Top Ten Tuesday #118

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week, I had an amazing weekend meeting authors at YALC and I’m already so excited to go back again next year (although not gonna lie, slightly bummed I missed the many Benedict Cumberbatch sightings!). Now to read all the books I acquired there! I’m back with another makeshift TTT topic whilst the Broke and Bookish girls are on hiatus (only two more weeks to go until topics officially resume!). I had initially planned on doing a different topic this week, but after YALC, I decided I wanted to do something else. I realised that since I did my first “authors I want to meet TTT” all the way back when I first started doing these two years ago (yup all that time ago!), I’ve actually met quite a few of the authors on that list and have read books by other authors who I’d really like to meet, so I thought I’d do an updated list for you guys that is accurate for the authors that 2017 Jo would love to meet. So here we go:

  1. JK Rowling

Yup number one is still the same! I know this is a complete long shot and would probably never happen but if I ever got the chance to meet JK Rowling I would be the happiest person ever (never mind that I’d likely not be able to speak in front of her because I’d be so gobsmacked).

2. Rick Riordan

Also still on the list from last time, the guy is one of my favourite authors but unless I suddenly become a millionaire and can afford to go to the US for one of his tours, it’s unlikely to happen. I have hope that maybe one day he’ll make it to the UK? Maybe it’s wishful thinking, but I have to have hope.

3. Ruta Sepetys

I don’t think I’d read any of her books when I first did this topic, but since then I have read Between Shades of Grey and Salt To The Sea and really enjoyed both of them, and I’d love to meet her and ask her about the research she does for her books as she always does historical fiction based around lesser known events, so it would be interesting to know how she researches those.

4. Rachel Caine

I’ve really enjoyed The Great Library series so far (so looking forward to reading the third book), so I’d love to get to meet the author and ask her questions about the world and characters and everything, it’s such a unique and inventive series and I’d love to know where she gets her ideas from!

5. Neal Shusterman

He was on my list last time as well, but I’m such a big Unwind fangirl that I would just love to meet him! As far as I can see he’s never come over to the UK (I would have been ON IT if he had been) but I hope that one day he does!

6. Abigail Haas

If only because I need to flail over how much I’m still shaken from that Dangerous Girls ending!

7. Eoin Colfer

I loved Artemis Fowl when I was a young teenager and I would love to be able to meet the author and tell him how much I enjoyed his books and how much I loved Artemis!

8. Tara Sim

So I could flail to her about how cute I find Danny and Colton and how much I love her alternate steampunk clock towered powered world!

9. Ally Carter

I love the Heist Society books and I almost had the chance to meet Ally Carter a few years ago but I wasn’t able to make it down to her signing in London and she hasn’t been back since as far as I know! Hopefully she makes a return visit some time soon!

10. James Dashner

I really enjoyed The Maze Runner when I read them, so it would be great to get a chance to meet the author!

11. Carmen Reid

Her book Cross My Heart is one of my absolute favourites, so it would be great to get the chance to meet her.

12. Julianna Baggott

I absolutely loved the Pure trilogy when I read it, so it would be amazing to have the chance to meet this author and find out how she came up with the disturbing world of that trilogy.

13. Stephanie Garber

I really loved Caraval and Stephanie is so lovely on Twitter, it would be awesome to get the chance to meet her. Sadly I missed her at her UK tour stops this year, but hopefully when the second Caraval is released next year, I’ll actually be able to make it to one.

14. Evelyn Skye

I loved The Crown’s Game, so it would be great to get to meet the author in person, she seems lovely from what I’ve seen of her on Twitter.

That’s all I have for this week! Have you met any of these authors? Would you like to? What authors are at the top of your to meet list? Let me know in the comments!

I will have a new TTT next week, the last of these improvised posts before the regular prompts return (yay!), where I’ll be talking about my Top Ten Older Books That I Don’t Want People To Forget About. In the meantime, I have other posts planned for the rest of this week, so stay tuned!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #118

  1. thebookierookieblog August 1, 2017 / 4:02 pm

    I’m so excited you got to go, I’ve been living vigorously through all the people who went. I’ve never met an author before. I would loveeee to meet Jodi Picoult, Colleen Hoover & Sarah J. Maas 😁

    • iloveheartlandx August 1, 2017 / 4:19 pm

      It was a lot of fun, I would definitely recommend it if you ever get the chance. I’ve met both Jodi Picoult and Sarah J Maas and they’re both lovely, I hope you get the chance to meet them someday!

      • thebookierookieblog August 1, 2017 / 4:34 pm

        I live all the way in Dubai so we don’t really have these events but maybe someday! Oh wow! Hope to meet them too

      • iloveheartlandx August 1, 2017 / 4:35 pm

        Ah that sucks, hopefully someday they will!

  2. abookishbelle August 1, 2017 / 4:23 pm

    I would LOVE to meet Rick Riordan as well especially to see if he’s as funny and easy to talk to in person as he writes his books! I had the best time reading Magnus Chase and laughed out loud pretty much every chapter. I haven’t read Ruta Sepetys yet but I’ve heard nothing but great things about her books so I’ll have to pick them up soon!

    • iloveheartlandx August 1, 2017 / 4:26 pm

      Yes I would love to see that too! Unfortunately I don’t see it happening anytime soon as I’m a broke student who doesn’t have the time or the money to get to the US for one of his tour stops! I hope it happens for you though 🙂 I know, I laughed so hard reading Magnus Chase too. You definitely should, her books are great!

  3. The Wanderlust Reader August 1, 2017 / 6:24 pm

    So many amazing authors!! I’d love to meet JK, Rick, and Evelyn someday too. I hope you get meet them all one day! 😀

  4. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads August 1, 2017 / 9:05 pm

    I would die of excitement if I ever got to meet Ruta Sepetys!! She’s one of my all-time favorite authors and it would be SO amazing.

    • iloveheartlandx August 1, 2017 / 9:09 pm

      Me too to be honest! Let’s hope we both get to meet her one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

