Top Ten Tuesday #110

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a great week, mine has been relatively quiet since getting back from Scotland on Friday, but I’m going to be heading off to Greece with my friends with my friends next week which I’m really excited for! Only 6 days to go! Anyway, I’m back this week with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and Bookish. This week’s topic is about my Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added to My TBR In X Genre, so naturally I’ve chosen YA Fantasy to fill the gap since that’s what I mostly add to my TBR! Most of these will actually be from last week’s TTT lists since there were so many fab YA fantasy new releases on people’s lists! So here we go, the Top Ten YA Fantasies I Added To My TBR recently (in no particular order):

  1. An Enchantment of Ravens-Margaret Rogerson-Added 30th May

Reading Sarah J Maas over the last few years has given me a taste for Fae, but honestly these Fae sound far more like my cup of tea, dark and sinister rather than sexy! It doesn’t release till September but I will definitely be getting it once it does.

2. The Glass Spare-Lauren DeStefano-Added 30th May

Granted this does sound like a rather cliche fantasy, princess finds out she has special powers, there’s a big war on, she’s banished from the kingdom, but if it’s not broke……

This one releases in October.

3. Beasts Made of Night-Tochi Onyebuchi-Added 30th May

This one sounds so original, sin eaters can call forth sins from sinners called sin beasts but killing them causes the sin eater to have a tattoo of the beast and accept the guilt for the sin. Sounds cool right? Also it’s apparently Nigerian inspired, which is awesome!

This is another October release.

4. Girls Made of Snow and Glass-Melissa Bashardoust-Added 30th May

A feminist retelling of Snow White? Count me sold! It sounds like a much darker, more interesting version of Snow White and I can’t wait to see how the author twists the original fairytale. This one releases in September.

5. Daughter of The Siren Queen-Tricia Levenseller-Added 30th May

I added this one straight after reading the first book as it was such a fun read and I can’t wait to catch up with Alosa and Riden and hopefully see more of the sirens, since that’s what the title indicates! Sadly this doesn’t release until February next year.

6. Hunted-Megan Spooner-Added 10th March

Beauty and The Beast is one of my favourite fairytales, so I’m always on the lookout for good retellings of it. I’ve heard some really great things about this one, but I haven’t managed to pick up a copy of it for myself yet!

7. Labyrinth Lost-Zoraida Cordova-Added 24th February

I’ve never read a Latinx inspired fantasy (yes I know, I know) and I love the idea behind this one, a witch summoning the spirits of her dead relatives and it all going wrong? Sounds awesome!

8. The Glass Sentence-SE Grove-Added 15th February

This one is all about maps and adventuring and pirates and it just sounds like so much fun!

9. The Unbound-Victoria Schwab-Added 11th February

It might seem strange that I added this before I had even read the first one (which I’m currently reading) but I already had the first one on my TBR when I bought the pair of them together. I’ve been really enjoying The Archived and I’m sure The Unbound will be just as good.

10. The Crown’s Fate-Evelyn Skye-Added 9th February

I added this one after finishing The Crown’s Game. I liked the first one, didn’t love it, but the ending left off at a very exciting place, so I look forward to seeing what Vika, Nikolai and Pasha get up to next.

I’ll stick to just ten this week before I end up going all the way back to books I added in January! What books have you added recently to your TBR? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s list is a father’s day related freebie, so you’ll have to see what topic I choose then (I’m going to have to be organised and actually schedule this post as I’ll be in Greece!). I don’t know if I’ll have any more posts for you this week as I’ll be busy get ready for Greece, but stay tuned just in case!

 

 

 

 

 

68 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #110

  1. journeyintobooks 06/06/2017 / 6:14 pm

    Great list, i love all things Fae related so definitely adding An Enchantment of Ravens to my TBR.

  2. Esther D 06/06/2017 / 6:29 pm

    Nice list! Hunted is on my TBR as well. The other books; I’ll look into them.

  3. Analee @ Book Snacks 06/06/2017 / 6:48 pm

    Girls Made of Snow and Glass sounds so good!! And Hunted is on my TBR as well. πŸ™‚ Lovely list!

  4. lindseyhabets 06/06/2017 / 7:01 pm

    An Enchantment of Ravens recently made my TBR as well! It sounds so good! And I loved The Crown’s Game, so I’m curious about The Crown’s Fate!

