Top Ten Tuesday #95

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hey everyone! I hope you’ve had a good week so far, I’ve been extremely busy for the past couple of days applying for work experience at publishers/newspapers for over the summer, it’s actually kind of scary, reminds me that I’m an actual adult now and have to think about future career plans. When the hell did that happen? I swear I was a teenager like five minutes ago? Anyway, enough of me rambling about my strange feelings about adulthood, let’s get to the actual topic at hand. Yes, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday for you all this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. They’ve given us pretty much free rein with this week’s topic, making it, Top Ten Books That Need More/Less X In Them, so I’ve decided to do Top Ten Books That Need Less Romance In Them. Don’t get me wrong, I love my ships, all of them, but sometimes romance is just not want I’m after! I want sassiness, killings, adventure, banter, friendship and not always romance! Is it too much to ask to have some characters that remain single? I didn’t think so. So here we go, my Top Ten Books That Need Less/No Romance In Them:

  1. Throne of Glass series-Sarah J Maas

Don’t get me wrong, I love the Throne of Glass series and Sarah J Maas is one of my favourite authors, but as much as I enjoy some of the ships in the series, I wish everyone didn’t have to be paired off. And I think that sometimes there is a little too much focus on the romance and not enough focus on the war/death/destruction parts of the story which are actually more interesting.

2. A Study In Charlotte-Brittany Cavallaro

The romance was one of my biggest bugbears with this book. It didn’t seem at all realistic, it wasn’t well developed and honestly, I would have preferred if there had been more of a focus on Charlotte and Jamie’s friendship and them solving the mystery rather than hearing about how obsessed with Charlotte Jamie was all the time.

3. The Hunger Games Trilogy-Suzanne Collins

I loved this series, I did and I get that the romance between Katniss and Peeta was important to the plot, but I don’t see why Gale had to be added into the mix. I’m sure if the plot line had just been the star crossed lovers without a third person in the triangle then it would have been perfectly fine. And sometimes it feels like the romance overshadows the whole point of the book: Katniss entering the Games to save her sister. I wish more time had been spent on that relationship rather than her romances with Gale and Peeta.

4. Stealing Snow-Danielle Paige

Oh my goodness the romance in this one drove me crazy! There was not one love interest, not two love interests, but THREE love interests! THREE. There was no reason for that, Snow did not need to be dithering over three guys. I would have much preferred if we’d had more of Snow’s character development and her learning to use her powers, rather than her dithering over these three guys.

5. Graceling-Kristin Cashore

I just felt like the romance in this book had very little point to it at all and I wouldn’t have missed it if it wasn’t there. Plus Katsa and Po’s relationship felt so rushed and hardly developed to me, I wouldn’t have minded if they had just stayed friends, at least it felt like they had chemistry as friends, it did not feel like they had chemistry as lovers.

6. Caraval-Stephanie Garber

I actually loved the romance in this one, slow burn, characters really getting to know each other, it was everything I love in a YA romance. So it’s not so much that I would have liked the romance not to be there at all, I would have just liked a little less focus on Scarlett and Julian’s relationship (much as I loved it) and a little more focus on Scarlett and Tella’s relationship (#sisterlyloveforthewin).

7. Snow Like Ashes-Sara Raasch

The return of the dreaded love triangle! Seriously? Must we do this again? One of the reasons I got so bogged down reading this book was having to read page after page of Meira drooling over either Mather or Theron or at points both. I’d much rather have had more Primoria history (cause that was actually more interesting than the story itself sometimes!) or them saving the Winterians, focusing on what actually needed to be done, rather than which beau Meira found cuter at that point in time.

8. Slated-Teri Terry

UGH I HATED THE ROMANCE IN THIS BOOK! Kyla just went on and on about how she loved Ben, without even really knowing him at all. There were many reasons why I disliked this book, but the romance was a major factor and I could definitely have done with less of it in this book (which is saying something since there’s not all that much in there to start off with!).

9. Red Queen-Victoria Aveyard

Whilst I appreciated that the romance in this book took a backseat, I still wish that there hadn’t been a love triangle and that the chemistry between Mare/Cal and Mare/Maven had felt more present. It’s not the worst book with romance that I’ve ever read, but I’d have loved it if there was more focus on Mare’s growth on her own without the need for the romance aspect. Or if there had just been the focus on Mare with one love interest, rather than two.

