Top Ten Tuesday #130

80e8d-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these. Happy news, I have emerged from essay hell! I am also at home for the week as it’s the mid-semester break for Uni this week, so I am planning on enjoying my week off as much as possible and get lots of reading and blogging done (it is called reading week after all right? I’m just doing what I’m told!). It’s Tuesday and that means yet another Top Ten Tuesday from the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Unique Book Titles and I’m going to be focusing on fantasy ones. We all know a lot of fantasy titles involve the same words, blood, dawn, magic, girl, crown, throne, daughter, princess, I mean the list goes on. So I am setting myself a difficult challenge today in trying to find fantasy titles that go against the norm! 10 might be a stretch but I’ll see! So here we go, Top Ten Unique Fantasy Titles:

  1. Everless-Sarah Holland

This is an upcoming 2018 fantasy title and though the title definitely indicates that this is a fantasy rather than a contemporary book, it doesn’t use any of the usual cliche fantasy words. I actually just got approved for this one on Netgalley and I’m really excited to read it because it sounds amazing.

2. Ace of Shades-Amanda Foody

Another upcoming 2018 title that sounds super amazing (magic and con artists people, magic and con artists!). It does employ the something of something title trope, but it’s still a very different title to a lot of fantasy novels.

3. Uprooted-Naomi Novik

These one word titles are quite good ones because fantasy titles tend to be quite lengthy, so a single word title definitely stands out above the rest. I’ve heard amazing things about this one and it’s on my TBR, so I can’t wait to read it.

4. Caraval-Stephanie Garber

Another one word title I know, but have you ever heard of another title like this? The title itself is as unique as the story inside.

 

5. The Archived-Victoria Schwab

This title is as unique as the story inside it, and is perfectly suited, after all what better name to call a book about the archives of the dead?

6. The Storyspinner-Becky Wallace

I just find this title so pretty and it doesn’t use any of the really cliche fantasy title words.

7. Labyrinth Lost-Zoraida Cordova

I’m actually surprised Labyrinth isn’t a more used fantasy word? Unless I’m totally living under a rock here, but it’s definitely lesser used than some of the more cliche ones. I’ve actually only ever read one fantasy book with Labyrinth in the title (Battle of The Labyrinth). I’ve heard really good things about this one, so I hope I enjoy it when I finally get to it!

8. Grave Mercy-Robin LaFevers

The two word title is quite common, but these particular two words don’t seem to be particularly common. Mercy is unsurprising, it’s not something you tend to think of when it comes to fantasy, but you’d think considering how much death there is, Grave would be more common! I suppose fantasy titles prefer to go with death than grave though.

9. Forest of A Thousand Lanterns-Julie Dao

Okay so it does the whole something of something thing, but there is no queen, no king, no prince, no midnight, no throne, I really could go on so I’ll stop there but you get my point, it manages to take a well worn fantasy title trope and actually do something a little bit different and more interesting with it.

10. Royal Bastards-Andrew Shvarts

For a genre so obsessed with royalty, the actual word royal doesn’t seem to be overly common in YA books, or at least not that I’ve seen! Also swear words in YA titles is not something that I’ve ever seen before this book came out. Unfortunately the second book falls into the City of…. trope but at least this first book had a slightly less cliche title!

So that’s it, my ten most unique fantasy titles! This was super hard guys, finding fantasy books without prince, princess, king, queen, blood, bone, shadow etc in the title is no easy feat. It was also really fun though, I think I’m going to do another one of these with most cliche fantasy titles, it will probably be a lot easier to put together than this one! What unique fantasy titles would you choose? Have you read any of these? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is a Halloween Freebie. I looked back at my old Halloween posts and so far I’ve done Book Characters You Can Dress As For Halloween and Books To Get You In The Halloween Mood, so for next week’s Halloween Freebie, I’m going to talk about October New Releases You Could Read This Halloween (not necessarily scary ones!). As it’s reading week, I’m hoping to get to post a little bit more this week, I have plans for a review and a discussion post that I want to write this week, so hopefully you guys will see those soon!

66 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #130

  1. Iridescence 24/10/2017 / 3:35 pm

    “The storyspinner” sounds so cool! I want to check it out! And Royal Bastards as well. I’ll admit, though, I’m drawn to anything that uses cuss words. Probably why I like LilyCReads on YouTube so much 😅

    • iloveheartlandx 24/10/2017 / 4:12 pm

      It does right? Ha ha yeah me too, it’s just so rare in the world of YA to see a book titled with a swear word.

  2. Kathy @ Books & Munches 24/10/2017 / 4:31 pm

    Caraval and Forest of a Thousand Lanterns are definitely worth mentioning! I love both titles.
    Have yet to read FoaTL though, haha. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 24/10/2017 / 4:39 pm

      Thanks! Oh I haven’t read it yet either, actually of this list, I’ve only read Caraval and The Archived!

