#RockMyTBR January Update (2017)

Hi everyone! I can’t believe it’s time for my first #RockMyTBR update of 2017. It’s been an….interesting first month of the year, lots of good stuff but also quite a bit of stressful stuff too, but that’s life I suppose! Anyway, as you’ll know if you’ve been following my blog for a while, the #RockMyTBR challenge is a reading challenge run by Sarah K over at The Book Traveller, where she challenges you to cut down on your TBR through the year. I took part in this challenge last year and am excited to see if I can complete it again this year. As with last year, my aim is to read at least one book a month from the list. The first month has gone pretty well, I read the book I wanted to read from the list as well as two others. This is what I read this month:

a-study-in-charlotteA Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro:

This was my #RockMyTBR book for January. I started this on the 2nd January and finished it on the 13th. This wasn’t a bad book, but it’s not my favourite mystery I’ve ever read, the characters and plot just fell a little flat for me. It was however interesting enough that I’d like to read the second one, which is hope is better. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/23/a-study-in-charlotte-charlotte-holmes-1-review/

every-breathEvery Breath by Ellie Marney:

This was my second book of January which I read from 14th-31st January. It had a decent mystery, a shippable romance and realistic characters and families, so despite it being slow, I still really enjoyed it! Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/04/every-breath-every-1-review/

caraval-2Caraval by Stephanie Garber:

This was my Netgalley read for this month, I read it from 2nd January-3rd February. It was so good, beautiful writing, vivid worldbuilding, great characters and lots of twists and turns made for a very gripping read!

So that’s what I’ve read in January, this is what I’ve got coming up in February:

The Crown’s Game-Evelyn Skye-This is my #RockMyTBR read for February. I started it a few days ago and it’s pretty good so far, though I haven’t got fully into it yet.

Traitor To The Throne-Alwyn Hamilton-My Netgalley read for the month. This has been on the back burner for a bit whilst I finished Caraval, but hopefully I’ll manage to finish it this month.

The Invisible Library-Genevieve Cogman-I bought this with a gift card that I got for Christmas, so I’m excited to get to it because it sounds really good.

A Conjuring of Light-VE Schwab-I won’t finish it this month as it only comes out at the end of February, but I will definitely be starting it as soon as it comes out because it is one of my most anticipated releases of 2017!

I’ve started this year of reading pretty well I think, so I’m hoping that this trend continues and the rest of my 2017 reading goes as well. How are you all doing with your 2017 reading goals so far? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