10. A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J Maas

I mean this book reads more like a romance novel that just happens to be set in a fantasy world. Take out the Fae and it would pretty much be just that. I get that the romance was key to the plot of the book, but I could have done with less of the sex and more of Feyre’s family relationships, development of the faeries, seeing the different worlds etc. The book obviously wouldn’t work without the romance, but I think it could have been toned down a little and still been a good book.

I’m going to stop there, because otherwise I might go overboard! As you can tell, not the biggest romance fan! Have you read any of these books? Did you think there was too much romance? Any books that you’ve read that you think have too much romance? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is naturally Valentine’s related (ugh) and it’s Top Ten Favourite Romance Tropes/Types. I’m going to go with my Top Ten Favourite Slow Burn Romances (since those are the only types of romance I actually like). That’s next week but in the meantime, I have a discussion post that I’m hoping to have up by the end of the week, so stay tuned for that!

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #95

  1. anovelglimpse 07/02/2017 / 7:18 pm

    I’m always a fan of more romance, but I can see what you’re saying with several of these. Especially that Red Queen series.
    My TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2017 / 8:24 pm

      Yeah I guess it depends on personal preference! I’m just not a big romance lover 🙂

  2. lmtomlinson 07/02/2017 / 7:59 pm

    Haha, The Court of Thorns and Roses series was one if my favorite things I read last year. I think the romance is pretty central to the story, especially the second book.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2017 / 8:25 pm

      Oh I wasn’t saying cut out the romance completely just dial it back a little! There were other things she could have explored more in the first book I felt.

      • lmtomlinson 07/02/2017 / 8:32 pm

        That makes sense 🙂

  3. alicerosesimmons 07/02/2017 / 8:31 pm

    Great topic! As much as I am usually a fan of romance, I definitely agree with Snow Like Ashes – so much time was spent on the romance and love triangle that could have been on action instead.
    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2017 / 8:35 pm

      Thanks! Exactly, the focus was all wrong. I would so much rather read about characters actually doing stuff than read about the protagonist dithering between two different guys,

  4. masonlou 07/02/2017 / 9:06 pm

    Stealing snow was just horrible, snow was attracted to any young male in the book. I really didn’t like that book.

  5. Diana Prince Reviews 07/02/2017 / 9:17 pm

    Oh my god, I completely agree with like all of these. I adore Sarah J. Maas’s books, I really do, but good gods can’t a Fae stay single for at least one book? Not everybody needs a perfect match! At the very least get some more LGBTQ couples in there. That’s all I’m asking.
    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2017 / 9:28 pm

      Thanks! Exactly, there is nothing wrong with having a single Fae floating around out there! I’m rooting for Manon/Asterin in the last book.

      • Diana Prince Reviews 07/02/2017 / 9:38 pm

        I’m rooting for every ship that includes Manon tbh. Hot sexytimes with Dorian? Sign me up! Curling up on a blanket under the stars with Elide? Yes, please! Breathless kisses above the clouds with Asterin? I’m swooning already. Give me all 3 and I’ll die of sheer delight.

  6. Suzanne Wiseman 07/02/2017 / 9:23 pm

    I almost did this topic this week too but couldn’t think of 10 books. Definitely agree with you on The Hunger Games and Red Queen.

  7. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books 07/02/2017 / 9:51 pm

    Ughh I know what you mean about Stealing Snow. I had to DNF that book because she was too boy-crazy. And I’m not about a love square. I don’t read SJM, but I could see where too many couplings would get annoying. It got old in the Lunar Chronicles series Does EVERYONE have to pair off???

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2017 / 9:53 pm

      I have to admit, if I hadn’t got it from Netgalley, I likely wouldn’t have finished it! It really does get annoying after a while.

  8. Louise 07/02/2017 / 11:08 pm

    I haven’t read many of the books here but a lot are on my TBR. Cool list choice though, there’s a lot of books where I think the romance detracts from the plot and other relationships.

    • iloveheartlandx 07/02/2017 / 11:17 pm

      Thanks! Yeah it seems to happen often in YA books, don’t know why.

