Thursday Quotables #35

Yes, I know, I know, I haven’t done one of these in a while, but you know, it’s the same old story, I’ve been busy with Uni but I’m back now and hoping to get a lot done on the blog whilst I’m home for the summer! Speaking of which, my blog just hit an all time high in hourly views so I want to thank all of my readers for making that happen! It means a lot to me that all of you seem to enjoy reading my blog as much as I enjoy writing it! Anyway, on with today’s post! As you all know, for this feature I chose a theme and then pick my favourite quotes based on that theme and share them with you. Inspired by my recent finishing of The Raven King, I decided to pick quotes from The Raven Cycle for this week, since it gives me an excuse to share Maggie Stiefvater’s gorgeous writing. Here are some of my favourites:

  1. “Humans were so circular; they lived the same slow cycles of joy and misery over and over, never learning. Every lesson in the universe had to be taught billions of times, and it never stuck.

    Maybe it was good that the world forgot every lesson, every good and bad memory, every triumph and failure, all of it dying with each generation. Perhaps this cultural amnesia spared them all. Perhaps if they remembered everything, hope would die instead.” -Blue Lily, Lily Blue

I mean this……this is gorgeous! I love Maggie Stiefvater’s writing, she has a very visual style, it’s almost like having a picture made from words.

2. “There is no good word for the opposite of lonesome.
One might be tempted to suggest togetherness or contentment , but the fact that these two other words bear definitions unrelated to each other perfectly displays why lonesome cannot be properly mirrored. It does not mean solitude, nor alone, nor lonely, although lonesome can contain all of those words in itself.
Lonesome means a state of being apart. Of being other. Alone-some.” -Blue Lily, Lily Blue

I love this quote because it so perfectly describes Adam Parrish!

3. “I don’t care to be pretty,” Blue shot back hotly, “I care to look on the outside like I look on the inside.” -The Raven King

I love Blue, she doesn’t care about being pretty or girly or doing as other people would expect her to do. She does what she wants and is who she is and doesn’t make any apologies for it. I love that!

4. “Because Adam practised at many things, Adam was good at many things, but this – what was it even called? Scrying, sensing, magic, magic, magic. He was not only good at it, but he longed for it, wanted it, loved it in a way that nearly overwhelmed him with gratitude. He had not known that he could love, not really. Gansey and he had fought about it, once – Gansey had said, with disgust, Stop saying privilege. Love isn’t privilege. But Gansey had always had love, had always been capable of love. Now that Adam had discovered this feeling in himself, he was more certain than ever that he was right. Need was Adam’s baseline, his resting pulse. Love was a privilege. Adam was privileged; he did not want to give it up. He wanted to remember again and again how it felt.”  -The Raven King

This is one of my favourite quotes from the series because it shows how much Adam has grown as a character.

5. “Today, Blue thought, is the day I stop listening to the future and start living it instead.” -The Raven Boys

I love this quote, it’s really inspiring!

6. “More than anything, the journal wanted. It wanted more than it could hold, more than words could describe, more than diagrams could illustrate. Longing burst from the pages, in every frantic line and every hectic sketch and every dark-printed definition. There was something pained and melancholy about it.” -The Raven Boys

This is just a really pretty quote!

That’s all I have for you guys this week! I will hopefully have another one of these for you next week and in the meantime, I will definitely have a new post of some sort up soon, so stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables #35

  1. Esther May 26, 2016 / 4:45 pm

    Love all of these! Maggie does write beautifully. I also think that Adam quote about the privilege of love shows so much of his personality and it’s so accurate, I love how well the characters are crafted.

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2016 / 8:17 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I think it’s wonderful at showing his personality. Me too, it’s one of my favourite things about the series.

  2. Kat May 27, 2016 / 5:52 pm

    Beautiful quotes! I have not read either of these books, but I especially love the quotes from Blue Lily, Lily Blue. I read The Scorpio Races, and thought the writing in that book was gorgeous as well.

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2016 / 2:47 pm

      Thanks! They are great, you should definitely read them. Oh yes, the writing in The Scorpio Races is lovely too.

Leave a Reply

