Top Ten Tuesday #59

image

Hey everyone! I have another Top Ten Tuesday for you all this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. Now this week’s prompt was supposed to be Beach Reads, but since I’m not a big fan of the typical beach read and I don’t actually have plans to go to the beach this summer, so I can’t say what I’d plan to read on the beach, instead of that, I’m going to change the topic slightly to Top Ten Books I Plan To Read This Summer. I may not read all of these (my track record on finishing my TBR lists when I do them for TTT is not all that great, but hey, I try!) but I definitely hope to finish at least some of them!

  1. Desolation-Derek Landy-Okay, so this one is kind of cheating a little, since I’m already about halfway through it, but hey, it’s a book that I’m reading this summer, so I think it counts!
  2. Graceling-Kristin Cashore-This is my #RockMyTBR book for June, (or it’s the book that I want to read off my #RockMyTBR list next anyway, I don’t really have much of a plan when it comes to that challenge aside from finishing all of the books on my list by the end of the year) and I’m quite looking forward to it. I’ve been on a bit of a fantasy/paranormal/adventure/supernatural etc kick recently and I’m quite happy for it to continue!
  3. A Darker Shade of Magic-VE Schwab-I’ve heard such amazing things about this book for so long and I’m really excited to get started on it. I mean it’s magic and fantasy London, what is not to like?
  4. Look Who’s Back-Timur Vermes-This Hitler satire sounds like it’s going to be a right hoot and a half. I love the whole, what if Hitler had lived angle and the idea of no one believing it was really him and him becoming a YouTube celebrity sounds hilarious.
  5. Magnus Chase: The Sword of Summer-Rick Riordan-I didn’t plan to read this in the summer just because summer is in the title, I swear, that’s just a happy coincidence! I’m really excited to finally getting around to this book and just generally to have another Rick Riordan fix! My last one was far too long ago.
  6. The Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle-Rick Riordan-I’m so excited for this one, I can’t even say! I can’t wait to dive right back into Percy’s world, with all of my favourite characters. I also love that this series focuses on Apollo because I always really liked the way Riordan portrayed him in PJO and HOO, so I’m excited to read this series focusing around him.
  7. Paper and Fire-Rachel Caine-I loved the first book in this series, Ink and Bone, when I read it back in January and this book releases in July, so hopefully I will get the chance to read it over the summer! I’m so excited to see where the characters from this world go next!
  8. The Crown’s Game-Evelyn Skye-I preordered this with a bunch of July releases, but of course, because I don’t have Amazon Prime, they’re all coming in July. Go figure. Still, this book is magic + imperial russia which equals I can’t wait to read it.
  9. The Game of Love and Death-Martha Brockenbrough-I just bought this recently, and it sounds really interesting, so I’m definitely looking forward to reading it! I love the sound of it, an interracial romance in the 1930’s? I’m not usually into romance, but this actually sounds like the sort of story that I could get into!
  10. And I Darken-Kiersten White-Another July release that I have pre-ordered. A novel about a female Vlad The Impaler, the daughter of Dracula? It sounds absolutely incredible, so I hope I find it as good as I think I’m going to!

I’m going to stick to ten this week, because I will probably only read about half of these this summer anyway, so it’s probably better to just stick to ten and not give myself even more books to feel bad about not reading! What books are you planning to read this summer? Do we share any? Let me know in the comments! Next’s week’s topic is a freebie of sorts, Ten Reasons Why I Love X (and X can be anything, not necessarily bookish), so you’re going to have to wait until next week to find out what I choose to replace X! That’s next week but in the meantime, I will have a new discussion post and my monthly #RockMyTBR update up for you guys very soon!

51 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #59

  1. Yvo 31/05/2016 / 4:35 pm

    A Darker Shade Of Magic is one of the best books I’ve read this year (and ever!); definitely recommended! Graceling, The Crown’s Game and And I Darken are high on my TBR pile as well. Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 31/05/2016 / 5:15 pm

      Great to hear! I can’t wait to read it. That’s great, hope we both enjoy them. Thanks! Happy reading to you too.

  2. lindseyhabets 31/05/2016 / 5:53 pm

    So many great books! I loved Graceling so I hope you’ll enjoy it too 🙂
    And I also really want to start reading V.E. Schwab and finsih the Rick Riordan series. And I’m super excited about The Crown’s Game and And I Darken!