      • Kathy @ Books & Munches 24/10/2017 / 4:40 pm

        I did read Caraval already, haha. I was in a circus mood after The Night Circus!

      • iloveheartlandx 24/10/2017 / 4:41 pm

        I can see that, Caraval and The Night Circus are quite similar.

  3. Emily @ Mixed Margins 24/10/2017 / 5:04 pm

    Fantasy titles are often the same thing over and over. I’m glad you found some that went against the norm! Something about the sound of “everless” makes my heart sing. I hope it’s good! ❤

    • iloveheartlandx 25/10/2017 / 4:28 pm

      They really are! It was NOT easy, you have to wade through a lot of similar ones to find the few unique title gems. It does sound wonderful doesn’t it? Me too!

  4. jessicabookworm 24/10/2017 / 6:13 pm

    Sadly I haven’t read any of these, however I agree they have some great titles! The only fantasy on my list this week was The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – one I think we know so well now we forget how unusual it is, as it literally lists what is in the book 😀

  5. Loretta @ The Laughing Listener 24/10/2017 / 6:54 pm

    This is a great list, we have a few of the same ones! And I almost put Everless on my list too, but ended up picking something else. That’s such a good one though! Very different! Make me want to read it!!

    • iloveheartlandx 25/10/2017 / 4:27 pm

      Thank you! Oh that’s cool 🙂 Fair enough, there are a lot of great titles out there. I hope you enjoy it if you do 🙂

  6. The Printed Girl 24/10/2017 / 7:16 pm

    I loved loved loved Uprooted! I should have put that one in my list too! Great list with great titles! 😊

  7. crafty scribbles1976 24/10/2017 / 7:29 pm

    There’s nothing like a good title to grab you. Haven’t read any of these, but consider me interested.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/10/2017 / 8:50 pm

      I actually haven’t read most of them either, only two! I’m glad you’ve found them interesting though 🙂

  8. lindseyhabets 24/10/2017 / 7:31 pm

    Some great choices! Fantasy definitely has a lot of similar sounding titles, but you have found some unique ones 🙂

  9. agreatreviewer 24/10/2017 / 8:37 pm

    Ooh nice ones! Familiar with quite a few of these! Great choices!

    Thanks for visiting my post!

  10. Jaime 24/10/2017 / 8:42 pm

    I agree that fantasy does have a lot of titles that are similar, and it’s cool that you decide to “theme” your post around unique ones. Caraval is definitely unique, and Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is too, despite it being long.

    Awesome list!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/10/2017 / 8:47 pm

      Aww thank you! I figured a lot of fantasy fans probably felt the same way I do, that there are a LOT of very similar titles in fantasy, so I wanted to share some different ones. Haha yes FOATL is long, I did try to stick to shorter ones but I was getting a bit stretched by the time I got to that one. Thank you 🙂

  11. alilovesbooks 24/10/2017 / 9:18 pm

    There are sooo many on your list I have languishing on my TBR mountain. I just got approved for Everless in the last couple of days too and am so looking forward to it.

    I think the only one I’ve read is Caraval and it is such a great read.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/10/2017 / 10:00 pm

      Ha ha isn’t that always the way though? I hope we both enjoy Everless! Yes, Caraval is awesome (I’ve actually only read it and The Archived of the books on my list) and I can’t wait for the sequel!

  12. girlplusbooks 24/10/2017 / 11:25 pm

    Great picks! I’ve had Grave Mercy sitting on my shelf for so long and just haven’t got to it yet. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is a beautiful title. Love that one.

    • iloveheartlandx 25/10/2017 / 4:24 pm

      Thanks! I hope you enjoy it when you do. It is lovely, isn’t it?

  13. AJ Sterkel 24/10/2017 / 11:56 pm

    These are great! I love when fantasy books aren’t called magic/blood/princess/daughter. Fantasy titles are so confusing! We need unique ones.

    • iloveheartlandx 25/10/2017 / 4:23 pm

      Thanks! Me too, it definitely makes them stand out from the crowd 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 25/10/2017 / 4:23 pm

      Thank you! Oh they are very prevalent in YA fantasy, it’s ridiculous how many of them there are out there.

  14. Amanda Holmes 25/10/2017 / 3:13 am

    The Storyspinner and Grave Mercy are books that I have thought about picking up.;)

  15. Sue @ Crushingcinders 25/10/2017 / 6:39 am

    Caraval is a stunning title but I was disappointed with the book – probably because I read it just after The Night Circus so was comparing it with that. I loved Grave Mercy which is also a great pick for this weeks list. My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 25/10/2017 / 4:20 pm

      Fair enough! I actually read The Night Circus and Caraval quite close together too, but I think because I didn’t love The Night Circus, my expectations weren’t so high for Caraval, so I was surprised when I enjoyed it. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Grave Mercy, that’s one I really want to read 🙂

  16. flippingthruthepages 25/10/2017 / 8:02 am

    Caraval and Forest of a Thousand Lanterns are on my TBR for so long. I hope to read them soon 🙂 Nice list!

