Top Ten Tuesday #167

TTT-Big2

Hi guys! I hope you’ve all had a good week since my last one of these, my summer job started on Wednesday and I’m not gonna lie, I’m exhausted already! I had to do airport transfers on Sunday (I’m working at a summer school) and my feet still haven’t quite forgiven me yet.

Anyway, I’m taking the short window of time I have before I have to get to work, to give you guys another Top Ten Tuesday, thanks to Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl. Today we’re sharing our Best Books Of 2018 (so far) and this is gonna be a tricky one because aside from a few standouts, I’ve had a mostly middling reading year so far, so I might not make it to ten books, but I’m gonna try!:

  1. Legendary-Stephanie Garber-Read June 2018-4.5 stars

AHHH! My far and away favourite of this year so far without a doubt. Legendary is even darker, even twistier, even more amazing than Caraval and I devoured it in like a week at the end of last month. I loved seeing things from Tella’s perspective and going even deeper into the world and the mystery of Scarlett and Tella’s missing mother. I cannot wait for the third book to come out next year.

2. The Exact Opposite of Okay-Laura Steven-Read February 2018-4 stars

I’ve kind of been on a feminist reading kick this year, three books and counting (I’m hoping to have more by the end of this year) have had feminist themes, and this was the start of it. I found Izzy O’Neill super relatable (we would seriously be best friends if she was real), I thought the subject matter was timely and that the book was just generally hilarious and I cannot wait for the sequel next year!

3. By A Charm and A Curse-Jaime Questell-Read January 2018-4 stars

This was such a creative, fun little book. It was a different take on the usual carnival/circus style YA, as a kind of mix of a Snow White/Pinocchio retelling. I can often find my fantasy books get quite samey, so it was nice to read something a little bit different!

4. The Language of Thorns-Leigh Bardugo-Read April 2018-4 stars

I’m basically devouring anything and everything Leigh Bardugo this year, first I read Shadow and Bone and then this. I loved this short story collection and coming from me, that’s pretty high praise because short stories aren’t usually my thing. I loved that Bardugo took quite recognisable stories and gave them a Grisha twist.

5. Everless-Sara Holland-Read January 2018-4 stars

This was one of the first books I read this year, and I know there’s been a lot of mixed reviews about it, but I really enjoyed it. I thought the time as currency thing was a really cool concept and although it was slow to start, it really picked up for me.

6. Daughter of The Burning City-Amanda Foody-Read May 2018-3.5 stars

I sped through this book in less than a week, it was nice to have a shorter, standalone fantasy to read for a change (although ironically, I actually thought the book needed to be a little longer to contain the sprawling world that Foody created) and I loved having a murder mystery within a fantasy, I thought that was really cool and the whole idea of the illusions is awesome. It was definitely a creative little fantasy book and whilst it works really well as a standalone, if Foody ever wanted to return to Gomorrah, I would be quite happy to go back there!

7. Ace of Shades-Amanda Foody-Read May/June 2018-3.5 stars

Yes, another Amanda Foody book, what can I say, the woman definitely has a flair for writing fun, unique YA fantasies, and I can definitely tell that she’s going to be someone whose books I look out for in the years to come. This book was a very slow starter, but I loved the kind of 1920s mobster world that Foody created, I thought the magic system was really cool and I loved Enne’s character development. I can’t wait to see what happens in the sequel!

8. Rose Under Fire-Elizabeth Wein-Read May 2018-3 stars

I probably should have picked one of my other 3.5 stars for my last book on this list (yup only 8 today) but when I looked back, my other choices didn’t quite sit right as favourites, because I liked Moxie but it was nowhere near as good as TEOOO and A Thousand Perfect Notes and Crooked Kingdom were both good, but they both kind of disappointed me, so it didn’t feel right to put them on a list of my favourites of the year. Rose on the other hand, I found super emotional, and absolutely loved the characters, especially the Rabbits. Actually writing this, I’m wondering whether I should have rated this 3.5 instead of 3……ah well.

That’s it from me, a shortened TTT today I’m afraid, hopefully the second half of 2018 will be better for me in terms of great books! Over to you! What have been your favourite books of 2018? Have you read any of the books on my list? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

Next week we’re meant to be talking Favourite Novellas/Short Stories, but as I’ve already established in this post, I’m not really a massive novella/short story fan, so instead, I’m going to talk about my Favourite Standalone Books, since I know I flail about series near enough constantly and don’t really talk about my favourite standalones very much, so I am going to change that! In the meantime, I will have a review of my latest read Radio Silence up probably at the weekend, since I don’t have a day off work till Sunday and reviews take much longer to write than I have before I go into work in the afternoon, so stay tuned for that!

