Top Ten Tuesday #105

image14

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week, mine has been rather stressful, with revision for my exam, but thankfully the exam is tomorrow and then I am well and truly free of Uni for another year (though honestly I can’t quite believe that I’m nearly done with my second year of Uni, it’s a little surreal right now. I’m halfway through my degree, that’s just insane!). Anyway, I’m back this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies at The Broke and The Bookish, with another Top Ten Tuesday for you all. This week, we have a cover freebie. Now, as all book lovers do, I have a lot of love for covers, so it was hard to narrow down what my topic should be. Eventually though, I decided on my Top Ten Favourite Fantasy Covers of 2017, since there are so many with pretty covers coming out this year!. So here we go, my favourite Fantasy Covers of 2017 (in no particular order):

  1. flame in the mistFlame In The Mist-Renee Ahdieh

I swear half the reason I requested this book from Netgalley was the beautiful cover. I love the vibrancy of the bright colours of the bird against the dark background, I just think it works so beautifully.

2.Β caraval-2Β Caraval-Stephanie Garber-Whilst the absolute best thing about this book is the secret cover under the dust jacket (I have the rose!), I still love the dust jacket cover as well, it’s beautiful and simple and I think really captures the magic of the book.

3.Β ACOLA Conjuring of Light-VE Schwab-I don’t know what it is about this cover, I just think that the simplicity of it is incredibly striking.

4.Β traitor-to-the-throneTraitor To The Throne-Alwyn Hamilton

I love the colour especially of this cover, but again, I think the beauty of it is in it’s simplicity. I also love how it so wonderfully reflects the setting of the book.

5.Β 29960675Mask of Shadows-Linsey Miller

Not only does this book have an incredible sounding premise (genderfluid protagonist anyone?), but I also love this cover, the minimalism of the background and the text is offset really well by the sharpness of the swords and the wings.

6.Β Wintersong (Wintersong #1)Wintersong-S. Jae Jones

Again, it’s the simplicity of this cover that I love so much. I think when it comes to covers that sometimes less is more, and this cover with just the white rose inside a snow globe is simply stunning.

7.Β Blood Rose Rebellion (Blood Rose Rebellion, #1)Blood Rose Rebellion-Rosalyn Eaves

Once again it’s the simplicity of this cover that I love so much, and I guess I kind of have a thing for roses? I don’t know, I think it’s a by product of loving Beauty and The Beast so much, but anything with roses just gets a big thumbs up from me. I prefer this cover to the white one, I think the white one makes the cover look too washed out, whereas the blue cover really makes the roses pop.

8.Β Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity, #2)Our Dark Duet-Victoria Schwab

Unfortunately, this will not be the cover that I get since I’m in the UK, but I think the US cover of Our Dark Duet is prettier than the UK one so that’s the one I’m sharing. Again, I love this cover for it’s simplicity, I love the cursive writing and the darkness of the cover offset by the blue of the violin, it’s simply stunning!

9.Β 29748925Strange The Dreamer-Laini Taylor

I haven’t actually read any of Laini Taylor’s books before, but this cover is just stunning! I love the bright colour of the background particularly, but again, I think it’s the simplicity of this cover that makes me love it so much.

10.Β 27211901The Crown’s Fate-Evelyn Skye

I love the contrast between the white of the background and the colour of the palace on this one, I think it makes for a rather striking cover.

That’s all I have for you this week! Do you like any of these covers? What are your favourite covers of fantasy releases from this year? Or even in the last few years? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist, which I’m not exactly sure how to interpret as a topic, but I guess I have a week to figure it out! In the meantime, I will have my April #RockMyTBR update for you guys up very soon!

64 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #105

  1. Amylee @ The Book Lagoon 02/05/2017 / 10:25 pm

    Fantasy covers are killing it this year! πŸ’— I hate that the UK and US have such different covers though, the UK version of this savage song/our dark duet is so ugly compared to the US one 😢

    • iloveheartlandx 03/05/2017 / 11:42 am

      They really are! I know right, the US covers of those books are so much better, it’s a shame we have to have different ones!

