Top Ten Tuesday #102

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all been having a good week since I last did one of these, I’ve had a pretty good week and I’m flying out to France tomorrow to join my family for the Easter holidays, so I’m excited about that. Courtesy of the wonderful ladies over at the Broke and The Bookish, I have another Top Ten Tuesday post for you. This weeks topic is about the most unique books we’ve ever read. It was kind of a vague topic prompt, so I’ve decided to twist it into Top Ten Books With Unique Narrators, as I love it when books have a slight twist on the normal first/third person narrator. So here they are, my Top Ten Books With Unique Narrators:

  1. The Book Thief-Death-Markus Zusak

This book is narrated by Death himself, you can’t get much more unique than that! He’s got a very interesting, kind of self deprecating voice and a very dark sense of humour but that’s kind of to be expected of Death! It sounds like a very strange narration choice, and it is but it really works for this book.

2. A Series of Unfortunate Events-Lemony Snicket-Lemony Snicket

Yes, I did just write Lemony Snicket twice, and no, it wasn’t a mistake. Lemony Snicket is both the pseudonym for the author of the book, Daniel Handler and the narrator of the book as well, which is pretty cool, and the whole Snicket family mystery is a big part of the story. Ā Plus you don’t actually know who the narrator is and what his connection is to the orphans until right at the end of the series, so it adds to the mystery.

3. Black Beauty-Black Beauty-Anna Sewell

This story of the life of the horse Black Beauty is narrated by, you guessed it, said horse himself. It sounds weird, but honestly, it wouldn’t have worked any other way.

4. Born To Run-Best Mate-Michael Morpurgo

This is a story much in the vein of Black Beauty, it follows the life of a greyhound (narrated by said greyhound) through his various owners, it’s a very sweet little story, perfect for dog lovers.

5. The Curious Incident of The Dog In The Nighttime-Christopher-Mark Haddon

In the interest of full disclosure, I actually didn’t really like this book very much, but I thought I should include it on this list because the narrator Christopher is autistic and that makes for Haddon telling the story in a very unique way. Personally, it didn’t work for me, but I’m sure it will work for some people.

6. Challenger Deep-Caden Bosch-Neal Shusterman

Caden has schizophrenia so naturally he makes for a rather unique narrator as his thought processes are always on the borderline between reality and the fantasy he has constructed, and it’s very interesting to see his reality and his hallucinations merge as he falls further into the depths of his mental illness.

7. Thirteen Reasons Why-Hannah Baker-Jay Asher

Though the book is mostly from Clay Jensen’s POV, Hannah also acts as a kind of dual narrator, as we hear her thoughts and feelings through the tapes that she leaves explaining why she committed suicide. And a beyond the grave narrator is nothing if not unique?

8. The Lottie Project-Charlie-Jacqueline Wilson

Granted, this book was one I read as a kid, parts of it are written as a diary from the point of view of a servant girl that the main character creates for a school project, so it’s quite a unique narration.

9. Between The Lines-Oliver-Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

Parts of the book are written in the POV of Oliver, the prince in the main character’s favourite book (who comes to life), so it’s a slightly different narration style as his story is a story within the main character Delilah’s story.

10. Look Who’s Back-Hitler-Timur Vermes

The narration is normal, 1st person POV, but the narrator is Hitler, having come into 2011 from 1945, so I think that alone is enough to count this book as having a unique narrator. I have to admit I didn’t love this book, but I think a lot of it was that certain things were kind of lost in translation (it was originally written in German) and had it been a short story rather than a novel, I probably would have enjoyed it more.

That’s all I have for this week! It was a lot harder than I thought it would be, evidently I need to read more books with unique narrators! What books with unique narrators have you read? Any of these? Did you like any of these? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back with a new Top Ten Tuesday, it’s Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book, so it should be quite a fun one. I’m not sure what else I’ll have for you guys this week as I’m going to be away, so you’ll have to stay tuned to see if you hear anything else from me!

51 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #102

  1. anovelglimpse 12/04/2017 / 1:16 am

    I love what you did with this! I loved Death as a narrator. Great choices!

  2. Alison Doherty 12/04/2017 / 6:02 pm

    Thirteen Reasons Why is definitely unique! I didn’t even think of that one.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/04/2017 / 6:04 pm

      Yes it is. It’s really hard to come up with unique books!

  3. Marie 12/04/2017 / 6:18 pm

    Nice list! I look forward to reading Lemony Snicket.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/04/2017 / 6:22 pm

      Thanks! Oh ASOUE is great, I hope you enjoy it šŸ™‚

  4. kris 12/04/2017 / 7:04 pm

    The Book Thief is one of my favorite books of all time. Not only is it narrated by death (who I am obviously a kindred spirit to), but the font changes and occasional illustrations are absolutely amazing. They communicate more than just the regular font and words on the page could!

    • iloveheartlandx 13/04/2017 / 12:22 am

      Mine too! Yes, the words just leap off the page & Death definitely adds so much to the book.

  5. bluebinding 12/04/2017 / 8:41 pm

    I really like how you did unique narrators, that’s a fun prompt. The Book Thief and Thirteen Reasons Why are also great choices! They both defiantly put a spin on your average narrator.

  6. Fiction Aficionado 12/04/2017 / 9:20 pm

    Unique narrators is a great idea! And I have a daughter who loves Black Beauty. šŸ™‚

  7. J.E. Fountain 12/04/2017 / 9:44 pm

    Interesting choices. We had no overlapping books…but two that were similar in the way they were unusual šŸ™‚ I chose The Call of the Wild….because it was written, like Black Beauty, from the POV of an animal.