  9. Ali (@thebandarblog) 08/02/2017 / 4:16 am

    Haha, can’t say I agree with some of these (of those that I’ve read), but that’s because I like a good dash of romance in my novels XD

  10. lry93 08/02/2017 / 7:50 am

    I actually really enjoyed the romance in both ACOTAR and ToG… I haven’t read Caraval yet, but I do have it sat on my shelf waiting for me!! I do sort of agree with THG, but I think that Gale added a little something to it …

    • iloveheartlandx 08/02/2017 / 2:49 pm

      I’m just not a huge fan of romance I guess! Oh Caraval is amazing and I actually did like the romance in that, I just would have liked a little less focus on that and more focus on the sisterly bond. Personally I don’t really see the point of the love triangle in THG but everyone’s entitled to a different opinion.

  11. literaryhues 08/02/2017 / 10:23 am

    I completely agree with A Study in Charlotte. A close friendship between them would work out better than romance.

  12. chucklesthescot 08/02/2017 / 2:49 pm

    I’m with you…a lot of books could be improved by taking out dumb romances. My pet hate is love triangles in the zombie apocalypse. Seriously WTF??? I hate romance in zombie books!

    • iloveheartlandx 08/02/2017 / 2:51 pm

      Yes they definitely could! I have to say, not a big fan of zombie books, but I could understand why love triangles in the zombie apocalypse would be irritating.

  13. jessicabookworm 08/02/2017 / 5:03 pm

    I’ve only read The Hunger Games off your list and like you it is on my post this week because of the love triangle in it! I also think it really isn’t too much to ask to have some single characters 😀

    • iloveheartlandx 09/02/2017 / 4:18 pm

      It really isn’t! I’m going to be doing a blog post about it at some point soon because it’s something that really irks me.

  14. Maraia 08/02/2017 / 9:23 pm

    I completely agree! Like you, I love my ships, but seriously, everyone does not have to be in a relationship. I hate the idea that people must be in a relationship to be happy. It also really bothers me that romance is a requirement for YA novels. One of my favorite YA novels is This Savage Song, and the reason I love it is because it DOESN’T have a romance!

    • iloveheartlandx 09/02/2017 / 3:32 pm

      Exactly! I hate that too, I think it sends a bad message to single teens if everyone in YA book is paired, it might make them think “well what’s wrong with me? I don’t have a bf yet, let alone a “true love”. And the fact that romance seems to be a prerequisite for YA novels bugs me too. YES! I haven’t read This Savage Song yet, but I’ve read other VE Schwab books and I love that she doesn’t focus on romantic relationships.

      • Maraia 09/02/2017 / 8:14 pm

        Yes! I definitely felt that way when I was a teen reader. You should definitely give This Savage Song a try. The sequel comes out this summer, so you can binge them!

  15. iloveheartlandx 09/02/2017 / 11:03 pm

    I did too! I’m going to, it’s one of my challenge books for this year, so I will definitely be reading it.

  16. Literary Feline 10/02/2017 / 11:19 pm

    I hope your search for a work study program goes well! You’ve put together a great list here–and I agree. Some of these really would be even better with less or no romance in them. Not every book needs romance.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/02/2017 / 5:16 pm

      Thank you! Still got a lot of emails/applications to do! Thanks. I totally agree, I hate that it seems like romance is a prerequisite in YA books nowadays.

  17. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas 11/02/2017 / 12:59 am

    I did this for my TTT as well! XD I mean, don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of brilliant fictional romances, some books just overdo it.

  18. justanothercreativewriter 11/02/2017 / 9:31 pm

    This is actually so accurate though, I honestly feel like the Throne of Glass series has too many relationships. Can’t some of them just be single??

    • iloveheartlandx 12/02/2017 / 3:04 pm

      Thanks! Ugh I know right. Like not everyone needs to be paired up?

  19. wallacecourtney08 13/02/2017 / 1:55 am

    I keep seeing Caraval everywhere! Guess I gotta check it out!

  20. Rissi 14/02/2017 / 1:07 am

    I’ll confess, I do love romance (when it’s well done), so I’m excited at the prospect of ALL the HEART EYE EMOJIS these books might inspire. 🙂 Been meaning to read Sarah’s books and ‘Charlotte’ has me curious too!

    Thanks, as always for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/02/2017 / 12:40 pm

      Well I’m glad to have helped you find books to read! I’ll admit, I do like most of these books, I just wasn’t fond of the romances! Oh you definitely should read Sarah’s books. Charlotte I didn’t love, but I hope you like it better. No problem, I love your blog 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.