  2. Melanie @ Bookmarked Bliss 03/05/2017 / 6:08 pm

    Wintersong 😍 I know absolutely nothing about this book except…I must read it! Such a pretty cover!

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2017 / 10:59 am

      Ha ha love that! Yes it does have a beautiful cover πŸ™‚

  3. lyndleloo 03/05/2017 / 6:22 pm

    We’ve been really lucky with gorgeous fantasy covers this year πŸ˜€

  4. Beth (Reading Every Night) 03/05/2017 / 7:19 pm

    These are some great picks for this week. There are so many amazing fantasy covers out there but at the moment my favourite has to be Strange the Dreamer, that is such a beautiful book both inside and out! πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2017 / 10:58 am

      Thanks! There are, the cover designers have really been stepping up their game this year. Strange The Dreamer is a beautiful book, though I can’t speak to the contents as I haven’t read it.

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) 04/05/2017 / 6:49 pm

        Oh they really have been, and in my opinion the story is just as gorgeous as the cover. Hopefully you’ll agree when you get around to it. πŸ™‚

  5. Kelly | Kelly's Rambles 03/05/2017 / 8:02 pm

    Oooh we posted so many of the same covers on our posts! These are all so beautiful, I think I’m in love! My favourites from your list are Traitor to the Throne, Caraval, Strange the Dreamer, ACOL and Flame in the Mist. I could look at them all day! Also, I am SO excited for Our Dark Duet!!
    Thanks for visiting my post πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2017 / 10:57 am

      Clearly great minds think alike! They really are. I love all of those two, just so pretty. Oh me too, can’t wait for it!

  6. journeyintobooks 03/05/2017 / 8:05 pm

    These are some great covers I especially love Blood Rose Rebellion and Caraval πŸ˜€

  7. Sue @ Crushingcinders 03/05/2017 / 8:16 pm

    I love the cover of Wintersong too. I can’t believe I haven’t read it. If you haven’t read Laini Taylor start with The Daughter of Smoke and Bone which was so brilliant I carried my copy around for a week after I had finished it – just didn’t want to let go. Strange the Dreamer has been a hit and miss and I struggled a bit with it.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2017 / 10:56 am

      It’s so beautiful! Me either, I would usually have snapped a book like that up by now. I have Daughter of Smoke and Bone, just haven’t read it yet.

  8. bluebinding 04/05/2017 / 12:41 am

    All of these are great covers! I have not seen the U.K. versions of many of these, and have not really realized how different they can be.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2017 / 10:50 am

      Thanks! Yes, the UK covers can be quite different from the US ones, most of the time the US ones are nicer, but there are some UK ones I prefer.

  9. Cait @ Paper Fury 04/05/2017 / 11:38 am

    Ahh I love ALL of these covers omg!! And I especially adore the Crown’s Fate one.😍😍 I just love how the colours look like a light show or something…in ancient Russia. #NICE I also really adore the ADSOM and Our Dark Duet covers. I think VE Schwab has just gotten some of the best covers of ever and I’m so happy about that. πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ Maggie Stiefvater’s covers are also almost always my favourites!!

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2017 / 7:28 pm

      Yes, they are just so gorgeous! Yeah it kind of reminds me of the enchantment Vika put on the canal in the first book, with the lights. Yes me too, they are stunning. She does have fabulous covers (to go with the fabulous contents!). Yes, I love Maggie Stiefvater’s covers too, The Raven Cycle has some of the most gorgeous covers ever!

  10. ericarobyn 04/05/2017 / 11:53 am

    Awesome picks! All of these covers are so pretty!

  11. Louise 04/05/2017 / 12:03 pm

    They’re all gorgeous!v This is a really great year for awesome SFF covers πŸ™‚

  12. Olivia 04/05/2017 / 1:18 pm

    Fantastic covers, I added some to my tbr list πŸ™‚ Great year for fantasy I think!