    • iloveheartlandx 31/05/2016 / 6:08 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too. It seems like the kind of fantasy that is just up my alley! Glad to see we have some books in common.

  3. Carrianne 31/05/2016 / 7:30 pm

    I read ADSOM over spring break and I wish I could say that I absolutely loved it. I really need to reread it when I’m not in a slump, because I think that hindered my view of the book (I still enjoyed it and I really love Kell as a character). However, I’m totally planning on reading AGOS this summer so we kind of share a similar book?

    I do plan on also reading Graceling at some point. I’m not entirely sure why I didn’t read it when I had my hands on it last summer. All of these books sound great though and I’m really curious to see what you think of Look Who’s Back whenever you read it. It sounds like an interesting/hilarious concept.

    I had no idea what to do for books this week, so I went sort of literal with the beach theme. Haha. If you’re interested, here’s my TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx 31/05/2016 / 8:22 pm

      It’s such a shame when you read a book and you don’t like it as much because of a slump. I hope you like it more if you reread, though I’m glad to hear you still enjoyed it! Maybe you’ll enjoy AGOS more. Hopefully we both enjoy Graceling. I should be reading Look Who’s Back as my July challenge book. I’ll check yours out, thanks!

  4. Rachel 31/05/2016 / 8:27 pm

    You definitely have to read ADSOM it’s amazing! I have And I Darken and Paper and Fire and hopefully I’ll get read them both in the near future. I really need to read some Rick Riordan, I haven’t read any of his work, which is terrible isn’t it? Also Graceling has also been on my TBR list forever. I hope you get round to a few of these.

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    • iloveheartlandx 31/05/2016 / 8:30 pm

      That’s great to hear! I’m going to get to that one pretty soon I think, it’s one of the books I’m most excited about on my TBR. I’ve pre-ordered both of them and I can’t wait to get them! Nah, it’s not terrible, but you definitely should read some of his books! I’ve had Graceling since last summer, so it’s definitely time for me to read it. Thank you! Enjoy your summer reading!

  5. Greg 31/05/2016 / 9:17 pm

    I’ve heard great things about Graceling and this summer would be a good time for me to read some Riordan too- I’ve been planning on The Sword of Summer but so far haven’t gotten to it yet.

  6. proseandkahn 31/05/2016 / 10:17 pm

    I enjoyed Magnus Chase but LOVED Graceling! Happy summer reading and thanks for stopping by my blog

    brenda

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2016 / 11:11 am

      That’s great to hear! No problem. Happy summer reading to you too!

  7. Eve L (Evilous) 31/05/2016 / 11:46 pm

    I so need to get on it and read some of these! So many great titles!

  8. Mallory @ The Local Muse 31/05/2016 / 11:47 pm

    I really enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic, the last two-thirds of the book really sucked me in and I was up all night finishing it. Enjoy!
    Thanks for stopping by The Local Muse

  9. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 01/06/2016 / 12:27 am

    A Darker Shade of Magic is phenomenal. I hope you get a chance to read it soon. I just started And I Darken and it is really compelling.

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2016 / 11:07 am

      Great to hear! Will probably be reading it in July. Oh that’s good to hear.

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2016 / 10:59 am

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy your summer reading list too.

  10. lry93 01/06/2016 / 3:52 am

    I have literally had Graceling on my TBR forever… Plus I have so many of these on my TBR… Great list

  11. Annemieke 01/06/2016 / 6:03 am

    The Sword of Summer is a great read, especially with that tile.;) I keep going back and forth on pre ordering And I Darken.

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2016 / 10:55 am

      Hopefully I’ll enjoy it! It sounds great, you should!

  12. Jamie Wu 01/06/2016 / 8:04 am

    I just got on the Rick Riordan train recently. Excited to finish up PJO and jump into his order series. I’m keeping my eye on a Darker Shade of Magic too. Hopefully I’ll get the chance to read it soon.

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2016 / 10:54 am

      Glad to see you’re enjoying it! Hopefully we both enjoy ADSOM.

