Top Ten Tuesday #201

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I had Samantha Shannon’s Priory event in Glasgow last week, and it was so great, I’m even more excited to read Priory now than I was before. I’m also finally nearing the end of my project work, which is an amazing feeling!

Anyway, since it’s Tuesday, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana over at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we’re talking Characters I’d Like To Switch Places With, and although switching places with some of my favourite book characters would mean danger and pretty certain death, I’d do it quite happily as long as I got to have adventures along the way. So here we go:

  1. Lila Bard-Shades of Magic Trilogy-V.E. Schwab

I would just love to have even half the confidence of Lila. Swaggering around Red London, threatening to stab people, learning magic? Yup, I would quite happily do all of that. Lila is willing to risk anything even pretty certain death for the sake of an adventure and if that isn’t a mood, I don’t know what is. Plus, if I was Lila, maybe Kell would let me borrow his coat…..

2. Celeana Sardothien-Throne of Glass series-Sarah J Maas

Again, Celeana just swaggers around acting like the world owes her everything, which yes, I would love to have that level of sheer confidence. I can’t say I’d make a particularly good assassin, but I’d love to have the chance to use her fire powers, blowing your enemies to oblivion sounds like fun!

3. Hermione Granger-Harry Potter series-JK Rowling

I just really, really, really want to go to Hogwarts okay! Although I’ll be honest, it would probably be better swapping places with someone who went to Hogwarts before Harry ever arrived, because I’d rather not be risking my life against Voldemort. Still, it would be so much fun to switch places with Hermione and get to go to all the cool lessons at Hogwarts, explore Hogsmeade and just generally have fun with magic.

4. Percy Jackson-Percy Jackson Universe-Rick Riordan

Again, it would probably be quite dangerous to be Percy, I mean he’s attacked by monsters A LOT, but I’d still do it, because even though those quests sound dangerous, they also seem like a lot of fun. Plus I’d get to live at Camp Half-Blood, and do all the cool activities (I really want to try chariot racing) and hang out with my demigod friends and most importantly have demigod powers!

5. Skulduggery Pleasant-Skulduggery Pleasant series-Derek Landy

Would I enjoy being a walking, talking, magical skeleton detective? I think I would. Granted, being a skeleton would be a little weird, but Skulduggery seems to pull it off, so I see no reason why I couldn’t and driving around in Bentley, wearing sharp suits and taking out bad guys with Valkyrie sounds like a hell of a lot of fun.

6. Artemis Fowl-Artemis Fowl series-Eoin Colfer

I’d love to be that smart and I think it would be a hell of a lot of fun to be a teenage criminal mastermind who hangs around with fairies and centaurs and elves and pixies and dwarves. Artemis has so many fun adventures and I think it would be a lot of fun to swap places with a character who leans more towards the evil side of things.

7. Amy Fleming-Heartland series-Lauren Brooke

Since I love horses, I’d love to swap places with Amy and live on her family’s ranch, to be able to spend my entire life working with horses would be amazing especially if I had the same talents that she has.

8. Scarlett Dragna-Caraval Trilogy-Stephanie Garber

I prefer Tella as a character, but I’d want to swap places with Scarlett simply because of her magical dress, can you imagine how much time having a dress that changed would save? You’d have no need for multiple dresses, you could have several dresses in just that one, which would be amazing.

9. Kat Bishop-Heist Society series-Ally Carter

Yes, I would like to lead a gang of thieves. Travelling the world, sneaking into different places to steal things, it sounds like such a great adventure and Kat’s friends are so much fun, so it would be awesome to get to swap places with Kat and spend some time doing heists with her crew.

10. Nina Zenik-Grishaverse-Leigh Bardugo

Obviously I’d love to be a member of the Dregs, but I had to think a little about which one I’d like to be. I don’t think I’d do well as Kaz, I’m nowhere near agile enough to be Inej, I’m not really severe enough to be Matthias. That left Wylan, Jesper or Nina and in the end I decided I’d want to switch places with Nina, a) so I could eat all the waffles, b) because her Grisha powers are the coolest (sorry Jesper) and c) just because she seems like the most fun to me!