  8. Mary Kate 13/04/2017 / 12:31 am

    I didn’t even think of Black Beauty! I keep hearing people talking about the Book Thief but I’ve never read it…I’ll have to go find it now!
    -Mary Kate

    • iloveheartlandx 13/04/2017 / 12:35 pm

      It’s okay, don’t think it’s an obvious one that comes to most people! Oh you definitely should, it’s an amazing book!

  9. lry93 13/04/2017 / 4:31 am

    I definitely agree with Lemony snicket! And 13 reasons why – I just finished watching the tv show and it just broke my heart šŸ˜­

  10. Mareli Thalwitzer 13/04/2017 / 6:38 am

    I started my TTT off with a list of unique books and The curious case of the dog in the nighttime was on my list as well! Such a great read. Didn’t even think of Black Beauty! Thanks for the visit earlier on, hope you will have a good Easter Weekend.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/04/2017 / 12:34 pm

      That’s cool! I wasn’t so keen on it, but it is definitely a unique book with a unique narrator. Well there’s always one that we forget. No problem. Thanks, I hope you have a good Easter weekend too.

  11. everythingalyce 13/04/2017 / 9:01 am

    This is a great twist on the topic. I remember absolutely loving Black Beauty when I was little, but I can’t remember it being narrated by the horse. Looks like it’s time for a reread!

    • iloveheartlandx 13/04/2017 / 12:33 pm

      Thanks! Ha ha yes, Black Beauty tells his own story. Perhaps!

  12. alicerosesimmons 13/04/2017 / 12:45 pm

    I love the way you did this topic! Definitely agree with The Book Thief as well as The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime šŸ™‚

  13. Jacque @ Jacque's book Nook 13/04/2017 / 4:47 pm

    Great list! I didn’t even think about including The Book Thief, but it definitely qualifies as unique. It took me a long time to get around to reading it, but I really enjoyed it!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx 13/04/2017 / 5:12 pm

      Thanks! Yes I’ve never read anything like it. Glad to hear it. No problem šŸ™‚

  14. ChrissiReads 14/04/2017 / 6:31 pm

    I love reading books from unique authors! They’re such fun!

  15. Lauren @ Always Me 14/04/2017 / 11:42 pm

    I was so close to adding The Book Thief and A Series of Unfortunate Events! šŸ™‚ Great choices!

  16. bluebinding 15/04/2017 / 1:36 am

    I recently finished The Book Thief and it is very unique!

  17. thebookishlibra 15/04/2017 / 1:38 am

    Awww, Black Beauty. I loved that book so much when I was a kid. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/04/2017 / 10:15 am

      Yes it was one of my favourites too, I got in trouble for reading it under my desk in class! Thanks šŸ™‚

  18. Aditi 15/04/2017 / 5:30 am

    EEEK! I so agree with you on The Book Thief (I only realized who was narrating at the end!) and also The Curious Incident of The Dog…

    I liked but didn’t love Thirteen Reasons Why. Have you seen the Netflix show? What did you think if you did?

    Have a great weekend.

    • iloveheartlandx 15/04/2017 / 10:14 am

      Ha ha yes, it’s not immediately obvious. Yes, I have seen the Netflix show. I really enjoyed it, I think it expanded a lot on the book. Thank you, you too!

  19. Cait @ Paper Fury 15/04/2017 / 11:31 am

    Ooh I SO loved the Book Thief. šŸ˜ The movie nearly made me cry though ahhhhhhh SO BEAUTIFUL BUT YET TERRIBLE. And I loved Curious Incident and Challenger Deep!! Although the latter was a bit disorientating at first, but I thought that really just added to the experience, right?!

    • iloveheartlandx 16/04/2017 / 1:38 pm

      Me too! Oh I know, so hard not to cry. I wasn’t so keen on Curious Incident but I really liked Challenger Deep. Yes, I think it did just add to the experience that it was kind of confusing at first.

  20. lindseyhabets 16/04/2017 / 8:10 pm

    The Book Thief is indeed so amazing and unique! Definitely one of my faves!

  21. Helia @ Rose Quartz Reads 16/04/2017 / 8:11 pm

    I love your twist on this topic! The Book Thief is definitely the first book that comes to mind when someone says ‘unique narrator’. It’s been a while since I read it but Black Beauty is pretty different too. I also wasn’t too big on Curious Incident but I really want to see the play because I’ve heard absolutely excellent things about the staging. As for A Series of Unfortunate Events – I’m planning to read all of it this summer. My friend suggested the TV series to me when I was ill and I marathoned it in a day and I was obsessed!

    • iloveheartlandx 18/04/2017 / 8:54 am

      Thanks! Yes it was the first book to come to my mind too. I haven’t read Black Beauty in a while either but it was one of my favourite books as a kid. Yes, I have heard the play version of Curious Incident is good. Ooh I hope you enjoy them!

  22. Olivia 17/04/2017 / 10:28 am

    Great list, I didn’t even think of the Series of Unfortunate Events! Amazing definitely and unique!

  23. Flavia 20/04/2017 / 6:29 pm

    These all sound SUPER unique! Great post šŸ™‚ I’ve read some, heard of some, and never heard of others hehe. Looks like it’s research time for me šŸ˜‰

    • iloveheartlandx 23/04/2017 / 2:05 pm

      Thanks! Hope you enjoy if you decide to read any of the ones you haven’t read šŸ™‚

      • Flavia 23/04/2017 / 2:07 pm

        Thank you! šŸ˜Š

  24. thesassygeek 24/04/2017 / 8:16 pm

    Great list! I absolutely loved “Thirteen Reasons Why” when it first came out although I still have yet to watch the Netflix series! šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 25/04/2017 / 2:26 pm

      Thanks! Same here. Oh I hope you get to it soon šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.