’m sure a lot of the books that I love are disliked by many people as well.

  17. anovelglimpse 08/04/2020 / 8:45 pm

    I wanted to see the One Day movie, so I read the book. That ending bothered me so much that I couldn’t watch the movie.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2020 / 4:30 pm

      That sounds about right! Honestly I have no idea why I watched the movie when I hated the book so much.

  18. lindseyhabets 10/04/2020 / 2:38 pm

    “who really needs another book about how awful men can be?” Haha true.
    I also never finished the Red Queen trilogy. I did like Graceling, but I agree with your points on Katsa!

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2020 / 4:28 pm

      Ha ha if there was a bookstore section labelled “Books Showing How Awful Men Can Be” it would be overflowing! I feel like with Red Queen, people either really love it or really hate it. Fair enough, I know a lot of people do like Graceling. Yes, she just unsettled me. You can definitely tell that book was written ten years ago!

  19. Rissi 13/04/2020 / 11:23 pm

    I do like TFIOS better than I thought I would, but it’s not a favorite book at all.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.