Top Ten Tuesday #137

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! Can you believe it’s less than two weeks to Christmas now? I certainly can’t! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I had my last two Uni Christmas dinners and spent the weekend binge-watching Season 2 of The Crown (so, so good!) so all in all it wasn’t a bad way to end the week. The rest of this week will be spent relaxing before my friends come up to join me for our annual Christmas meet up on Saturday.

Anyway, as it’s Tuesday, it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, thanks to the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week we’re talking Best Books of 2017, as there is only a few weeks till it’s over. For some, it might be a bit early to this list, but as I will probably only read two or three more books before 2017 is over, it’s the perfect time for me! So here we go, my Top Ten (and I am going to try to stick to ten!) Books of 2017:

  1. A Conjuring of Light-VE Schwab-5 stars

I had to start with this one, the book that set an impossibly high standard for all of my other reads of the year because it was just that brilliant. It was hard to say goodbye to Lila, Kell and Rhy (at least for the time being, Schwab has announced a spin off series to Shades of Magic which she has heavily hinted the three will be making an appearance in) but this was the perfect conclusion to their story.

2. The Song Rising-Samantha Shannon-5 stars

My only other 5 star read of the year, this was an action packed, tightly paced book full of amazing character development, the shorter book definitely worked a lot better for this story and am now anxious to see where Paige ends up in the next book. Whilst I may have started off having lukewarm feelings about this series, I can definitely now call it a favourite.

3. Six of Crows-Leigh Bardugo-4 stars

Yup, I’m jumping on the Six of Crows bandwagon, at last! The cast of characters that Bardugo created was wildly entertaining, and once you got into the action, it happened a breakneck speed and I could barely put the book down for even a second. I have four Bardugo books on my #RockMyTBR Challenge for 2018, so I think it’s safe to say that I am firmly on the bandwagon.

4. A Court of Mist and Fury-Sarah J Maas-4 stars

I was so wary of the hype on this one, but it definitely lived up to it, it was so much better than the first book of the series, we got new characters, new settings, new villains and Feyre’s character development was brilliant. I still have yet to read the third book of the series yet, but I’m actually excited to now!

5. Caraval-Stephanie Garber-4 stars

I loved the magical world building, the beautiful writing and the engaging characters in Stephanie Garber’s debut novel. I would love to get to be a spectator of Caraval, because it sounds like it would be incredible to watch.

6. Scythe-Neal Shusterman-3.5 stars

Whilst I didn’t love this offering of Neal Shusterman’s as much as I adored Unwind, I still enjoyed the interesting world that he created and thought that the concept of this book was absolutely amazing, so it still makes my favourites list for this year.

7. The Girl From Everywhere-Heidi Heilig-3.5 stars

I read this book after a couple of underwhelming ones and it was really nice to read something that I genuinely enjoyed again. I loved the setting for this one, I’ve never read anything set in Hawaii before, and it sounded beautiful. Plus a time travelling pirate ship? Pretty darn awesome. I thought the whole thing was very creative and beautifully written, the only shame was that I didn’t connect to the main character more.

8. The Crown’s Game-Evelyn Skye-3.5 stars

This book had an amazing setting, a really cool magical system, great characters, pretty writing and most importantly of all lots of food! I would have loved it even more if it had been paced just a little bit better, but overall it was really enjoyable (and there was a masquerade, so that would have saved the book even if I’d hated the rest of it)!

9. Under Rose Tainted Skies-Louise Gornall-3.5 stars

I’ve discovered over the years that when it comes to YA contemporaries, mental health focused ones are my favourites, perhaps because they are usually harder hitting than ones focusing on romance. This one is definitely one of my favourites that I’ve read, the fact that the author is #ownvoices for the conditions she writes about definitely comes through because Norah’s voice just feels so authentic.