    • iloveheartlandx 06/06/2017 / 7:16 pm

      It really does! So am I, although I have heard some mixed things about it.

  5. Greg Hill 06/06/2017 / 7:47 pm

    Have fun in Greece! I think Enchantment of Ravens sounds great, love the sound of darker fae. and The Glass sentence caught my eye too this week.

    • iloveheartlandx 06/06/2017 / 7:47 pm

      Thanks! Yes it does sound awesome and The Glass Sentence sounds like a lot of fun.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 3:44 pm

      So many books, it’s easy to forget some! Yes the cover is gorgeous and it does sound interesting πŸ™‚

  6. thebookishlibra 06/06/2017 / 10:34 pm

    Girls Made of Snow and Glass is one I’m excited about reading too. I’m actually doing a spotlight post about it tomorrow. Have an amazing time in Greece!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 3:40 pm

      Oh cool, I’ll have to check that out! Thank you πŸ™‚

  7. anovelglimpse 06/06/2017 / 10:49 pm

    Girl Made of Snow and Glass has made making the rounds today. I’m going to have to look into it more. Maybe I need to read it.
    My TTT.

  8. Marissa Writes (@Reading_List1) 06/06/2017 / 10:50 pm

    If you like Beauty and Beast retellings you have to get Hunted – it was so good! There are ton on here I haven’t heard of yet… guess my TBR will be growing again.

    Marissa

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 3:31 pm

      That’s great to hear! Ah well, isn’t that what these lists are for? πŸ™‚

  9. Faith 06/06/2017 / 11:10 pm

    Ooooo! Great list! So many interesting books that I’m now super intrigued with. Girls Made of Snow and Glass and Hunted sound awesome. I love fairytale retellings! And the The Glass Sentence – I mean, c’mon! Pirates and adventure!! πŸ˜€ Thanks for stopping by on my blog!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 3:30 pm

      Thanks! Glad to have helped you find some new books. Me too, they’re awesome. Yup pirates and adventure are the best. No problem πŸ™‚

  10. Grace 06/06/2017 / 11:42 pm

    “An Enchantment of Ravens” sounds so good. I love stories with Fae. πŸ˜€

  11. Jacqueline @bluejaybooks 07/06/2017 / 12:57 am

    Lots of interesting reads here! This topic is introducing me to so many great books. On one hand, this is great. On the other hand, *glances at stacks of unread books.* I don’t think this requires further explanation.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 3:22 pm

      Thanks! Ha ha yes, topics like this are always double edged swords πŸ™‚

  12. Danie 07/06/2017 / 12:58 am

    Hunted looks SO good! I have that on my TBR as well.

  13. Poem Fanatic 07/06/2017 / 5:13 am

    Enjoy your time in Greece! All of these titles sound very intriguing!

  14. kay 07/06/2017 / 6:26 am

    Awesome list. I have almost all of these on my wishlist, too. Evelyn Skye’s book have been tempting me for a while, but I’m still hesitant. I’ve heard great things about Labyrinth lost!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 3:05 pm

      Thanks! Great minds clearly think alike. The Crown’s Game is pretty good, not my favourite but definitely a solid debut. So have I!

  15. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews 07/06/2017 / 7:24 am

    I really enjoyed Labyrinth Lost! I had a few issues with the characters, but the world building and magic was so wonderful. I’m super interested in Girls Made of Snow and Glass!!

  16. whatadifferenceawordmakes 07/06/2017 / 9:37 am

    You had me at feminist Snow White- that sounds like such a brilliant retelling! I have Hunted on my TBR too but knowing me it will take six months to get round to it! I’m dying to get into V E Schwab’s writing too, but I have to wait until I’ve finished doing all my course reading! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 3:02 pm

      It does, doesn’t it? Ha ha same here, having a book on my TBR is no guarantee I’ll read it faster. Ooh you’re in for a treat, her books are so good! Thank you πŸ™‚

  17. Lynn VA 07/06/2017 / 11:06 am

    Great list! I really want to read Daughter of The Siren Queen as well! Really enjoyed the first book, I’d love to read more books about Pirates! Have a great week and happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 3:00 pm

      Thanks! Me too, the first book was so much fun. So would I, don’t understand why they’re not more popular. Thank you πŸ™‚

  18. Eve Langell 07/06/2017 / 1:54 pm

    OMG Yes I only just found out that Daughter of the Siren Queen has a cover and a release date listed! I loved the first book and can’t wait for this one! I also have An Enchantment of Ravens on my list! Great picks!

