Top Ten Tuesday #103

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a nice week since I last did one of these, I’ve had a great week, spending my Easter break with my family in France, it’s been a while since we’ve all been together, so it’s been nice. Soaking up the sun hasn’t been too bad either! Anyway, courtesy of the wonderful ladies of the Broke and The Bookish, I am back with a new Top Ten Tuesday for you all this week. This week’s topic is Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Want To Instantly Read A Book. I feel like if you guys have been following my blog long enough, then you’ll know the things that make me instantly want to read a book, but for all you newbie followers out there, here are the things that will make me instantly pick up a book:

  1. MAGIC-Does this even need to be said really? As soon as there is even the tiniest whiff of magic in a book, I will be on it. I don’t even care what type of magic, it can be anything, I will read it.
  2. Pirates-Because pirates are the best okay? They just are. All the swordfighting and swashbuckling and looting and drinking? It’s awesome. Who wouldn’t want to sail the seven seas with a bunch of pirates?
  3. Dragons-They fly and breathe fire, it really doesn’t get much better than that.
  4. Rebellion-I know it’s been done a lot in YA books, but what can I say? I really enjoy reading about teens rising up against their oppressive governments!
  5. Feisty women-I just want all the feisty women okay? Women who don’t take any crap, who demand respect, who fight for what they believe in, who stand up for their friends, I want them all.
  6. Sass-Because sass is the best. If your book promises me a sassy character, then it’s pretty much guaranteed that I will read it.
  7. Stabbing-Yes I’m strange and enjoying reading about people being killed in various horrible and painful ways. No I don’t plan on changing this.
  8. Royalty-If a book contains any royalty, then it’s a pretty safe bet that I will want to read it. Royalty comes with castles and fancy balls and all of that wonderful stuff.
  9. Castles-I just love castles. Seriously so much. If I could live in a castle, I totally would.
  10. Masquerade Balls-Okay, so most books don’t advertise that they have a masquerade ball on their book’s blurb, but I love them! The whole having a mask and people not knowing who you are for an evening is really cool!
  11. Strong friendships-I love books where the main character has really close group of friends. Or when the book focuses on friendship rather than romance.
  12. Antiheroes-I love a good antihero! They’re usually so complex and interesting, and they have great backstories. Any story with an antihero will definitely be something that I’m interested in reading.
  13. Author that I love wrote it-Like everyone I have auto-buy authors, where I would read their grocery list if they published it. If one of my favourite authors has a new book out, it’s pretty much guaranteed that I will read it.
  14. Pretty covers-Yes I am that shallow. If a book has a pretty cover, I am instantly interested. If the blurb doesn’t interest me then I won’t read it, but I will definitely look closer at a book if it has a pretty cover.
  15. Bloggers are talking about it-Yes, I know I shouldn’t given in to the hype and I’ve been burned by this one a lot before, but if lots of bloggers are talking about a book, then I feel like it’s something that I should at least check out.
  16. Villains-If a book promises me an interesting, complex villain, I am so sold! Who doesn’t love a morally ambiguous character?
  17. Unique worlds-A fantasy book that promises me a unique world? I will definitely be reading it.
  18. Sequels-Much as I love a good standalone, I am 10x more likely to pick up a book if I know it has sequels and there is more in that world to look forward to.
  19. Mythology-If it’s based around Greek mythology then that’s a bonus, but any book that’s inspired by an interesting mythology will definitely be one I’m interested in reading!
  20. Slow burn romance-I’m not a big romance fan, but as it seems to be a given in YA that romance has to be in all books, this is the type of romance I will be more likely to pick up a YA book for.
  21. Books about books-Any books that are centrally themed around book lovers will definitely be books that I want to read!

That’s all I have this week! I guess I went a little overboard, but what can I say, there are a lot of things that will get me interested in reading a book, I’m sure this probably isn’t even half of them! Do any of these things make you want to read a book? What is it that does make you want to pick up a book? What is your favourite book that has one or more of these things (give me recs people!)? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week with a new Top Ten Tuesday, where we shall be doing the reverse of this week’s topic, Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Not Want To Read A Book, and I’m pretty sure I have a lot of those too! Meanwhile, I’m hoping to have a new discussion post up for you this week, as I’m very aware we’re over halfway through April and I haven’t even done one yet, so stay tuned for that!