  13. elyjayne 01/06/2016 / 9:21 am

    I really want to read Look Who’s Back too. I think there’s even a miniseries of it, or maybe a movie on Netflix?

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2016 / 10:51 am

      Oh cool! Didn’t know that, I’ll have to check it out if I like the book.

  14. Holly 01/06/2016 / 12:04 pm

    Graceling is SO GOOD. The rest of the series (I think it’s a trilogy?) is fantastic as well, so I definitely recommend reading those books too if you like the first one. Happy reading! 🙂

  15. Jacque 01/06/2016 / 4:48 pm

    Great list! I have seen A Darker Shade of Magic mentioned several times today. I will have to check that one out. I’m working my way through Rick Riordan’s books and have a way to go before reading Magnus Chase. I’m happy to see that it made your list.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2016 / 4:59 pm

      Thanks! You should, from what I’ve heard it’s meant to be really good. I’ll let you know what I think of Magnus Chase when I’ve read it! No problem.

  16. Lois 01/06/2016 / 7:10 pm

    A Darker Shade of Magic is definitely worth the read. It’s such an epic adventure with a whole slew of morally ambiguous characters. I hope you enjoy it. 😀

    • iloveheartlandx 01/06/2016 / 7:12 pm

      That’s great to hear! I hope so too! It sounds right up my alley!

  17. Christina T @ Reading Extensively 02/06/2016 / 12:57 am

    I enjoyed The Hidden Oracle. It was fun and nice to see what the teens at Camp Half Blood were up to. I can’t wait to read Paper and Fire! I loved Ink and Bone. Of course Paper and Fire will probably be much darker than what I usually read during the summer but it is good to mix it up 🙂

    Great list and I hope you enjoy these books whenever you get the chance to read them!

    • iloveheartlandx 02/06/2016 / 2:45 pm

      Good to hear! I can’t wait to read it, haven’t had a good Camp Half Blood fix in a while! Me either! Ink and Bone was so good and I’ve been so excited for Paper and Fire ever since I read it. I don’t really have a usual summer reading list, it varies on what books I have at the time, but I do agree, it is good to mix it up. Thank you! I hope you enjoy your summer reading too.

  18. Alisa Wilhelm 02/06/2016 / 5:02 am

    Yep, I’m just going to agree with everyone in the comments: ADSOM is a must-read. I will probably do a re-read of the first two books before the third one comes out next year.

    PS Thanks for stopping by Papercuttts!!

    • iloveheartlandx 02/06/2016 / 2:40 pm

      Makes me very excited for it that so many people seem to have enjoyed it! No problem.

  19. thebrightspark 02/06/2016 / 10:40 am

    Looks like a great TBR! I really enjoy Schwab’s books, though This Savage Song was my favourite so far (and it’s due out soon!).

    • iloveheartlandx 02/06/2016 / 2:40 pm

      Thanks! I already have ADSOM so I’ll be reading that first but if I like it, then I’ll definitely get This Savage Song when it comes out!

  20. bookbakeblog 02/06/2016 / 12:24 pm

    Ha, I haven’t read any of these! They sound cool, though, so I hope you have fun reading them! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 02/06/2016 / 2:37 pm

      Thanks! Hope you have fun reading whatever you’re reading over the summer too!

  21. alicerosesimmons 02/06/2016 / 6:41 pm

    Great list! A Darker Shade of Magic is one I’ve also been interested in reading for a while now – it does just sound so good! I also can’t tell you how amazing The Game of Love and Death is – its one of my all time favourites and honestly just such a beautiful book! Hope you really enjoy it 🙂
    Heres my TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 02/06/2016 / 7:18 pm

      Thanks! It sounds amazing right? Let’s hope we both enjoy it. That’s great to hear! I hope so too.

  22. Marci @ The Plot Bunny 08/06/2016 / 12:33 pm

    Love your list! A Darker Shade of Magic was one of my favorite reads, and I just love the world building in it and the characters. I too plan to read The Crown’s Game this summer too. Happy reading and I hope you love all the books you end up reading.

    • iloveheartlandx 08/06/2016 / 12:49 pm

      Thanks! That’s great to hear, I’ve heard such great stuff about it, so I’m really excited to read it. Hope we both enjoy it. Thanks, you too!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.