Top Ten Tuesday #136

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi all! I hope you’ve all had a great week, I have been well and truly getting in the Christmas spirit, I was out at the Christmas market in Edinburgh with my friends today and we exchanged Christmas presents, I have two Christmas dinners coming up in the next two days, so I am feeling very full of cheer right now. Since finishing Uni for the semester, I have been able to kick back, relax and read to my hearts content so I’m feeling pretty awesome right now!

Anyway, as it’s Tuesday, it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, thanks to the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week we’re talking all about Bookish Settings We’d Like To Visit, which is something I’m really excited about, as I often dream of visiting some of my favourite places from books, so it’s great to get to have an opportunity to talk about it! So here we go, the Bookish Settings I Would Totally Visit (were they real!):

  1. Hogwarts-Harry Potter Series-JK Rowling

Do I really have to explain this one? Seriously what’s up Hogwarts, where’s my letter? It’s been 21 years already, you must have really, really slow owls!

2. Red London-Shades of Magic Trilogy-VE Schwab

I’ll be honest, I’d go to any of Schwab’s Londons quite happily and I’d love to be an Antari and get to explore them all, but of the four, Red London sounds like the most fun and it has magic so…..yeah, I’d like to go there.

3. Camp Half-Blood-PJO Universe-Rick Riordan

I just want to have a summer at Camp Half-Blood? Please? Hanging out with all the demigods, getting do all the fun camp activities. I mean I might take a pass on the near certain death quests, but I would love to hang out at the Camp with Percy and the gang. The food sounds amazing!

4. The Faraway Tree-The Faraway Tree Stories-Enid Blyton

This is a childhood one, but I loved The Faraway Tree when I was little and the idea of being able to climb a tree into a land that changes every week, still thrills me a little. I would have to ensure it was a good land like the Land of Goodies rather than a bad land like the Land of Slaps before visiting though!

5. Le Cirque De Reves-The Night Circus-Erin Morgenstern

I may not have loved this book as much as everyone else seems to, but I would still love to visit the Circus, it sounds completely magical!

6. Narnia-Chronicles of Narnia-CS Lewis

Granted, I never made it past The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, but I would love to fall through the wardrobe into Narnia, especially after Christmas was returned!

7. Imperial Russia-The Crown’s Game Duology-Evelyn Skye

Sure, life wasn’t all great in Imperial Russia, but the picture Skye paints of it in her duology is so beautiful that I would love to get to visit it, just once.

8. Velaris-ACOMAF-Sarah J Maas

The descriptions of Velaris in ACOMAF sound so gorgeous, I would love to get to stroll the streets, experience Starfall and get to eat some of the delicious sounding food that Feyre eats in ACOMAF.

9. Higher Institute For Villainous Education-HIVE series-Mark Walden

Would I like to train in a super secret school for villains inside the crater of a volcano? Duh of course I would!

10. Caraval-Caraval-Stephanie Garber

I wouldn’t like to take part in the game, but Garber’s descriptions of it make it sound so amazing that I’d love to get to go and spectate, just soak up the atmosphere of the magical game.

So there we go, the bookish settings that I would love to visit! Do we share any? What bookish places would you like to visit? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Top Ten Favourite Books of 2017 which should be a really fun one to do, it will be nice to share the love for the amazing books that I’ve read this year! I’m not sure if I’ll have anything else up this week, but I’m hoping to contact some people for my writing feature, Writing Corner, very soon, so hopefully I will have something for you guys in that area soon!

79 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #136

  1. Holly 06/12/2017 / 12:50 am

    I also put Night Circus on my list! Red London and Camp Half-Blood are great ideas– I’ve always wanted to see what cabin I would be put into šŸ™‚ I’m glad you’re in such a festive mood!

    • iloveheartlandx 06/12/2017 / 1:23 pm

      Yay! Oh me too, I have no idea which one I would fit into, so it would be cool to see. Ha ha yeah, this is my favourite time of the year, so once I’m able to be festive, I go all out!

  2. Much ado about Little Women 06/12/2017 / 3:44 am

    Ooohhh my son is into the Faraway Tree series at the moment and I think a trip there with him would be stellar šŸ˜‰ Land of Birthdays especially! Make a wish cake yummm…

    • iloveheartlandx 06/12/2017 / 1:21 pm

      Ah that’s so lovely to hear that kids today still read those books (and I can’t believe I just wrote that sentence, makes me feel so old!). Ooh yes, Land of Birthdays was one of my favourites!

