Top Ten Tuesday #49

image

Hey everyone! I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at the Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is books that I love but don’t feel like I talk about enough or haven’t talked about in a while, and I think it’s a really great topic because whilst I’m usually pretty vocal about the books that I love, I know there are some that I don’t talk about as much as I should. So here we go, the books I love but that I don’t talk about enough:

  1. Noughts and Crosses-Malorie Blackman

This is one of my favourite books and I know I’ve done a Friday Favourites post on the series, but I don’t feel like it’s one that I talk about constantly, like the Harry Potter series, or the Unwind books, or the Percy Jackson books. It’s an old book, so I feel like it’s not one that people talk about all that much, but it’s truly amazing! If you haven’t read it then you definitely should.

2. The HIVE Series-Mark Walden

I think I’ve mentioned these in maybe one TTT post before but other than that I haven’t really talk about them at all, which is terrible because it’s such a great series and I literally flew through all of the published books at the time. Basically it’s set in a school kind of like Hogwarts but instead of training wizards, they train young criminals. It’s pretty damn awesome!

3. The Heist Society books-Ally Carter

I’m not sure if I’ve even ever mentioned that I’ve read these books! They’re great books though, there’s three so far, and it’s about Kat Bishop, a girl who comes from a family of thieves and her friends who are also all thieves and in each book they pull off a different con and it’s always really cool to see how they do it.

4. Thirteen Reasons Why-Jay Asher

I know I’ve done a Friday Favourites post about this one and I’ve mentioned it in a TTT, but it’s not a book that I constantly gush about. It’s a really sad story, but it’s one that needs to be told and I think all teenagers should read this book because it’s a great example of how even the smallest of your actions can affect someone.

5. The Book Thief-Markus Zusak

I know I’ve mentioned in passing that this book is one of my favourites, but I’ve never really talked about it at length. It’s one of the most beautiful, heartbreaking books that I’ve ever read, not to mention really unique, I’ve never read anything like it, plus the movie, which could have gone so horribly wrong, is surprisingly pleasing. I cannot urge people enough to read this book, it will cause you pain, but it is so worth it!

6. Black Beauty-Anna Sewell

One of the few classic books that I genuinely love and yet it’s not one that I talk about very often. This is the quintessential book for horse lovers, so if you love horses and you haven’t read this one then you definitely should.

7. Blind Beauty-KM Peyton

Another horse book that’s one of my favourites and I don’t talk about all that often, probably because I read it before I started blogging. It’s a really lovely story though, it was a favourite when I first read it as a younger teenager and it’s a story that has stuck with me, so it’s definitely worth a read.

8. A Series of Unfortunate Events-Lemony Snicket

I devoured these books when I was younger, I remember borrowing them from my local library, they’re so sinister and creepy and yet so totally enjoyable and I honestly think reading those set the tone for a lot of books that I’ve loved today (like the Unwind books), so I really should talk about them more.

9. Ballet Shoes-Noel Streatfield

This was a book I read as a kid, so it’s not exactly unsurprising that I don’t really talk about it that much, but it is one that I really loved at that age, so I should definitely talk about it more.

10. Β The Heartland Books-Lauren Brooke

As a horse crazy pre-teen I loved these books! I probably wouldn’t like them as much if I read them now as they’re kind of simplistic, but they were among my favourite books to read as an early adolescent.

11. The Young Sherlock Homes books-Andrew Lane

Aside from doing the one review of a book in this series, I haven’t really talked about them much as I read most of them before I started blogging, but I do really like them, it’s all adventures of a young Sherlock and I love how Andrew Lane shows hints of the character that we all know and love and yet still manages to develop young Sherlock as his own person.

12. The Roman Mysteries-Caroline Lawrence

Again, I devoured these books as a pre-teen. I regret the fact that I grew out of them before I finished the series, but the ones that I did read I really loved, like A Series of Unfortunate Events, I used to borrow them all from the library.

I went a little over ten this week, but this was restraining myself, I could have included more! Does anyone share any of the books on my list? What books were on your list this week? Let me know! The topic next week is ten of my most recent five star reads, but I haven’t had many five star reads recently, so instead I’ve decided to do Books I Just Had To Buy, But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf, as I think that will be a lot easier for me! That’s next week, but in the meantime, I should have some new posts for you guys soon, so stay tuned!