 

92 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #167

  1. lilisblissfulpages 10/07/2018 / 9:31 am

    Great picks..most of these are on my TBR and I’m planning to read Ace of Shades this weekend. πŸ™‚

  2. judithcmoore 10/07/2018 / 10:45 am

    oooh I love so many of these! Language of Thorns is amazing!

  3. Louise 10/07/2018 / 10:57 am

    I’ve spotted By A Charm and A Curse around but never looked at what it;s about. It sounds really cool! I’ll have to look up a copy somewhere. Thanks!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 12:05 am

      Oh yay! It’s such a good book and no one really seems to be talking about it, so I’m glad to help people find it πŸ™‚

  4. nicolinesimone 10/07/2018 / 11:14 am

    Great list! Ace of Shades and TEOOO are also on my list! I can’t wait for the sequel either! Izzy was so cool and hilarious we need more people like her!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 12:05 am

      Thanks! Ah yes, they’re both so great. I know right, it’s gonna be so good. We definitely do πŸ™‚

  5. Lauren Becker 10/07/2018 / 12:01 pm

    I still need to read The Exact Opposite of Okay but it sounds fantastic. I do love Rose Under Fire – and Code Name Verity. I need to read Black Dove White Raven (I think that’s the name?) by Wein soon.

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.net

    • iloveheartlandx 10/07/2018 / 5:17 pm

      It is! Me too, they were both so great. Oh yeah same, I haven’t read that one yet either.

  6. Kelly W 10/07/2018 / 2:16 pm

    Language of Thorns was such a great read, and also really visually stunning (those illustrations!)

    • iloveheartlandx 10/07/2018 / 5:16 pm

      It was! Yes, I forgot to mention the illustrations, but they were incredible πŸ™‚

  7. Astilbe Reviews 10/07/2018 / 2:42 pm

    The Language of Thorns sounds interesting.

    This is our Top Ten Tuesday.

  8. Destiny @ Howling Libraries 10/07/2018 / 3:54 pm

    I’m happy to see Legendary in your #1 spot – I didn’t love Caraval, but I won a copy of Legendary in a giveaway and I’m looking forward to seeing where it goes next. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 10/07/2018 / 5:14 pm

      Oh I’m sure you’ll love it-I’ve heard a lot of people say that didn’t love Caraval but adored Legendary, it’s definitely a big step up from the first book πŸ™‚

  9. Ruthsic 10/07/2018 / 4:03 pm

    Awesome picks! Some of these I REAAALLLY need to read soon!

  10. ChrissiReads 10/07/2018 / 5:09 pm

    I want to read quite a few books on your list! πŸ™‚

  11. Anne Bennett 10/07/2018 / 5:09 pm

    ROSE UNDER FIRE is such a sneaker book. It is a tough read because of the topic but then it just stays with you. Have you read Wein’s other books in the series? I think she is such a good writer. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/07/2018 / 5:12 pm

      Yeah I definitely get that, it’s been almost two months since I read it and I can’t stop thinking about it! Yes I have, I’ve read both Code Name Verity and the sequel, The Pearl Thief, and I agree, I think she’s a great writer. No problem πŸ™‚

  12. Emily @ Mixed Margins 10/07/2018 / 5:48 pm

    I’m really looking forward to reading Language of Thorns. The book is so incredibly beautiful.

  13. Ashley Sapp 10/07/2018 / 5:56 pm

    Great list! I need to read The Language of Thorns!

  14. lindseyhabets 10/07/2018 / 6:10 pm

    The Language of Thorns was amazing! Everless is still on my TBR, so happy to hear you enjoyed it!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 12:02 am

      I hope you get it soon! Yes, I really enjoyed it πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 12:02 am

      Ah well they’re all great! Yes, I love the Grishaverse, looking forward to reading more from it, I still have the original Grisha trilogy to finish actually. I definitely think Amanda Foody is going to be an author to look out for in the next few years, she’s certainly very creative with her fantasy worlds!

  15. goldenbooksgirl 10/07/2018 / 7:24 pm

    I’ve not read any of these, but glad you enjoyed them! I want to read the first book of the series Legendary’s in though 😊
    Amy x

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 12:00 am

      Thanks! Oh it’s a good book, I hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚

  16. Hanna (@bookinginheels) 10/07/2018 / 8:14 pm

    I have Everless out from the library at the moment – I was hoping to read it before I go to YALC in a couple of weeks, but that’s looking less and less likely…

    I’ve also had Caraval to read for a while. I was really excited about it when I bought it, but you know how books just tend to fall down the TBR slope.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 12:00 am

      Oh well, I hope you enjoy it when you read it, whenever that is. Ha ha yes, I’ve definitely had books go missing down the TBR slope before, I hope you also enjoy reading that one, whenever you do read it.