      • Much ado about Little Women 29/12/2017 / 9:24 am

        I actually hadn’t heard of them at all until my son told me his teacher was reading them at school! Now they’re into Narnia… which I also hadn’t read until later in life. (Catching up my childhood a bit ;))

      • iloveheartlandx 29/12/2017 / 2:56 pm

        Aww well that’s lovely that they still read them! Oh really? I only ever read the second Narnia book (The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe) and then could never get into the rest of them. Never too late to enjoy childhood books-and now you can enjoy them with your son!

  3. Ally Writes Things 06/12/2017 / 4:56 am

    We had so many in common! I totally agree about the Night Circus and Narnia!

  4. Carrie 06/12/2017 / 2:39 pm

    Hogwarts and Narnia!! YES!

  5. ericarobyn 06/12/2017 / 2:50 pm

    GREAT list!!

  6. lalafulton 06/12/2017 / 3:36 pm

    I keep seeing Caraval by Stephanie Garber on these lists so that’s making me think I really need to read the book? GREAT list!
    Also a Christmas Market in Edinburgh sounds so delightfully magical!!!!!!

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:46 pm

      Oh you definitely should, it’s wonderful! It’s amazing, would highly recommend if you ever come to Edinburgh at Christmas.

  7. Alison Doherty 06/12/2017 / 3:46 pm

    I don’t know how I forgot Narnia and the Night Circus!

  8. Yulia K. 06/12/2017 / 3:53 pm

    Hogwarts and Narnia are a must on a list like that. Great choices šŸ™‚

  9. karenjo46 06/12/2017 / 4:30 pm

    Would also love to go to Imperial Russia! The Crown’s Game is one of my faves =)

  10. Marissa Writes (@Reading_List1) 06/12/2017 / 4:55 pm

    Oh, these are amazing – I love the idea of imperial Russia… I wasn’t sure about the story, but the setting was so interesting.

    Marissa

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:44 pm

      Thanks! Yes it is a great setting. Oh really? I really liked the books, but I guess different taste!

  11. kozbisa 06/12/2017 / 5:14 pm

    Good to see we had four in common. Maybe we can get a group discount? šŸ˜‰ I have seen Red London on a bunch of lists, but that place scared me a little. Imperial Russia would be epic. I would even love to visit now, because the architecture is so beautiful.

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:43 pm

      Ha ha maybe! Ah possibly, but the magic…… It would be. Oh yeah me too, Russia is definitely somewhere I’d love to go anyway, my dad went a few years ago and it looked so beautiful.

  12. ChandaReads 06/12/2017 / 8:54 pm

    I completely forgot about Imperial Russia! I’d love to visit there, too. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:42 pm

      I forgot about so many places this week too! Thank you šŸ™‚

  13. Shaz 06/12/2017 / 9:44 pm

    I loved The Faraway Tree too when I was younger. It sounded like a great place to explore!

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:42 pm

      It did! It was one of my favourite books when I was younger and definitely whetted my appetite for adventure.

  14. readingwithjessica 06/12/2017 / 11:14 pm

    I’ll ride with you to Velaris lol!! It sounds like a beautiful place!! Great list ā¤

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:40 pm

      Ha ha I’ll saddle up the horse! It does sound magical. Thank you šŸ™‚

  15. thebookishlibra 07/12/2017 / 12:28 am

    I wish I had thought to put Camp Half Blood on my list. Great picks!

  16. Jim Henderson 07/12/2017 / 1:25 am

    Narnia and Hogwarts sound like great places to visit. Most of the others are destinations that whet my imagination and provide ideas for future discoveries!

  17. Susie | Novel Visits 07/12/2017 / 4:31 am

    Love The Night Circus setting. Such a great book!

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:38 pm

      Me too! I wasn’t a fan of everything in the book, but can’t fault the setting šŸ™‚

  18. vidyatiru 07/12/2017 / 6:10 pm

    thank you for visiting.. and i agree we have many common picks.. the ones i don’t have, mostly because i was not familiar with some of those, so should check it out

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:36 pm

      No problem! These are all great books, so definitely check out the ones you’re not familiar with šŸ™‚

  19. wulfluva 08/12/2017 / 2:20 am

    I hadn’t thought about Camp Half-Blood. Good one.

