Top Ten Tuesday #156

TTT-Big2

Hi all! I hope you’ve all been having a good week, I am taking a break from the hell of exam revision to write this post, but at least by the end of next week, it will all be over!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday now, and that means another Top Ten Tuesday courtesy of Jana over at That Artsy Reader Girl. Today we’re talking Frequently Used Words In Titles (a topic I suggested!). A while back I did a post on unique YA Fantasy Titles, and today, I’m going to explore the opposite side of the coin, and talk about the Most Commonly Used Words In YA Fantasy Titles. It was difficult to narrow these down, because there are SO MANY commonly used words, but I picked what I think are the most overused ones. So here we go:

  1. Shadow

For some reason, YA Fantasies really love the word Shadow! I don’t know, I guess shadows conjure kind of dark and eerie images and that’s a vibe a lot of fantasies want to go for?

Examples (not an exhaustive list): Shadow and Bone, Queen of Shadows, A Shadow Bright and Burning, Lord of Shadows, Reign of Shadows, Sea of Shadows, Empire of Shadows, Shadow Scale, Shadow Study, Prince of Shadows, Dance of Shadows, Shadows On The Moon, Shadow Kiss, Library of Light and Shadows, Shadow Crown, Mask of Shadows, Cloaked In Shadow, The Shadow Throne, A Skinful of Shadows, Shadowsong, Seven Deadly Shadows, Shadows on The Moon, The Shadow Hour, Shadowcaster

2. Bone

Bones also appear very frequently in YA fantasy titles, again, I guess because a lot of fantasy these days eers towards the dark and what is dark and creepier than bones?

Examples: Children of Blood and Bone, Shadow and Bone, Ink and Bone, Ivory and Bone, City of Bones, The Bone Queen, The Bone Witch, Daughter of Smoke and Bone

3. Blood

Since there is a trend towards a lot of death and violence in quite a number of YA fantasies, it makes sense that Blood is a commonly used word in YA fantasy titles, as an indicator of what is to come within the pages!

Examples: Children of Blood and Bone, Days of Blood and Starlight, Frostblood, Fireblood, Nightblood, Blood Rose Rebellion, The Blood of Stars, A River of Royal Blood, Blood of A Thousand Stars, Silver In The Blood, Blood Promise, Blood Passage, Sisters of Blood and Spirit, Blood and Sand, Blood of The Prophet, Isle of Blood and Stone, Blood Magic, Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince, Half-Blood, RoseBlood, Song of Blood and Stone. The Blood of Olympus

4. King/Queen/Prince/Princess

Royalty is a key aspect of a lot of YA Fantasy, so it’s unsurprising that royal titles comprise a large portion of YA Fantasy titles.

Examples: Queen of Shadows, The Shadow Queen, Daughter of The Pirate King, Daughter of The Siren Queen, The Raven King, The Caged Queen, Red Queen, The Star Touched Queen, Princess of Thorns, Winter Queen, King’s Cage, The Iron King, Prince Caspian, The Traitor Prince, The Half Blood Prince, The Cruel Prince, Traitor Prince, Prince of Shadows, Ash Princess, The Orphan Queen, The Imposter Queen, The Sleeping Prince, Queens of Innis Lear, The Queen’s Rising, The Rogue Queen, The Fire Queen, The King’s Traitor, The Young Queens, The Demon King, Clockwork Princess, Clockwork Prince, Queen of The Tearling, The Queen of Air and Darkness. The Iron Queen, The Wicked King

5. Daughter

Titular daughters are incredibly common in YA, although often these titular daughters are daughter of “things” rather than daughters of people-you know since parents are usually absent in YA Fantasy!

Exmaples: Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Daughter of The Pirate King, Daughter of The Siren Queen, Daughters of The Storm, The Sin Eater’s Daughter, Daughter of The Burning City, The Watchmaker’s Daughter

5. Crown

Given the obsession with royalty in fantasy, it’s unsurprising that crowns make more than a few appearances in YA Fantasy titles!