 

71 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #103

  1. Sam Whitehouse 18/04/2017 / 1:40 pm

    I agree with sequels. I’ve read a lot of reviews where people complain a book isn’t standalone, but if a sequel is done right, I prefer a series too. Cool list.

    • iloveheartlandx 18/04/2017 / 9:26 pm

      Thanks! Yes, there are some cases where books probably should be left as standalones, but I agree, done right, series are the best!

  2. Sonia @ The Book Wielding Harpie 18/04/2017 / 2:16 pm

    Love your list. I’m am a series reader, so I agree with the sequels.

    • iloveheartlandx 18/04/2017 / 9:25 pm

      Thanks! Yes me too, nothing wrong with standalones, but I love knowing that I don’t have to end my time with a world at the end of one book.

  3. Katie 18/04/2017 / 2:30 pm

    And now I think I need to subscribe to your blog. All of these things are major pluses in my book too.

  4. Nicole @ Nicole's Novel Reads 18/04/2017 / 2:30 pm

    I am loving pretty much everything on your list like magic, strong friendships, unique worlds, mythology and books about books. Wonderful list!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/04/2017 / 9:21 pm

      Ha ha cannot argue with you there! Series that are too big intimidate me as well πŸ™‚

  5. anovelglimpse 18/04/2017 / 2:54 pm

    I love that you included bloggers in your list! I did, too. I feel they are the best people to recommend books. πŸ™‚
    My TTT.

  6. jessicacrafts 18/04/2017 / 3:15 pm

    I agree with so many of these! And loads I forgot to put on my list too. Royalty? Yes please. Castles? Oooh yes.
    Also I’ve always wanted to be able to go to a REAL masquerade. I have a proper mask ready and everything lol

    • iloveheartlandx 18/04/2017 / 9:09 pm

      Thanks! Oh I know right, I went over and there are still things I forgot to put on my list. Me too! I’m not as prepared as having a mask, but I’d love to go!

  7. lindseyhabets 18/04/2017 / 4:11 pm

    Yes, yes, yes to basically every single one of these! πŸ™‚

  8. utopiastateofmind 18/04/2017 / 4:48 pm

    OMG YES pirates and dragons are the best

  9. Angela Lawrence 18/04/2017 / 6:40 pm

    Great list – very comprehensive! I look books about royalty and castles. I definitely have my go-to authors, and more and more I’m relying on other bloggers’ opinions!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/04/2017 / 9:04 pm

      Thanks! Ha ha yes, I may have got a little carried away. I think we all have some go to authors. Yes, I’ve definitely found myself looking for more blogger opinions recently.

  10. ChrissiReads 18/04/2017 / 7:09 pm

    Fabulous list! So many that I agree with.

  11. bibliopathictendencies 18/04/2017 / 8:38 pm

    What a great list! (The one about the stabbing made me laugh.) And I agree with soooo many of these. Pirates? Yes please. Castles? Royalty? Masquerade balls? I’m in! And don’t even get me started on the slow-burning romance…

    • iloveheartlandx 18/04/2017 / 9:03 pm

      Thanks! Ha ha yeah, I guess it’s fantasy writer brain, enjoying people being killed in a myriad of strange and painful ways! Ugh I know, slow burning romance is just the best.

  12. Lucy C 18/04/2017 / 8:53 pm

    So many I agree with on the list but definitely the magic and the royalty ones (as well as the beautiful covers). My ears prick up instantly!

  13. kozbisa 18/04/2017 / 11:10 pm

    I think I love all the things on your list. Sass and feisty women area a total must. I love royals, contemporary or historical or fantasy. You get that billionaire thing, but also usually some political stuff too. Makes for interesting storylines.
    Sam @ WLABB

    • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2017 / 9:12 pm

      Thanks! They definitely are. Oh me too, royals bring so much drama, it’s great!

  14. Susie | Novel Visits 18/04/2017 / 11:32 pm

    Books about books! That’s a great one. Looking forward to your discussion post. I need to start trying some of my own.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2017 / 9:12 pm

      Thanks! Well hopefully I should have it up by the weekend. I would start by checking out other bloggers posts, it’s a good way to get ideas.