10. Daughter of The Pirate King-Tricia Levenseller-3 stars

In terms of fun factor, this one would have got five stars, it was only my analytical reviewer brain that stopped me from giving it that, it was definitely the most fun that I had whilst reading this year, so for that alone it makes it on to my best of the year list. I loved Alosa and that was really what made the book for me, she was just such an amazing MC. I’m hoping in the next book there might be a little more pirating though!

So there we go, my favourite books of 2017! This list was a bit of a weird one for me, because obviously as you can see, most of what I’ve read this year has been 3.5 stars (in fact there’s only a few books on my GR Challenge this year that got either more or less than that) but I feel like people see 3 (even if it’s followed by .5) and think I didn’t enjoy a book and that’s just not true, I still really enjoyed a book that got 3.5 stars, it just didn’t quite make it to what I consider to be 4. What were your favourite books of 2017? Did any of mine make your list? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings, which I will still be doing even though I know it’s unlikely Santa will bring any books this year as Santa has spent the year complaining about how many books I have! Still I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a gift card to Waterstones, or just so money that I can spend on books.

I’ve been tagged in a Christmas book tag, so I will probably have that up very soon, I also have plans for a discussion post and am planning some stuff for my Writing Corner, so hopefully I should be able to end this blogging year with a bang!

71 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #137

  1. Holly 12/12/2017 / 12:50 pm

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list *gasp!!* but I really want to read A Conjuring of Light and finish that series ASAP!

  2. Louise 12/12/2017 / 1:49 pm

    Interesting! A good few of these are on my TBR. Very interested in what you’ve said about Scythe, The Crownā€™s Game and Daughter of The Pirate King.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/12/2017 / 4:58 pm

      Thanks! I hope you enjoy them if you read them šŸ™‚

  3. Sebastian 12/12/2017 / 2:03 pm

    I didn’t find the time to read “The Song Rising” this year (mostly because I want to re-read the first two books again before picking up the third one) but I’m glad to see that it made your list! liked the first two books quite a lot and have already heard several opinions of people saying that “The Song Rising” is the best one yet, so I hope it can live up to my expectations!

    Here are my favorite books of 2017 so far

    • iloveheartlandx 12/12/2017 / 4:58 pm

      Fair enough-I had already read the first two earlier in the summer, and I got the third one at YALC, so figured I’d knock them all off in the same year. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  4. Greg Hill 12/12/2017 / 2:31 pm

    Caraval and Under Rose-Tainted Skies are two I definitely want to read! and maybe Daughter of the Pirate King as well, since I keep seeing good reviews!

    • iloveheartlandx 12/12/2017 / 3:54 pm

      Yes it was so good! VE Schwab posted a teaser from the first book of the spinoff series on Twitter the other day, so we’re definitely getting it, it’s just a question of when! Ah no problem, I’ve been feeling that checking out most people’s lists this week!

      • Maraia 13/12/2017 / 10:02 am

        I missed that! šŸ˜± I’m so glad.

      • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 1:26 pm

        Yes me too! The series was just announced this year, so I think we’ll probably get the first book 2019, since that’s the way publishing seems to work.

  5. Astilbe Reviews 12/12/2017 / 3:50 pm

    I think it’s cool that you rated all of the books in your post. What a nice way to arrange them.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thanks for stopping by earlier today!

  6. Viki 12/12/2017 / 4:18 pm

    I’m planning to read six of crows for ages but I still didn’t. maybe because I didn’t like Shadow and bone but it’s my Christmas presetns to myself so maybe if I have it is a physical form I’ll be promted. Great list.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/12/2017 / 4:55 pm

      Thank you! Oh that’s a shame that you didn’t like Shadow and Bone, I hope that you enjoy Six of Crows more!

  7. Books Like Wolves 12/12/2017 / 4:24 pm

    Wow, you have amazing books on this list. You read the best ones out there!!