Examples: The Crown’s Game, Three Dark Crowns, Crown of Midnight, The Crown’s Fate, The Crown and The Arrow, Cruel Crown, Hollow Crown, Shadow Crown, The Crown of Embers, Crown of Ice, The Crimson Crown, Crown of Thunder

6. Fire

Fire seems to be a quite common magical power in YA fantasies (including in my own WIPs), so naturally, it appears quite often in their titles!

Examples: For A Muse of Fire, Heir of Fire, Firestarter, Ice Like Fire, Paper and Fire, Of Fire and Stars, Girl of Fire and Thorns, The Fire Thief, The Secret Fire, Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire, Playing With Fire, Spindle Fire, Fireblood, The Fire Queen, Trial By Fire, Fire, Fire Lines, Girls of Paper and Fire, Wicked Like A Wildfire, Bright Smoke Cold Fire, City of Heavenly Fire

7. Throne

Because where there are royals, there are thrones!

Examples: Traitor To The Throne, One Dark Throne, Throne of Glass, Throne of Fire, The Shadow Throne, The Gray Wolf Throne, Throne of The Crescent Moon, The Vanishing Throne

8. City

Honestly I’m not entirely sure why City is so popular in Fantasy books? I guess maybe it’s a way to indicate Urban Fantasy?

Examples: City ofΒ  Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, City of Heavenly Fire (yup that’s just The Mortal Instruments books!), Tarnished City, City of Bastards, Hollow City, City of Brass, Black City, The Secret City

9. Night

I mean YA fantasy loves a bit of darkness, so it fits that Night is a common title word choice!

Examples: Torch Against The Night, Frost Like Night, The Night Circus, Night of Cake and Puppets, Beasts of Night, Night Study, Nevernight, The Night Realm, Evernight, Nightshade, Nightblood, Midnight, Crown of Midnight, Girl at Midnight, Muse of Nightmares, Vassa In The Night, Wink Poppy Midnight, A Thousand Nights, Lady Midnight

10. Stars

Because in a genre obsessed with nighttime and darkness, stars are just the next step right?

Examples: The Star Touched Queen, Ruin of Stars, Obsidian and Stars, Of Fire and Stars, A Court of Frost and Starlight, Days of Blood and Starlight, Blood of A Thousand Stars, The Midnight Star, Girl of Ink and Stars, Even The Darkest Stars, The Stars Never Rise,

So there you go, some of the most commonly used words in YA Fantasy titles! I’m sure there’s many that I’ve missed, so leave your suggestions in the comments. I’m going to be kind of MIA over the next couple of weeks because of exams, I will try to get my review of Hero At The Fall up but I don’t really have time to sit down and write it at the minute because of my exams, so it might be a bit late! But I will be back with my newest Top Ten Tuesday post next week, talking about Books I’d Slay A Lion To Get Early, so stay tuned for that!

 

 

40 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #156

  1. Anastasia 24/04/2018 / 5:36 pm

    πŸ˜€ Yup + what’s even worse is how often there are two or three of these words in that title. So if I’d write a fantasy book, it would be called…hmm… Blood Daughter of the Shadow Throne.

    All the best with the exams!

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2018 / 11:36 am

      Ugh I know right! Sometimes it really does feel like fantasy authors have just put their titles through a random title generator. Thank you πŸ™‚

  2. ChrissiReads 24/04/2018 / 6:34 pm

    I can totally see why you included these words!

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2018 / 11:35 am

      THEY ARE EVERYWHERE! I swear books with these words in the titles seem to be multiplying by the year.

  3. halliereadit 24/04/2018 / 8:08 pm

    great list, I hadn’t realized how many books there were with “stars” in the title!

  4. Greg Hill 24/04/2018 / 8:31 pm

    These are great. Nice topic BTW. πŸ™‚ I’m kinda surprised how often “bone” and “blood” show up in YA titles, but yeah I guess they hint at dark stuff or whatever. “Daughter” and “crown” are huge too, and yeah royalty as well. All of them I guess! I do like titles with “star” or “night” in them, for some reason… depending on title of course.

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2018 / 11:33 am

      Thanks! Yeah I guess so, I mean they wouldn’t be the first words I’d choose to evoke fantasy feels, but authors seems to like them! Yeah they do make quite pretty titles, there’s just a LOT of them.

