Top Ten Tuesday #87

Hey everyone! I know, I’m spoiling you this week, four posts in two days! I’m hoping to try and do daily posts for the rest of this week, as I’m still at Uni but all of my assignments are done and I have nothing else to do, so I’m going to spoil you guys with lots of posts to make up for my lack of attention to this blog for the past few weeks! Anyway, as usual, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday post this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish and this week, we’re talking all about the 2017 releases that we’re looking forward to for the first half of the year. I’m not sure if it will be entirely first half of the year releases on my list as quite a few of the books I’m looking forward to next year are Sept/Oct releases but I will try to stick to the prompt! These are the releases I’m most looking forward to next year:

  1. Traitor To The Throne (Rebel of The Sands #2)-Alwyn Hamilton-Release Date: February 2nd (UK)

This is definitely one of my most anticipated releases for next year, the first book was one of my favourite reads of this year and I cannot wait to see where Alwyn Hamilton has taken her wonderful characters and beautiful story in this sequel. I have no doubt that it will be just as wonderful as the first book.

2. A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3)-VE Schwab-Release Date: 28th February (UK)

OMG! I NEED THIS NOW! VE Schwab has been posting teasers on her Twitter and each time I see one my need for this book grows (and that shouldn’t even be possible because my need for it is already sky high!). I devoured the first two Shades of Magic books over the summer and now I am in desperate need of the third! I can’t wait to see where this wonderful series ends.

3. Caraval-Stephanie Garber-Release Date: 31st January

This is probably cheating a little since I have the Netgalley ARC of this and am definitely planning to have read it before the book is actually released, but the cover is so gorgeous that I have already preordered it and I can’t wait to see this gorgeous thing in the flesh.

4. The Pearl Thief-Elizabeth Wein-Release Date: 2nd May

A prequel to Code Name Verity!!!! I NEED THIS! I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE NOW. Getting to see young Julie? How she was before she became a WWII pilot and met Maddie? YASSSSSS! Can we skip ahead to May so I can read this please?

5. Frostblood-Elly Blake-Release Date: 12th January

This sounds amazing! I love the whole flame vs ice idea, and I reckon the powers could be pretty cool. I’ll admit, it does sound pretty similar to lots of other fantasies that I’ve read, so I’m hoping that Blake has a new take on the whole us vs them thing, but from the synopsis anyway, it sounds like this book has the potential to be rather good.

6. Daughter of The Pirate King-Tricia Levenseller-Release Date: 28th February

I won this one in a 2017 pre-order giveaway, and it sounds fabulous. PIRATES! NEED I SAY MORE? THERE ARE PIRATES! And not just pirates, a female pirate! There need to be more pirates in YA am I right? Of course I’m right! Okay this is just me rambling right now, but I just really love pirates!

7. The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2)-Rick Riordan-Release Date: 2nd May 2017

I’ve already pre-ordered this one of course, because I need more Rick Riordan in my life. I really enjoyed the first Apollo book and I suspect this one will be no different, because Apollo is awesome and hopefully Leo will be back properly and they’ll be quests and demigod fun and more Percy and I’m probably on the verge of hyperventilating right now, but I don’t care because I AM TOO DAMN EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK. WHY DOES MAY NEED TO BE SO FAR AWAY!

8. Skulduggery Pleasant #10-Derek Landy-Release Date: June 2017

DEREK LANDY YOU CRAFTY DEVIL. Oh yes, #9 will be the last one. Haha he had us all fooled. I have no chill for this one. Seriously no chill. I would sell my soul if I could get this right now. I need to see the title and the cover and I just need the book like right now because all this waiting is killing me. I need more Skulduggery in my life and damn it, I don’t want to wait!

9. Blood Rose Rebellion-Rosalyn Eves-Release Date: 28th March 2017

This has magic and Hungary and rebellion and History and a beautiful cover and I’m just so excited to read it!

10. Spindle Fire-Lexa Hillyer-Release Date: 11th April 2017

A Sleeping Beauty retelling, with magic and Fae and sisterly love? Where do I sign up for this glorious sounding book?

11. The Wish Granter-CJ Redwine-Release Date: 14th February 2017

I’ll admit it, I only found this one yesterday but it’s a Rumplestiltskin retelling! Granted, my love of Rumplestiltskin is almost entirely based on the Rumple from Once Upon A Time, and the description for fans of Graceling and The Lunar Chronicles doesn’t entirely fit me, but it sounds like a really great book!

12. Flame In The Mist-Renee Ahdieh-Release Date: 2nd May 2017 (what is it about this date? Loads of books are coming out then!)

I’ve never read anything by this author before and okay, I’ll admit it, my addition of this book to this list is like 90% based on the fact that the cover is the most glorious thing that I’ve ever seen! But there’s Samurais, alchemy, a cross dressing girl, betrayal, murder and what sounds like a gang of rebel assassins, all of which screams me, so I’m actually quite excited for this book!

That’s all from me this week, it turns out there was more books from the first half of 2017 that I’m looking forward to than I originally thought. What books are you looking forward to in 2017? Any that we share? Let me know in the comments! Next week’s topic is Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree, which will most likely be books that I plan to buy myself with any money I get for Christmas, since people don’t usually get me books as presents, no idea why, I’m pretty easy, waft the nearest fantasy in front of my nose and I am there! I guess my family think I have enough books already (totally not true, you can never have enough books!). But anyway, I’m rambling, that’s next week but in the meantime, I am definitely hoping to have more blog posts for you guys during the rest of this week, so stay tuned!

111 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #87

  1. Di @ Book Reviews by Di 21/12/2016 / 2:48 pm

    Some really great books here and so many on my own TBR. Especially so many sequels that I really need to pick up the first books for! Hopefully I’ll be able to get to them sometime soon so I can get to the new releases. 🙂

    Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 23/12/2016 / 2:48 pm

      Thanks! Clearly we have good taste 🙂 Hope we both manage to read these soon!

  2. Jamie Wu 24/12/2016 / 8:20 pm

    Daughter of the Pirate King made my list too 🙂 Alongside a Conjuring of Light and Flame In The Mist. There’s so many books to keep an eye out for in the first half of next year! I just hope they’ll all turn out great and we’ll get to read them all 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.