    • iloveheartlandx 12/12/2017 / 4:55 pm

      Aww thank you! I have been very lucky with the amazing books I’ve got to read this year šŸ™‚

  8. Helia Reads 12/12/2017 / 5:21 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed Six of Crows! Bardugo is a brilliant writer and I hope you like the sequel and her other books too. I have yet to read The Bone Season series but I have heard really good things. I discovered it in my library the other day, so maybe some time next year I will get to reading it šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 12/12/2017 / 5:26 pm

      So am I! I hope so too, otherwise my #RockMyTBR challenge for next year is down the river as I have four Bardugo books on my list! Oh cool, I hope you enjoy it if you do decide to read it.

  9. Angela Lawrence 12/12/2017 / 5:51 pm

    Daughter of the Pirate King was such a fun book! I’m looking forward to the sequel! I have a couple others of these on my TBR, so hopefully I will enjoy them as much as you did!

  10. crafty scribbles1976 12/12/2017 / 6:44 pm

    I keep hearing about The Crown. I guess my cue to watch.

  11. lindseyhabets 12/12/2017 / 7:23 pm

    A Conjuring of Light definitely deserves all the stars šŸ™‚ Six of Crows was amazing as well.

  12. Sarah E. (@sjanee11) 12/12/2017 / 11:28 pm

    I have only read Caraval, but a majority of the rest are on my TBR and I always love to hear that other people love them. It makes me so excited to get to them šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 1:54 pm

      Oh me too, that’s why I love doing lists like these, to share the excitement for books that others may not have read!

  13. kozbisa 13/12/2017 / 12:04 am

    When I do my favorites of 2017, Pirate King will be on the list. I also loved Caraval, Six of Crows, and ACOMAF. I am jumping up and down waiting for Legendary, so I can get back in that world. Did you read Crooked Kingdom? I cried some serious tears over that book.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 1:54 pm

      Yay! Oh I’m glad to hear that. Me too, can’t believe we have to wait until May! I haven’t read it yet, it’s on my TBR for next year.

  14. curlygeek04 13/12/2017 / 12:36 am

    I think Conjuring of Light was the perfect end to a trilogy – I loved every minute. I haven’t read Song Rising yet, but I liked the last one. Pirate King sounds like a fun book and I’ve seen it on a few lists.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 1:52 pm

      It really was, as did I. Oh it was so good, I hope you enjoy it. It definitely is very fun šŸ™‚

  15. Cori R. 13/12/2017 / 1:32 am

    My Santa doesn’t bring me books either, but there is always wishful thinking!

  16. Elena K 13/12/2017 / 5:20 am

    I loved A Court of Mist and Fury. I keep coming across Caraval and Six of Crows but I haven’t read either of them. Perhaps it’s time I did.
    Great list, thanks for the visit,
    Elena @ The Novelistics

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 1:51 pm

      Me too! Oh they’re so good, you definitely should. Thank you. No problem šŸ™‚

  17. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 13/12/2017 / 5:56 am

    Daughter of the Pirate King wasn’t a perfect book, but it was really fun to read. You pretty much summed up my review of it right there. Great list.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 1:44 pm

      No it wasn’t perfect, but it was a lot of fun and to me that’s actually more important? After all it’s why I read! Thank you šŸ™‚

  18. Just Another Girl and her Books 13/12/2017 / 6:36 am

    A few of these books have been on my radar, so I should definitely check them out for sure. Have a great week. – Katie

  19. Kathy @ Books & Munches 13/12/2017 / 6:48 am

    Six of Crows and Caraval, whoop! Although I enjoyed them, I wouldn’t say they’re really in my top ten this year, haha.
    I have yet to read Schwab’s books – and Scythe has me so intrigued. It’s been popping up a lot lately.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 1:42 pm

      Fair enough! There are a lot of books that I’ve read this year, that I enjoyed, so I can understand that. Oh Schwab’s books are so good and Scythe is definitely very interesting.