So there we go, the Characters I’d Like To Switch Places With. Would you want to switch places with any of these characters? Why/why not? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next Tuesday with a new TTT, Standalone Books Which Need A Sequel, which should be a great one as I always find myself wanting more after reading a standalone book! Meanwhile, I’m hoping to have another Writing Corner post up this week, so stay tuned for that, I’ll probably be putting that one up over the weekend.

63 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #201

  1. lydiaschoch 05/03/2019 / 3:33 pm

    Yeah, I think everyone wants to be Hermione. She’s so cool.

    My Top Ten Tuesday post.

  2. Sofia T 05/03/2019 / 3:55 pm

    I also added Hermione and Nina on my list, what great characters and what cool worlds they live in!

    • iloveheartlandx 05/03/2019 / 6:56 pm

      Yes, they do live in super cool (if slightly dangerous) worlds!

  3. Jess @ Jessticulates 05/03/2019 / 4:04 pm

    Great list! Nina’s always a good chance, I’d love to have just half of her confidence.

  4. I had PJO, Hogwarts and ADSOM too! Although I wanted to be Kell since he’s more regal 🀴I thought about Throne of Glass and the exceptional cold put me off completely. The icy water and lack of pain killers when on one’s period? Yah not for me.

    • iloveheartlandx 05/03/2019 / 6:52 pm

      Yay! I mean I would happily switch with Kell too, honestly there’s not a character I wouldn’t be from that series, except Holland, he really seems to draw the short straw. Ha ha totally fair.

  5. Louise 05/03/2019 / 5:38 pm

    Nina would be great to switch places with!

  6. Lilyfae 05/03/2019 / 6:10 pm

    Yes beginning to think Annabeth could’ve gone on my list too!!

    • iloveheartlandx 05/03/2019 / 6:50 pm

      I should have added her, if I switched with Annabeth then I would get to hang out with Percy and that would be even better than being Percy!

  7. Time for tales and tea 05/03/2019 / 6:15 pm

    I totally agree about Lila, having her confidence and seeing Red London is both great!
    Switching places with Hermione would be amazing, but I would rather choose Newt Scamander. It would be safer and I could be a Hufflepuff!

    • iloveheartlandx 05/03/2019 / 6:50 pm

      Yes it would be so much fun to be Lila. I’d quite happily switch places with Newt too, but I’m not sure how much safer it would be, he seems to be getting dragged into some dangerous stuff!

  8. Brooke Lorren (@Brookelorren) 05/03/2019 / 6:36 pm

    Scarlett’s dress was definitely cool. It would be even better if it washed itself, LOL. Amy’s life doesn’t sound too bad either, although I haven’t read that book yet.

    • iloveheartlandx 05/03/2019 / 6:49 pm

      It was! Ha ha that would be useful wouldn’t it, if I lived in Caraval, I would find someone who could make that happen. Yes she does have a pretty good life.

  9. GoodeyReads 05/03/2019 / 6:43 pm

    NINA! Oh I should have thought of that. Great pick!

  10. Musings of a (Book) Girl 05/03/2019 / 7:03 pm

    Definitely yes to Nina! I’ve only read the first book in the Artemis Fowl series, but you’ve made me want to pick the rest up!

    • iloveheartlandx 06/03/2019 / 1:06 pm

      Yes, she’s awesome. Ah you should, it’s such a great series.

  11. jennlrichardson 05/03/2019 / 7:30 pm

    I’ve never read the Heartland books but I love the show and I’d totally switch with Amy! And I agree about just wanting to go to Hogwarts! I’d love to be some random Ravenclaw who graduates during Harry’s 4th or 5th year – avoiding the whole battle and Snape as headmaster thing.