  17. Ilsa @ A Whisper Of Ink 25/10/2017 / 9:48 am

    EEPPPP I AM SO EXCITED FOR ACE OF SHADES! I loved Daughter of the Burning City so much SO MANY BOOKS ON MY TBR!

    • iloveheartlandx 25/10/2017 / 4:16 pm

      ME TOO! It sounds freakin’ incredible! I haven’t read DOTBC yet, but I’m definitely excited to. Join the club, my TBR is expanding of its own accord atm!

  18. Fiona 25/10/2017 / 2:37 pm

    I agree about one word titles! Full of so much intrigue! Caraval, The Archived, and Labyrinth Lost has all been on my TBR for awhile. Nice list!

    • iloveheartlandx 25/10/2017 / 4:14 pm

      They are right? Oh hope you enjoy them when you read them. Thank you!

  19. Jessie @ Dwell in Possibility 25/10/2017 / 3:46 pm

    I’ve always loved the title Uprooted. I think it’s really intriguing and multi-layered and makes me want to read the book.

  20. Louise 25/10/2017 / 4:03 pm

    Everless and Ace of Shades are such fab titles! And both are on my TBR as well, they sound so amazing!

  21. ChrissiReads 25/10/2017 / 5:10 pm

    Caraval! Love the title..need to read the book!

  22. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads 27/10/2017 / 4:56 pm

    Royal Bastards is definitely a pretty unique title. Like you said, it’s pretty uncommon for YA books to have curse words in the title! Great choices for this week!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/10/2017 / 5:58 pm

      Thanks! Yeah I’m honestly surprised the author got away with that one, there’s barely ever any curse words in the story, let alone the title, but I love it!

      • Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads 27/10/2017 / 6:51 pm

        Same here!!

  23. readingwithjessica 27/10/2017 / 8:48 pm

    Love your list!! I think my favorite of these would have to be: Forest of A Thousand Lanterns-Julie Dao. It sounds so pretty, you can almost envision it! Great job!!

  24. Rissi 28/10/2017 / 3:03 am

    I don’t read a lot of fantasy novels (must not be “my” genre), but “Everless” is one I think looks and SOUNDS amazing! That title seems to fit perfectly with the genre, too, and I like how you decided to make your picks this week. So fun. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    • iloveheartlandx 29/10/2017 / 9:53 am

      Fair enough, it’s not everyone’s! Yes Everless does sound incredible. Thank you 🙂

  25. Destiny @ Howling Libraries 28/10/2017 / 8:27 pm

    Great post! I loved Royal Bastards soooo much and the title… lmao, it caught me SO off guard when I first read it!

    • iloveheartlandx 29/10/2017 / 9:51 am

      Thank you! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it, it’s on my TBR list 🙂

  26. Literary Feline 29/10/2017 / 5:39 pm

    Yay for no longer being in essay hell! At least for now. I hope you have gotten a lot read during your mid-term break. I love your list! I just bought a copy of Caraval since it was on sale at Amazon. I really enjoyed Uprooted–and the title is so fitting for the book. Forest of A Thousand Lanterns is one I really want to read.It may have to go on my Christmas wish list . . . Thanks for sharing! I hope you have a great week!

    • iloveheartlandx 29/10/2017 / 9:24 pm

      Thanks! I did get some reading done in my mid term break, I’ve nearly finished my current read and I’m getting there on catching up with my Netgalley reads. I hope you enjoy Caraval. Ooh that’s great to hear.

  27. Annemieke 30/10/2017 / 1:31 pm

    Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is such a great title. Since I heard that title I wanted to read it. And the cover does help.

    • iloveheartlandx 31/10/2017 / 11:42 am

      It is a great title! Oh yes, the cover is gorgeous 🙂

  28. Lois 30/10/2017 / 8:13 pm

    Uprooted is one of those books I wish I loved more. I love the book title but felt a bit underwhelmed by the book in the end.

  29. novelcravings 01/11/2017 / 4:00 am

    I hadn’t heard of Ace of Shades but that is a great title! I love the way the words sound together when I say them. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is also a fantastic title, very poetic. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 01/11/2017 / 1:14 pm

      It is isn’t it? Yes they do go very well together. Yes it is and it’s also something you can easily picture, with a lot of these, something which I find hard with some of these something of something titles. Thank you 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.