    Thanks for visiting Shell’s Stories!

  20. katarguelles 08/12/2017 / 3:42 am

    I forgot about Velaris and Caraval. I wouldn’t want to participate in the Caraval game but it does sound exciting. This is a great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2017 / 2:34 pm

      I forgot about so many that I only realised going through other people’s lists! Thanks šŸ™‚

  21. Heather Cilley 08/12/2017 / 4:05 pm

    I agree Velaris does sound beautiful! Awesome list! šŸ˜€

  22. whimsywriter3 08/12/2017 / 8:42 pm

    Red London does seem like a cool place to visit. šŸ™‚

  23. bookmurmuration 08/12/2017 / 9:07 pm

    We share some settings – I would love to visit Camp Half-Blood and the Night Circus. I think these both books with strong world-building. šŸ™‚

  24. Annemieke 09/12/2017 / 5:11 am

    Being a spectator at Caraval would already be so cool!

    • iloveheartlandx 09/12/2017 / 12:36 pm

      Cool! Ah there were so many I didn’t think of too, I was kicking myself when I saw them on other people’s lists! Thanks šŸ™‚

  25. ChrissiReads 09/12/2017 / 12:02 pm

    I’m super excited to read Caraval! šŸ™‚

  26. jessicabookworm 09/12/2017 / 2:46 pm

    Ah Jo, I wish I had thought of Camp Half-Blood and the Faraway Tree. Great list! šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 10/12/2017 / 2:00 pm

      Thanks! Ah, I was thinking that everytime I looked at someone’s list and saw a setting I loved but hadn’t thought of. Just goes to show how many amazing places books can take us too.

  27. buffywnabe 09/12/2017 / 4:40 pm

    Hogwarts is a definite. Going to the Universal Studios park in Orlando last March, I kind of feel like I got to go in a way. And I want to go back! Great list! Thanks so much for stopping by my TTT on Lisa Loves Literature earlier!

    • iloveheartlandx 10/12/2017 / 1:59 pm

      Yes it is! I get what you mean, I feel the same having been to the Warner Bros Studios where Harry Potter was filmed, but I would still love to go to actual Hogwarts. Thanks! No problem šŸ™‚

  28. Ayla 09/12/2017 / 6:51 pm

    I love your list! I didn’t know all the settings/books, but they sound wonderful. šŸ™‚

  29. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 09/12/2017 / 7:37 pm

    I’ve only read the first two Percy Jackson novels (I will finish the series!), but Camp Half-Blood would be an amazing place to visit.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/12/2017 / 1:10 pm

      It would be! Oh I hope you do, it’s one of my favourites šŸ™‚

  30. @lynnsbooks 10/12/2017 / 3:22 pm

    Great list – Caraval definitely – although it felt very dangerous.
    Lynn šŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 11/12/2017 / 8:59 pm

      Thank you! Yes it did, but I would only be watching, not taking part!

  31. lindseyhabets 10/12/2017 / 4:39 pm

    Hogwarts, Red London, Camp Half Blood and Velaris, YES! Oh and definitely the Imperial Russia from The Crown’s Game ā¤

  32. Eve L (Evilous) 11/12/2017 / 5:56 pm

    Velaris and Hogarts for me! Whoohoo! Some of the others I really liked as well like Caraval!

  33. Lois 11/12/2017 / 9:03 pm

    I completely forgot about the Night Circus. That place would be like a dream to visit. So magical and unusual.

  34. Tanya Atkinson 12/12/2017 / 1:25 am

    Imperial Russia… check. Velaris… double check. šŸ™‚ Narnia is such a good pick! Wish I had remembered that one!

    • iloveheartlandx 12/12/2017 / 11:22 am

      Thanks! Ah there were so many I forgot too, no worries šŸ™‚

  35. Bonnie @ For the Love of Words 13/12/2017 / 4:59 pm

    Every single post I’ve read today has included Velaris. I love that Maas created such a magical-sounding world that we all wholeheartedly agree we would love to visit. šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 13/12/2017 / 5:14 pm

      It is wonderful isn’t it? I count that as a marker of a great setting, when it sounds so wonderful that everyone who reads about it wants to visit!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.