  15. amaranthinebooks 19/04/2017 / 12:02 am

    I related a lot to your list! Especially masquerade balls; they’re like catnip for me.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2017 / 9:11 pm

      Thanks! Ha ha fair enough. I am definitely a sucker for a beautiful cover too.

  16. Eve L (Evilous) 19/04/2017 / 3:57 am

    OMG so many of these are amazing! Pirates, masked balls, magic….the list goes on. I love all of these!!!

  17. Lauren @ Always Me 19/04/2017 / 3:59 am

    You have really good taste! πŸ™‚ And, yes, it was really hard to narrow the list down this week!

  18. Greg Hill 19/04/2017 / 6:30 am

    Fabulous list! Dragons definitely, and pirates as well. Masquerade balls are awesome. Mythology always get my attention. And I’m totally a judge by the cover type person. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2017 / 9:10 pm

      Thanks! Yes they are πŸ™‚ I think everyone is, anyone who says they don’t is probably lying!

  19. pagesandtea 19/04/2017 / 7:26 am

    Great list. Masquerades are fantastic, wish I’d thought to add that to my list πŸ™‚

  20. Maraia 19/04/2017 / 9:00 am

    This is such a great list! YES to sass and to strong friendships. They’re far too rare in fiction. I also much prefer slow-burn romances.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2017 / 9:09 pm

      Thanks! I know, we should get them more. Slow burn romances are the best.

  21. Chrystal 19/04/2017 / 11:31 am

    Love your choices, especially magic, unique settings and books about books!

  22. jessicabookworm 19/04/2017 / 12:29 pm

    Yes a little overboard, but it is a great list! I agree with so many of them, particularly: magic, feisty females, royalty and castles (wish I’d thought of them!), strong friendships, slow burn romances and mythology πŸ˜€

  23. toomuchofabooknerd 19/04/2017 / 10:17 pm

    I totally agree with pirates!!! How could I have forgotten to put that on my list! And feisty women for the win!!!! ❀ I'm also a huge fan of royalty and nobility in books! Great list, I love that you came up with so many points!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2017 / 9:52 am

      They are awesome. I have no idea. Yes, definitely! Me too. Thanks πŸ™‚

  24. Rissi 20/04/2017 / 6:56 pm

    Pirates! Castles! Two favorites. The former I don’t really see many books about (but I love Disney’s ‘Pirates’ series) and the latter I don’t read enough about. Also, YES to bloggers. Love to visit all the bloggers and learn more about their favorites. πŸ™‚

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    • iloveheartlandx 23/04/2017 / 2:03 pm

      Yes, favourites of mine too. Ugh I know, there should be more books about pirates! I read a few books with castle settings, castles are pretty common in fantasy, but I could always use more. Me too! Visiting bloggers and seeing what they love is always interesting, even if you have very different faves πŸ™‚

  25. Lori 21/04/2017 / 12:29 pm

    Yes to castles!! That’s a good one. I always love castle settings and royalty!

  26. jessclay10 21/04/2017 / 5:51 pm

    I love the lists you create. They’re so clever and always entertaining!

  27. Annemieke 22/04/2017 / 4:36 pm

    Books about books are always such a great reason to pick up a book. Got to share that book love.

  28. Cait @ Paper Fury 28/04/2017 / 10:15 am

    I RELATE TO THIS LIST SO MUCH I CAN’T EVEN.😍Like antiheroes and villains and sass and dragons and pirates…yessss. Also sassy feist heroines are BEST and I actually really love masquerade balls in books, even if they’re a teeny bit cliche these days. πŸ˜‚ THEY’RE SO FUN. I CAN’T GET SICK OF THEM!!

    • iloveheartlandx 29/04/2017 / 7:06 pm

      Ha ha you clearly have great taste! I know masquerade balls are a little cliche, but there’s something so fun about everyone wearing a mask πŸ™‚

  29. Veronika Γ‰les 28/04/2017 / 4:17 pm

    THIS LIST IS FANTASTIC OMG. Fesity woman, stabbing, sass, royalty!! Literally 99% of the things you mentioned are things I LOVE in books.

    Veronika @ The Regal Critiques

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.