#RockMyTBR April Update (2017)

Hi everyone! How can it be the beginning of May already? I swear this year seems to be flying by! Anyway, the beginning of a new month means another update for you guys about how my reading and my #RockMyTBR Challenge is going. I’m sure you guys are all aware by now what the #RockMyTBR Challenge is, but in case you are new to my blog, the #RockMyTBR Challenge is a challenge run by Sarah K over at the YA Book Traveller, where she challenges you to cut down your TBR over the course of a year. This month was especially successful for me, as I read 3 books! Here is what I read:

salt to the seaSalt To The Sea by Ruta Sepetys:

This was my #RockMyTBR read for this month. I read it from 29th March-14th April. I did enjoy this book, but perhaps not as much as I was expecting to, given how much I loved her debut, Between Shades of Grey. Still, it was an interesting insight into a lesser known part of history, I encourage all of you to read up on the Wilhelm Gustloff sinking, it’s crazy how little is known about it, given how catastrophic it was. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/16/salt-to-the-sea-review/

the pearl thiefThe Pearl Thief by Elizabeth Wein:

This was my Netgalley read for this month. I actually started it all the way back in February, but didn’t finish it until the middle of April! I enjoyed it, it was a nice insight into Julie’s life pre World War II but it wasn’t as good as Code Name Verity. I don’t have a review for you yet, it’s scheduled to post in two days though!

paper and firePaper and Fire by Rachel Caine:

I started this one on 15th April and finished it on the 29th. It was a decent enough read, but definitely suffered from some pacing issues, I think perhaps a little middle book syndrome, as everything seemed to be setting up for action in the next book. Still I enjoyed it and look forward to seeing what happens next. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/30/paper-and-fire-the-great-library-2-review/

That’s what I read in April, here’s what I have coming up in May:

A Court of Mist and Fury-Sarah J Maas-My #RockMyTBR book for May, I figured with ACOWAR coming out today, I should probably at least attempt to catch up with this series! Hopefully I love this as much as everyone else seems to have.

Countless-Karen Gregory-I started this as my Netgalley read last month, but I’ve kind of been waylaid with exam revision. I haven’t been loving this one, so I might not finish it.

The Perks of Being A Wallflower-Stephen Chbosky-I figured I would need something short to read as it will probably take me most of, if not the entire month to read ACOMAF.

Flame In The Mist-Renee Ahdieh-I got approved for this on Netgalley and am so excited to read it!

I’m four books ahead of my Goodreads challenge at the moment, so I’m totally thrilled with that, though I doubt it will last long! How are you guys doing with your reading goals so far this year? Let me know in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR April Update (2017)

  1. journeyintobooks May 3, 2017 / 8:10 pm

    Glad you had a good month and well done on your Goodreads challenge 😄

Leave a Reply