    • iloveheartlandx 06/03/2019 / 1:06 pm

      I love the show too-actually think I prefer it to the books (I know, I know sacrilege!). Yes, it would be awesome, but I’d rather not be involved in all the scary stuff.

  12. ChrissiReads 05/03/2019 / 7:30 pm

    Hermione is a really great choice.

  13. J R Lynn 05/03/2019 / 7:44 pm

    Yes! I’d definitely switch with Kat and Cammie (minus the later books lol) πŸ’–πŸ’– And switching with Amy sounds like it would be cool cause I love horses too!

    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 06/03/2019 / 1:05 pm

      I actually never read Gallagher Girls, but I love Heist Society so maybe I should. Yes, it would be so much fun.

  14. ashwina 05/03/2019 / 8:56 pm

    Such a great list! Some really cool characters on them!

  15. agreatreviewer 05/03/2019 / 9:47 pm

    Oh very nice picks! That’s true about Scarlett, I should’ve just picked bot h of them! Lol! That’d be fun! Hermione is a great pick and Nina! Love that girl! Great picks all around!

    Thanks for visiting my TTT post!

    • iloveheartlandx 06/03/2019 / 1:04 pm

      Thanks! Ha ha yeah, although maybe Scarlett would let Tella borrow her dress.

  16. kozbisa 05/03/2019 / 11:57 pm

    When I got to Nina, I almost cried. Yeah, she had cool powers, but, you know, she lost a lot too.

  17. Greg 06/03/2019 / 1:53 am

    Celaena sounds really fun, and I think Camp Half Blood would be pretty amazing as well!

    • iloveheartlandx 06/03/2019 / 1:02 pm

      She is! Yes, it would be awesome, a very different kind of summer camp πŸ™‚

  18. @lynnsbooks 06/03/2019 / 12:14 pm

    Mm, time saving magical clothing – good plan. Course, if you really tried hard at Hogwarts you could probably learn a spell to come up with such a dress. Not to mention other time saving spells like pots that wash themselves and brushes that sweep the place!
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 06/03/2019 / 12:57 pm

      I mean really it’s just being time efficient! Ha ha yes I probably could-I would definitely learn all of the cleaning spells, never having to wash a dish myself again sounds perfect.

  19. Heather Cilley (@SPEWYouVoldy) 06/03/2019 / 2:03 pm

    Lila Bard is such a good one! If I could switch with a ADSOM character I’d want to switch with Kell. Great list! πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 07/03/2019 / 6:29 pm

      Thanks! I mean I’d be quite happy switching with Kell……that coat though!

  20. Ashlea Daune 06/03/2019 / 11:07 pm

    Most of these I haven’t read, but I can definitely agree with Hermione!

    Ash @ JennRenee Read

  21. Destiny @ Howling Libraries 07/03/2019 / 12:08 am

    This list is amazing! So many of my faves on here. Especially Lila and Celaena, I know they both have some pretty tough trials to go through but they’re so awesome and self-assured. I’d love to know what that feels like haha!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/03/2019 / 6:27 pm

      Thanks! Yes they don’t have easy lives, but I would love to have that level of confidence-plus I’d want to switch when things were more settled in their worlds!

  22. Aj @ Read All The Things! 07/03/2019 / 1:18 am

    Lila and Hermione are perfect choices. I’d love to visit Hogwarts or the parallel Londons.

  23. Annemieke 08/03/2019 / 11:45 am

    Hermoine is of course a good pick. I want her brains haha.

  24. Rissi 12/03/2019 / 3:56 am

    Though he’s a really popular character, I’ve not met Percy Jackson. I think I did buy the film a while back though… so maybe I’ll meet him there if no where else. Thanks so much for the visit last week, Jo! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 12/03/2019 / 9:32 pm

      The books are SO MUCH better than the films, the Percy in the films is nowhere near as sassy and awesome as the Percy in the books. No problem πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.