53 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #49

  1. AngelErin March 22, 2016 / 7:03 pm

    Great list! Thirteen Reasons Why is great and I just finished the first Heist Society book and really enjoyed it.

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 12:08 am

      Thanks! Yeah I agree! The second one’s even better than the first.

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 12:07 am

      Thanks! Yeah it is isn’t it? I think it’s just because it was a pre-blogging book, so I’ve never reviewed it for the blog and had the chance to gush about how much I loved it.

  2. thecalicobooks March 23, 2016 / 2:45 am

    Great list! I agree with so many of them! Heist Society, the Book Thief and 13 Reasons Why are also some of my favorites, and especially Ballet Shoes! I know so few people who have read that one. 😍

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 10:13 am

      Thanks! You have good taste πŸ™‚ Me either, I guess it’s probably because it’s a pretty old book.

  3. nevillegirl March 23, 2016 / 5:27 am

    Ooh yes, Black Beauty! I’m not even really a horse lover but I read that when I was little and I reread it so much that the front cover fell right off… oops. πŸ˜›

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 10:14 am

      Sounds like a book I had when I was younger, it had been my dad’s and we had to throw it out because it fell apart from being so old and having been read so much! Black Beauty is amazing, I got in trouble at school (ironically with my English teacher), for reading it under the table!

  4. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas March 23, 2016 / 10:16 am

    I need to find the second Heist Society book – Ally Carter is awesome! The Book Thief almost went on my list too – beautiful writing, awesome narrator and REALLY sad. πŸ˜₯

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 10:25 am

      Ah that one’s my favourite of the three, hope you get to it soon. Yeah she is! The Book Thief is just….one of the most amazing books I’ve ever read.

  5. Evie March 23, 2016 / 3:26 pm

    So many great titles! I loved A Series of Unfortunate Events & Heist Society (but really anything by Ally Carter)! I still haven’t read The Book Thief but I know I desperately need to!

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 3:28 pm

      Thanks! I haven’t actually read anything else by Ally Carter, but I will at some point. Yes you do!

      • Evie March 23, 2016 / 9:51 pm

        Her other books are just as fun but I think I like Heist Society best. πŸ™‚

  6. bookaddictsblog March 23, 2016 / 4:01 pm

    I was literally so obsessed A Series of Unfortunate Events books when I was younger. Also, I absolutely devour any Ally Carter book I can get my hands on. Thanks for stopping by my TTT! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 4:05 pm

      Me too! I’ve only read the Heist Society books, but hopefully I will read more soon. No problem!

  7. azimmermann March 23, 2016 / 4:31 pm

    Excellent book choices! I remember reading The Book Thief for the first time and crying over it. It’s great when books can move you so much.
    Thanks for commenting on Tea for Three!

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 4:34 pm

      Thanks! I don’t tend to actually cry over books but I cam pretty damn close with The Book Thief!

  8. siderealday March 23, 2016 / 4:44 pm

    I don’t share any of the books on your list, but some of them have been on my TBR list and some of them have now been put there, so thanks for the recs. πŸ™‚
    And thanks for visiting my TTT post! Happy reading!

  9. anovelglimpse March 23, 2016 / 6:03 pm

    I have Thirteen Reasons Why sitting on my shelf. I need to hurry up and read it! πŸ˜‰

  10. Amy March 23, 2016 / 10:11 pm

    I can’t believe I still have not read The Book Theif! I know I’m missing out on something awe inspiring yet somehow I still haven’t read it!! Great list πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx March 23, 2016 / 10:22 pm

      I hope you manage to get to it soon. Thank you πŸ™‚

  11. Amy March 24, 2016 / 12:33 am

    I really enjoyed Black Beauty and The Book Thief when I read them. I need to try The Young Sherlock Homes books because I love the original stories by Arthur Conan Doyle. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 12:39 am

      Yeah me too! They’re great, you definitely should πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  12. charliegirlteachergirl March 24, 2016 / 1:27 am

    I read the Heartland series like it was going out of style. A few years ago I discovered Netflix carried several seasons of the show, which I didn’t know even existed! Such good characters in that series. I’ve read one Ally Carter book (and she came to my school last year), but I do want to read The Heist Society.

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 1:42 am

      Oh me too! If it’s possible, I’m now more addicted to the TV show than I was to the books, they take everything I loved about the books and made it a little more grown up. Yup, great characters! You should, Heist Society is great.