  20. Cait @ Paper Fury 13/12/2017 / 8:28 am

    I had so many 5-star reads that I couldn’t even do this prompt.šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ I will definitely recap my top reads when I do a yearly recap post though! Anyway SO glad you loved these and I liked Caraval too! Like it was a solid 4-stars for me too, not world changing, but super magical and lovely! I still need to read Scythe! AND ACOL WAS AMAZING AND HURT MY HEART BUT ALSO WAS PERFECT?!?? Schwab is a queen. :’)

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 1:38 pm

      Ha ha fair enough! I wish I’d had more 5 star reads this year, but that’s sometimes just the way things go. That’s probably a better way of doing things actually, it’s a little early to be doing a best of list really. Thank you, so am I! Caraval was great wasn’t it? No nothing world changing, but not every book needs to be like that. Ooh Scythe is wonderful, I hope you enjoy it. ACOL was incredible, yes Schwab is a queen šŸ™‚

  21. adventurekettle 13/12/2017 / 2:55 pm

    Great list! šŸ˜€ I’m seeing Caraval everywhere. I really should have read it by now. Maybe in January. A Conjuring of Light was a good ending.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 3:47 pm

      Thank you! Ah there’s never a time frame for reading a book, that’s the beautiful thing about it, once it’s out there, it’s out there for good. Yes it was.

  22. The Lovely Pages Reviews 13/12/2017 / 9:34 pm

    Nope, I haven’t read any of these but there’s so many from my TBR I’m glad they made it to your top ten!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/12/2017 / 1:13 pm

      Oh yay! I’m glad to hear that, it’s so great when you see books on your TBR on other people’s Best Of lists.

  23. Sara (@Forever17Books) 14/12/2017 / 2:09 am

    Oooh, I’ve read a lot of these too and enjoyed them as well! I haven’t read anything by V.E. Schwab yet but I’m determined to fix that in 2018. šŸ™‚

  24. Deanna Reads Books 14/12/2017 / 4:59 am

    You have so many books on here that I shamelessly still haven’t read!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/12/2017 / 1:09 pm

      Ha ha best get on that! This was me for like everyone’s lists this week too though!

  25. L 14/12/2017 / 6:47 am

    I actually haven’t had a chance to read any of these yet, but a lot of them are on my list! I’m currently reading The Archived, and it’s my first book by Victoria Schwab. I’ve heard great things about her other books.

    Do You Dog-ear?

    • iloveheartlandx 14/12/2017 / 1:08 pm

      Well I hope you enjoy them when you do get to them! Oh cool, I liked that one, not as much as the Shades of Magic books, but I still liked it.

  26. thebookishlibra 14/12/2017 / 11:29 am

    Wonderful list. Many of these were great reads for me too.

  27. Annemieke 16/12/2017 / 6:51 pm

    I quite enjoyed The Girl From Everywhere as well this year. And I still need to continue on with The Bone Season.

  28. Louise 18/12/2017 / 3:43 pm

    I want to read V.E. Schwab’s books so badly, but I have no idea where to start with them. šŸ˜… Hopefully, I’ll figure it out soon because I don’t want to feel left out.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/12/2017 / 1:37 am

      I don’t know if there is any particular place you have to start, personally I would go with the Shades of Magic series first.

  29. Rissi 23/12/2017 / 9:36 pm

    And I still haven’t jumped on the “Six of Crows” bandwagon… perhaps 2018 will be THE year I actually do. šŸ™‚ Glad to see this one on your list. (And I hope you enjoyed the rest of your 2017 reads, too!!)

  30. Angela @ Angela's Library 28/12/2017 / 4:29 pm

    I was similarly wary of A Court of Mist and Fury, due both to the hype and to the fact that I was underwhelmed by the first book. I ended up loving it SO much more than A Court of Thorns and Roses – Rhysand forever!

    • iloveheartlandx 29/12/2017 / 3:07 pm

      Glad we both ended up loving it, despite initial hesitations!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.