    • iloveheartlandx 07/06/2017 / 2:58 pm

      I just finished the first book recently and can’t wait for the second one, although 2018 is a long time to wait! An Enchantment of Ravens sounds so good right? Thanks!

  19. Broc's Bookcase (@BrocsBookcase) 07/06/2017 / 3:22 pm

    The Glass Spare looks AMAZING! I need to add that to my TBR immediately! I love V.E.Schwab, so excited for her newest release next week “This Dark Duet”. I hope you get to read all the books on your list! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2017 / 11:56 am

      It really does! Yes VE Schwab is one of my favourite authors, so excited for her new book too. Thanks!

  20. Carrie 07/06/2017 / 3:50 pm

    these all sound great!

  21. Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek 07/06/2017 / 4:35 pm

    Great list, a lot of these sound great! I have read Labyrinth Lost and really enjoyed it, it’s a very fun and magical read plus it’s diverse! I think I’m the most excited for An Enchantment of Ravens and Beasts Made of Night, I actually haven’t seen those on too many other lists either! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2017 / 11:55 am

      Thanks! Oh that’s great to hear. Yes, those two do sound brilliant. I’ve seen them on a few but I would have expected more given how amazing they sound!

  22. LeftyReads 07/06/2017 / 6:05 pm

    The Glass Spare is on my TBR as well! It sounds a bit cliche, but I know Lauren DeStefano wanted to include aspects of her anxiety and OCD in that one, so hopefully it will stand out a bit from typical fantasy. I also have Labyrinth Lost and The Unbound on my tbr!!

    ~ Lefty @ The Left-Handed Book Lover

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2017 / 11:54 am

      Oh that’s interesting, I didn’t know that. Cool, I hope we both enjoy them!

  23. Rachel (Bookish Rachel) 07/06/2017 / 7:18 pm

    Great list! There are a lot on here that I’ve never even heard of, which is both exciting and surprising, as I’ve been very into this genre lately.

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2017 / 11:54 am

      Thanks! I’m glad to have helped you find some new books. There’s so many fantasy books out there, it’s impossible to know about them all!

      • Rachel (Bookish Rachel) 08/06/2017 / 7:40 pm

        So true. I knew about the big ones and some older ones, but there are so many that I missed when I wasn’t reading much of the genre.

      • iloveheartlandx 10/06/2017 / 7:25 pm

        I hope you get to catch up on them now!

  24. Beth (Reading Every Night) 07/06/2017 / 8:01 pm

    Great picks for this week. Some of these are favourite fantasy books of mine so I hope you enjoy them, and I recently added An Enchantment of Ravens to my to-read list as well! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2017 / 11:53 am

      Thanks! Oh well that’s great to hear, I hope so too. Cool, I hope we both enjoy that one when it comes out!

  25. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks 08/06/2017 / 12:11 pm

    Such a great list! There are a bunch of books on here that I have my eyes set on to; Beasts Made of Night really does sound like such an incredible, unique concept. An Enchantment of Ravens is a book I really, really want to get to – like you said, Maas’s books did give me a taste in fae too, but I much prefer plot-based fantasy with darker lore than sexy times, haha. πŸ™‚ Hope you get to these soon and love them!

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2017 / 4:25 pm

      Thanks! Yes, Beasts Made of Night does sound amazing. Ha ha yeah I totally feel you there, I prefer plot based fantasies with darker lore as well. Thank you πŸ™‚

  26. rudejasper 09/06/2017 / 2:07 am

    Beasts made of Night sounds really cool. Definitely adding that to Mount TBR. I also think I have Labyrinth Lost somewhere on my some day list. Have fun in Greece!

    • iloveheartlandx 10/06/2017 / 10:32 pm

      Yes, it’s wonderful how much variety there is! Oh I’m glad, I hope we both enjoy it.

  27. faithrivens 11/06/2017 / 2:25 pm

    This is an excellent list! I’ve been meaning to read Schwab’s Archived series. My goal is to bingeread This Savage Song & Our Dark Duet this month, then get to her other series in August. πŸ™‚
    Happy Reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/06/2017 / 5:27 pm

      Thank you! I just finished the first one, it was decent, I’m hoping the second one is better. Ooh good luck with that! You have a lot of great reading ahead of you. Thanks, you too πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.