  5. foreverlostinlit 24/04/2018 / 9:42 pm

    Just reading through the words you chose has me thinking of soo many books with some variation of all of those! Haha, I think you are spot on, these ones are everywhere.

  6. kozbisa 24/04/2018 / 11:04 pm

    Nice suggestion. I didn’t think to approach the topic this way. I looked for one word that kept popping up in my YA “read” books. I have been seeing a lot of fun looks at fantasy titles, and now I keep thinking about them, and yep, lots of the same words over and over again.

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2018 / 11:29 am

      I think there’s a lot of different ways to interpret this topic! Yup Fantasy authors do seem to pick a bunch of popular words and just stick to them!

  7. Kathy_A 25/04/2018 / 12:30 am

    This is a great list and features a lot of books on my TBR. It is funny how similar the titles are but it is what grabs our attention.

  8. thebookishlibra 25/04/2018 / 12:55 am

    Yep, this would be about the same list I’d come up with if I was thinking of common YA fantasy words. And I can think of many titles that use more than one of these too, lol.

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2018 / 11:25 am

      Ugh I know right-how on earth are we meant to tell books apart when so many of them have such similar titles!

  9. wulfluva 25/04/2018 / 2:59 am

    I like how you listed all the titles out. I thought about it, but I was much too lazy. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for visiting Shell’s Stories!

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2018 / 11:22 am

      Ha ha fair! I just wanted to show how ridiculously common all these words were in fantasy titles!

  10. bookmuffin 25/04/2018 / 6:08 am

    Oh my gosh these are all so true, I stare at my bookshelf and almost every YA fantasy had these in the title!

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2018 / 11:19 am

      Ha ha I don’t have my bookshelf in front of me right now, but I’m pretty sure these words feature more than a few times on it!

  11. Katie Harder-Schauer 25/04/2018 / 5:48 pm

    And this is why there are YA title generator memes all over the inter webs. LOL. Great list.

    Have a wonderful week.

  12. jessicabookworm 26/04/2018 / 4:48 pm

    Jo, it is really interesting that we both had queen, king and shadow in our lists, even though I did historical fiction. Good luck with your revision and exams. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 26/04/2018 / 5:39 pm

      Yes it is-Queen and King I could have guessed, but Shadow seems like a weird one to be so popular in historical fiction. Thank you!

  13. Rissi 28/04/2018 / 1:17 am

    I would agree with MANY of these. They are used frequently. It doesn’t tend to bother me though – especially if there’s a brilliant story waiting inside. πŸ™‚

    Thanks, as always, for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    • iloveheartlandx 28/04/2018 / 11:34 am

      It only really bothers me when I can’t tell two books apart because they have such similar titles! No worries πŸ™‚

  14. Destiny @ Howling Libraries 29/04/2018 / 10:41 pm

    Great post! I have a TON of books with these words in their titles, too – especially “fire” lol!

  15. Cait @ Paper Fury 30/04/2018 / 11:22 am

    Omgggg this post.πŸ˜‚ THIS IS WONDERFUL. Also with all the titles written out like that it makes me realise why I can never keep anything straight lol lol. They all sound so similar?! It’s the bone that gets me a lot.πŸ˜‚ And shadow! I think Queen of Shadows and Shadow Queen came out in the same year and I was so confused.πŸ˜‚

    • iloveheartlandx 01/05/2018 / 2:18 pm

      Thank you! Ha ha it made me realise the same thing, it’s like “Jo why do you suck at remembering titles? Oh yeah, this is why.” Shadow definitely gets me. I think you’re right and it’s like, which one is which? NOBODY KNOWS!

  16. Elena K 01/05/2018 / 1:36 am

    This is quite the impressive list! I didn’t realize how many books had similar titles. I think the bone trend is the only one I’ve noticed.

    Elena @ The Novelistics

    • iloveheartlandx 01/05/2018 / 2:14 pm

      Thanks! Ha ha yes, I now understand more why I am perenially confused by fantasy book titles πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.