  13. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense March 24, 2016 / 1:44 am

    Noughts and Crosses was such a thought-provoking novel. I never read the Ballet Shoes, I feel like I missed out on something amazing. Nice list this week!

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 7:14 pm

      I totally agree! Ah shame, it’s a great book. Thanks!

  14. Chachic March 24, 2016 / 4:09 am

    Agree with your assessment of The Book Thief! And you just reminded me that I haven’t seen the movie. I also have Marjorie Blackman’s books in my wishlist, I just haven’t found time to read them.

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 6:38 pm

      Oh you should it’s great. You should definitely try Noughts and Crosses, though be warned, tissues will be needed πŸ™‚

  15. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews March 24, 2016 / 4:10 am

    I really need to get around to reading The Book Thief and A Series of Unfortunate Events. Also I was one of those horse crazy pre-teens too, haha! I think I read a couple Heartland books, but mostly for me it was The Saddle Club and Pony Pals.

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 6:37 pm

      You definitely should! I am still horse crazy, just not a pre-teen anymore! Oh yeah, I read quite a few Saddle Club books too, but never Pony Pals.

  16. Cait @ Paper Fury March 24, 2016 / 9:40 am

    I grew up on Lemony Snicket and IT WAS THE BEST! *shrieks happily* And I read his latest series too….omg, it was still so endlessly good. And actually gave some answers this time. xD (Are you going to watch the Netflix tv series when it starts up!?? I so definitely am. XD)

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 6:35 pm

      I know right! I was obsessed with those books when I was around 11/12! He has a new series? I shall have to find that and read it! Yay! Nothing like actually having answers! Oh yeah definitely! The movie was a big disappointment, but I reckon the Netflix series will be much better, that series was definitely more made for TV than a movie.

  17. In Need of a Read March 24, 2016 / 12:59 pm

    I absolutely love The Book Thief – fab choice! And great choices of horse books, I used to be obsessed with the Heartland series and collected all of them. Check out The Glory, a newish one from Lauren St John as it is a brilliant one for horse lovers!

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 6:28 pm

      Me too! Thanks. Same here, I have all of them as well! I haven’t read them in years, but I still have all of them, I wouldn’t get rid of them because I loved them so much when I was younger. I actually have that one! Just waiting for a chance to read it, but thanks for the recommendation.

  18. Kate @ Mom's Radius March 24, 2016 / 1:05 pm

    I love The Book Thief. I’ve listened to it 3 times I think. Such a good story. And I love how it’s narrated by death. I also enjoyed Thirteen Reasons Why – I am looking forward to the Netflix series, even though it won’t be out for a while. I really like Jay Asher’s writing. Have you read The Future of Us? I LOVE that book so much!

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 7:20 pm

      I totally agree! Yeah me too. I haven’t actually, I will have to look it up!

  19. alicerosesimmons March 24, 2016 / 3:51 pm

    Great list! I also love The Noughts and Crosses series but I never hear about it at all now! The Book Thief is also my favourite book because it is just so heartbreaking and beautiful!
    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      Thanks! Me either, I guess because it’s an old series now. Yeah The Book Thief is one of my favourites too, for the same reason.

  20. Becca@The Bookkeeper's Apprentice March 25, 2016 / 1:15 am

    I completely agree with Thirteen Reasons Why and The Book Thief! And the Heist books sound great, I will have to check them out!

    • iloveheartlandx March 25, 2016 / 9:50 pm

      Yeah they’re great! You should, they’re so much fun!

  21. Lori March 25, 2016 / 2:32 pm

    Thirteen Reasons Why is such an incredible book. So heartbreaking but definitely one I think all teens should read. We rarely think how even the smallest of our actions can affect others, especially at that age. I rarely talk about it either but it definitely deserves all the praise! Great list πŸ™‚

  22. ChrissiReads March 26, 2016 / 9:30 am

    Ahhh, I adore Noughts and Crosses. Such a good series!

  23. Abby | ThePandaBookBlog.wordpress.com March 26, 2016 / 12:29 pm

    Yes! The book thief! I actually think that the book thief deserves way more attention and popularity among other books. It was such a nice read the narrator!!!! I love how Death narrated it. I was astounded while reading because I never thought that reading a book narrated by Death himself would be humorous and full of life too! *pun intended* Great post!

Leave a Reply