  17. Loretta @ The Laughing Listener 10/07/2018 / 9:48 pm

    Ahhh wasn’t Legendary so good?? I loved that book and had so much fun following Tella this time around. Daughter of the Burning City and Ace of Shades are both books I’ve been wanting to read too, so I’m glad they were good!! I hope the rest of your reading year is better though! 😊

    • iloveheartlandx 10/07/2018 / 11:59 pm

      It really was! Yes, much as Scarlett grew on me, Tella was definitely a more engaging narrator. Oh I hope you enjoy them. Me too, it’s not necessarily that it’s been bad, more just middling. Honestly, I think I’m just getting pickier!

  18. danidewey 10/07/2018 / 11:03 pm

    Language of Thorns was so beautiful. She’s got a gift for short stories.

  19. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 10/07/2018 / 11:09 pm

    Seeing Ace of Shades on a few lists has definitely made me want to pick the book up. Hope the rest of the year is filled with lots of standout novels!

    • iloveheartlandx 10/07/2018 / 11:57 pm

      Oh I hope you enjoy it! Me too, I really want to read more books that made me feel as excited as Legendary did πŸ™‚

  20. Aj @ Read All The Things! 11/07/2018 / 1:46 am

    I need to read more Elizabeth Wein books (including Rose Under Fire). I’ve liked the ones I’ve read so far.

  21. curlygeek04 11/07/2018 / 1:55 am

    Rose Under Fire was so good – but such a difficult read! I also loved Code Name Verity. I hope to read more by Wein.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 11:35 pm

      Yes it was! Code Name Verity is one of my absolute favourite books. Me too-I think I only actually have one book left that I haven’t read by her.

  22. Nicole Moy 11/07/2018 / 2:10 am

    Of course we both share Legendary on our lists but I still have yet to read Daughter of The Burning City and I cannot wait to read it…one day..

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 11:34 pm

      Ah yes of course. I hope you enjoy DOTBC when you do read it.

  23. Greg Hill 11/07/2018 / 3:02 am

    Legendary and Caraval both sound really good, and from reviews I’ve seen I think I’d like them. Now I just need to get ’em! Daughter of the Burning City too- I like the sound of the carnival aspect, and the murder mystery angle sounds fun. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 11:34 pm

      They are! I hope you enjoy them when you do get them. Oh DOTBC is so much fun, it’s a really great read-quick too, I finished in less than a week, which is rare for me.

  24. 1girl2manybooks 11/07/2018 / 3:12 am

    Ooh I haven’t read a single book from you list! A couple are on my TBR though, hopefully I enjoy them as much as you did.

  25. blessedtobelucky 11/07/2018 / 3:16 am

    I haven’t read legendary but I have read Carnival and it was good..

      • blessedtobelucky 12/07/2018 / 9:44 am

        really?.. that would be nice πŸ™‚

  26. pagesandtea 11/07/2018 / 7:25 am

    I’m not much of a novella/short story fan either. I like really long books usually, although I’ve read a couple of short story collections recently. Not enough to make a whole post though πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 11/07/2018 / 11:29 pm

      Yeah. I’ve only read like two collections of novellas/short stories, so not enough to make a whole post either! I’m somewhere in between, I do like a long book occasionally, but between 400 and 500 pages is usually my bookish sweet spot!

  27. Lena @ The Printed Girl 11/07/2018 / 7:51 am

    I’m really excited for the next book for Everless! That ending made me really excited for what comes next. Great TTT!

  28. Tracy (@Cornerfolds) 12/07/2018 / 6:38 pm

    Yesss we have a couple in common! I loved Legendary and Everless! I’ve only read a few of the stories in Language of Thorns, but I’ve enjoyed them all so far!

  29. Keri 12/07/2018 / 10:55 pm

    I just read Ace of Shades and really enjoyed it!
    And ahhh, The Exact of Opposite of Okay is on my TBR…I really need to get around to that book

  30. novelcravings 15/07/2018 / 3:32 am

    You make Daughter of the Burning City sound awesome! It never really caught my eye so I don’t think I ever read the summary but a murder mystery fantasy does sound good. I’m also interested in Ace of Shades so clearly I need to try Foody’s books.

  31. Annemieke 15/07/2018 / 8:22 am

    The Language of Thorns was amazing. I still haven’t picked up Legendary!

  32. Kathy @ Books & Munches 17/07/2018 / 9:57 am

    Legendary, The Language of Thorns, Ace of Shades and Daughter of the Burning City are all still on my TBR. I definitely should get a move on this if they’re some of your favorites so far!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.