  13. Amanda @Cover2CoverMom 04/05/2017 / 2:30 pm

    How did I NOT know about a secret cover under the dust jacket for Caraval?!? So are there a bunch of different versions?!

    LOVE the UK Paperback covers for the Shades of Magic series!!!

    I like that version of Strange the Dreamer much more then the blue and yellow one…

    • iloveheartlandx 04/05/2017 / 7:23 pm

      For the UK ones yes! You can get a rose, a watch, a dress or a tent. Me too! Yes, so do I, it’s much simpler.

  14. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd 04/05/2017 / 3:03 pm

    Oh wow, I love ALL of your choices!!! Literally every single cover you’ve mentioned is sooo gorgeous! ❀

  15. Ruthsic 04/05/2017 / 6:17 pm

    My favorite cover from this year has definitely been Strange the Dreamer – both US and UK editions. Those covers are ethereal

  16. Hope (@HopeSLavender) 04/05/2017 / 6:33 pm

    Crown’s Game looks so good. I keep forgetting how much I actually want to read it.

  17. lindseyhabets 04/05/2017 / 7:40 pm

    Ooh, there are a ton of gorgeous covers on here! My favorites are definitely Flame in the Mist, Wintersong and Strange The Dreamer πŸ™‚

  18. Donna 04/05/2017 / 9:04 pm

    I hadn’t heard of Mask of Shadows before, but it definitely looks like something I’d like to read. And I agree with you on Blood Rose Rebellion – the blue cover is much more effective than the white. (I disagree on Our Dark Duet though – I prefer the UK cover! :))

    • iloveheartlandx 06/05/2017 / 9:46 am

      It’s so pretty (and sounds like a pretty great book!). Yes it is, it just pops more doesn’t it? Fair enough, we can’t always like the same covers πŸ™‚

  19. Lucy C 04/05/2017 / 11:03 pm

    So many beautiful covers! I agree with you about Flame in the Mist, the cover instantly drew my eye!

    • iloveheartlandx 06/05/2017 / 9:33 am

      Thank you! Yes, whoever designed it did at really good job πŸ™‚

  20. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) 04/05/2017 / 11:34 pm

    I don’t read a lot of fantasy, but I agree — they have some of the best cover art! I especially love the WINTERSONG one.

    • iloveheartlandx 06/05/2017 / 9:32 am

      They really do! Wintersong is especially gorgeous πŸ™‚

  21. Chrystal 05/05/2017 / 2:26 am

    Love that cover on Caraval. And I cannot wait to read Wintersong – I’ve been eyeing it since in first saw the cover.

  22. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas 05/05/2017 / 2:04 pm

    Wow! The cover for Flame in the Mist is gorgeous! XD
    And I am so excited to read A Conjuring of Light (even though I still need to read A Gathering of Shadows…).

    • iloveheartlandx 06/05/2017 / 9:30 am

      It really is! Oh it’s so good, I hope you get to it soon πŸ™‚

  23. ravishingtales 05/05/2017 / 2:45 pm

    The designs for Caraval and Straneg the Dreamer are the highlights of the year so far!

  24. TheQuirkyBookNerd 06/05/2017 / 12:13 am

    Oh my gosh, these covers are so gorgeous! I’ve never see that edition of Caraval before. It’s so pretty! Great choices! πŸ™‚

  25. Annemieke 06/05/2017 / 8:54 am

    I am with you on all of these covers. I can’t wait for Flame in the Mist to get here.

  26. samslifeinbooks 06/05/2017 / 11:00 am

    Great post! The synopsis of ‘Flame in the Mist’ really intrigues me and the cover is just beautiful.

    • iloveheartlandx 06/05/2017 / 1:03 pm

      Thanks! Yes it does sound amazing and the cover is truly gorgeous.

  27. Darlene 08/05/2017 / 3:18 pm

    So many pretty covers here! Traitor to the Throne is very eye-catcing! I love Wintersong’s cover, too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.